DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claiming priority as continuation to parent application 17/214,281, filed on 3/26/2021, now U.S. Patent No. 12,056,750.
Claim Objections
Regarding Claims 6 and 14, with Claim 6 as representative: Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claims, but would be free of the prior art if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claims and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6-9, and 14-17 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10, 12, and 27 of U.S. Patent No. 12,056,750.
Regarding Claims 1, 9, and 17, with Claim 1 as representative: Claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,056,750 discloses a method comprising:
receiving, via a user device, a query; Claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,056,750 discloses “receive a query request for an item for sale…”.
detecting, via a beacon or a tag, that a device within a retailer location, of a plurality of retailer locations, is within a signal strength threshold to the user device; Claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,056,750 discloses “detect, at a first time and via at least one beacon or a tag, that a device is within at least one of the plurality of physical retailer locations is within a signal strength threshold to the user device”.
based on the detecting, partially executing the query by ranking the retailer location among the plurality of retailer locations; Claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,056,750 discloses “in response to the detecting that the user device within at least one of the plurality of physical retailer locations is within the signal strength threshold, partially execute the query by ranking the at least one of the plurality of physical retailer locations”.
subsequent to the partially executing the query, detecting, via the beacon or the tag, that the device within the retailer location is outside of the signal strength threshold to the user device; Claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,056,750 discloses “detect, at a second time subsequent to the first time and via the at least one of the beacon or the tag, that the device within the at least one of the plurality of physical retailer locations is outside of the signal strength threshold to the user device”.
based on the detecting that the device within the retailer location is outside of the signal strength threshold to the user device, modifying the ranking of the retailer location; Claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,056,750 discloses “based at least in part on the detecting, at the second time subsequent to the first time, that the device within the at least one of the plurality of physical retailer locations is outside of the signal strength threshold to the user device, modify the ranking of the at least one of the plurality of physical retailer locations”.
based on the modifying of the ranking of the retailer location, causing presentation at the user device, of a user interface element. Claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,056,750 discloses “based at least in part on the modifying of the ranking of the at least one of the plurality of physical retailer locations and the ranking of the plurality of item listings, causing generation, at a page of the electronic marketplace, of first user interface elements and second user interface elements, the first user interface elements indicate the modified ranking of the at least one of the plurality of physical retailer locations”.
Regarding Claims 6 and 14, with Claim 6 as representative: Claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,056,750 discloses partially executing the query by ranking a plurality of item listings and causing presentation, at the user device, of a second user interface element representing the ranked plurality of item listings, wherein a user interface includes the first user interface element representing the plurality of retailer locations that have been ranked and the second user interface element representing the ranked plurality of item listings; Claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,056,750 discloses “cause generation, at a page of the electronic marketplace, of first user interface elements and second user interface elements, the first user interface elements indicate the modified ranking of the at least one of the plurality of physical retailer locations, and the second user interface elements indicate the ranking of the item listings”.
Regarding Claims 7 and 15, with Claim 7 as representative: Claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,056,750 discloses wherein the query is for an item, and wherein the computer-implemented method further comprising:
determining that a set of delivery services, of a plurality of delivery services, are available to deliver the item from at least one of the plurality of retailer locations to a location of a user of the user device; Claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,056,750 discloses “in response to the receiving of the query request for the item for sale…, determine that a set of delivery services, of a plurality of delivery services, are available to deliver the item from the one or more of the plurality of physical retailer locations to a location of the user”.
based on the determining, causing presentation of indicators representing the set of delivery services at the user device. of U.S. Patent No. 12,056,750 discloses “based on the determining, causing display, at the page, of the set of delivery services”.
Regarding Claims 8 and 16, with Claim 8 as representative: Claim 27 of U.S. Patent No. 12,056,750 discloses the method further comprising:
detecting, in near real-time, geo-coordinates of the user device; Claim 27 of U.S. Patent No. 12,056,750 discloses “…receiving the geocoded indicator…”.
based on the detecting of the geo-coordinates and the detecting, via the beacon or a tag, that the device within a retailer location is within the signal strength threshold to the user device, determine that the retailer location is within a threshold distance of the geo-coordinates. Claim 27 of U.S. Patent No. 12,056,750 discloses “determining that the plurality of physical retailer locations are within distance to the user device or user based at least in part on receiving the geocoded indicator transmitted by the user device… and responsively determining which inventory facilities offer the item for sale that is within the threshold distance from the geocoded indicator”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-11, 13, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Mourya (US 20130030918 A1) in view of Benkreira (US 10,839,453 B1).
Regarding Claim 1: Mourya discloses a method comprising:
detecting, via a beacon or a tag, that a device within a retailer location, of a plurality of retailer locations, is within a signal strength threshold to the user device; Mourya discloses sensing signal strengths are within range (threshold) of the user device (Mourya: [0042]; [0032]; see also: [0017]; [0033]; [0067]).
based on the detecting, ranking the retailer location among the plurality of retailer locations; Mourya discloses emphasizing/deemphasizing the retailers on the list based on the signal strength (Mourya: [0042]; see also: [0017]; [0034]).
detecting, via the beacon or the tag, that the device within the retailer location is outside of the signal strength threshold to the user device; Mourya discloses the user moving, and various signals for retailers strengthening and weakening (which would include retailers coming in and out of range) (Mourya: [0042]; see also: [0017]; [0037-0038]; [0068]).
based on the detecting that the device within the retailer location is outside of the signal strength threshold to the user device, modifying the ranking of the retailer location; Mourya discloses emphasizing and deemphasizing retailers on the list of retailers as the user moves and the signal strengths change (Mourya: [0042]; see also: [0018]; [0034]; [0037-0038]; [0068]).
based on the modifying of the ranking of the retailer location, causing presentation, at the user device, of a user interface element. Mourya discloses displaying the list of the retailers and their order to the use (Mourya: [0042]; see also: [0018]; [0034]; [0038]; [0068]).
Mourya does not explicitly teach receiving, via user device, a query; Notably, Mourya does disclose the devices searching additional information about the retailer advertisement (Mourya: [0026]).
To that accord, Benkreira does teach receiving, via user device, a query; Benkreira teaches the user inputting text for a search for a product, including determining retailers within a predetermined distance that have the product in stock (Benkreira: col. 8, ln. 11-17; col. 11, ln. 27-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the invention of Mourya disclosing the system for detecting and ranking nearby retailers to the user by signal strength with the receiving of a query from a user device as taught by Benkreira. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to allow shoppers to purchase a specific product immediately from a local merchant (Benkreira: col. 1, ln. 35-44).
Regarding Claim 2: Mourya in view of Benkreira discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Mourya further discloses wherein the ranking of the retailer location causes the retailer location to be ranked higher relative to a second retailer location, and wherein modifying of the ranking of the retailer location causes the retailer location to be ranked lower relative to the second retailer location. Mourya discloses emphasizing and deemphasizing the retailers on the list based on their signal strength, such that the retailer with the stronger signal is above the weaker signal retailer on the list (Mourya: [0042]; see also: [0018]; [0034]; [0068]).
Regarding Claim 3: Mourya in view of Benkreira discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Mourya further discloses wherein the user interface element includes a list of indicators that each represent a respective ranked retailer location of the plurality of retailer locations. Mourya discloses the list in order of the retailers with the strongest signal strength (Mourya: [0042]; [0034]; [0037-0038]). Other indicators may be used, including adjusting a transparency of the retailer image based on the proximity (Mourya: [0043]).
Regarding Claim 5: Mourya in view of Benkreira discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Mourya further discloses wherein the device includes the beacon or tag and wherein the device is a part of an indoor positioning system attached to the retailer location. Mourya discloses Vid transmitters that are installed in the location of the participating advertisers (retailers) (Mourya: [0024]).
Regarding Claim 8: Mourya in view of Benkreira discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Mourya further disloses:
detecting, in near real-time, geo-coordinates of the user device;
based on the detecting of the geo-coordinates and the detecting, via the beacon or a tag, that the device within a retailer location is within the signal strength threshold to the user device, determine that the retailer location is within a threshold distance of the geo-coordinates. Mourya discloses a GPS location of the user device, and detecting the signal strength of retailers within the detection range to determine the retailers within range of the user (Mourya: [0045]; [0032]; see also: [0067]).
Regarding Claims 9 and 17: Claims 9 and 17 recite substantially similar limitations as claim 1. Therefore, claims 9 and 17 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 10: Claim 10 is recites substantially similar limitations as claim 2. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2 above.
Regarding Claims 11 and 18: Claims 11 and 18 recite substantially similar limitations as claim 3. Therefore, claims 11 and 18 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 3 above.
Regarding Claims 13 and 20: Claims 13 and 20 recite substantially similar limitations as claim 5. Therefore, claims 13 and 20 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 5 above.
Regarding Claim 16: Claim 16 is recites substantially similar limitations as claim 8. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 8 above.
Claims 4, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by the combination of Mourya (US 20130030918 A1) and Benkreira (US 10,839,453 B1), in view of Adel (US 20160284014 A1).
Regarding Claim 4: The combination of Mourya and Benkreira discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the query is for an item and wherein the item includes the tag or beacon. Notably, however, Mourya does disclose Vid transmitters that are installed in the location of the participating advertisers (retailers) (Mourya: [0024]), and Benkreira does teach the user inputting text for a search for a product, including determining retailers within a predetermined distance that have the product in stock (Benkreira: col. 8, ln. 11-17; col. 11, ln. 27-31).
To that accord, Adel does teach wherein the query is for an item and wherein the item includes the tag or beacon. Adel teaches a search for the item, and a tag signal from a tag device associated with the product (Adel: [0067]; see also: abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the invention of the combination of Mourya and Benkreira disclosing the system for detecting and ranking nearby retailers to the user by signal strength with the item including the tag or beacon as taught by Adel. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to assist a user locate a product without assistance from a worker (Adel: [0009]).
Regarding Claims 12 and 19: Claims 12 and 19 recite substantially similar limitations as claim 4. Therefore, claims 12 and 19 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 4 above.
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by the combination of Mourya (US 20130030918 A1) and Benkreira (US 10,839,453 B1), in view of Kim (US 11,010,707 B1).
Regarding Claim 6: The combination of Mourya and Benkreira discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
The combination does not explicitly teach further comprising:
determining that a set of delivery services, of a plurality of delivery services, are available to deliver the item from at least one of the plurality of retailer locations to a location of a user of the user device;
based on the determining, causing presentation of indicators representing the set of delivery services at the user device.
Notably, however, Mourya does disclose a GPS location of the user device (Mourya: [0045]).
To that accord, Kim does teach further comprising:
determining that a set of delivery services, of a plurality of delivery services, are available to deliver the item from at least one of the plurality of retailer locations to a location of a user of the user device; Kim teaches identifying and requesting item delivery provider devices for the order (Kim: col. 14, ln. 7-18; col. 19, ln. 65-col. 20, ln. 3; see also: col. 15, ln. 3-10; Fig. 4A, #418).
based on the determining, causing presentation of indicators representing the set of delivery services at the user device. Kim teaches identifying and requesting item delivery provider devices for the order and displaying the delivery task as it updates for the user (Kim: col. 14, ln. 7-18; col. 19, ln. 65-col. 20, ln. 3; see also: col. 15, ln. 3-10; Fig. 4A, #418).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the invention of the combination of Mourya and Benkreira disclosing the system for detecting and ranking nearby retailers to the user by signal strength with the determining of delivery services of the item from the retailers and presenting them to the user as taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce time delays incurred by merchants and delivery personnel (Kim: col. 1, ln. 40-53).
Regarding Claim 15: Claim 15 is recites substantially similar limitations as claim 7. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. PTO-892 Reference U discloses providing location information for a user within a retailer location based on RSSs from Wi-Fi access points.
/TIMOTHY J KANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3688