Double Patenting
Claims 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,059,103. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both set of claims include the limitations having a base having a first portion having a first coefficient of friction and a second portion having a second coefficient of friction, the first portion including an etched area, a second portion having an unetched area, wherein the first coefficient of friction of the first portion has a first value when the first portion is wet, the second coefficient of friction of the second portion has a second value when the second portion is wet, and wherein the first value is higher than the second value.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “about” in claim 18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claim 18 recites the limitation “about 30% to about 80%”. The specification does not provide an adequate definition of what constitutes "about." For example, it is +/- 0.1%, 1%, 10%, etc.? Because the specification does not give a clear indication of what falls under the umbrella of "about" the scope of the claims is indefinite.
The term “substantially” in claims 7, 14, 17 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. Claim 7 recites the limitation “substantially smooth gloss surface”. Claim 14 recites the limitation “substantially smooth”. Claim 17 recites the limitation “substantially smooth surface”. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification does not provide an adequate definition of what constitutes "substantially." For example, it is +/- 0.1%, 1%, 10%, etc.? Because the specification does not give a clear indication of what falls under the umbrella of "substantially" the scope of the claims is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerhard et al (US Patent Publication 20190208965 herein after Gerhard) in view of Esquivel (US Patent Publication 20120317913).
Regarding Claim 1, Gerhard shows a method of forming a shower receptor comprising: forming a base (paragraph 35 line 1) having a floor surface configured for a user to stand on (paragraph 35 line 1); and selectively lasering directly into the floor surface to form a first portion (see annotated figure below) having a surface texture with a depth (paragraph 26) and a first coefficient of friction (paragraph 40), wherein, following selective etching, the floor surface includes a second portion (see annotated figure below) that is unetched and has a second coefficient of friction (paragraph 26 line 3); wherein the first coefficient of friction has a first value when the first portion is wet and the second coefficient of friction has a second value, lower than the first value, when the second portion is wet (paragraph 22). Gerhard fails to show selectively etching directly into the floor surface. Esquivel teaches a grooved tile. The method of forming the tile includes selectively etching directly into the floor surface to form a first portion (paragraph 107). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a step of etching into the floor surface in order to create a pattern (Esquivel paragraph 107 lines 1-2).
Regarding Claim 2, Gerhard shows the method of claim 1, wherein the first portion covers a range between 30% and 80% of a surface area of the floor surface (paragraph 26).
Regarding Claim 3, Gerhard shows the method of claim 1, wherein the first portion covers 50% of a surface area of the floor surface (paragraph 26).
Regarding Claim 4, Gerhard shows the method of claim 1, wherein the depth is in a range between 40 microns and 70 microns (paragraph 22).
Regarding Claim 5, Gerhard shows the method of claim 1, wherein the depth is 50 microns (paragraph 22).
Reading Claim 7, Gerhard shows the method of claim 1, wherein the second portion defines a substantially smooth gloss surface (paragraph 39).
Regarding Claim 8, Gerhard shows the method of claim 1, wherein the first portion is positioned below the second portion (Fig. 2B; paragraph 22, see annotated figure above).
Regarding Claim 9, Gerhard show the method of claim 1 further comprising: Selectively etching directly into the floor surface to form the first portion (see annotated figure above), the first portion having a first surface texture, a first depth, and the first coefficient of friction (paragraph 63); and selectively etching directly into the floor surface to form a third portion (paragraph 63), the third portion (Fig.5) having a third surface texture, a third depth, and a third coefficient of friction; wherein the third depth is greater than the first depth (located closer to base (1); paragraph 63).
Regarding Claim 10, Gerhard shows the method of claim 9, wherein the first portion defines a first pattern (straight lines, Fig.1) and the third portion defines a second pattern (waves, Fig.1), wherein the first pattern is different from the second pattern (Fig.1).
Regarding Claim 11, Gerhard shows the method of claim 1, wherein selectively etching directly into the floor surface comprises operating a laser (5, 6) to form the first portion (paragraph 63).
Regarding Claim 12, Gerhard shows the method of claim 1, but fails to show wherein selectively etching directly into the floor surface comprises operating a sandblaster to form the first portion. Esquivel teaches a method of selectively etching directly into the floor surface comprises operating a sandblaster to form the first portion (104; paragraph 107 line 6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a step of operating a sandblaster to form the first portion in order to create a pattern (Esquivel paragraph 107 lines 1-2).
Regarding Claim 13, Gerhard shows the method of claim 1, but fails to show wherein selectively etching directly into the floor surface comprises applying chemical solution to the floor surface to form the first portion. Esquivel teaches a method of selectively etching directly into the floor surface comprises applying chemical solution to the floor surface to form the first portion (104; paragraph 107). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a step selectively etching directly into the floor surface comprises applying chemical solution to the floor surface to form the first portion in order to create a pattern (Esquivel paragraph 107 lines 1-2).
Regarding Claim 14, Gerhard shows a method of manufacturing an etched shower base, the method comprising: providing a shower base (1) having a floor surface that is substantially smooth (paragraph 9), wherein the floor surface has a first coefficient of friction (paragraph 9); operating a laser (5) to form a lasered portion of the floor surface and an un lasered portion of the floor surface (paragraph 17), wherein the un lasered portion has the first coefficient of friction (paragraph 9) and wherein the lasered portion has a depth and a second coefficient of friction (paragraph 22); wherein the first coefficient of friction is a first value (paragraph 11) when the floor surface is dry and the second coefficient of friction is a second value when the floor surface is dry (paragraph 22), the second value being greater than the first value (paragraph 22); and wherein the first coefficient of friction is a third value when the floor surface is wet (paragraph 11) and the second coefficient of friction is a fourth value when the floor surface is wet, the fourth value being greater than the second value (paragraph 22). Gerhard fails to show selectively etching a portion of the floor surface. Esquivel teaches a grooved tile. The method of forming the tile includes selectively etching directly into the floor surface to form a first portion through a laser (paragraph 107). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a step of etching into the floor surface in order to create a pattern (Esquivel paragraph 107 lines 1-2).
Regarding Claim 15, Gerhard shows the method of claim 14, wherein the etched portion covers a range between 30% and 80% of a surface area of the floor surface (paragraph 26).
Regarding Claim 16, Gerhard shows the method of claim 14, wherein the depth of the etched portion is in a range between 40 microns and 70 microns (paragraph 22).
Regarding Claim 17, Gerhard shows a bathing structure comprising: a base (1) having a floor surface (4) configured for a user to stand on, wherein the floor surface includes a first portion (see annotated figure below) having a first coefficient of friction (paragraph 22) and a second portion (see annotated figure below) having a second coefficient of friction (paragraph 11); wherein the first portion is a lasered area of the floor surface that defines a surface texture having a depth in a range between 40 microns and 70 microns (Fig. 2B; paragraph 22); wherein the second portion is an un lasered area of the floor surface (Fig. 2B), the second portion defining a substantially smooth surface and is positioned above the first portion (see annotated figure below); and wherein the first coefficient of friction of the first portion has a first value when the first portion is wet (paragraphs 11, 63), the second coefficient of friction of the second portion has a second value when the second portion is wet (paragraph 63), and wherein the first value is higher than the second value (paragraph 63 lines 10-14). Gerhard fails to show an etched area. Esquivel teaches a grooved tile. The method of forming the tile includes selectively etching directly into the floor surface to form a first portion through laser (paragraph 107). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an etched area in order to create a pattern (Esquivel paragraph 107 lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 18, Gerhard shows the bathing structure of claim 17, wherein the first portion covers about 30% to about 80% of a surface area of the floor surface (paragraph 26).
Regarding Claim 19, Gerhard shows the bathing structure of claim 17, wherein the bathing structure is one of a shower receptor (paragraph 55 lines 1-2).
Claim(s) 6 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerhard et al (US Patent Publication 20190208965 herein after Gerhard) in view of Esquivel (US Patent Publication 20120317913) as applied to the claims above and further in view of Grayson (US Patent Publication 20040034922).
Regarding Claim 6, Gerhard shows the method of claim 1, but fails to show wherein forming the shower receptor comprises forming the base from acrylic. Grayson teaches a shower pan that is made of acrylic (paragraph 12). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make a shower pan made of acrylic in order to provide a strong waterproof shower pan.
Regarding Claim 20, Gerhard shows the bathing structure of claim 17, but fails to show wherein the floor surface is made from acrylic. Grayson teaches a shower pan that is made of acrylic (paragraph 12). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make a shower pan made of acrylic in order to provide a strong waterproof shower pan.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gordon (US Patent 2,292,368) is directed to the state of the art as a teaching of an bath floor with raised areas (Fig.4).
/LAUREN A CRANE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754