DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1 recitation of the top surface of the cover member lack antecedent basis
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11-12, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon 20210016538 in view of Noh KR 20180039798 (cited on ids) in view Han 20130148312 and Qian 12,342,517 and admitted prior art.
a. As to claim 1, Kwon teaches A display device, comprising: a display panel ( paragraph 59: Examples of such suitable display devices include a liquid crystal display (LCD), a thin film transistor-liquid crystal display (TFT-LCD), an organic light emitting diode (OLED), a flexible display, a 3-dimensional (3D) display, an e-ink display, and combinations thereof) a cover member disposed on the display panel (item 210 and 230); a flexible film bonded to a top surface of the display panel at one side of the display panel and bent toward a bottom surface of the display panel (item 410 applicant gives no fixed value of how flexible is flexible further bent towards merely provide direction of the bend and does not set forth it is under the bottom), wherein at least a part of a bottom surface of the cover member is a concave surface recessed toward a top surface of the cover member (figures 5 and 6 side towards the display), and wherein the top surface of the cover member has a flat shape (side opposite the display).
Kwon does not explicitly teach the display including a plurality of sub pixels. The office point to the adhesive since it bends towards the back if applicant means bent toward the back and connect to a PCB this is not taught.
Noh teaches providing a display with sub-pixels:
A plurality of pixels (not shown) arranged in a matrix form may be disposed in the display area DA of the display panel 100. Here, each of the pixels may include a plurality of sub-pixels, and the sub-pixels may have different colors.
For example, each of the sub-pixels may have a color of red, green, blue, cyan, magenta, and yellow, and the light emitted from each of the sub-pixels may include red, green, blue, cyan, magenta, And the color of the light emitting layer may be any one of the colors.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the display with subpixels to provide the desired color variation throughout the display and to use known techniques to provide expected outcomes.
If applicant means); a flexible film bonded to a top surface of the display panel at one side of the display panel and bent toward a bottom surface of the display panel and extending under the bottom surface of the display.
This is not taught.
Han teaches a flexible film bonded to a top surface of the display panel at one side of the display panel and bent toward a bottom surface of the display panel and extending under the bottom surface of the display (figure 12 items 611-612 on a to portion of 600, the claim only states a top portion not a topmost portion).
Qian teaches a flexible film bonded to a topmost surface (figure 1 item 3 on 2) of the display panel at one side of the display panel and bent toward a bottom surface of the display panel and extending under the bottom surface of the display (item 3 bends to below the display 2.
Further applicant acknowledges that the use of such flexible films was used for bonding PCBs (background)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a flexible film bonded to a top or topmost surface of the display panel at one side of the display panel and bent toward a bottom surface of the display panel and extending under the bottom surface of the display.
To use conventional techniques to provide interconnection between the display and the PCB to provide interconnectivity and interconnection between the display and other elements.
b. As to claim 2, Kwon teaches wherein a shape of the display panel corresponds to a shape of the bottom surface of the cover member (see e.g. figure 2).
c. As to claim 3, Kwon teaches wherein the display panel is bonded to the concave surface of the bottom surface of the cover member (see e.g. figure 2 bonded via 220).
d. As to claim 4, Kwon in view of Han and Qian suggest wherein the concave surface is recessed toward a center portion from an area in which the flexible film is disposed and an opposite area of the area in which the flexible film is disposed both Han and Qian teach the flexible film is disposed at an edge of the display which would correspond to the edge of the cover of Kwon (figure 2 3 and 4) and the cover is recessed to form the concavity between the edges of the cover figure 3).
e. As to claim 5, Kwon does not teach a polarizer Noh (The display panel 100 has a rectangular plate shape having long sides and short sides and may include a display area DA for displaying an image and a non-display area NDA around the display area DA.
A polarizing film (not shown) may be attached to both surfaces of the display panel 100)
and Qian (item 10) both teach polarizer on the surface of the display between the display and cover (item 120 of Noh and item 1 of Qian).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a polarization plate disposed between the display panel and the cover member to provide the desired polarization to optimize the intensity of the light and to use known techniques to provide expected outcomes of improve viewability of the display).
f. As to claim 6, Kwon in view of Qian suggest wherein the polarization plate is bonded to the concave surface of the bottom surface of the cover member.
g. As to claim 7, Qian suggests wherein a length of a side of the polarization plate adjacent to the flexible film to an opposite side is smaller than a length of the display panel (item 10 is shorter than item 2).
h. As to claim 11, Kwon does not explicitly teach further comprising: a black matrix in contact with the bottom surface of the cover member and configured to enclose the display panel.
Noh teaches further comprising: a black matrix in contact with the bottom surface of the cover member and configured to enclose the display panel (BM1). To block light from the side.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a black matrix in contact with the bottom surface of the cover member and configured to enclose the display panel.
To block undesired light from side.
i. As to claim 12, Kwon does not explicitly wherein the bottom surface of the cover member further includes a flat surface enclosing the concave surface, and wherein the black matrix is disposed on the flat surface of the bottom surface of the cover member.
Noh suggests providing a flat surface for sealing a covered device item 120
and the Black matrix on the flat surface (figure 16 BM in contact with the two covers item 110 and 120).
Thus, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the
time of filing to provide the bottom surface of the cover member further includes a flat surface enclosing the concave surface, and wherein the black matrix is disposed on the flat surface of the bottom surface of the cover member.
j. As to claim 17, Kwon does not explicitly teach further comprising: a polarization coating film disposed on the top surface of the cover member.
However, aftermarket glare reducing polarizing films and placed over or on the display were known to reduce glare and improve privacy.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide an external glare reducing polarizer to optimize the glare and privacy of the screen to the user desired outcome.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon 20210016538 in view of Noh KR 20180039798 cited on ids. in view Qian 12,342,517 of admitted prior art in further Moon 20200185643.
As to claim 8, Kwon in view of Noh and Qian do not teach an optical film disposed between the polarization plate and the cover member.
Moon teaches a window layer (WM) on the display (figure 4) and polarizer bonded to the window via an adhesive (FM paragraph 9) A display device includes a display module, a window disposed above the display module, an optical film disposed between the display module and the window, an adhesive layer, and a refractive index matching pattern. The window includes a base substrate and a bezel pattern overlapping with the base substrate and defining a first transmissive area and a second transmissive area isolated from the first transmissive area in a plane view. The optical film includes a first open area defined therein to correspond to the second transmissive area. The adhesive layer couples the window with the optical film. The refractive index matching pattern is disposed in the first open area and has a refractive index of about 90% to about 110% of the adhesive layer. The first open area is defined as an area in which the optical film is not disposed.
As to claim 9, Without a loss of generality OCA can be consider part of the
polarizer. Moon therefore teaches the adhesive layer couples the window with the optical film. The refractive index matching pattern is disposed in the first open area and has a refractive index of about 90% to about 110% of the adhesive layer. The first open area is defined as an area in which the optical film is not disposed.
Applicant has shown no unexpected results for the index be greater than the polarizer
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have
optimized the index of refraction to be 90%-99% that of the adhesive layer portion of the polarizer to optimize the index matching for the desired effects and use known index material to obtain expected outcome of matched index display.
c. As to claim 10, Kwon and Moon suggest an upper adhesive layer disposed between the optical film and the polarization plate (item OCA of Moon); and a lower adhesive layer disposed between the optical film and the cover member (item 220 of Kwon).
Moon does not explicitly teach wherein a refractive index of the optical film is larger than a refractive index of the upper adhesive layer and a refractive index of the lower adhesive layer.
Moon therefore teaches the adhesive layer couples the window with the optical film: The refractive index matching pattern is disposed in the first open area and has a refractive index of about 90% to about 110% of the adhesive layer. The first open area is defined as an area in which the optical film is not disposed.
Applicant has shown no unexpected results for the index be greater than the polarizer
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have
optimized the index of refraction to be 90%-99% that of the adhesive layer portion of the polarizer to optimize the index matching for the desired effects and use known index material to obtain expected outcome of matched index display.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13-16, and 18-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 13 prior art does not reasonably teach and/or suggest wherein the black matrix includes: a first part disposed adjacent to the flexible film; a second part disposed opposite to the first part; and a third part connecting the first part and the second part, and wherein widths of the first part and the second part are larger than a width of the third part.
As to claim 18, Prior art does not teach and/or suggest wherein the polarization coating film has a same size as the top surface of the cover member (specifically the side portion would not be compensated for.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW L. REAMES/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/MATTHEW L REAMES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896