DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the reply filed on 05/28/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 11-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu (US Patent or PG Pub. No. 20100046261, hereinafter ‘261).
Claim 12, ‘261 teaches a control module for a switching power converter (e.g., see Fig. 2-8), comprising: an input-sense terminal (e.g., ZCD), a switch-node terminal (e.g., the middle node of 36 and 78), and a drive terminal (e.g., OUT); a controller comprising: a regulator (e.g., the circuits comprising 52) configured to generate a drive signal (e.g., VGATE, VZCDDTO) that is periodic, each period defining an on-time and an off-time; a mode controller (e.g., comprising 54, 55, 57) coupled to the input-sense terminal and the regulator, the mode controller configured to change conduction modes implemented by the regulator based on a state of a sense signal (e.g., at ZCD) received from the input-sense terminal; and a transition controller (e.g., 57, 64) coupled to the regulator, the mode controller, and the drive terminal, the transition controller configured to: pass unchanged the drive signal to the drive terminal during at least some periods of the drive signal (e.g., when VZCDDT being LOW, or 0V, see Fig. 6); and responsive to the mode controller changing conduction modes, convey with adjustments the drive signal to the drive terminal (e.g., when VZCDDT being High, see Fig. 6).
Claim 13, ‘261 teaches the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein when the transition controller conveys with adjustment, the transition controller is configured to modify the on-time during a plurality of periods of the drive signal (e.g., see Fig. 6).
Claim 14, ‘261 teaches the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein when the transition controller conveys with adjustments, the transition controller is configured to: sense an input-sense signal from the input sense terminal (e.g., VZCD, see Fig. 2-5); and while the input-sense signal is rising, decrease the on-time for at least one period (e.g., from 5th to 6th switching cycle of current Vin cycle, see Fig. 6).
Claim 15, ‘261 teaches the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein when the transition controller conveys with adjustments, the transition controller is configured to: sense an input-sense signal from the input sense terminal (e.g., VZCD, see Fig. 2-5); and while the input-sense signal is rising, decrease the on-time for at least one period (e.g., from 5th to 6th switching cycle of current Vin cycle, see Fig. 6) and then increase the on-time for at least one period (e.g., from 2nd to 3rd switching cycle of the next Vin cycle, see Fig. 6).
Claim 16, ‘261 teaches the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein when the transition controller conveys with adjustments, the transition controller is configured to: sense an input-sense signal from the input sense terminal (e.g., VZCD, see Fig. 2-5); and while the input-sense signal is falling, increase the on-time for at least one period (e.g., from 2nd to 3rd switching cycle of current Vin cycle, see Fig. 6).
Claim 17, ‘261 teaches the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein when the transition controller conveys with adjustments, the transition controller is configured to: sense an input-sense signal from the input sense terminal (e.g., VZCD, see Fig. 2-5); and while the input-sense signal is falling, increase the on-time for at least one period and then decrease the on-time for at least one period (e.g., from 5th to 6th switching cycle of current Vin cycle, see Fig. 6).
Claim 20, ‘829 teaches a switching power converter (e.g., see Fig. 2-8) comprising: a rectifier defining (e.g., 20) a rectified output and a return (e.g., see Fig. 2); an inductor (e.g., 34) having a first lead coupled to the rectified output, and a second lead defining a switch node (e.g., the middle node of 36 and 78, see Fig. 2); a diode (e.g., 78) having an anode coupled to the switch node, and a cathode defining a positive polarity connection (e.g., the positive polarity connection of Vo in reference to GND, see Fig. 2); an electrically-controlled switch (e.g., 36) having a first lead coupled to the switch node (e.g., see Fig. 2), a second lead coupled the return, and a control input (e.g., the gate input of 36, see Fig. 2); a control module coupled to the control input and the positive polarity connection (e.g., the circuits comprising 52), the control module comprising: a regulator (e.g., 52) configured to generate a drive signal (e.g., VGATE, VZCDDTO) that is periodic, each period defining an on-time and an off-time; a mode controller (e.g., 54, 57) coupled to the regulator, the mode controller configured to change conduction modes implemented by the regulator (e.g., see Fig. 6); and a transition controller (e.g., 57) coupled to the regulator, the mode controller, and the control input, the transition controller configured to: pass unchanged the drive signal to the control input during at least some periods of the drive signal (e.g., when VZCDDT being LOW, or 0V, see Fig. 6); and responsive to the mode controller changing conduction modes, convey with adjustments the drive signal to the control input (e.g., when VZCDDT being High, see Fig. 6).
For method claims 1-8, 11, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 9, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wu (US Patent or PG Pub. No. 20100046261, hereinafter ‘261), in view of Pervaiz et al. (US Patent or PG Pub. No. 20220393574, hereinafter ‘574).
Claim 9, ‘261teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. ‘261 does not explicitly disclose that wherein changing between conduction modes comprises changing between at least one selected from a group comprising: discontinuous-conduction mode (DCM) and critical-conduction mode (CrCM); and CrCM and continuous-conduction mode (CCM)..
‘574 discloses a PFC converter with auto-mpde transition between CCM and CrCM (e.g., between CCM and TM/CrCM, see Abstract, [0007][0032], Fig. 2, 7).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify ‘261 by including the mode changing between CCM and CrCM as taught by ‘574 in order of being able to achieve relatively high power factor and relatively low total harmonic distortion (THD) (e.g., see [0032]).
Claim 18, ‘261 teaches the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above. ‘261 does not explicitly disclose that wherein when the mode controller changes conduction modes, the mode controller is configured to change between at least one selected from a group comprising: discontinuous-conduction mode (DCM) and critical-conduction mode (CrCM); and CrCM and continuous-conduction mode (CCM).
‘574 discloses a PFC converter with auto-mpde transition between CCM and CrCM (e.g., between CCM and TM, see Abstract, [0007][0032], Fig. 2, 7).
‘261 reads the same obviousness as discussed in claim 9 rejection above.
Claims 10, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wu (US Patent or PG Pub. No. 20100046261, hereinafter ‘261), in view of YAN (CN 115333389 A, hereinafter YAN).
Claim 10, ‘261teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. ‘261 does not explicitly disclose that wherein changing between conduction modes comprises changing between at least one selected from a group comprising: discontinuous-conduction mode (DCM) and critical-conduction mode (CrCM); and CrCM and continuous-conduction mode (CCM)..
YAN discloses a conversion circuit boosting a rectified AC input (e.g., U1) with conduction mode transition selection between 3rd-valley DCM and 2nd-valley DCM, and/or 2nd -valley DCM and 1st -valley DCM (e.g., see Abstract, [0079], Fig. 1-2, 8-10).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify ‘261 by including the mode changing between 3rd-valley DCM and 2nd-valley DCM, and/or 2nd -valley DCM and 1st -valley DCM as taught by YAN in order of being able to improve the electric energy conversion efficiency of the converter circuit (e.g., see Abstract, [0079], Fig. 1-2, 8-10).
Claim 19, ‘261teaches the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above.
‘261 does not explicitly disclose that wherein when the mode controller changes conduction modes, the mode controller is configured to change between at least one selected from a group comprising: third-valley discontinuous-conduction mode (DCM) and second-valley DCM; second-valley DCM and first-valley DCM.
YAN discloses a conversion circuit boosting a rectified AC input (e.g., U1) with conduction mode transition selection between 3rd-valley DCM and 2nd-valley DCM; and/or 2nd -valley DCM and 1st -valley DCM (e.g., see Abstract, [0079], Fig. 1-2, 8-10).
YAN reads the same obviousness as discussed in claim 10 rejection above.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments in the remarks filed on 05/28/2026 have been considered have been fully considered and please see the examiner's responses for the reasons as discussed below.
Applicants stated on pages 7- 9 of the REMARKS:
…
Examiner's Response:
Applicant's above arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner would like to respectfully remind Applicant that as indicated in claim 12 rejection of the current office action above, the prior art ‘100 teaches the claimed limitations including “… a drive terminal (terminal OUT carrying drive signal Vgate); … a drive signal (Vgate being function of the signals comprising signal VZCDDTO, see Fig. 3- 6) that is periodic, each period defining an on-time and an off-time (see Fig. 4, 6); a mode controller (the circuits comprising 55, 57) … to change conduction modes implemented by the regulator based on a state of a sense signal (e.g., at ZCD) received from the input-sense terminal; … a transition controller (comprising 57, 64) … to: pass unchanged the drive signal to the drive terminal during at least some periods of the drive signal (during VZCDDT being LOW, or 0V, each cycle of the drive signal the pass unchanged, see Fig. 6); and responsive to the mode controller changing conduction modes, convey with adjustments the drive signal to the drive terminal (during VZCDDT being High ON/OFF peroids of signal Vgate being adjusted before send to the terminal OUT, see Fig. 4, 6) …", just as recited in the claim. Therefore, it is Examiner’s position that the prior art ‘261 does teach the argued limitations as recited in the claims.
In further response to applicant's argued features such as “…VZCDDT low/high state to both the claimed mode-controller-driven conduction-mode change and the claimed transition-controller trigger; … uses that zero-voltage-zone indication to extend on- time and vary the slew rate of VRAMP, including by changing charging/discharging current or capacitance while VIN is within the zero-voltage crossing zone. …, Wu's adjustment is responsive to a detected near-zero input-voltage region, not responsive to a mode controller changing an inductor conduction mode …”, Applicants are respectfully reminded that before the prior art can be applied, the Patent Office must consider the scope of the claims, and during examination, patent claims are to be given the "broadest reasonable interpretation" in light of the specification. MPEP § 2258(G); see also § 2111 (citing Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303 (Fed. Cir. 2005)). Since Applicant did not limit the drive signal or the mode-controller in the argued claims to or excluding any specific states, structure or functional details other than be recited in the respective argued claim(s), it is Examiner’s position that the prior art ‘261 anticipates the argued limitations as recited in the claims.
Therefore, for at least the reasons as discussed above, the grounds of the claim rejections are maintained in the current office action, and the current office action is made FINAL.
Examiner's Note:
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUE ZHANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838