DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US ‘334 (U.S. PGPub 2020/0251334).
Regarding Claim 1, US ‘334 discloses a method comprising: introducing, into a semiconductor processing chamber housing a substrate material, a reducing agent such as ammonia (NH3); introducing, into the semiconductor processing chamber, a germanium amidinate precursor such as germanium butylamidinate; and forming an atomic layer of germanium on the substrate material resulting from a reaction of the reducing agent and the germanium amidinate precursor at a temperature between approximately 150℃ and approximately 325℃, inclusive, and further comprising, subsequent to forming the atomic layer of germanium on the substrate material: purging the semiconductor processing chamber; introducing, into the semiconductor processing chamber, a silicon precursor; and doping the atomic layer of germanium with silicon resulting from a reaction of the atomic layer of germanium and the silicon precursor (see claims 1, 4; paragraph [0019]). The forming of the atomic layer of germanium necessitates the ligands of the germanium precursor dissociating from the metal center, else no atomic layer of germanium as disclosed can be formed.
Regarding Claim 15, US ‘334 discloses a method comprising: introducing, into a semiconductor processing chamber housing a substrate material, a reducing agent such as ammonia (NH3); introducing, into the semiconductor processing chamber, a germanium amidinate precursor such as germanium butylamidinate; and forming an atomic layer of germanium on the substrate material resulting from a reaction of the reducing agent and the germanium amidinate precursor at a temperature between approximately 150℃ and approximately 325℃, inclusive, and further comprising, subsequent to forming the atomic layer of germanium on the substrate material: purging the semiconductor processing chamber; introducing, into the semiconductor processing chamber, a silicon precursor; and doping the atomic layer of germanium with silicon resulting from a reaction of the atomic layer of germanium and the silicon precursor (see claims 1, 4; paragraph [0019]). US ‘334 teaches (see claim 4; paragraphs [0021], [0022]) that the germanium deposition process can be used to form multiple layers of germanium; the underlying layers of germanium are the stacks and the final layer of germanium is commensurate with the latter three limitations of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11 and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US ‘334.
The additional features of claims 10, 11, 24 and 25 are easily modified or optimized by a person skilled in the art from US ‘334 considering that forming the atomic layer of germanium includes heating the semiconductor processing chamber to a temperature between approximately 150℃ and approximately 325℃, inclusive (see claim 7).
Claim(s) 2-3, 5-7, 12, 16-17, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US ‘334 in view of US ‘733 (US PGPub 2014/0220733).
Claims 2, 3, 5, 16, 17, and 19 differ from US ‘334 in the chemical formula of the first precursor. However, US ‘733, relating to a method of depositing germanium on a substrate, discloses a germanium amidinate precursor of the formula IX:
wherein R’ and R“ include C1-C6alkyl; and X includes C1-C6alkyl and -NR1R2(R1, R2=C1-C6alkyl) (see claims 1, 6; paragraphs 0012]-[0014]). Considering that both US ‘334 and US ‘733 relate to a germanium precursor for deposition of a layer, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made or filed to have modified the invention to derive the features of claims 2-5 and 16-19 by applying the germanium amidinate precursor of US ‘733 to the feature of US ‘334 without difficulty and the effect of it would be predictable.
Claims 6, 7, 20 and 21 differ from US ‘334 in the chemical formula X-Ge(AMD). However, US ‘733 discloses that the germanium amidinate precursor includes Ge(II) or Ge(IV), and at least one amidinate ligand of the formula [RNCXNR], for example, the formula :
of Ge(IV) amidinate (R include C1-C6alkyl; Z include H, C1-C6alkyl; Y=C1-C6alkoxy, -R1R2, Si(R4)3, halides; and x=0-5 ) (see paragraph [0147]). Considering that both US ‘334 and US ‘733 relate to a germanium precursor for deposition of a layer, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made or filed to have modified the invention to derive the features of claims 6, 7, 20 and 21 by applying the germanium amidinate precursor of US ‘733 to the feature of US ‘334 without difficulty and the effect of it would be predictable.
Regarding Claim 12, US ‘334 discloses a method comprising: introducing, into a semiconductor processing chamber housing a substrate material, a reducing agent such as ammonia (NH3); introducing, into the semiconductor processing chamber, a germanium amidinate precursor such as germanium butylamidinate; and forming an atomic layer of germanium on the substrate material resulting from a reaction of the reducing agent and the germanium amidinate precursor at a temperature between approximately 150℃ and approximately 325℃, inclusive, and further comprising, subsequent to forming the atomic layer of germanium on the substrate material: purging the semiconductor processing chamber; introducing, into the semiconductor processing chamber, a silicon precursor; and doping the atomic layer of germanium with silicon resulting from a reaction of the atomic layer of germanium and the silicon precursor (see claims 1, 4; paragraph [0019]). The subject matter of claim 12 differs from US ‘334 in that the first precursor comprises germanium bis(trimethylsilyl)amide or a germanium bis(amide) having the chemical formula (R1R2R3Z1)(R4R5R6Z2)N-Ge-N(Z3R7R8R9)(Z4R10R11R12). However, US ‘733, relating to a method of depositing germanium on a substrate, discloses that the germanium precursor includes
(=germanium bis(trimethylsilyl)amide) (see claims 1, 6; paragraphs [0012], [0068], [0071]). Considering that both US ‘334 and US ‘733 relate to a germanium precursor for deposition of a layer, it would be obvious to a person skilled in the art to apply the germanium precursor of US ‘733 to the method of US ‘334, thereby arriving at claim 12.
Claim(s) 4 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US ‘334 in view of US ‘733 (US PGPub 2014/0220733) and Gordon (“ALD Precursors and Reaction Mechanisms”, obtained online at https://cns.fas.harvard.edu/documents/2018/06/ald-precursors-reaction-mechanisms.pdf/; prior art date of June 2018 from hyperlink).
Claims 4 and 18 differ from US ‘334 in the chemical formula of the first precursor. However, US ‘733, relating to a method of depositing germanium on a substrate, discloses a germanium amidinate precursor of the formula IX:
wherein R’ and R“ include C1-C6alkyl; and X includes C1-C6alkyl and -NR1R2(R1, R2=C1-C6alkyl) (see claims 1, 6; paragraphs 0012]-[0014]). Considering that both US ‘334 and US ‘733 relate to a germanium precursor for deposition of a layer, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made or filed to have modified the invention to derive the features of claims 4 and 18 by applying the germanium amidinate precursor of US ‘733 to the feature of US ‘334 without difficulty and the effect of it would be predictable. The germanium amidinate precursor of US ‘733 does not disclose hydrogen for the X groups of the compound. Gordon discusses known amidinate ligands for ALD reactions at slides 18, 32 and 33. Slide 33 identifies amidinate ligands as known for use in germanium ALD precursors; Slide 32 shows assorted amidinate ligands showing that the choice of ligands influences steric hindering and melting points of the precursor. Gordon discloses that hydrogen, methyl, ethyl, propyl, and butyl ligands are all known choices for the X group of the amidinate ligand as disclosed in US ‘733. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made or filed to have modified the invention of US ‘334 / US ‘733 to select hydrogen for the X group in the compound of US ‘733 as suggested by Gordon, as the ligand selection allows for tailoring steric and thermal properties of the precursor.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US ‘334 in view of US ‘084 (U.S. PGPub 2021/0262084).
Claims 8 and 22 differ from US ‘334 in the chemical formula of the second precursor (US ‘334 discloses ammonia at paragraph [00190 as discussed above). US ‘084 is drawn to deposition of tellurium containing films, inclusive of tellurium and germanium containing films, by ALD processes (paragraph [0007], [0062]). US ‘084 discloses both ammonia and R’2NH compounds as known ALD reactants for this class of material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made or filed to have modified the invention of US ‘334 to use R’2NH compounds in place of ammonia as suggested by US ‘084, as the R’2NH compounds are disclosed as suitable for the same purpose as ammonia in a comparable reaction environment. The disclosure of US ‘084 renders obvious alkyl substituents that overlap the claim (1-12 carbon alkyls are a subset of the claims alkyl substituent).
Claims 9 and 23 differ from US ‘334 in the chemical formula of the second precursor (US ‘334 discloses ammonia at paragraph [00190 as discussed above). US ‘084 is drawn to deposition of tellurium containing films, inclusive of tellurium and germanium containing films, by ALD processes (paragraph [0007], [0062]). US ‘084 discloses both ammonia and (R’3Si)3N compounds as known ALD reactants for this class of material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made or filed to have modified the invention of US ‘334 to use (R’3Si)3N compounds in place of ammonia as suggested by US ‘084, as the (R’3Si)3N compounds are disclosed as suitable for the same purpose as ammonia in a comparable reaction environment. The disclosed (R’3Si)3N compound renders obvious e.g. methyl for all R’ groups as a 1 carbon alkyl; Si(CH3)3 maps to the ZR1R2R3 portion of the compound, and (Si(CH3))2N- maps to an amide comprising two substituents, the two substituents of the amide selected from silyl substituents comprising three alkyl substituents.
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US ‘334 in view of US ‘733 and US ‘084.
Claim 13 differs from US ‘334 / US ‘733 in the chemical formula of the second precursor (US ‘334 discloses ammonia at paragraph [00190 as discussed above). US ‘084 is drawn to deposition of tellurium containing films, inclusive of tellurium and germanium containing films, by ALD processes (paragraph [0007], [0062]). US ‘084 discloses both ammonia and R’2NH compounds as known ALD reactants for this class of material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made or filed to have modified the invention of US ‘334 / US ‘733 to use R’2NH compounds in place of ammonia as suggested by US ‘084, as the R’2NH compounds are disclosed as suitable for the same purpose as ammonia in a comparable reaction environment. The disclosure of US ‘084 renders obvious alkyl substituents that overlap the claim (1-12 carbon alkyls are a subset of the claims alkyl substituent).
Claim 14 differs from US ‘334 / US ‘733 in the chemical formula of the second precursor (US ‘334 discloses ammonia at paragraph [00190 as discussed above). US ‘084 is drawn to deposition of tellurium containing films, inclusive of tellurium and germanium containing films, by ALD processes (paragraph [0007], [0062]). US ‘084 discloses both ammonia and (R’3Si)3N compounds as known ALD reactants for this class of material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made or filed to have modified the invention of US ‘334 / US ‘733 to use (R’3Si)3N compounds in place of ammonia as suggested by US ‘084, as the (R’3Si)3N compounds are disclosed as suitable for the same purpose as ammonia in a comparable reaction environment. The disclosed (R’3Si)3N compound renders obvious e.g. methyl for all R’ groups as a 1 carbon alkyl; Si(CH3)3 maps to the ZR1R2R3 portion of the compound, and (Si(CH3)3)2N- maps to an amide comprising two substituents, the two substituents of the amide selected from silyl substituents comprising three alkyl substituents.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL G MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712