CTNF 18/785,489 CTNF 86669 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (Pub. No.: 2023/0156652 A1) in view of Liu (Pub. No.: 2020/0323020 A1) . 1) In regard to claim 1, Lin discloses the claimed apparatus (fig. 2: 211) comprising: at least one processor (fig. 2: 213); and at least one memory (fig. 2: 212) storing instructions (fig. 2: 220) that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: receive a downlink, non-access stratum transport message (fig. 5: 521) comprising a plurality of payload containers (¶0021 discloses receiving a plurality of containers), wherein the plurality of payload containers comprise a user equipment parameters update, UPU, transparent container and one or more non-UPU payload containers, the UPU transparent container comprising a re-registration, REG, flag having a true value indicating that re-registration of the apparatus is requested (¶0021); and trigger the re-registration following detection of completion of one or more respective processes associated with the one or more non-UPU payload containers (¶0022 discloses the UE triggers re-registration after the completion of deregistration over both 3GPP and non-3GPP access). Lin does not explicitly disclose the apparatus sends the plurality of payload containers to respective upper layers for processing. However, Liu disclose it is known for an apparatus to send a plurality of payload containers to respective upper layers for processing (¶0110). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to allow the apparatus of Lin to forward payload containers to an upper layer for processing, as taught by Liu. One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Lin as described above in order to enable proper interpretation, security handling, service execution, and future protocol flexibility while keeping the wireless protocol stack modular. 2) In regard to claim 2 (dependent on claim 1), Lin and Liu further disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more non-UPU payload containers sent to the respective upper layers for the processing further comprise a request for completion flag set to true indicating that completion of the one or more respective processes associated with the one or more non-UPU payload containers is requested (Liu ¶0079). 3) In regard to claim 3 (dependent on claim 1), Lin and Liu further disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory storing the instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to, before the detecting: set, based on the DL NAS transport message comprising the plurality of payload containers and the REG flag having the true value, a postpone REG flag to true (Lin ¶0021). 4) In regard to claim 4 (dependent on claim 3), Lin and Liu further disclose the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the triggering of the re-registration is performed in response to the detecting of the completion of the one or more respective processes associated with the one or more non-UPU payload containers while the postpone REG flag is set to true (Lin ¶0022). 5) In regard to claim 5 (dependent on claim 3), Lin and Liu further disclose the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the at least one memory storing the instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to, after the receiving and before the detecting: receive, from a universal integrated circuit card, UICC, communicatively connected to the apparatus, a REFRESH message for triggering the re-registration; and ignore the REFRESH message based on the postpone REG flag being set to true (Lin fig. 5 and ¶0021). 6) In regard to claim 6 (dependent on claim 1), Lin and Liu further disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more non-UPU payload containers comprise at least one of the following: session management, SM, information, a short message service, SMS, message, a steering of roaming, SOR, transparent container, a user equipment, UE, policy container, a cellular Internet of Things, CIoT, user data container, an event notification, a long term evolution, LTE, positioning protocol, LPP, message container or a service-level-AA, authentication and authorization, message container (Lin ¶0021). 7) In regard to claim 7 (dependent on claim 1), Lin and Liu further disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is a mobile equipment communicatively connected to an UICC (Lin fig. 5: shows an UICC communicatively coupled to the UE 501). 8) In regard to claim 8, claim 8 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 1 and the references applied. 9) In regard to claim 9 (dependent on claim 8), claim 9 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 2 and the references applied. 10) In regard to claim 10 (dependent on claim 8), claim 10 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 3 and the references applied. 11) In regard to claim 11 (dependent on claim 10), claim 11 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 4 and the references applied. 12) In regard to claim 12 (dependent on claim 10), claim 12 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 5 and the references applied. 13) In regard to claim 13 (dependent on claim 8), claim 13 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 6 and the references applied. 14) In regard to claim 14, claim 14 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 1 and the references applied. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CURTIS J KING whose telephone number is (571)270-5160. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 6:00 - 2:00 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Quan-Zhen Wang can be reached at 571-272-3114. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CURTIS J KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685 Application/Control Number: 18/785,489 Page 2 Art Unit: 2685 Application/Control Number: 18/785,489 Page 3 Art Unit: 2685 Application/Control Number: 18/785,489 Page 4 Art Unit: 2685 Application/Control Number: 18/785,489 Page 5 Art Unit: 2685 Application/Control Number: 18/785,489 Page 6 Art Unit: 2685 Application/Control Number: 18/785,489 Page 7 Art Unit: 2685