NON-FINAL REJECTION
Drawings Objection
The drawings are objected because-
(1) The drawings are objected to because all of the drawings are blurred. The Fig.4, 6A-6D of PGPub and the originally filed drawings are not readable. All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning (See MPEP 1.84 (l)).
(2) The drawings are objected to because of the font size of Fig.4, 6A-6D being too small. Numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least .32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height (see MPEP 1.84(p)).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/431,153 (“’153”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications recite limitations that are closely related and at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because in claims 1-20 of the instant application, applicants claim a battery inspection method and system, comprising: a plurality of transducers; and a controller communicatively coupled to the plurality of transducers, the controller being configured to: send one or more commands to a first subset of the plurality of transducers for transmitting acoustic signals through a battery cell; receive, from a second subset of the plurality of transducers, response signals in response to the acoustic signals transmitted through the battery cell; determine a score indicative of quality of Solid Electrolyte Interphase (SEI) formation in the battery cell based on analyzing the response signals; and output the score.
The ‘153 application teaches a method comprising: transmitting acoustic signals through a battery cell via one or more first transducers; receiving response signals in response to the acoustic signals at one or more second transducers; and determining a cycle life performance score for the battery cell based on at least the response signals, the score indicating an estimated number of charge-discharge cycles that the battery cell will go through prior to reaching a threshold capacity (Claim 1/11); wherein the at least one score includes one or more of: a wetting score indicative of a soaking quality of the battery cell; a Solid Electrode Interphase (SEI) score indicative of a quality of SEI formation in the battery cell; an aging score indicative of a quality of aging of the battery cell; and a defect score indicative of presence of at least one physical defect in the battery cell (Claim 6/16).
Although the scope of claims 1-20 of the instant application and claims 1-20 of the ‘153 application are very similar, the difference between the present claimed invention and the ‘153 application is that the instant application utilizes outputting score, wherein the ‘153 application does not require that.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify or to eliminating the additional elements or limitations of claims 1-20 of ‘153 application to arrive at claims 1-20 of the instant application because one of ordinary skill in the art would have realized that the remaining elements or limitations would perform the same functions as before to accomplish the goal of acquiring a capacitive sensor. “Omission of element and its function in combination is obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform same functions as before.” See In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184, decide Jan 16, 1963, Appl. No. 6857, U.S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-10 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Tassell et al. (WO 2021/113879 A2, cited by Applicants, “Van Tassell”).
Regarding Claim 1, Van Tassell teaches a method ([0005], [0053], [0054], [0056]; figures 1-8) comprising: transmitting acoustic signals through a battery cell via one or more first transducers ([0005], [0056]); receiving response signals in response to the acoustic signals at one or more second transducers [0056]; determining a score indicative of quality of Solid Electrolyte Interphase (SEI) formation in the battery cell based on analyzing the response signals ([0029]; [0049], claim 8, [0054], [0056]); and outputting the score (412; fig.4, [0091]).
Regarding Claim 5, the method of claim 1 is taught by Van Tassell.
Van Tassell further teaches wherein the score is determined using a trained machine learning model (implicitly taught in database of [0091]).
Regarding Claim 6, the method of claim 5 is taught by Van Tassell.
Van Tassell further teaches wherein the trained machine learning model receives, as input, a subset of the response signals representing acoustic features corresponding to the SEI formation, and provides, as output, the score (implicitly taught in database of [0091]).
Regarding Claim 7, the method of claim 1 is taught by Van Tassell.
Van Tassell further teaches wherein the battery cell is going through a manufacturing process when the acoustic signals are transmitted therethrough ([0091]; [0096]).
Regarding Claim 8, the method of claim 1 is taught by Van Tassell.
Van Tassell further teaches wherein the score is outputted on a graphical user interface ([0101]; fig.6).
Regarding Claim 9, the method of claim 1 is taught by Van Tassell.
Van Tassell further teaches wherein the score is a weighted average of a plurality of scores, each of the plurality of scores corresponding to a different location on the battery cell through which one of the acoustic signals is transmitted ([0091], also the technique is well-known in the art).
Regarding Claim 10, Van Tassell teaches a battery inspection system (Fig.1A-1C), comprising: a plurality of transducers (126a-126c, 124a-124c, 146a-146c, 144a-144c; Fig.1B-1C); and a controller (128) communicatively coupled to the plurality of transducers (shown in fig.1B-1C), the controller being configured to: send one or more commands to a first subset of the plurality of transducers for transmitting acoustic signals through a battery cell ([0005], [0056]); receive, from a second subset of the plurality of transducers, response signals in response to the acoustic signals transmitted through the battery cell [0056]; determine a score indicative of quality of Solid Electrolyte Interphase (SEI) formation in the battery cell based on analyzing the response signals ([0029]; [0049], claim 8, [0054], [0056]); and output the score (412; fig.4, [0091]).
Regarding Claim 14, the battery inspection system of claim 10 is taught by Van Tassell.
Van Tassell further teaches wherein the score is determined using a trained machine learning model (implicitly taught in database of [0091]).
Regarding Claim 15, the battery inspection system of claim 14 is taught by Van Tassell.
Van Tassell further teaches wherein the trained machine learning model receives, as input, a subset of the response signals representing acoustic features corresponding to the SEI formation, and provides, as output, the score (implicitly taught in database of [0091]).
Regarding Claim 16, the battery inspection system of claim 10 is taught by Van Tassell.
Van Tassell further teaches wherein the battery cell is going through a manufacturing process when the acoustic signals are transmitted therethrough ([0091]; [0096]).
Regarding Claim 17, the battery inspection system of claim 10 is taught by Van Tassell.
Van Tassell further teaches wherein the score is outputted on a graphical user interface ([0101]; fig.6).
Regarding Claim 18, the battery inspection system of claim 10 is taught by Van Tassell.
Van Tassell further teaches wherein the score is a weighted average of a plurality of scores, each of the plurality of scores corresponding to a different location on the battery cell through which one of the acoustic signals is transmitted ([0091], also the technique is well-known in the art).
Regarding Claim 19, Van Tassell teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising computer-readable instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of a battery inspection system ([0005], [0053], [0054], [0056]; figures 1-8), cause the battery inspection system to: send one or more commands to a first subset of a plurality of transducers for transmitting acoustic signals through a battery cell ([0005], [0056]); receive, from a second subset of the plurality of transducers, response signals in response to the acoustic signals transmitted through the battery cell [0056]; determine a score indicative of quality of Solid Electrolyte Interphase (SEI) formation in the battery cell based on analyzing the response signals ([0029]; [0049], claim 8, [0054], [0056]); and output the score (412; fig.4, [0091]).
Regarding Claim 20, the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 19 is taught by Van Tassell.
Van Tassell further teaches wherein the score is determined using a trained machine learning model (implicitly taught in database of [0091]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Tassell as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Murphy et al. (WO 2021163056 A1, cited by the applicants, “Murphy”).
Regarding Claim 2, the method of claim 1 is taught by Van Tassell.
Van Tassell does not explicitly teach wherein determining the score comprises: pre-processing the response signals to determine a rate of change of the SEI formation across the battery cell; and determining the score based at least on the rate of change.
However, Murphy teaches battery testing systems and methods wherein determining the score comprises: pre-processing the response signals to determine a rate of change of the SEI formation across the battery cell; and determining the score based at least on the rate of change [0214].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Van Tassell’s method with the teaching of Murphy since this is a known technique in the art of battery inspection.
Regarding Claim 3, the method of claim 2 is taught by Van Tassell in view of Murphy.
Modified Van Tassell further teaches wherein pre-processing the response signals comprises: selecting a subset of the response signals representing acoustic features corresponding to the SEI formation (Van Tassell: ([0029]; [0049], claim 8, [0054], [0056], 412; fig.4, [0091]); determining the rate of change in each of the subset of the response signals (Murphy: [0214]); and performing an embedding process to determine the score (Van Tassell: ([0029]; [0049], claim 8, [0054], [0056], 412; fig.4, [0091]); Murphy: [0214]).
Regarding Claim 4, the method of claim 3 is taught by Van Tassell in view of Murphy.
Van Tassell further teaches wherein the embedding process is one of a principal component analysis or a non-linear embedding process [0131].
Regarding Claim 11, the battery inspection system of claim 10 is taught by Van Tassell.
Van Tassell does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is further configured to determine the score by: pre-processing the response signals to determine a rate of change of the SEI formation across the battery cell; and determining the score based at least on the rate of change.
However, Murphy teaches battery testing systems and methods wherein determining the score comprises: pre-processing the response signals to determine a rate of change of the SEI formation across the battery cell; and determining the score based at least on the rate of change [0214].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Van Tassell’s system with the teaching of Murphy since this is a known technique in the art of battery inspection.
Regarding Claim 12, the battery inspection system of claim 11 is taught by Van Tassell in view of Murphy.
Modified Van Tassell further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to pre-process the response signals by: selecting a subset of the response signals representing acoustic features corresponding to the SEI formation (Van Tassell: ([0029]; [0049], claim 8, [0054], [0056], 412; fig.4, [0091]); determining the rate of change in each of the subset of the response signals (Murphy: [0214]); and performing an embedding process to determine the score (Van Tassell: ([0029]; [0049], claim 8, [0054], [0056], 412; fig.4, [0091]); Murphy: [0214]).
Regarding Claim 13, the battery inspection system of claim 12 is taught by Van Tassell in view of Murphy.
Van Tassell further teaches wherein the embedding process is one of a principal component analysis or a non-linear embedding process [0131].
Conclusion
The following prior arts made of record and not relied upon, are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
VAN TASSELL et al. (US 2021/0175553 Al) teaches systems and methods for acoustic signal-based analysis, include obtaining acoustic response signal data of at least a portion of a battery cell, the acoustic response signal data comprising waveforms generated by transmitting one or more acoustic excitation signals into at least the portion of the battery cell and recording response vibration signals to the one or more acoustic excitation signals. One or more metrics are determined from at least the acoustic response signal data, the one or more metrics being determined based on correlation of the one or more metrics to one or more characteristics of battery cells and a reference model is generated from the one or more metrics. A test battery can be evaluated using the reference model. Actionable insights or recommendations can be generated based on the evaluation. The reference model can also be updated based on the evaluation [Abstract].
Contact Information
/SUMAN K NATH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855