DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Southworth et al. (Southworth) (US 2023/0123387) (of record) in view of Wandler et al. (Wandler) (US 2019/0044861).
As to claim 1, Southworth discloses a method for remote direct memory access (RDMA) communication, the method comprising:
transmitting, from a first device to a second device via a network, a first RDMA message (paragraph 15-16, 42, 44);
storing, by the first device, a transmit byte count of a total number of bytes transmitted in the first RDMA message (paragraph 15-17, 27, 44-46);
receiving, by the first device from the second device, a second RDMA message associated with the first RDMA message, the second RDMA message comprising a receive byte count of a total number of bytes of the first RDMA message received by the second device (paragraph 17, 27, 45);
determining, by the first device, a size of a congestion window on the network based on the transmit byte count and the receive byte count (paragraph 17, 27, 44-46).
While Southworth discloses congestion notification packets, Southworth fails to specifically disclose wherein the second RDMA message is transmitted according to existing RDMA protocol semantics and determining congestion without introducing protocol- level congestion signaling packets.
In an analogous art, Wandler discloses a system for remote direct memory access (RDMA) communication (Fig. 1-2; paragraph 15, 22-24) which will transmit, from a first device to a second device via a network, a first RDMA message (210, paragraph 22-26) and receive, by the first device from the second device, a second RDMA message associated with the first RDMA message, wherein the second RDMA message is transmitted according to existing RDMA protocol semantics (RDMA ACK, 212; paragraph 15, 22-26) and determining congestion without introducing protocol- level congestion signaling packets (congestion window determined based upon RDMA ACK header information; paragraph 15, 22-26) so as to save network bandwidth by providing congestion control without using congestion notification packets (CNPs) (paragraph 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Southworth’s system to include wherein the second RDMA message is transmitted according to existing RDMA protocol semantics and determining congestion without introducing protocol- level congestion signaling packets, as taught in combination with Wandler, for the typical benefit of saving network bandwidth by providing congestion control without using congestion notification packets (CNPs) (paragraph 15).
As to claim 2, Southworth and Wandler disclose wherein the receive byte count is contained in a transport header (see Southworth at paragraph 43 and Wandler at paragraph 23-24).
As to claim 3, Southworth and Wandler disclose wherein the congestion window is a connection-level byte fidelity congestion window implemented by the first device without using a packet tracker (“A congestion window can represent a number of packets or amount of data (e.g., number of bytes) that can be transmitted before receipt of an acknowledgement of packet receipt”; see Southworth at paragraph 27).
As to claim 4, Southworth and Wandler disclose wherein:
the first device comprises a responder device (see Southworth at paragraph 8, 49, 57);
the second device comprises a requestor device (initiating read; see Southworth at paragraph 8, 49, 57);
the first RDMA message is a read response associated with a read request, the read response is transmitted from the responder device to the requestor device (see Southworth at paragraph 8-12, 20, 90);
the second RDMA message is an acknowledgement of the read response transmitted from the requestor device to the responder device (see Southworth at paragraph 8-11, 18, 27).
As to claim 5, Southworth and Wandler disclose wherein the acknowledgement is a standard unreliable duplicate acknowledgement (see Southworth at paragraph 27, 36, 46 and Wandler at paragraph 23-25).
As to claim 6, Southworth and Wandler disclose transmitting a probe packet from the responder device to the requestor device(“a single outbound Request or Response packet followed by an SNP or merely sending another SNP” see Southworth at paragraph 36), in a case that the acknowledgement is not received by the responder device and that the size of the congestion window is greater than or equal to a congestion window threshold (lost SNP/RNP resulting in window closure; see Southworth at paragraph 36);
receiving, from the requestor device, an acknowledgement of the probe packet containing the receive byte count (window reopening RNP; see Southworth at paragraph 36).
As to claim 7, Southworth and Wandler disclose wherein:
the first device comprises a requestor device (see Southworth at paragraph 8, 49, 57);
the second device comprises a responder device (see Southworth at paragraph 8, 49, 57);
the first RDMA message is a write request transmitted from the requestor device to the responder device (see Southworth at paragraph 8-12, 20, 90);
the second RDMA message is an acknowledgement of the write request transmitted from the responder device to the requestor device (see Southworth at paragraph 8-12, 20, 90).
As to claim 8, Southworth and Wandler disclose transmitting a probe packet from the requestor device to the responder device (“a single outbound Request or Response packet followed by an SNP or merely sending another SNP” see Southworth at paragraph 36), in a case that the acknowledgement is not received by the requestor device and that the size of the congestion window is greater than or equal to a congestion window threshold (lost SNP/RNP resulting in window closure; see Southworth at paragraph 36);
receiving, from the responder device, an acknowledgement of the probe packet containing the receive byte count (window reopening RNP; see Southworth at paragraph 36).
As to claim 9, Southworth discloses a system for remote direct memory access (RDMA) communication (Fig. 1; paragraph 12), the system comprising:
a first device (100);
a second device communicatively coupled to the first device via a network (130; paragraph 12-14);
wherein the first device is configured to:
transmit a first RDMA message to the second device (paragraph 15-16, 42, 44);
store a transmit byte count of a total number of bytes transmitted in the first RDMA message (paragraph 15-17, 27, 44-46);
receive, from the second device, a second RDMA message associated with the first RDMA message, the second RDMA message comprising a receive byte count of a total number of bytes of the first RDMA message received by the second device (paragraph 17, 27, 45);
determine a size of a congestion window on the network based on the transmit byte count and the receive byte count (paragraph 17, 27, 44-46).
While Southworth discloses congestion notification packets, Southworth fails to specifically disclose wherein the second RDMA message is transmitted according to existing RDMA protocol semantics and determining congestion without introducing protocol- level congestion signaling packets.
In an analogous art, Wandler discloses a system for remote direct memory access (RDMA) communication (Fig. 1-2; paragraph 15, 22-24) which will transmit, from a first device to a second device via a network, a first RDMA message (210, paragraph 22-26) and receive, by the first device from the second device, a second RDMA message associated with the first RDMA message, wherein the second RDMA message is transmitted according to existing RDMA protocol semantics (RDMA ACK, 212; paragraph 15, 22-26) and determining congestion without introducing protocol- level congestion signaling packets (congestion window determined based upon RDMA ACK header information; paragraph 15, 22-26) so as to save network bandwidth by providing congestion control without using congestion notification packets (CNPs) (paragraph 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Southworth’s system to include wherein the second RDMA message is transmitted according to existing RDMA protocol semantics and determining congestion without introducing protocol- level congestion signaling packets, as taught in combination with Wandler, for the typical benefit of saving network bandwidth by providing congestion control without using congestion notification packets (CNPs) (paragraph 15).
As to claim 10, Southworth and Wandler disclose wherein the receive byte count is contained in a transport header (see Southworth at paragraph 43 and Wandler at paragraph 23-24).
As to claim 11, Southworth and Wandler disclose wherein the congestion window is a connection-level byte fidelity congestion window implemented by the first device without using a packet tracker (“A congestion window can represent a number of packets or amount of data (e.g., number of bytes) that can be transmitted before receipt of an acknowledgement of packet receipt”; see Southworth at paragraph 27).
As to claim 12, Southworth and Wandler disclose wherein:
the first device comprises a responder device (see Southworth at paragraph 8, 49, 57);
the second device comprises a requestor device (initiating read; see Southworth at paragraph 8, 49, 57);
the first RDMA message is a read response associated with a read request, the read response is transmitted from the responder device to the requestor device (see Southworth at paragraph 8-12, 20, 90);
the second RDMA message is an acknowledgement of the read response transmitted from the requestor device to the responder device (see Southworth at paragraph 8-11, 18, 27).
As to claim 13, Southworth and Wandler disclose wherein the acknowledgement is a standard unreliable duplicate acknowledgement (see Southworth at paragraph 27, 36, 46 and Wandler at paragraph 23-25).
As to claim 14, Southworth and Wandler disclose wherein:
in a case that the acknowledgement is not received by the responder device and that the size of the congestion window is greater than or equal to a congestion window threshold (lost SNP/RNP resulting in window closure; see Southworth at paragraph 36), the responder device is further configured to:
transmit a probe packet to the requestor device (“a single outbound Request or Response packet followed by an SNP or merely sending another SNP” see Southworth at paragraph 36);
receive, from the requestor device, an acknowledgement of the probe packet containing the receive byte count (window reopening RNP; see Southworth at paragraph 36).
As to claim 15, Southworth and Wandler disclose wherein:
the first device comprises a requestor device (see Southworth at paragraph 8, 49, 57);
the second device comprises a responder device (see Southworth at paragraph 8, 49, 57);
the first RDMA message is a write request transmitted from the requestor device to the responder device (see Southworth at paragraph 8-12, 20, 90);
the second RDMA message is an acknowledgement of the write request transmitted from the responder device to the requestor device (see Southworth at paragraph 8-12, 20, 90).
As to claim 16, Southworth and Wandler disclose wherein: in a case that the acknowledgement is not received by the requestor device and that the size of the congestion window is greater than or equal to a congestion window threshold (lost SNP/RNP resulting in window closure; see Southworth at paragraph 36), the requestor device is further configured to
transmit a probe packet to the responder device (“a single outbound Request or Response packet followed by an SNP or merely sending another SNP” see Southworth at paragraph 36);
receive, from the responder device, an acknowledgement of the probe packet containing the receive byte count (window reopening RNP; see Southworth at paragraph 36).
As to claim 17, Southworth discloses a responder device for remote direct memory access (RDMA) communication with a requestor device via a network (100 sending data to 130; Fig. 1), the responder device comprising:
circuitry (Fig. 4; paragraph 12, 49) configured to:
receive a read request from the requestor device (initiating read; paragraph 8, 12, 20, 49, 57);
transmit a read response to the requestor device (paragraph 15-16, 42, 44);
store a transmit byte count of a total number of bytes transmitted in the read response (paragraph 15-17, 27, 44-46);
receive an acknowledgement of the read response from the requestor device, the acknowledgement comprising a receive byte count of a total number of bytes of the read response received by the requestor device (paragraph 17, 27, 45);
determine a size of a congestion window on the network based on the transmit byte count and the receive byte count (paragraph 17, 27, 44-46).
While Southworth discloses congestion notification packets, Southworth fails to specifically disclose wherein the second RDMA message is transmitted according to existing RDMA protocol semantics and determining congestion without introducing protocol- level congestion signaling packets.
In an analogous art, Wandler discloses a system for remote direct memory access (RDMA) communication (Fig. 1-2; paragraph 15, 22-24) which will transmit, from a first device to a second device via a network, a first RDMA message (210, paragraph 22-26) and receive, by the first device from the second device, a second RDMA message associated with the first RDMA message, wherein the second RDMA message is transmitted according to existing RDMA protocol semantics (RDMA ACK, 212; paragraph 15, 22-26) and determining congestion without introducing protocol- level congestion signaling packets (congestion window determined based upon RDMA ACK header information; paragraph 15, 22-26) so as to save network bandwidth by providing congestion control without using congestion notification packets (CNPs) (paragraph 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Southworth’s system to include wherein the second RDMA message is transmitted according to existing RDMA protocol semantics and determining congestion without introducing protocol- level congestion signaling packets, as taught in combination with Wandler, for the typical benefit of saving network bandwidth by providing congestion control without using congestion notification packets (CNPs) (paragraph 15).
As to claim 18, Southworth and Wandler disclose wherein the receive byte count is contained in a transport header (see Southworth at paragraph 43 and Wandler at paragraph 23-24).
As to claim 19, Southworth and Wandler disclose wherein the congestion window is a connection-level byte fidelity congestion window implemented by the first device without using a packet tracker (“A congestion window can represent a number of packets or amount of data (e.g., number of bytes) that can be transmitted before receipt of an acknowledgement of packet receipt”; see Southworth at paragraph 27).
As to claim 20, Southworth and Wandler disclose wherein:
in a case that the acknowledgement is not received by the responder device and that the size of the congestion window is greater than or equal to a congestion window threshold (lost SNP/RNP resulting in window closure; see Southworth at paragraph 36), the circuitry is further configured to:
transmit a probe packet to the requestor device (“a single outbound Request or Response packet followed by an SNP or merely sending another SNP” see Southworth at paragraph 36);
receive, from the requestor device, an acknowledgement of the probe packet containing the receive byte count (window reopening RNP; see Southworth at paragraph 36).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Menachem et al. (US 2018/0004705) disclosing the modifying “standard, predefined RDMA protocol” NAK packets to selectively indicate packets lost from congestion.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James R Sheleheda/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424