DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 1 July 2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-12, 14, 16-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 14, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2008/0158862 A1) in view of Johnson (US 2016/0209018 A1), Rashidi Doust (US 2016/0238226 A1), Luo et al. (US 2016/0146411 A1), Crisman (US 685,745), and Walters (GB 2489039 A).
With respect to claim 1: Wu teaches “a lighting apparatus (21+111) to be installed into a platform (14) that has an installation opening (see Fig. 17), comprising: a back cover (5); an annular structure (21), wherein the annular structure has surrounding wall (2+3), wherein the surrounding wall defines a top opening (4), wherein the back cover conceals the top opening (see Fig. 17), wherein the annular structure has a bottom rim (12) extended outwardly from a bottom border of the surrounding wall (see Fig. 17), wherein the annular structure and the back cover are fixed as a unit to conceal the installation opening (see Fig. 17), wherein the annular structure and the back cover are made of a fireproof material (paragraphs 28-29), wherein the back cover and the annular structure defines a container space (see Fig. 17); a light module (111) stored within the container space (see Fig. 17), a fire isolation layer (3) placed between the back cover and the light module (see Fig. 17), wherein the fire isolation layer is fixed (see Fig. 17) to the back cover with a metal connector (2)”.
Wu does not specifically teach “a surface rim conceals the installation opening, wherein the bottom ring is between the surface rim and an edge border of the installation opening”.
However, Johnson teaches “a surface rim (30) conceals the installation opening (see Figs. 1-2), wherein the bottom ring (either the rim of 14, ring 34, or ring 16) is between the surface rim (see Fig. 1) and an edge border of the installation opening (paragraph 36)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the lighting apparatus of Wu with the surface rim and bottom ring of Johnson in order to provide a seal (Johnson paragraphs 32, 36).
Wu does not specifically teach “wherein the surface rim has a lower melting point than the annular structure”.
However, Rashidi Doust teaches “wherein the surface rim (16) has a lower melting point (paragraphs 37-38) than the annular structure (10)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed to further modify the lighting apparatus of Wu by choosing a material with a lower melting point to make the surface rim as compared to the annular structure as taught by Rashidi Doust in order to permit the opening of the lighting apparatus to be plugged when there is a fire (Rashidi Doust paragraphs 37-38).
Wu does not specifically teach “wherein when the light module is burnt with a fire, a distance between the light module and the back cover is changed by detaching the light module from the back cover by melting a fixing connector by the fire”.
However, Luo teaches “wherein when the light module (1070) is burnt with a fire (paragraph 4), a distance between the light module and the back cover (back of 1060) is changed by detaching the light module from the back cover (see Figs. 24a, 24b) by melting a fixing connector (1020, 1022) by the fire (paragraph 106)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed to further modify the lighting apparatus of Wu by adding the meltable fixing connectors of Luo in order to allow the light module to drop out of the light apparatus’s opening and allow a fireproof element to plug the opening, thus keeping the fire out (Luo paragraph 106).
Wu does not specifically teach “wherein a breaking sensor is coupled to send a fire alarm to an external device when the sensor detects melting of the fixing connector”.
However, Crisman teaches “wherein a breaking sensor (1) is coupled to send a fire alarm to an external device (21) when the sensor detects melting (page 1 lines 98-page 2 line 23) of the fixing connector (13)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed to further modify the lighting apparatus of Wu by using the breaking sensor taught by Crisman due to the art-recognized utility of a sensor of this type for the purpose of detecting a fire (Crisman page 1 lines 8-20).
Wu in view of Crisman does not specifically teach that the breaking sensor is coupled to a controller that controls the light module.
However, Walters teaches wherein a sensor (20) is coupled to a controller (page 5 lines 20-25) that controls the light module (21) to send a fire alarm to an external device (24).
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed to further modify the lighting apparatus of Wu by coupling the sensor to the lighting controller as taught by Walters so that emergency lighting can be activated as part of the fire alarm (Walters page 5 lines 11-25).
With respect to claim 4: Wu in view of Johnson, Rashidi Doust, Luo, Crisman, and Walters teaches “The lighting apparatus of claim 1 (see above)”.
Wu does not specifically teach “wherein the annular structure is a circular shape”.
However, Johnson teaches “wherein the annular structure (14) is a circular shape (see Fig. 2)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the lighting apparatus of Wu by making it circular as taught by Johnson due to the art recognized suitability of circular light fixtures for use as downlights (Johnson paragraph 28).
With respect to claim 14: Wu in view of Johnson, Rashidi Doust, Luo, Crisman, and Walters teaches “the lighting apparatus of claim 13 (see above)”.
Wu does not specifically teach “wherein then the fixing connector is melt, there is a hanging connector to prevent the light module directly dropping down to ground”.
However, Luo teaches “wherein then the fixing connector is melt (see Fig. 26), there is a hanging connector (1095) to prevent the light module directly dropping down to ground (paragraph 107)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed to further modify the lighting apparatus of Wu by having the hanging connector prevent the light module from dropping to the ground as taught by Luo in order to prevent collateral damage (Luo paragraph 107).
With respect to claim 16: Wu in view of Johnson, Rashidi Doust, Luo, Crisman, and Walters teaches “The lighting apparatus of claim 1 (see above)”.
Wu does not specifically teach “wherein a safety switch is turned on after the lighting apparatus is installed to turn on the fire alarm function of the breaking sensor”.
However, Walters teaches “wherein a safety switch is turned on after the lighting apparatus is installed to turn on the fire alarm function of the breaking sensor (page 4 lines 23-30)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed to further modify the lighting apparatus of Wu by including Walters’ safety switch so that the fire alarm can alert people that help is needed (Walters page 4 lines 23-30).
With respect to claim 17: Wu in view of Johnson, Rashidi Doust, Luo, Crisman, and Walters teaches “The lighting apparatus of claim 1 (see above)”.
Wu teaches “wherein a socket connector (1) is disposed on the back cover (see Fig. 17), wherein an external cable is guiding power to the light module via the socket connector (see Fig. 17)”.
With respect to claim 18: Wu in view of Johnson, Rashidi Doust, Luo, Crisman, and Walters teaches “The lighting apparatus of claim 1 (see above)”.
Wu teaches “wherein the fireproof material comprises metal material (paragraphs 28-29)”.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Johnson, Rashidi Doust, Luo, Crisman, and Walters as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Monson et al. (US 6105334).
With respect to claim 5: Wu in view of Johnson, Rashidi Doust, Luo, Crisman, and Walters teaches “the lighting apparatus of claim 1 (see above)”.
Wu does not specifically teach “wherein the annular structure is polygonal shape”.
However, Monson teaches “wherein the annular structure (10) is polygonal shape (see Fig. 1)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the lighting apparatus of Wu by making the annular structure polygonal as taught by Monson due to the suitability of the polygonal shape for mounting the lighting device between ceiling joists (Monson column 2 lines 20-33).
Claims 6-7, 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Johnson, Rashidi Doust, Luo, Crisman, and Walters as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hsia et al. (US 2011/0273107 A1).
With respect to claim 6: Wu in view of Johnson, Rashidi Doust, Luo, Crisman, and Walters teaches “the lighting apparatus of claim 1 (see above)”.
Wu does not specifically teach “wherein the light module comprises a light source plate and multiple LED modules, wherein the multiple LED modules are mounted on the light source plate”.
However, Johnson teaches “wherein the light module (106+108) comprises a light source plate (108) and multiple LED modules (106), wherein the multiple LED modules are mounted on the light source plate (see Fig. 4)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the lighting apparatus of Wu by using LEDs as the light sources as taught by Johnson in order to save energy (Johnson paragraph 2).
Wu does not specifically teach “wherein the multiple LED modules have multiple different optical parameters”.
However, Hsia teaches “wherein the multiple LED modules (825, 835, 845) have multiple different optical parameters (color temperatures, intensities, see paragraph 42)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the lighting apparatus of Wu by controlling different optical parameters as taught by Hsia in order to tune the correlated color temperature of the lighting apparatus (His paragraphs 37-38, 42).
With respect to claim 7: Wu in view of Johnson, Rashidi Doust, Luo, Crisman, Walters, and Hsia teaches “The lighting apparatus of claim 6 (see above)”.
Wu does not specifically teach “further comprising a controller for controlling driving currents supplied to the multiple LED modules to mix a required optical parameter”.
Hsia teaches “further comprising a controller (870) for controlling driving currents (820, 830, 840) supplied to the multiple LED modules (see Fig. 9) to mix a required optical parameter (paragraph 42)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the lighting apparatus of Wu by controlling different optical parameters with a controller as taught by Hsia in order to tune the correlated color temperature of the lighting apparatus (Hsia paragraphs 37-38, 42).
With respect to claim 9: Wu in view of Johnson, Rashidi Doust, Luo, Crisman, Walters, and Hsia teaches “The lighting apparatus of claim 7 (see above)”.
Wu does not specifically teach “wherein the controller is disposed in a driver box, wherein the driver box contains a driver circuit for converting an external power to driving currents, wherein the controller controls the driver circuit”.
However, Hsia teaches “wherein the controller (602) is disposed in a driver box (610), wherein the driver box contains a driver circuit (paragraph 46) for converting an external power to driving currents (paragraph 46), wherein the controller controls the driver circuit (paragraph 46)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the lighting apparatus of Wu by controlling different optical parameters with a controller as taught by Hsia in order to tune the correlated color temperature of the lighting apparatus (Hsia paragraphs 37-38, 42).
With respect to claim 10: Wu in view of Johnson, Rashidi Doust, Luo, Crisman, Walters, and Hsia teaches “The lighting apparatus of claim 9 (see above)”.
Wu teaches “wherein there is a cable opening (6 or 81) on back cover (see Figs. 10, 12, 17), wherein there is a cover sealing plate (5 or 8) for concealing the cable opening (see Figs. 10, 12) while allowing the multiple LED modules to receive power supply from the cable opening (paragraph 33)”.
Note: in embodiments where 8 is behind 5, 8 is the back cover and 5 is the sealing plate, and in embodiments where 5 is behind 8, 5 is the back cover and 8 is the sealing plate.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the back cover sealing plate of Wu Figs. 9 or 12 in the lighting apparatus of Wu Fig. 17 in order to keep the back cover from separating from the lighting apparatus (Wu paragraph 28).
With respect to claim 11: Wu in view of Johnson, Rashidi Doust, Luo, Crisman, Walters, and Hsia teaches “The lighting apparatus of claim 10 (see above)”.
Wu teaches “wherein the cable sealing plate (5) is made of a fireproof material (paragraph 28)”.
With respect to claim 12: Wu in view of Johnson, Rashidi Doust, Luo, Crisman, Walters, and Hsia teaches “The lighting apparatus of claim 9 (see above)”.
Wu does not teach “wherein a manual switch is disposed on the driver box for a user to configure a mixed optical parameter of the multiple LED modules”.
However, Hsia teaches a manual switch (850) for a user to configure a mixed optical parameter of the multiple LED modules (paragraph 42).
Hsia does not specifically say where the physical location of switch 850 is, but the relevant precedent regarding the placement of switches holds that shifting the position of the switch is unpatentable because it would not have modified the operation of the device (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)).
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the lighting apparatus of Wu by including the switch of Hsia in order to permit the user to set a desired CCT and light intensity level for the lighting apparatus (Hsia paragraph 42).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Johnson, Rashidi Doust, Luo, Crisman, Walters, and Hsia as applied to claims 1, 6, 7 above, and further in view of Koo (US 2017/0181241 A1).
With respect to claim 8: Wu in view of Johnson, Rashidi Doust, Luo, Crisman, Walters, and Hsia teaches “the lighting apparatus of claim 7 (see above)”.
Wu does not specifically teach “wherein the controller is disposed on the light source plate”.
However, Koo teaches “wherein the controller (120) is disposed on the light source plate (110)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed to further modify the lighting apparatus of Wu by placing the controller on the light source plate as taught by Koo due to the art recognized suitability of a controller so located for supplying a driving control current to LEDs on the light source plate (Koo paragraph 108).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Johnson, Rashidi Doust, Luo, Crisman, and Walters as applied to claims 1, 18 above, and further in view of Hou et al. (US 2020/0217493 A1).
With respect to claim 19: Wu in view of Johnson, Rashidi Doust, Luo, Crisman, and Walters teaches “the lighting apparatus of claim 18 (see above)”.
Wu does not specifically teach “wherein the surface rim is made of plastic material”.
However, Hou teaches “wherein the surface rim (70) is made of plastic material (paragraph 45)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed to further modify the lighting apparatus of Wu by making the surface rim out of plastic as taught by Hou due to the art recognized suitability and equivalence to other suitable materials of plastic for that purpose (Hou paragraph 45).
Contact Information
/NATHANIEL J LEE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/EVAN P DZIERZYNSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875