Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 25, 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is 48 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Song et al. (US 20220003909 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Song”.
Regarding Claim 1, Song discloses a display device ([0044], “a display device 1”; FIGs 1-4, 6-18, 1) comprising: a substrate comprising light-transmitting areas and light blocking areas ([0056], “a plurality of light-emitting areas TA and a light-blocking area BA”; FIG 3-4 & 6-18, BA, TA); a color filter layer comprising color filters above the light transmitting areas ([0090] “The color filter layer CFL may be disposed in the light-emitting areas TA”; FIG 4 & 7-18, CFL); first patterns below the color filter layer, and overlapping the light transmitting areas ([00109], “a light-transmitting pattern TPL_1, which is disposed in the first light-emitting area TA1”; FIG 4 & 8-18, TPL_1); and second patterns below the color filter layer, and overlapping the light-blocking area ([00109], “a light-transmitting dummy pattern TPL_2, which is disposed in the spacer area SA”; FIG 4 & 8-18, TPL_2).
Regarding Claim 2, Song discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein first patterns and the second patterns are at a same layer ([00109], “The light-transmitting layer TPL may include…”; FIG 4 & 8-18, TPL, TPL_1, TPL_2).
Regarding Claim 3, Song discloses the display device of claim 1, Song discloses the first patterns and the second patterns comprise a same material ([00109], “may include the same material”).
Regarding Claim 4, Song discloses the display device of claim 3, Song discloses the first patterns and the second patterns comprise scatterers ([00106], “may include … a first scatterer SCP 1”; FIG 4 & 8-18, SCP1).
Regarding Claim 5, Song discloses the display device of claim 1, Song discloses a bank defining first openings surrounding the first patterns, and respectively exposing portions of the first patterns ([00124], “The bank layer 370 may be disposed in the light-blocking area BA, along the boundaries of each of the subpixels PXS”; FIG 4 & 9-18, 370, 371, 372).
Regarding Claim 6, Song discloses the display device of claim 5, Song discloses a bank defining second openings surrounding the second patterns, and respectively exposing portions of the second patterns (FIG 4 & 9-18, 370, 371, 372).
Regarding Claim 7, Song discloses the display device of claim 5, Song discloses a spacer overlapping one of the second patterns ([0061], “The spacers CS may be disposed in light-blocking areas BA.”; FIG 4 & 9-18, CS).
Regarding Claim 8, Song discloses the display device of claim 7, Song discloses the spacer and the bank comprise the same material ([00164], “The spacer CS may be formed in the process of forming the bank layer 370”).
Regarding Claim 12, Song discloses the display device of claim 1, Song discloses a display substrate comprising light-emitting structures (FIG 4, 10), wherein no light conversion layer exists between the color filter layer (FIG 4, 310) and the light-emitting structures (FIG 4 & 18, BA, TA1).
Regarding Claim 13, Song discloses a method of manufacturing a display device ([00144], “a method of fabricating a color conversion substrate 30 of a display device 1”; FIGs 5-18) comprising: a substrate comprising light-transmitting areas and light blocking areas ([0056], “a plurality of light-emitting areas TA and a light-blocking area BA”; FIG 3-4 & 6-18, BA, TA); a color filter layer comprising color filters above the light transmitting areas ([0090] “The color filter layer CFL may be disposed in the light-emitting areas TA”; FIG 4 & 7-18, CFL); first patterns below the color filter layer, and overlapping the light transmitting areas ([00109], “a light-transmitting pattern TPL_1, which is disposed in the first light-emitting area TA1”; FIG 4 & 8-18, TPL_1); and second patterns below the color filter layer, and overlapping the light-blocking area ([00109], “a light-transmitting dummy pattern TPL_2, which is disposed in the spacer area SA”; FIG 4 & 8-18, TPL_2).
Regarding Claim 14, Song discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the first patterns and the second patterns are formed in one process ([00152]; “the light-transmitting layer TPL, which is patterned, is formed on the surface of the second substrate 310”; FIG 8, TPL, TPL_1, TPL_2).
Regarding Claim 15, Song discloses the method of claim 13, Song discloses the first patterns and the second patterns comprise a same material ([00109], “may include the same material”).
Regarding Claim 16, Song discloses the method of claim 15, Song discloses the first patterns and the second patterns comprise scatterers ([00106], “may include … a first scatterer SCP 1”; FIG 4 & 8-18, SCP1).
Regarding Claim 17, Song discloses the method of claim 13, Song discloses forming a bank on the first patterns ([00124], “The bank layer 370 may be disposed in the light-blocking area BA, along the boundaries of each of the subpixels PXS”; FIG 4 & 9-18, 370, 371, 372) and the second patterns (FIG 4 & 9-18, 370, 371, 372), and forming a spacer on one of the second patterns ([0061], “The spacers CS may be disposed in light-blocking areas BA.”; FIG 4 & 9-18, CS).
Regarding Claim 18, Song discloses the method of claim 17, Song discloses the bank and the spacer are formed in one process ([00154], “Part of the bank layer 370 disposed in the spacer area SA, e.g., the spacer part 372, may be disposed to overlap with the dummy pattern DP. By forming the bank layer 370, which is patterned, a protruding structure that is to be projected in the spacer area SA by the height difference formed by the dummy pattern DP, e.g., the spacer CS, may be formed.”; FIG 9, 371, 372, CS).
Regarding Claim 19, Song discloses the method of claim 17, Song discloses the bank defining first openings surrounding the first patterns, and respectively exposing portions of the first patterns ([00124], “The bank layer 370 may be disposed in the light-blocking area BA, along the boundaries of each of the subpixels PXS”; FIG 4 and 9, 370, 371, 372) and defining second openings surrounding the second patterns, and respectively exposing portions of the second patterns (FIG 4 & 9-18, 370, 371, 372).
Regarding Claim 20, Song discloses the method of claim 17, Song discloses the spacer and the bank comprise the same material ([00164], “The spacer CS may be formed in the process of forming the bank layer 370”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Yang et al. (US 20170373124 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Yang”.
Regarding Claim 9, Song teaches the display as claimed in claim 8. Song does not teach the spacer and the bank comprising a light-blocking material or black material, but does emphasize that the bank “may reduce or prevent color mixing from occurring due to light introduction between adjacent first to third sub-pixels PXS1, PXS2, and PXS3” ([0111]).
However, Yang teaches the bank and spacer comprising of a black pigment ([0100], “the bank layers include a black pigment in order to reduce reflection of external light”, [0220], “if the spacer 646 is formed of the same material as the second bank layer 542 and includes the black pigment”), which is a black material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display described in Song such that the bank and spacer comprising of a black pigment. Doing so allows for the bank and spacer to reduce reflection of external light (Yang [0099], “reduce reflection of the external light by the electroluminescence display device 100”).
Regarding Claim 10, Song teaches the display as claimed in claim 8. Song does not teach the spacer and the bank comprising a light-blocking material or black material, but does emphasize that the bank “may reduce or prevent color mixing from occurring due to light introduction between adjacent first to third sub-pixels PXS1, PXS2, and PXS3” ([0111]).
As mentioned above, Yang teaches the bank and spacer comprising of a black pigment ([0100], “the bank layers include a black pigment in order to reduce reflection of external light”, [0220], “if the spacer 646 is formed of the same material as the second bank layer 542 and includes the black pigment”), which inherently isn’t a liquid repellant material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display described in Song such that the bank and spacer comprising of a black pigment that is inherently a non-liquid repellant material. Doing so allows for the bank and spacer to reduce reflection of external light (Yang [0099], “reduce reflection of the external light by the electroluminescence display device 100”).
Regarding Claim 21, Song teaches the method as claimed in claim 20. Song does not teach the spacer and the bank comprising a light-blocking material or black material, but does emphasize that the bank “may reduce or prevent color mixing from occurring due to light introduction between adjacent first to third sub-pixels PXS1, PXS2, and PXS3” ([0111]).
As mentioned above, Yang teaches the bank and spacer comprising of a black pigment ([0100], “the bank layers include a black pigment in order to reduce reflection of external light”, [0220], “if the spacer 646 is formed of the same material as the second bank layer 542 and includes the black pigment”), which is a black material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method described in Song such that the bank and spacer comprising of a black pigment. Doing so allows for the bank and spacer to reduce reflection of external light (Yang [0099], “reduce reflection of the external light by the electroluminescence display device 100”).
Regarding Claim 22, Song teaches the method as claimed in claim 20. Song does not teach the spacer and the bank comprising a light-blocking material or black material, but does emphasize that the bank “may reduce or prevent color mixing from occurring due to light introduction between adjacent first to third sub-pixels PXS1, PXS2, and PXS3” ([0111]).
As mentioned above, Yang teaches the bank and spacer comprising of a black pigment ([0100], “the bank layers include a black pigment in order to reduce reflection of external light”, [0220], “if the spacer 646 is formed of the same material as the second bank layer 542 and includes the black pigment”), which inherently isn’t a liquid repellant material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method described in Song such that the bank and spacer comprising of a black pigment that is inherently a non-liquid repellant material. Doing so allows for the bank and spacer to reduce reflection of external light (Yang [0099], “reduce reflection of the external light by the electroluminescence display device 100”).
Claims 11 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Kim et al. (US 20220052118 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Kim”.
Regarding claim 11, Song teaches the display as claimed in claim 1. Song does not teach a low refractive index layer overlapping the color filter layer; and a capping layer overlapping the low refractive index layer, but does emphasize that the capping layer “may reduce or prevent impurities” ([0098]).
Kim however teaches a low refractive index layer overlapping a color filter layer ([0085], “a low refractive index layer 450 is disposed over the capping layer 403”; FIG 1, 413, 423, 433, 450), and a capping layer overlapping the low refractive index layer ([0084], “a capping layer 403 is disposed over the light-transmitting layer 415”; FIG 1, 403, 450).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display in Song such that the display comprised a low refractive index layer and capping layer as described in the claims. Doing so helps the display with luminous efficiency by blocking generated light from being emitted to the outside without being converted by a color conversion unit ([0123], “luminous efficiency may be significantly improved”).
Regarding claim 23, Song also teaches the method as claimed in claim 13 and does not teach forming a low refractive index layer overlapping the color filter layer; and a capping layer overlapping the low refractive index layer, but does emphasize that the capping layer “may reduce or prevent impurities” ([0098]).
As mentioned above, Kim teaches a low refractive index layer overlapping a color filter layer ([0085], “a low refractive index layer 450 is disposed over the capping layer 403”; FIG 1, 413, 423, 433, 450), and a capping layer overlapping the low refractive index layer ([0084], “a capping layer 403 is disposed over the light-transmitting layer 415”; FIG 1, 403, 450).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method in Song such that the method comprised forming a low refractive index layer and capping layer as described in the claims. Doing so helps the display with luminous efficiency by blocking generated light from being emitted to the outside without being converted by a color conversion unit ([0123], “luminous efficiency may be significantly improved”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Song et al. (US 20200212113 A1), Lee et al. (US 20210005672 A1), Kim et al. (US 20220352248 A1), Jeong et al. (US 20230102623 A1) are cited to teach a display device with a color conversion or filter region, relevant to claims 1-23 of the claimed invention.
/MATTHEW L SHEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897