DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 12-15 are canceled.
Claims 1-11 and 16-20 are pending.
Response to Remarks
35 U.S.C. § 101
Remark 1: Applicant contends that the claims are not directed merely to organizing or managing funds. Instead, independent claims 1 and 16 recite a specific computer-implemented architecture in which particular digital objects are configured and interact in a prescribed manner to control organization and storage of received digital currency.
Response to Remark 1: Applicant's argument is not persuasive because these features are part of the additional elements discussed in Step 2A, Prong Two.
Remark 2: Applicant contends that the claims solve a technological problem in computerized digital-currency management. The claimed implementation does not merely use a computer to perform the generalized activity of organizing funds. The claims specify how smart-contract instructions, transaction categories, wallets, and sub-wallets interact within a server-controlled digital-currency architecture to control where received digital currency is stored.
Response to Remark 2: Examiner respectfully disagrees. The additional elements individually and in combination, are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)) and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Accordingly, this contention is unpersuasive.
Remark 3: Applicant contends that the claims recite numerous concrete technological limitations. These limitations collectively define a specific computer-implemented architecture for controlling the organization and storage of received digital currency. Therefore, the claims do not preempt or monopolize the generalized concept of organizing funds or managing digital currency.
Response to Remark 3: Examiner respectfully disagrees. The additional elements individually and in combination, are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)) and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Accordingly, this contention is unpersuasive.
Remark 4: Applicant contends that the Office Action improperly dissects the claims contrary to Alice and the MPEP.
Response to Remark 4: Examiner respectfully disagrees. Step 2A, Prong Two asks does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(2)), where Examiners evaluate integration into a practical application by identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception. Accordingly, this contention is unpersuasive.
Remark 5: Applicant contends that the claims integrate any alleged abstract idea into a practical application. The claims do not merely instruct a generic computer to categorize funds. Instead, they prescribe a specific implementation involving interactions among digital currency, smart- contract instructions, transaction categories, wallets, and new and/or existing sub-wallets. These limitations impose meaningful technological restrictions upon the claimed subject matter. The claims do not broadly preempt categorizing funds, organizing money, or managing digital currency. Rather, the claims are confined to the particular implementation expressly recited.
Response to Remark 5: Examiner respectfully disagrees. The additional elements individually and in combination, are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)) and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Accordingly, this contention is unpersuasive.
Remark 6: Applicant contends that the claimed invention improves computerized digital-currency management. The claims thereby specify a computerized mechanism by which programmable information associated with transferred digital currency controls the organization and storage of that digital currency within the receiving wallet architecture. Thus, the claims improve computerized digital-currency management by prescribing a particular smart-contract-based architecture for controlling organization and storage of received digital currency rather than merely automating a conventional human activity.
Response to Remark 6: Examiner respectfully disagrees. What applicant contends is an improvement is merely an improvement in the recited abstract idea, and not an improvement in the functioning of computers, nor technology, nor a technical field. Moreover, a general-purpose computer would be capable of performing these same operations of a mere improvement in the abstract idea. Here, the additional elements individually and in combination, are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)) and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Accordingly, this contention is unpersuasive.
Remark 7: Applicant contends that the claims do not merely organize human activity or recite a mental process. Therefore, the claims do not merely organize relationships between people or recite a mental determination of how money should be spent. They prescribe operations involving digital currency, executable smart-contract information, digital wallets and sub-wallets, and server-controlled processing and storage of digital assets.
Response to Remark 7: Applicant's argument is not persuasive because these features are part of the additional elements discussed in Step 2A, Prong Two.
Remark 8: Applicant contends that the claims recite significantly more than any alleged abstract idea. Therefore, the claims do not merely append conventional computer components to the alleged abstract idea. They recite a particular ordered combination defining how multiple digital objects are configured and interact to control the processing and storage of received digital currency. Thus, the ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the alleged abstract idea.
Response to Remark 8: Examiner respectfully disagrees. The additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). The additional elements generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Individually, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Here, the additional elements simply append well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry. A factual determination is required to support a conclusion that an additional element (or combination of additional elements) is well-understood, routine, conventional activity. Here, the specification of the application indicates that additional elements are well-known or conventional (See Pre-Grant Publication paragraphs 0049-0052, 0054-0057, 0059-0061, 0064, 0067, 0071-0082, 0084, 0086-0088, 0090, 0093, 0096-0097, 0099, 0102-0115, 0119-0124, 0134-0135, 0158). There is nothing in the specification to indicate that the operations recited in the claims require any specialized hardware or inventive computer components or that the claimed invention is implemented using other than generic computer components to perform generic computer functions. The ordered combination recites no more than the individual elements do. Thus, the additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, this contention is unpersuasive.
Remark 9: Applicant contends that the claimed invention is analogous to subject matter recognized as patent eligible, such as Enfish and DDR Holdings. Specifically, the claims are directed to a particular technological implementation rather than merely the automation of a generalized economic practice.
Response to Remark 9: Examiner respectfully disagrees. To be directed to a patent eligible improvement to computer functionality, the claims must be directed to an improvement to the functionality of the computer itself, which is not the case here. Accordingly, this contention is unpersuasive.
35 U.S.C. § 102 / 35 U.S.C. § 103
Remark 1: Applicant contends that Madisetti does not disclose determining "a Transaction Category of the Digital Currency" based on smart contract instructions.
Response to Remark 1: Examiner respectfully disagrees. The smart contract of 0107 classifies transactions as cashback or discount-qualifying. 0167 describes that cashback received is a transaction category. Accordingly, this contention is unpersuasive.
Remark 2: Applicant contends that Madisetti does not disclose the claimed sub-wallet configuration.
Response to Remark 2: Examiner respectfully disagrees. 0082 describes dedicated sub-wallets for different transaction categories (e.g., prepaid, coupons, vouchers, crypto, fiat, ERC-20). Accordingly, this contention is unpersuasive.
Remark 3: Applicant contends that Madisetti does not disclose the claimed relationship between the transaction category and the new sub-wallets.
Response to Remark 3: Examiner respectfully disagrees. 0082 describes dedicated new sub-wallets for different transaction categories (e.g., prepaid, coupons, vouchers, crypto, fiat, ERC-20). Accordingly, this contention is unpersuasive.
Remark 4: Applicant contends that Madisetti does not disclose the claimed relationship between the transaction category and the preexisting sub-wallets.
Response to Remark 4: Examiner respectfully disagrees. 0082 describes dedicated preexisting sub-wallets for different transaction categories (e.g., prepaid, coupons, vouchers, crypto, fiat, ERC-20). Accordingly, this contention is unpersuasive.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 08/27/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Step 1 of the eligibility analysis asks is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter (See MPEP § 2106.03, subsections I and II). Claims 1-11 are directed to a computer-implemented method (i.e., process). Claims 16-20 are directed to a computer-implemented system (i.e., machine, and manufacture). Therefore, these claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong One
Prong One asks does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon (MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1)). Claims 1 and 16 under a broadest reasonable interpretation recite an abstract idea because the claims describe receiving a currency transfer between wallets, determining its transaction category, and depositing it into matching sub-wallets, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection II). The claim limitations reciting the abstract idea are grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas because the limitations describe fundamental economic principles or practices, including mitigating risk, and describe commercial or legal interactions, including advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea.
Claim 1:
A computer-implemented method, comprising:
receiving, by a server system, a fund transfer of a digital currency from a first wallet to a second wallet, the digital currency being associated with at least one smartcontract, the smart contract comprising a set of predefined instructions;
determining, by the server system, a transaction category of the digital currency based, at least in part, on the set of predefined instructions, the transaction category indicating the purpose of the fund transfer as per the smart contract; and
performing, by the server system, one of:
generating and depositing the received digital currency to one or more new sub-wallets associated with the second wallet based, at least in part, on the transaction category of the received digital currency, wherein each of the one or more new sub-wallets is eligible to hold the digital currency for a specific transaction category; and
depositing the received digital currency to one or more preexisting sub-wallets, wherein each of the one or more preexisting sub-wallets is eligible to hold the digital currency for the specific transaction category.
Claim 16:
A server system, comprising:
a communication interface;
a memory comprising executable instructions; and
a processor communicably coupled to the communication interface and the memory, the processor configured to cause the server system to at least:
receive a fund transfer of a digital currency from a first wallet to a second wallet, the digital currency being associated with at least one smart contract, the smart contract comprising a set of predefined instructions;
determine a transaction category of the digital currency based, at least in part, on the set of predefined instructions, the transaction category indicating the purpose of the fund transfer as per the smart contract; and
perform one of:
generate and deposit the received digital currency to one or more new sub-wallets associated with the second wallet based, at least in part, on the transaction category of the received digital currency, wherein each of the one or more new sub-wallets is eligible to hold the digital currency for a specific transaction category; and
deposit the received digital currency to one or more preexisting sub-wallets, wherein each of the one or more preexisting sub-wallets is eligible to hold the digital currency for the specific transaction category.
Step 2A, Prong Two
Prong Two asks does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(2)). Examiners evaluate integration into a practical application by: (1) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception(s); and (2) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application, using one or more of the considerations discussed in more detail in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1), 2106.04(d)(2), 2106.05(a) through (c) and 2106.05(e) through (h). Here, the non-underlined claim limitations above recite additional elements. The additional elements do not improve the functioning of computers, another technology, or a technical field (MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a)). The Specification does not assert that the invention improves upon conventional functioning of a computer, or upon conventional technology or technological processes. The claim does not purport to improve computer capabilities, but rather invokes computers merely as a tool by adding general purpose computers post-hoc to an abstract idea. A commonplace business method being applied on a general-purpose computer is not sufficient to show an improvement to technology. The claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology. The Specification and the claim language provide evidence that the focus of the claim is on a scheme. An improvement in the abstract idea itself is not an improvement in technology. Even if the Specification describes technical improvements, they are not claimed. The additional elements do not apply the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2)). The additional elements do not implement the abstract idea with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim (MPEP § 2106.05(b)). A general-purpose computer that applies a judicial exception, such as an abstract idea, by use of conventional computer functions does not qualify as a particular machine. The additional elements do not transform or reduce a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP § 2106.05(c)). The claim does not recite any transformation of an article where the article changes to a different state or thing. Nor do the additional elements apply the abstract idea in a meaningful way or impose a meaningful limit on it beyond linking its use to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05(e)). The additional elements generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. A wholly generic computer implementation is not generally the sort of additional feature that provides any practical assurance that the process is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the abstract idea itself. The additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. The additional elements are being used in their ordinary capacity. The additional elements do no more than merely invoke computers or machinery as a tool to perform an existing process. The additional elements generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. Thus, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claims are directed to the abstract idea identified above.
Step 2B
Step 2B determines whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP § 2106.05). In Step 2B examiners carry over their identification of the additional element(s) in the claim from Step 2A Prong Two; carry over their conclusions from Step 2A Prong Two on the considerations discussed in MPEP §§ 2106.05(a)-(c), (e), (f) and (h); re-evaluate any additional element or combination of elements that was considered to be insignificant extra-solution activity per MPEP § 2106.05(g), because if such re-evaluation finds that the element is unconventional or otherwise more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, this finding may indicate that the additional element is no longer considered to be insignificant; and evaluate whether any additional element or combination of elements are other than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, or simply append well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, per MPEP § 2106.05(d). The additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). The additional elements generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). Individually, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Here, the additional elements simply append well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry. A factual determination is required to support a conclusion that an additional element (or combination of additional elements) is well-understood, routine, conventional activity. Here, the specification of the application indicates that additional elements are well-known or conventional (See Pre-Grant Publication paragraphs 0049-0052, 0054-0057, 0059-0061, 0064, 0067, 0071-0082, 0084, 0086-0088, 0090, 0093, 0096-0097, 0099, 0102-0115, 0119-0124, 0134-0135, 0158). There is nothing in the specification to indicate that the operations recited in the claims require any specialized hardware or inventive computer components or that the claimed invention is implemented using other than generic computer components to perform generic computer functions. The ordered combination recites no more than the individual elements do. Thus, the additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claims are directed to the abstract idea identified above without significantly more. The claims are not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Dependent Claims
Claim 2 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes receiving a currency transfer between wallets, determining its transaction category, and depositing it into matching sub-wallets, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Pre-Grant Publication paragraphs 0049-0052, 0054-0057, 0059-0061, 0064, 0067, 0071-0082, 0084, 0086-0088, 0090, 0093, 0096-0097, 0099, 0102-0115, 0119-0124, 0134-0135, 0158). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
facilitating, by the server system, generation of the at least one smart contract comprising the set of predefined instructions, the at least one smart contract intended to execute the set of predefined instructions upon meeting a predefined condition;
linking, by the server system, the at least one smart contract with the digital currency; and
transferring, by the server system, the digital currency linked with the at least one smart contract to the second wallet.
Claim 3 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes receiving a currency transfer between wallets, determining its transaction category, and depositing it into matching sub-wallets, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Pre-Grant Publication paragraphs 0049-0052, 0054-0057, 0059-0061, 0064, 0067, 0071-0082, 0084, 0086-0088, 0090, 0093, 0096-0097, 0099, 0102-0115, 0119-0124, 0134-0135, 0158). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
generating, by the server system, one or more wallets comprising the first wallet, the second wallet, and a third wallet based, at least in part, on funds to be transferred through the digital currency.
Claim 4 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes receiving a currency transfer between wallets, determining its transaction category, and depositing it into matching sub-wallets, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Pre-Grant Publication paragraphs 0049-0052, 0054-0057, 0059-0061, 0064, 0067, 0071-0082, 0084, 0086-0088, 0090, 0093, 0096-0097, 0099, 0102-0115, 0119-0124, 0134-0135, 0158). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
wherein generating the one or more wallets comprises:
generating, by the server system, one or more Application Programming Interface (API) endpoints for facilitating exchange of one or more API calls between one or more wallet providers and corresponding one or more financial institutions;
receiving, by the server system, a wallet generation request from the one or more wallet providers through the one or more API endpoints;
transferring, by the server system, the wallet generation request to the corresponding one or more financial institutions through the one or more API endpoints;
in response to the wallet generation request, receiving, by the server system, a wallet authorization response from the one or more financial institutions, the wallet authorization response indicating an authorization of at least one of the one or more wallet providers based, at least in part, on the one or more API calls; and
in response to the authorization of at least one of the one or more wallet providers, facilitating, by the server system, the corresponding wallet provider to create the one or more wallets.
Claim 5 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes receiving a currency transfer between wallets, determining its transaction category, and depositing it into matching sub-wallets, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Pre-Grant Publication paragraphs 0049-0052, 0054-0057, 0059-0061, 0064, 0067, 0071-0082, 0084, 0086-0088, 0090, 0093, 0096-0097, 0099, 0102-0115, 0119-0124, 0134-0135, 0158). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
linking, by the server system, each of the one or more new sub-wallets with at least one wallet smart contract indicating a wallet eligibility condition.
Claim 6 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes receiving a currency transfer between wallets, determining its transaction category, and depositing it into matching sub-wallets, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Pre-Grant Publication paragraphs 0049-0052, 0054-0057, 0059-0061, 0064, 0067, 0071-0082, 0084, 0086-0088, 0090, 0093, 0096-0097, 0099, 0102-0115, 0119-0124, 0134-0135, 0158). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
determining, by the server system, an eligibility of the one or more new sub-wallets to hold the digital currency for the specific transaction category, wherein determining the eligibility comprises:
executing the at least one smart contract associated with the digital currency and the at least one wallet smart contract associated with each of the one or more new sub-wallets; and
determining if at least one of the one or more new sub-wallets is eligible to hold the digital currency based at least on the execution of the at least one smart contract and the at least one wallet smart contract.
Claim 7 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes receiving a currency transfer between wallets, determining its transaction category, and depositing it into matching sub-wallets, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Pre-Grant Publication paragraphs 0049-0052, 0054-0057, 0059-0061, 0064, 0067, 0071-0082, 0084, 0086-0088, 0090, 0093, 0096-0097, 0099, 0102-0115, 0119-0124, 0134-0135, 0158). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
wherein determining if the at least one of the one or more new sub-wallets is eligible to hold the digital currency comprises one of:
determining that at least one of the one or more new sub-wallets is eligible to hold the digital currency when the execution of the at least one smart contract and the at least one wallet smart contract indicates that the purpose of the corresponding new sub-wallet matches with the transaction category of the digital currency; and
determining that at least one of the one or more new sub-wallets is not eligible when the execution of the at least one smart contract and the at least one wallet smart contract indicates that the purpose of the corresponding new sub-wallet mismatches with the transaction category of the digital currency.
Claim 8 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes receiving a currency transfer between wallets, determining its transaction category, and depositing it into matching sub-wallets, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Pre-Grant Publication paragraphs 0049-0052, 0054-0057, 0059-0061, 0064, 0067, 0071-0082, 0084, 0086-0088, 0090, 0093, 0096-0097, 0099, 0102-0115, 0119-0124, 0134-0135, 0158). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
linking, by the server system, each of the one or more preexisting sub-wallets with at least one wallet smart contract indicating a wallet eligibility condition.
Claim 9 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes receiving a currency transfer between wallets, determining its transaction category, and depositing it into matching sub-wallets, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Pre-Grant Publication paragraphs 0049-0052, 0054-0057, 0059-0061, 0064, 0067, 0071-0082, 0084, 0086-0088, 0090, 0093, 0096-0097, 0099, 0102-0115, 0119-0124, 0134-0135, 0158). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
determining, by the server system, an eligibility of the one or more preexisting sub-wallets to hold the digital currency for the specific transaction category, wherein determining the eligibility comprises:
executing the at least one smart contract associated with the digital currency and the at least one wallet smart contract associated with each of the one or more preexisting sub-wallets; and
determining if at least one of the one or more preexisting sub-wallets is eligible to hold the digital currency based at least on the execution of the at least one smart contract and the at least one wallet smart contract.
Claim 10 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes receiving a currency transfer between wallets, determining its transaction category, and depositing it into matching sub-wallets, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Pre-Grant Publication paragraphs 0049-0052, 0054-0057, 0059-0061, 0064, 0067, 0071-0082, 0084, 0086-0088, 0090, 0093, 0096-0097, 0099, 0102-0115, 0119-0124, 0134-0135, 0158). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
wherein determining if the at least one of the one or more preexisting sub-wallets is eligible to hold the digital currency comprises one of:
determining that at least one of the one or more preexisting sub-wallets is eligible to hold the digital currency when the execution of the at least one smart contract and the at least one wallet smart contract indicates that the purpose of the corresponding preexisting sub-wallet matches with the transaction category of the digital currency; and
determining that at least one of the one or more preexisting sub-wallets is not eligible to hold the digital currency when the execution of the at least one smart contract and the at least one wallet smart contract indicates that the purpose of the corresponding preexisting sub-wallet mismatches with the transaction category of the digital currency.
Claim 11 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes receiving a currency transfer between wallets, determining its transaction category, and depositing it into matching sub-wallets, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Pre-Grant Publication paragraphs 0049-0052, 0054-0057, 0059-0061, 0064, 0067, 0071-0082, 0084, 0086-0088, 0090, 0093, 0096-0097, 0099, 0102-0115, 0119-0124, 0134-0135, 0158). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
receiving, by the server system, a fund transfer request from a wallet owner of the second wallet to transfer funds to a third wallet, wherein the fund transfer request is associated with the digital currency deposited in a preexisting sub-wallet of the second wallet;
accessing, by the server system, wallet category data from a database associated with the server system;
determining, by the server system, a wallet category of the third wallet based, at least in part, on the wallet category data;
determining, by the server system, if the preexisting sub-wallet is eligible for transferring funds to the third wallet based, at least in part, on the wallet category and the transaction category of the preexisting sub-wallet; and
performing, by the server system, one of:
upon determining that the preexisting sub-wallet is eligible for transferring funds to the third wallet, approving and transferring the digital currency from the preexisting sub-wallet to the third wallet based on the fund transfer request; and
upon determining that the preexisting sub-wallet is not eligible for transferring funds to the third wallet, declining the fund transfer request.
Claim 17 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes receiving a currency transfer between wallets, determining its transaction category, and depositing it into matching sub-wallets, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Pre-Grant Publication paragraphs 0049-0052, 0054-0057, 0059-0061, 0064, 0067, 0071-0082, 0084, 0086-0088, 0090, 0093, 0096-0097, 0099, 0102-0115, 0119-0124, 0134-0135, 0158). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
wherein the server system is further caused, at least in part, to:
facilitate generation of the at least one smart contract comprising the set of predefined instructions, the at least one smart contract intended to execute the set of predefined instructions upon meeting a predefined condition;
link the at least one smart contract with the digital currency that is to be transferred from the first wallet to the second wallet; and
transfer the digital currency linked with the at least one smart contract to the second wallet.
Claim 18 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes receiving a currency transfer between wallets, determining its transaction category, and depositing it into matching sub-wallets, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Pre-Grant Publication paragraphs 0049-0052, 0054-0057, 0059-0061, 0064, 0067, 0071-0082, 0084, 0086-0088, 0090, 0093, 0096-0097, 0099, 0102-0115, 0119-0124, 0134-0135, 0158). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
wherein the server system is further caused, at least in part, to generate one or more wallets comprising the first wallet, the second wallet, and a third wallet based, at least in part, on funds to be transferred through the digital currency.
Claim 19 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes receiving a currency transfer between wallets, determining its transaction category, and depositing it into matching sub-wallets, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Pre-Grant Publication paragraphs 0049-0052, 0054-0057, 0059-0061, 0064, 0067, 0071-0082, 0084, 0086-0088, 0090, 0093, 0096-0097, 0099, 0102-0115, 0119-0124, 0134-0135, 0158). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
wherein the server system is further caused, at least in part, to link each of the one or more new sub-wallets with at least one wallet smart contract indicating a wallet eligibility condition.
Claim 20 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes receiving a currency transfer between wallets, determining its transaction category, and depositing it into matching sub-wallets, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and are not significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements individually and in combination, merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The additional elements, individually and in combination, are well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See Pre-Grant Publication paragraphs 0049-0052, 0054-0057, 0059-0061, 0064, 0067, 0071-0082, 0084, 0086-0088, 0090, 0093, 0096-0097, 0099, 0102-0115, 0119-0124, 0134-0135, 0158). Therefore, the claim is not eligible.
wherein the server system is further caused, at least in part, to link each of the one or more preexisting sub-wallets with at least one wallet smart contract indicating a wallet eligibility condition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0081789 A1 (“Madisetti”).
Claims 1, 16:
Madisetti discloses:
A computer-implemented method, comprising: (0029, 0171)
A server system, comprising: a communication interface; a memory comprising executable instructions; and a processor communicably coupled to the communication interface and the memory, the processor configured to cause the server system to at least: (0029, 0171)
receiving, by a server system, a fund transfer of a digital currency from a first wallet to a second wallet, the digital currency being associated with at least one smart contract, the smart contract comprising a set of predefined instructions; (0088, 0089, 0090, 0099, 0166)
determining, by the server system, a transaction category of the digital currency based, at least in part, on the set of predefined instructions, the transaction category indicating the purpose of the fund transfer as per the smart contract; and (0080, 0081, 0090, 0092, 0094, 0107, 0162, 0163, 0164, 0165, 0166, 0167, 0168)
performing, by the server system, one of: generating and depositing the received digital currency to one or more new sub-wallets associated with the second wallet based, at least in part, on the transaction category of the received digital currency, wherein each of the one or more new sub-wallets is eligible to hold the digital currency for a specific transaction category; and (0017, 0082)
depositing the received digital currency to one or more preexisting sub-wallets, wherein each of the one or more preexisting sub-wallets is eligible to hold the digital currency for the specific transaction category. (0017, 0082)
Claims 2, 17:
Madisetti discloses all limitations of claims 1 and 16. Madisetti further discloses:
wherein the server system is further caused, at least in part, to: (0029, 0171)
facilitating, by the server system, generation of the at least one smart contract comprising the set of predefined instructions, the at least one smart contract intended to execute the set of predefined instructions upon meeting a predefined condition; [facilitate generation of the at least one smart contract comprising the set of predefined instructions, the at least one smart contract intended to execute the set of predefined instructions upon meeting a predefined condition] (0089, 0094, 0107, 0127, 0132, 0156, 0157)
linking, by the server system, the at least one smart contract with the digital currency; [link the at least one smart contract with the digital currency that is to be transferred from the first wallet to the second wallet] and (0084, 0090, 0099, 0106, 0156, 0157)
transferring, by the server system, the digital currency linked with the at least one smart contract to the second wallet. [transfer the digital currency linked with the at least one smart contract to the second wallet] (0084, 0085, 0086, 0099)
Claims 3, 18:
Madisetti discloses all limitations of claim 1 and 16. Madisetti further discloses:
wherein the server system is further caused, at least in part, to (0029, 0171)
generating, by the server system, one or more wallets comprising the first wallet, the second wallet, and a third wallet based, at least in part, on funds to be transferred through the digital currency. [generate one or more wallets comprising the first wallet, the second wallet, and a third wallet based, at least in part, on funds to be transferred through the digital currency] (0088, 0089)
Claim 5, 19:
Madisetti discloses all limitations of claim 1 and 16. Madisetti further discloses:
wherein the server system is further caused, at least in part, to (0029, 0171)
linking, by the server system, each of the one or more new sub-wallets with at least one wallet smart contract indicating a wallet eligibility condition. [link each of the one or more new sub-wallets with at least one wallet smart contract indicating a wallet eligibility condition] (0082, 0094, 0097)
Claim 6:
Madisetti discloses all limitations of claim 5. Madisetti further discloses:
determining, by the server system, an eligibility of the one or more new sub-wallets to hold the digital currency for the specific transaction category, wherein determining the eligibility comprises: (0017, 0082)
executing the at least one smart contract associated with the digital currency and the at least one wallet smart contract associated with each of the one or more new sub-wallets; and (0089, 0107, 0132, 0157)
determining if at least one of the one or more new sub-wallets is eligible to hold the digital currency based at least on the execution of the at least one smart contract and the at least one wallet smart contract. (0017, 0082)
Claim 7:
Madisetti discloses all limitations of claim 6. Madisetti further discloses:
wherein determining if the at least one of the one or more new sub-wallets is eligible to hold the digital currency comprises one of: (0017, 0082)
determining that at least one of the one or more new sub-wallets is eligible to hold the digital currency when the execution of the at least one smart contract and the at least one wallet smart contract indicates that the purpose of the corresponding new sub-wallet matches with the transaction category of the digital currency; and (0017, 0082)
determining that at least one of the one or more new sub-wallets is not eligible when the execution of the at least one smart contract and the at least one wallet smart contract indicates that the purpose of the corresponding new sub-wallet mismatches with the transaction category of the digital currency. (0017, 0082)
Claims 8, 20:
Madisetti discloses all limitations of claims 1 and 16. Madisetti further discloses:
wherein the server system is further caused, at least in part, to (0029, 0171)
linking, by the server system, each of the one or more preexisting sub-wallets with at least one wallet smart contract indicating a wallet eligibility condition. [link each of the one or more preexisting sub-wallets with at least one wallet smart contract indicating a wallet eligibility condition] (0017, 0082, 0094, 0097)
Claim 9:
Madisetti discloses all limitations of claim 8. Madisetti further discloses:
determining, by the server system, an eligibility of the one or more preexisting sub-wallets to hold the digital currency for the specific transaction category, wherein determining the eligibility comprises: (0017, 0082)
executing the at least one smart contract associated with the digital currency and the at least one wallet smart contract associated with each of the one or more preexisting sub-wallets; and (0089, 0107, 0132, 0157)
determining if at least one of the one or more preexisting sub-wallets is eligible to hold the digital currency based at least on the execution of the at least one smart contract and the at least one wallet smart contract. (0017, 0082)
Claim 10:
Madisetti discloses all limitations of claim 9. Madisetti further discloses:
wherein determining if the at least one of the one or more preexisting sub-wallets is eligible to hold the digital currency comprises one of: (0017, 0082)
determining that at least one of the one or more preexisting sub-wallets is eligible to hold the digital currency when the execution of the at least one smart contract and the at least one wallet smart contract indicates that the purpose of the corresponding preexisting sub-wallet matches with the transaction category of the digital currency; and (0017, 0082)
determining that at least one of the one or more preexisting sub-wallets is not eligible to hold the digital currency when the execution of the at least one smart contract and the at least one wallet smart contract indicates that the purpose of the corresponding preexisting sub-wallet mismatches with the transaction category of the digital currency. (0017, 0082)
Claim 11:
Madisetti discloses all limitations of claim 1. Madisetti further discloses:
receiving, by the server system, a fund transfer request from a wallet owner of the second wallet to transfer funds to a third wallet, wherein the fund transfer request is associated with the digital currency deposited in a preexisting sub-wallet of the second wallet; (0084, 0087, 0088, 0169)
accessing, by the server system, wallet category data from a database associated with the server system; (0029, 0171)
determining, by the server system, a wallet category of the third wallet based, at least in part, on the wallet category data; (0017, 0082)
determining, by the server system, if the preexisting sub-wallet is eligible for transferring funds to the third wallet based, at least in part, on the wallet category and the transaction category of the preexisting sub-wallet; and (0017, 0082)
performing, by the server system, one of: (0029, 0171)
upon determining that the preexisting sub-wallet is eligible for transferring funds to the third wallet, approving and transferring the digital currency from the preexisting sub-wallet to the third wallet based on the fund transfer request; and (0084, 0087, 0169)
upon determining that the preexisting sub-wallet is not eligible for transferring funds to the third wallet, declining the fund transfer request. (0169)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madisetti in view of US 2021/0279718 A1 (“Kang”).
Claim 4:
Madisetti does not disclose:
wherein generating the one or more wallets comprises:
generating, by the server system, one or more Application Programming Interface (API) endpoints for facilitating exchange of one or more API calls between one or more wallet providers and corresponding one or more financial institutions;
receiving, by the server system, a wallet generation request from the one or more wallet providers through the one or more API endpoints;
transferring, by the server system, the wallet generation request to the corresponding one or more financial institutions through the one or more API endpoints;
in response to the wallet generation request, receiving, by the server system, a wallet authorization response from the one or more financial institutions, the wallet authorization response indicating an authorization of at least one of the one or more wallet providers based, at least in part, on the one or more API calls; and
in response to the authorization of at least one of the one or more wallet providers, facilitating, by the server system, the corresponding wallet provider to create the one or more wallets.
Kang, an analogous art of digital wallets, discloses:
wherein generating the one or more wallets comprises:
generating, by the server system, one or more Application Programming Interface (API) endpoints for facilitating exchange of one or more API calls between one or more wallet providers and corresponding one or more financial institutions; (0027, 0037, 0040)
receiving, by the server system, a wallet generation request from the one or more wallet providers through the one or more API endpoints; (0003, 0006, 0027, 0036)
transferring, by the server system, the wallet generation request to the corresponding one or more financial institutions through the one or more API endpoints; (0003, 0027, 0037)
in response to the wallet generation request, receiving, by the server system, a wallet authorization response from the one or more financial institutions, the wallet authorization response indicating an authorization of at least one of the one or more wallet providers based, at least in part, on the one or more API calls; and (0003, 0007, 0038, 0040)
in response to the authorization of at least one of the one or more wallet providers, facilitating, by the server system, the corresponding wallet provider to create the one or more wallets. (0003, 0030, 0040)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the generating the one or more wallets of Madisetti to include "generating, by the server system, one or more Application Programming Interface (API) endpoints for facilitating exchange of one or more API calls between one or more wallet providers and corresponding one or more financial institutions; receiving, by the server system, a wallet generation request from the one or more wallet providers through the one or more API endpoints; transferring, by the server system, the wallet generation request to the corresponding one or more financial institutions through the one or more API endpoints; in response to the wallet generation request, receiving, by the server system, a wallet authorization response from the one or more financial institutions, the wallet authorization response indicating an authorization of at least one of the one or more wallet providers based, at least in part, on the one or more API calls; and in response to the authorization of at least one of the one or more wallet providers, facilitating, by the server system, the corresponding wallet provider to create the one or more wallets", as disclosed in Kang. One or ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to improve security (See Kang, 0003-0019).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2022/0292496 A1 to Yan discloses: Systems and methods are provided for processing global CBDC transactions in a blockchain supported network, where domestic and foreign banking institutions may provide mutual hosting of a consortium blockchain to allow more seamless and direct CBDC supported transactions, and CBDC exchanges in real-time or near-real time.
US 2020/0160328 A1 to Yan discloses: Systems and methods are provided for processing transactions in a blockchain supported network, including establishing a user node comprising an authenticated ID and a digital wallet, the digital wallet configured to manage token supported digital bills; depositing a number of fiat pegged tokens into the digital wallet of the first network participant's user node in exchange for a received amount of fiat currency; providing a smart contract to facilitate transaction between the first network participant and a second network participant, where the payment term is provided in fiat-currency; generating a combination of two or more token supported digital bills that satisfies the payment term and reduces, relative to another possible combination of two or more digital bills or a combination of fiat-pegged tokens, the computational expense for validation by the network participants.
US 2018/0075453 A1 to Durvasula et al. discloses: A system for operating a payment network with a blockchain-based ledger may prepare a request to complete a transaction from an account associated with a payer digital wallet for entry on the blockchain. The request may include an amount and payee address associated with a payee digital wallet. The system may also send the request to the blockchain using a blockchain interface. The system may approve or decline the request. The system may further adjust a balance of the payer a balance of the payee to reflect approval of the request. The adjustment may include writing the transaction to the blockchain.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARI SHAHABI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3697