DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate with applicant via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.03, 502.05.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The limitation wherein a metal atom of the interfacial layer is same as a metal atom of the first electrode (found in claim 11) in conjunction with the limitation of claim 1 that requires a first oxygen donor layer between the dielectric layer and the first electrode is not found anywhere in in the written description. Furthermore, the specification as filed teaches against said limitation as discussed in [0043] of the specification as filed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a metal atom of the interfacial layer is same as a metal atom of the first electrode (found in claim 11) in conjunction with the limitation of claim 1 that requires a first oxygen donor layer between the dielectric layer and the first electrode” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a first metal via disposed between and coupled to first metal line and the capacitor structure” should read “a first metal via disposed between and coupled to the first metal line and the capacitor structure”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 11 & 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 11,
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the interfacial layer" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In regards to claim 18,
Claim 18 recites “a first metal line in a dielectric layer;
a capacitor structure over the first metal line, wherein the capacitor structure comprises:
a first electrode and a second electrode;
a dielectric layer between the first electrode and the second electrode;
a first oxygen donor layer between the first electrode and the dielectric layer; and
a second oxygen donor layer between the second electrode and the dielectric layer” which causes the claim to be indefinite as it is unclear if the “a dielectric layer” of the capacitor structure is the same of different from the “a dielectric layer” recited earlier in the claim. Furthermore, if the “a dielectric layer” of the capacitor structure is different, it is unclear to which dielectric layer is being referenced with the recitation of “the dielectric layer”. For the purpose of examination the examiner is taking, “a first metal line in a dielectric layer; a capacitor structure over the first metal line, wherein the capacitor structure comprises: a first electrode and a second electrode; a dielectric layer between the first electrode and the second electrode; a first oxygen donor layer between the first electrode and the dielectric layer; and a second oxygen donor layer between the second electrode and the dielectric layer” to read “a first metal line in a dielectric layer; a capacitor structure over the first metal line, wherein the capacitor structure comprises: a first electrode and a second electrode; a capacitor dielectric layer between the first electrode and the second electrode; a first oxygen donor layer between the first electrode and the capacitor dielectric layer; and a second oxygen donor layer between the second electrode and the capacitor dielectric layer”. Claims 19-20 are rejected in the same manner based on their dependency on claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 & 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Popovici (US 2013/0155572).
In regards to claim 1, Popovici ‘572 discloses
A capacitor structure, comprising:
a first electrode (BE1 – fig. 8; [0034]) and a second electrode (TE1 – fig. 8; [0034]);
a dielectric layer (D – fig. 8; [0034]) between the first electrode and the second electrode;
a first oxygen donor layer (BE2’ – fig. 8; [0046]) between the dielectric layer and the first electrode, wherein an oxygen concentration of the first oxygen donor layer increases along a thickness direction from a first surface proximal to the dielectric layer to a second surface proximal to the first electrode ([0008], [0015], [0030], & [0043]);
a second oxygen donor layer (TE2’ – fig. 8; [0064]) between the dielectric layer and the second electrode the oxygen donor layer, wherein an oxygen concentration of the second oxygen donor layer increases along a thickness direction from a first surface proximal to the dielectric layer to a second surface proximal to the second electrode ([0008], [0015], [0030], & [0043]);
a first conductive layer between the first oxygen donor layer and the dielectric layer ([0008], [0015], [0030], [0043], & [0047] – as more oxygen atoms from the metal oxide dissociate, the remaining atoms will be metal atoms thus forming a thin metallic layer at the interface between the donor layer and dielectric layer); and
a second conductive layer between the second oxygen donor layer and the dielectric layer ([0008], [0015], [0030], [0043], & [0047] – as more oxygen atoms from the metal oxide dissociate, the remaining atoms will be metal atoms thus forming a thin metallic layer at the interface between the donor layer and dielectric layer),
wherein a metal atom of the first electrode and a metal atom of the second electrode are different from a metal atom of the first oxygen donor layer and different from a metal atom of the second oxygen donor layer ([0035], [0046], & [0064], ruthenium is different from tungsten).
In regards to claim 4, Popovici ‘572 discloses
The capacitor structure of claim 1, wherein the first oxygen donor layer and the second oxygen donor layer respectively comprise a metal oxide ([0046] & [0064] – RuO2).
In regards to claim 5, Popovici ‘572 discloses
The capacitor structure of claim 4, wherein the metal oxide includes noble metal oxide ([0046] & [0064] – RuO2).
In regards to claim 6, Popovici ‘572 discloses
The capacitor structure of claim 1, wherein a Gibbs free energy (ΔG) of the first oxygen donor layer and a Gibbs free energy (ΔG) of the second oxygen donor layer are greater than a Gibbs free energy (ΔG) of the dielectric layer ([0043], [0046] & [0064]).
In regards to claim 7, Popovici ‘572 discloses
The capacitor structure of claim 1, wherein a resistivity of the first oxygen donor layer and a resistivity of the second oxygen donor layer are respectively less than 200 microohm centimeter (μohm-cm) ([0012] & RuO2).
In regards to claim 8, Popovici ‘572 discloses
The capacitor structure of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first oxygen donor layer is less than a thickness of the dielectric layer, and a thickness of the second oxygen donor layer is less than the thickness the dielectric layer ([0013] & [0037]).
In regards to claim 9, Popovici ‘572 discloses
The capacitor structure of claim 1, wherein a metal atom of the first conductive layer is same as the metal atom of the first oxygen donor layer ([0008], [0015], [0030], [0043], & [0047] – as more oxygen atoms from the metal oxide dissociate, the remaining atoms will be metal atoms thus forming a thin metallic layer at the interface between the donor layer and dielectric layer).
In regards to claim 10, Popovici ‘572 discloses
The capacitor structure of claim 1, wherein a metal atom of the second conductive layer is same as the metal atom of the second oxygen donor ([0008], [0015], [0030], [0043], & [0047] – as more oxygen atoms from the metal oxide dissociate, the remaining atoms will be metal atoms thus forming a thin metallic layer at the interface between the donor layer and dielectric layer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13, 15, & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Popovici ‘572 in view of Kawano et al. (US 2008/0247116).
In regards to claim 12,
Popovici ‘572 discloses a capacitor structure, comprising:
a first electrode and a second electrode;
a first electrode (BE1 – fig. 8; [0034]) and a second electrode (TE1 – fig. 8; [0034]);
a dielectric layer (D – fig. 8; [0034]) between the first electrode and the second electrode;
a first oxygen donor layer (BE2’ – fig. 8; [0046]) between the dielectric layer and the first electrode, wherein an oxygen concentration of the first oxygen donor layer increases along a thickness direction from a first surface proximal to the dielectric layer to a second surface proximal to the first electrode ([0008], [0015], [0030], & [0043]);
a second oxygen donor layer (TE2’ – fig. 8; [0064]) between the dielectric layer and the second electrode the oxygen donor layer, wherein an oxygen concentration of the second oxygen donor layer increases along a thickness direction from a first surface proximal to the dielectric layer to a second surface proximal to the second electrode ([0008], [0015], [0030], & [0043]);
wherein a metal atom of the first electrode and a metal atom of the second electrode are different from a metal atom of the first oxygen donor layer and different from a metal atom of the second oxygen donor layer ([0035], [0046], & [0064], ruthenium is different from tungsten). Popovici ‘572 fails to disclose wherein the first electrode has a concave profile, the first oxygen donor layer, the dielectric layer, and the second oxygen donor layer are conformal with respect to the concave profile of the first electrode.
Kawano ‘116 discloses a MIM capacitor wherein the first electrode (13 – fig. 5-6; [0028]) has a concave profile ([0028]) and the remaining layers (14-15 – fig. 5-6; [0027]) are conformal with respect to the concave profile of the first electrode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the capacitor of Popovici ‘572 to have a concave profile as taught by Kawano ‘116 to obtain a capacitor with greater capacitance as the surface area is increased.
In regards to claim 13,
Popovici ‘572 as modified by Kawano ‘116 further discloses further comprising a first conductive layer between the first oxygen donor layer and the dielectric layer ([0008], [0015], [0030], [0043], & [0047] of Popovici ‘572 – as more oxygen atoms from the metal oxide dissociate, the remaining atoms will be metal atoms thus forming a thin metallic layer at the interface between the donor layer and dielectric layer).
In regards to claim 15,
Popovici ‘572 as modified by Kawano ‘116 further discloses further comprising a second conductive layer between the second donor layer and the dielectric layer ([0008], [0015], [0030], [0043], & [0047] of Popovici ‘572 – as more oxygen atoms from the metal oxide dissociate, the remaining atoms will be metal atoms thus forming a thin metallic layer at the interface between the donor layer and dielectric layer).
In regards to claim 17,
Popovici ‘572 as modified by Kawano ‘116 further discloses wherein a thickness of the first oxygen donor layer is less than a thickness of the dielectric layer, and a thickness of the second oxygen donor layer is less than the thickness the dielectric layer ([0013] & [0037] of Popovici ‘572).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawano ‘116 in view of Popovici ‘572.
In regards to claim 18,
Kawano ‘116 discloses a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a first metal line (20g – fig. 5-6; [0026]) in a dielectric layer (18 – fig. 5-6; [0026]);
a capacitor structure (10 – fig. 5-6; [0022]) over the first metal line, wherein the capacitor structure comprises:
a first electrode and a second electrode (13 & 14 – fig. 5-6; [0026]);
a dielectric layer (15 – fig. 5-6; [0026]) between the first electrode and the second electrode;
a second metal line (21v – fig. 5-6; [0026]) over the capacitor structure;
a first metal via (16g – fig. 5-6; [0026]) disposed between and coupled to first metal line and the capacitor structure; and
a second metal via (17v – fig. 5-6; [0026]) disposed between and coupled to the second metal line and the capacitor structure. Kawano ‘116 fails to disclose a first oxygen donor layer between the first electrode and the dielectric layer; and a second oxygen donor layer between the second electrode and the dielectric layer.
Popovici ‘572 discloses a capacitor structure, comprising:
a first electrode and a second electrode;
a first electrode (BE1 – fig. 8; [0034]) and a second electrode (TE1 – fig. 8; [0034]);
a dielectric layer (D – fig. 8; [0034]) between the first electrode and the second electrode;
a first oxygen donor layer (BE2’ – fig. 8; [0046]) between the dielectric layer and the first electrode;
a second oxygen donor layer (TE2’ – fig. 8; [0064]) between the dielectric layer and the second electrode the oxygen donor layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the capacitor layered structure as taught by Popovici ‘572 as the layers of the capacitor structure of Kawano ‘116 to obtain a device wherein the capacitor has a lower leakage current density.
In regards to claim 19,
Kawano ‘116 as modified by Popovici ‘572 further disclose further comprises:
a third metal line (20s – fig. 5-6; [0026]) in the dielectric layer;
a fourth metal line (17s – fig. 5-6; [0026]) over the third metal line; and
a third metal via (16s – fig. 5-6; [0026]) disposed between and coupled to the third metal line and the fourth metal line.
In regards to claim 20,
Kawano ‘116 as modified by Popovici ‘572 further disclose wherein a height of the third metal via is greater than a height of the first metal via, and greater than a height of the second metal via (seen in fig. 5-6 – wherein 16s traverses layers 11-12 & 15 and 16g only traverses 11 and 17v only traverses 12).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-3, 14, & 16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest (in combination with the other claim limitations) wherein the second conductive layer has a first thickness when a first net positive charge is collected on the first electrode and a second thickness when a second net positive charge is collected on the first electrode, and the second thickness is greater than the first thickness (claims 2 & 16) & wherein the first conductive layer has a first thickness when a first net negative charge is collected on the first electrode and a second thickness when a second net negative charge is collected on the first electrode, and the second thickness is greater than the first thickness (claims 3 & 14).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 9,012,298 – fig. 2 US 8,435,854 – fig. 3
US 2001/0001208 – fig. 26; [0104] US 2012/0092807 – [0087]
EP0514149A1 – fig. 4; C5:L51 to C6:L9 JP08274270A – fig. 3
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848