Response to Amendment
Amendments submitted on 5/27/26 include amendments to the claims. Claims 1-15 are pending. Claim 1 has been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments that Jeong et al. does not teach that detergent discharged from the compression space is moved to the outer side of the detergent pump because Jeong et al. does not teach that the detergent fluid contacts the compression space 312: Jeong et al. teaches a detergent discharge flow path 363 connectable to the compression space 312 (the compression space 312 and the detergent discharge flow path 363 are fluidically connected via communication path 313, therefore, it is readily apparent that fluids will be capable of flowing between the detergent discharge flow path 363 and the compression space 312, as is further clarified by Jeong’s teaching that pressurization/depressurization of the compression space 312 via piston 320 causes pressurization/depressurization of the detergent discharge flow path 363) such that while the detergent discharge flow path 363 is connected to the compression space 312, detergent discharged from the compression space 312 is moved to the outer side of the detergent pump 440, 455, 449, 451, 450, 447, 310, 320 (see pages 13, 16-17 of the translation, figures 5-6, 8-9).
Regarding applicant’s arguments that Jeong et al. does not teach that a flow direction of the detergent in the detergent discharge flow path is configured to vary based on drawing the detergent into the detergent pump and discharging the detergent out of the detergent pump: Jeong et al. teaches the detergent pump 440, 455, 449, 451, 450, 447, 310, 320 including: a pumping portion 310, 312, 320 including a compression space 312 having a volume that is controllable to be varied such that the detergent accommodated in the detergent receiving space is drawn into an inner side of the detergent pump 440, 455, 449, 451, 450, 447, 310, 320 (as shown in figure 8) or is discharged to an outer side of the detergent pump 440, 455, 449, 451, 450, 447, 310, 320 (as shown in figure 9) as the volume of the compression space is varied (see figures 8-9, pages 16-17 of the translation, the expansive motion of the piston 320 results in the suction of detergent into an inner side of the detergent pump, and the compressive motion of the piston 320 results in the discharge of detergent to an outer side of the detergent pump), the detergent pump 440, 455, 449, 451, 450, 447, 310, 320 comprises: a first check valve module 365 capable of opening or closing the detergent discharge flow path 363 by the pumping portion on a side where detergent moves inward, and a second check valve module 375 capable of opening or closing the detergent discharge flow path 363 by the pumping portion on a side where the detergent moves outward, wherein the detergent discharge flow path 363 is a detergent space disposed between the first check valve module 365 and the second check valve module 375. Jeong et al. also teaches in figures 5 and 8-9 that the detergent discharge flow path 363 and the compression space 312 are positionally offset relative to one another and connected via communication path 313. Hence, a flow direction of the detergent in the detergent discharge flow path 363 is configured to vary based on drawing the detergent into the detergent pump 440, 455, 449, 451, 450, 447, 310, 320 (whereby the piston 320 expands the space in 312 and draws fluid into 363 and 312) and discharging the detergent out of the detergent pump 440, 455, 449, 451, 450, 447, 310, 320 (whereby the piston 320 compresses the space in 312 and discharges fluid from 312 and 363).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-9, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (KR102238355B1).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4, Jeong et al. teaches a washing machine (see abstract), comprising: a cabinet 110 (see figures 1-2, page 8 of the translation); a drum 140 arrangeable on an inner side of the cabinet 110 such that while the drum 140 is arranged on the inner side of the cabinet 110, the drum 140 forms a laundry room (see figure 2, page 8 of the translation); and a detergent supply apparatus configured to supply detergent to the laundry room, the detergent supply apparatus including: a detergent container 210 forming a detergent receiving space to accommodate the detergent to be supplied to the laundry room (see figures 1-3, pages 8-11 of the translation), and a detergent pump 440, 455, 449, 451, 450, 447, 310, 320, couplable to and decouplable from the detergent container, configured to pump detergent accommodated in the detergent receiving space toward the laundry room (see figures 4-9, pages 11-13, 16-17 of the translation); the detergent pump 440, 455, 449, 451, 450, 447, 310, 320 including: a pumping portion 310, 312, 320 including a compression space 312 having a volume that is controllable to be varied such that the detergent accommodated in the detergent receiving space is drawn into an inner side of the detergent pump 440, 455, 449, 451, 450, 447, 310, 320 (as shown in figure 8) or is discharged to an outer side of the detergent pump 440, 455, 449, 451, 450, 447, 310, 320 (as shown in figure 9) as the volume of the compression space is varied (see figures 8-9, pages 16-17 of the translation, the expansive motion of the piston 320 results in the drawing in the suction of detergent into an inner side of the detergent pump, and the compressive motion of the piston 320 results in the discharge of detergent to an outer side of the detergent pump), a detergent discharge flow path 363 connectable to the compression space 312 such that while the detergent discharge flow path 363 is connected to the compression space 312, detergent discharged from the compression space 312 is moved to the outer side of the detergent pump 440, 455, 449, 451, 450, 447, 310, 320, wherein a flow direction of the detergent in the detergent discharge flow path 363 is configured to vary based on drawing the detergent into the detergent pump 440, 455, 449, 451, 450, 447, 310, 320 (whereby the piston 320 expands the space in 312 and draws fluid into 363 and 312) and discharging the detergent out of the detergent pump 440, 455, 449, 451, 450, 447, 310, 320 (whereby the piston 320 compresses the space in 312 and discharges fluid from 312 and 363). Jeong et al. teaches in pages 13, 16-17, figures 5-6, 8-9, that the relative volume of the detergent discharge flow path 363 and the compression space 312 allows the fluid check valves 365 and 375 to close and open, respectively, during compression of the piston 320 for fluid discharge, and vice versa during expansion of the piston 320 for suctioning of fluid; the detergent pump 440, 455, 449, 451, 450, 447, 310, 320 comprises: a first check valve module 365 capable of opening or closing the detergent discharge flow path 363 by the pumping portion on a side where detergent moves inward, and a second check valve module 375 capable of opening or closing the detergent discharge flow path 363 by the pumping portion on a side where the detergent moves outward, wherein the detergent discharge flow path 363 is a detergent space disposed between the first check valve module 365 and the second check valve module 375. Jeong et al. does not explicitly teach that a volume of the detergent discharge flow path is less than or equal to a maximum volume of the compression space or a maximum volume change of the compression space. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that the volume of the compression space may be increased so as to be provide greater detergent suctioning and discharging capacity (reads on claims 2 and 4). Furthermore, it has been determined that changes in relative dimensions constitute an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a new and unexpected result is produced. Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984).
Regarding claim 3, Jeong et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1. Jeong et al. also teaches in pages 11-13 of the translation and figures 5-9 that the pumping portion comprises: a cylinder 310 configured to form the compression space 312, and a piston 320 moveable to be inserted into the cylinder 310 and capable of discharging the detergent accommodated in the compression space 312 from the compression space 312, and wherein a cross-sectional area of the detergent discharge flow path 363 is smaller than the cross-sectional area of the compression space 312.
Regarding claim 5, Jeong et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1. Jeong et al. also teaches in pages 12 and 14 of the translation and figures 4-6, 8-9 that the detergent pump 440, 455, 449, 451, 450, 447, 310, 320 includes a front case 361a and a rear case 361b couplable to a rear side of the front case 361a, and the front case 361a comprises: a front case body, a detergent intake portion 381 extending from the front case body in a direction in which the detergent pump 440, 455, 449, 451, 450, 447, 310, 320 is couplable with the detergent container 210, the detergent intake portion 381 forming an intake space therein, and a detergent discharge portion 391 forming a discharge space therein and connected to a detergent outlet pipe 264/268 (see pages 10-11 of the translation, figure 3). Jeong et al. does not teach that the detergent discharge portion extends forwardly from the front case body. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that the detergent discharge portion may be configured so as to extend forwardly from the front case body depending on the desired direction of detergent discharge as per the arrangement of the outlet piping and related features of the washing machine interior for the particular application. Furthermore, it has been determined that the rearrangement of parts constitutes an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 6, Jeong et al. teaches the limitations of claim 5. Jeong et al. also teaches in figures 8-9 and pages 13 and 16 of the translation, a shared flow path (see path of fluid as shown in figure 8), connecting the intake space and the compression space 312, and configured to allow detergent to be movable based on the detergent being moved from the intake space to an inner side of the compression space 312, and a connecting flow path (see path of fluid as shown in figure 9), connecting the shared flow path and the discharge space (see space inside 391), and configured to allow detergent to be movable through the shared flow path based on the detergent being moved from the compression space 312 to the discharge space.
Regarding claims 8-9, Jeong et al. teaches the limitations of claim 6. Jeong et al. also teaches in figures 5-6 that a cross-sectional area of the shared flow path is smaller than the cross-sectional area of the compression space 312 (reads on claim 8); and that a diameter of the shared flow path is smaller than a diameter of the compression space 312 (reads on claim 9).
Regarding claim 14, Jeong et al. teaches the limitations of claim 4. Jeong et al. also teaches in figures 5, 8-9 and pages 13 and 16 of the translation that the first check valve module 365 comprises: a check valve body including a head portion (see central portion of 365 that is in contact with the port 364) capable of opening or closing an intake space (see port 364 and upstream space 380), and an elastic support portion (see two-pronged portion on downstream end of 365) extending from one end (see downstream end) of the head portion and formed integrally with the head portion, the elastic support portion having a cross-sectional area smaller than the one end of the head portion, and an elastic member 367 configured to elastically bias the check valve body 365 in a direction toward the intake space.
Regarding claim 15, Jeong et al. teaches the limitations of claim 3. Jeong et al. also teaches in figure 3 that the cylinder 310 is formed to extend vertically (see vertical orientation of 280 in figure 3), and the piston 320 is capable of moving up and down within the cylinder 310 to vary the volume of the compression space 312.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 10-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record is Jeong et al. (KR102238355B1). Jeong et al. fails to teach/disclose all of the limitations of claim 7. Furthermore, no other prior art was located that fairly suggested the claimed invention in whole or in par along with the requisite motivation for combination to anticipate or render the claimed invention obvious.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TINSAE B AYALEW/EXAMINER, Art Unit 1711