DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims:
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 07/26/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,074,721. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent anticipates the invention claimed in the pending application.
Pending Application (17/162,879)
Patent (12,074,721)
1. A method, comprising:
1. A method, comprising:
opening a channel between a device of an audio-only caller and a server facilitating an in-progress video-enabled virtual meeting;
establishing a call between a phone device of an audio-only caller and a client device not connected to an in-progress video-enabled virtual meeting;
obtaining virtual meeting information associated with the in-progress video-enabled virtual meeting based on the phone device;
receiving, from the client device based on an interaction by a user of the client device with the virtual meeting information, a request to join the phone device to the in-progress video-enabled virtual meeting;
in response to the request, opening a channel between the phone device and a server used by a virtual meeting service facilitating the in-progress video-enabled virtual meeting;
merging a call between the device and a client device with the video-enabled virtual meeting over the channel to join the device to the video-enabled virtual meeting, without one or more security checks, wherein the client device is disconnected from the call in response to the device joining the video-enabled virtual meeting; and
joining the phone device to the in-progress video-enabled virtual meeting by merging the call and the in-progress video-enabled virtual meeting over the channel,
wherein the client device is disconnected from the call in response to the phone device joining the in-progress video-enabled virtual meeting,
wherein joining the phone device to the in-progress video-enabled virtual meeting includes bypassing one or more security checks otherwise required by the virtual meeting service for participants to join the video-enabled virtual meeting, and
wherein a manner by which the phone device is joined to the video-enabled virtual meeting is based on whether a client application associated with the virtual meeting service is installed on the phone device; and
creating a dedicated meeting view for the audio-only caller in the video-enabled virtual meeting.
signaling to the virtual meeting service to create a dedicated meeting view for the audio-only caller in the in-progress video-enabled virtual meeting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 6 – 7, 9 – 11, and 13 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hogan (US 5483587), in view of Jaudon (US 20140025740), and in further view of Butterfield (US 11140203).
As per claim 1, Hogan discloses a method, comprising:
opening a channel between a device of an audio-only caller and a server facilitating an in-progress … (meeting) (The participant (phone device of audio only caller) is connected to the allocated operator console (client device). This is accomplished by conference call controller instructing conference bridge to connect operator port to participant port, See Col. 20, Lines 53 – 56 … In response, conference call controller sends a JOIN RESPONSE message, and informs the console what actions are needed to join the conference participant. For example, the console may be required to announce to the already on-line conference participants that the new conference participant is being joined to the conference call, See Col. 20, Line 57 – Col. 21, Line 12 … When a call is originated by originating user, call audio and call data for the call are routed to call processing system. A key feature of call processing system is that it enables call audio on audio channel to be handled separately from call data, See Col. 7, Lines 28 – 31) …
merging a call between the device and a client device with the … (meeting) over the channel to join the device to the (meeting) (Conference call controller instructs conference bridge to join a participant in a conference call (via audio channel, Col. 7, Lines 28 – 31). In one embodiment, this is accomplished by sending an ADD message to conference bridge. ADD message informs conference bridge to add participant port of the new conference participant with the other participant ports of the conference participants already on the call. In response, conference bridge joins the appropriate conference ports (merges the call to the in-progress meeting), See Col. 21, Lines 13 - 28), …, wherein the client device is disconnected from the call in response to the device joining the … (meeting) (After the operator has announced the new participant into the existing conference, the operator can perform operator assistance functions if requested. The operator console 308 is released after each conference participant is joined and is reallocated by the network control processor to add additional participants. This is illustrated in FIG. 19 by step 1916 and flow line 1934, See Col. 21, Lines 13 - 28) …
Hogan however does not expressly disclose:
opening a channel via a video-enabled virtual meeting, merging the call using the video-enabled virtual meeting, joining a device to the video-enabled virtual meeting, without one or more security checks.
Jaudon discloses:
(opening a channel) … video-enabled virtual meeting (The central server computer system may also preemptively establish a logical bridge between the devices prior to a start of the collaboration activity. In certain examples, the central server computer system may merge the data of different types from multiple users into a single collaboration stream, and transmit to each user a version of the collaboration stream adapted to the type of data associated with that user, See ¶26);
(merging a call with the) … video-enabled virtual meeting … (to join the device to the) video-enabled virtual meeting, without one or more security checks, … video-enabled virtual meeting (Because the bridge between the users has already been set up by the central server computer system, the users accepting the invitation may receive calls from the bridge at smartphone and telephone, respectively, immediately following their acceptance. When these calls are answered, the users may be automatically connected in a conference call with each other without having to dial in, enter credentials (bypassing security checks), or take other action to set up the conference call, See ¶76); and
It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the Applicant's effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jaudon’s teaching of opening a channel via a video-enabled virtual meeting, along with joining an audio only caller to a meeting via a client device to improve Hogan’s system. Jaudon’s system includes establishing a logical bridge between devices to start a collaboration activity. The combination is an improvement upon the existing system because an audio only caller can be joined to a meeting via a client device, such as the operator console, as taught by Hogan, where the meeting can further be based on opening a channel via a video-enabled virtual meeting, as taught by Jaudon, to allow participants to seamlessly join a meeting via a client device when the meeting is already in progress.
The combination of Hogan and Jaudon however does not expressly disclose:
creating a dedicated meeting view for the audio-only caller in the video-enabled virtual meeting.
Butterfield discloses:
creating a dedicated meeting view for the audio-only caller in the video-enabled virtual meeting (A user might be able to select from audio-only, audio/video, screen share, scratch pad/whiteboard, file share, or any other type of multimedia session. In some embodiments, a “talking heads” multimedia session is available including audio and a small, headshot-only video, image, or animation for the speaker. Non-speaking users may be represented with just the user's profile icon, See Col. 8, Lines 14 - 45).
It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the Applicant's effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Butterfield’s teaching of an audio-only caller meeting view and Jaudon’s teaching of opening a channel via a video-enabled virtual meeting, along with joining an audio only caller to a meeting via a client device to improve Hogan’s system. Butterfield’s system includes displaying a small, headshot-only video, image, or animation for the audio-only caller. The combination is an improvement upon the existing system because an audio only caller can be joined to a meeting via a client device, such as the operator console, as taught by Hogan, where the meeting can be based on opening a channel via a video-enabled virtual meeting, as taught by Jaudon, and the audio-only caller can further be represented in the meeting view, as taught by Butterfield, to allow participants to seamlessly join a meeting via a client device when the meeting is already in progress.
As per claim 2, the method of claim 1, comprising: obtaining virtual meeting information associated with the video-enabled virtual meeting that corresponds to calendar information accessible by the client device (Hogan, Conference call controller receives a request to schedule a conference call. This request can be a request to schedule an immediate conference call to be set if resources are available, or to schedule a conference call at a future date and time (calendar information). In one embodiment, the request is received by conference call controller from an operator console, See Col. 11, Line 61 – Col. 12, Line 3) via a calendar associated with a participant of the video-enabled virtual meeting (Jaudon, The trigger event may occur in connection with a real-time request or instruction to initiate a collaboration activity. Additionally or alternatively, the trigger event may be generated in connection with an inference based on a set of observed conditions indicating a collaboration activity (e.g., time of day, a detected presence of one or more users in a location, a status of one or more devices, a scheduled (calendar information) collaboration activity, etc.), See ¶39).
As per claim 3, the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more security checks that are bypassed include operations for authenticating participants of the video-enabled virtual meeting (Jaudon, Because the bridge between the users has already been set up by the central server computer system, the users accepting the invitation may receive calls from the bridge at smartphone and telephone, respectively, immediately following their acceptance. When these calls are answered, the users may be automatically connected in a conference call with each other without having to dial in, enter credentials (authenticating participants), or take other action to set up the conference call, See ¶76).
As per claim 6, the method of claim 1, wherein a user of the client device is an assistant to a participant (Hogan, Operator assistance provides operator support to an ongoing conference. Operator assistance can, for example, add or remove a conference participant, determine the status of a conference in session, or cancel the conference entirely, See Col. 11, Lines 24 – 27) of the video-enabled virtual meeting (Jaudon, A collaboration activity may include, but is not limited to, a conference call, a video conference, sharing a portion of a desktop over a network, a presentation broadcast over a network, and other types of collaborative activities, See ¶26).
As per claim 7, the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a request from the client device to transfer the call (Hogan, In one embodiment, operator console sends a JOIN REQUEST message to conference call controller. In response, conference call controller sends a JOIN RESPONSE message, and informs the console what actions are needed to join the conference participant. For example, the console may be required to announce to the already on-line conference participants that the new conference participant is being joined to the conference call, See Col. 20, Line 57 – Col. 21, Line 12) to the video-enabled virtual meeting (Jaudon, A collaboration activity may include, but is not limited to, a conference call, a video conference, sharing a portion of a desktop over a network, a presentation broadcast over a network, and other types of collaborative activities, See ¶26).
As per claim 9, a system, comprising:
a server that facilitates a call established between a device of an audio-only caller and a client device and that facilitates an in-progress … (meeting) (When a call is originated by originating user, call audio (audio only) and call data for the call are routed to call processing system, See Col. 7, Lines 28 – 31 … The participant (phone device of audio only caller) is connected to the allocated operator console (client device). This is accomplished by conference call controller instructing conference bridge to connect operator port to participant port, See Col. 20, Lines 53 - 56), wherein the server runs software to:
open a channel between the device and the server (In response, conference call controller sends a JOIN RESPONSE message, and informs the console what actions are needed to join the conference participant. For example, the console may be required to announce to the already on-line conference participants that the new conference participant is being joined to the conference call, See Col. 20, Line 57 – Col. 21, Line 12 … When a call is originated by originating user, call audio and call data for the call are routed to call processing system. A key feature of call processing system is that it enables call audio on audio channel to be handled separately from call data, See Col. 7, Lines 28 – 31);
merge the call and the video-enabled virtual meeting over the channel to join the device to the … (meeting) (Conference call controller instructs conference bridge to join a participant in a conference call (via audio channel, Col. 7, Lines 28 – 31). In one embodiment, this is accomplished by sending an ADD message to conference bridge. ADD message informs conference bridge to add participant port of the new conference participant with the other participant ports of the conference participants already on the call. In response, conference bridge joins the appropriate conference ports (merges the call to the in-progress meeting), See Col. 21, Lines 13 - 28), …, wherein the client device is disconnected from the call in response to the device joining the … (meeting) (After the operator has announced the new participant into the existing conference, the operator can perform operator assistance functions if requested. The operator console 308 is released after each conference participant is joined and is reallocated by the network control processor to add additional participants. This is illustrated in FIG. 19 by step 1916 and flow line 1934, See Col. 21, Lines 13 - 28); and
Hogan however does not expressly disclose:
facilitating a video-enabled virtual meeting, merge the call using the video-enabled virtual meeting, joining a device to the video-enabled virtual meeting, without one or more security checks.
Jaudon discloses:
(facilitating) … video-enabled virtual meeting (The central server computer system may also preemptively establish a logical bridge between the devices prior to a start of the collaboration activity. In certain examples, the central server computer system may merge the data of different types from multiple users into a single collaboration stream, and transmit to each user a version of the collaboration stream adapted to the type of data associated with that user, See ¶26);
(merge the call with the) … video-enabled virtual meeting … (to join the device to the) video-enabled virtual meeting, without one or more security checks, … video-enabled virtual meeting (Because the bridge between the users has already been set up by the central server computer system, the users accepting the invitation may receive calls from the bridge at smartphone and telephone, respectively, immediately following their acceptance. When these calls are answered, the users may be automatically connected in a conference call with each other without having to dial in, enter credentials (bypassing security checks), or take other action to set up the conference call, See ¶76); and
It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the Applicant's effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jaudon’s teaching of opening a channel via a video-enabled virtual meeting, along with joining an audio only caller to a meeting via a client device to improve Hogan’s system. Jaudon’s system includes establishing a logical bridge between devices to start a collaboration activity. The combination is an improvement upon the existing system because an audio only caller can be joined to a meeting via a client device, such as the operator console, as taught by Hogan, where the meeting can further be based on opening a channel via a video-enabled virtual meeting, as taught by Jaudon, to allow participants to seamlessly join a meeting via a client device when the meeting is already in progress.
The combination of Hogan and Jaudon however does not expressly disclose:
creating a dedicated meeting view for the audio-only caller in the video-enabled virtual meeting.
Butterfield discloses:
create a dedicated meeting view for the audio-only caller in the video-enabled virtual meeting (A user might be able to select from audio-only, audio/video, screen share, scratch pad/whiteboard, file share, or any other type of multimedia session. In some embodiments, a “talking heads” multimedia session is available including audio and a small, headshot-only video, image, or animation for the speaker. Non-speaking users may be represented with just the user's profile icon, See Col. 8, Lines 14 - 45).
It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the Applicant's effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Butterfield’s teaching of an audio-only caller meeting view and Jaudon’s teaching of opening a channel via a video-enabled virtual meeting, along with joining an audio only caller to a meeting via a client device to improve Hogan’s system. Butterfield’s system includes displaying a small, headshot-only video, image, or animation for the audio-only caller. The combination is an improvement upon the existing system because an audio only caller can be joined to a meeting via a client device, such as the operator console, as taught by Hogan, where the meeting can be based on opening a channel via a video-enabled virtual meeting, as taught by Jaudon, and the audio-only caller can further be represented in the meeting view, as taught by Butterfield, to allow participants to seamlessly join a meeting via a client device when the meeting is already in progress.
As per claim 10, the system of claim 9, wherein the software is configured to: obtain virtual meeting information associated with the video-enabled virtual meeting that corresponds to calendar information accessible by the client device (Hogan, Conference call controller receives a request to schedule a conference call. This request can be a request to schedule an immediate conference call to be set if resources are available, or to schedule a conference call at a future date and time (calendar information). In one embodiment, the request is received by conference call controller from an operator console, See Col. 11, Line 61 – Col. 12, Line 3) via a calendar associated with a participant of the video-enabled virtual meeting (Jaudon, The trigger event may occur in connection with a real-time request or instruction to initiate a collaboration activity. Additionally or alternatively, the trigger event may be generated in connection with an inference based on a set of observed conditions indicating a collaboration activity (e.g., time of day, a detected presence of one or more users in a location, a status of one or more devices, a scheduled (calendar information) collaboration activity, etc.), See ¶39).
As per claim 11, the system of claim 9, wherein the one or more security checks that are bypassed include operations to authenticate participants of the video-enabled virtual meeting (Jaudon, Because the bridge between the users has already been set up by the central server computer system, the users accepting the invitation may receive calls from the bridge at smartphone and telephone, respectively, immediately following their acceptance. When these calls are answered, the users may be automatically connected in a conference call with each other without having to dial in, enter credentials (authenticating participants), or take other action to set up the conference call, See ¶76).
As per claim 13, the system of claim 9, wherein the software is configured to: receive a request from the client device to transfer the call (Hogan, In one embodiment, operator console sends a JOIN REQUEST message to conference call controller. In response, conference call controller sends a JOIN RESPONSE message, and informs the console what actions are needed to join the conference participant. For example, the console may be required to announce to the already on-line conference participants that the new conference participant is being joined to the conference call, See Col. 20, Line 57 – Col. 21, Line 12) to the video-enabled virtual meeting (Jaudon, A collaboration activity may include, but is not limited to, a conference call, a video conference, sharing a portion of a desktop over a network, a presentation broadcast over a network, and other types of collaborative activities, See ¶26).
As per claim 14, the server device, comprising:
a memory; and
a processor configured to execute instructions stored in the memory to:
open a channel between a device of an audio-only caller and the server device that is facilitating an in-progress … (meeting) (The participant (phone device of audio only caller) is connected to the allocated operator console (client device). This is accomplished by conference call controller instructing conference bridge to connect operator port to participant port, See Col. 20, Lines 53 – 56 … In response, conference call controller sends a JOIN RESPONSE message, and informs the console what actions are needed to join the conference participant. For example, the console may be required to announce to the already on-line conference participants that the new conference participant is being joined to the conference call, See Col. 20, Line 57 – Col. 21, Line 12 … When a call is originated by originating user, call audio and call data for the call are routed to call processing system. A key feature of call processing system is that it enables call audio on audio channel to be handled separately from call data, See Col. 7, Lines 28 – 31);
merge a call between the device and a client device with the … (meeting) over the channel to join the device to the … (meeting) (Conference call controller instructs conference bridge to join a participant in a conference call (via audio channel, Col. 7, Lines 28 – 31). In one embodiment, this is accomplished by sending an ADD message to conference bridge. ADD message informs conference bridge to add participant port of the new conference participant with the other participant ports of the conference participants already on the call. In response, conference bridge joins the appropriate conference ports (merges the call to the in-progress meeting), See Col. 21, Lines 13 - 28), …, wherein the client device is disconnected from the call in response to the device joining the … (meeting) (After the operator has announced the new participant into the existing conference, the operator can perform operator assistance functions if requested. The operator console 308 is released after each conference participant is joined and is reallocated by the network control processor to add additional participants. This is illustrated in FIG. 19 by step 1916 and flow line 1934, See Col. 21, Lines 13 - 28); and
Hogan however does not expressly disclose:
open a channel via a video-enabled virtual meeting, merge the call using the video-enabled virtual meeting, joining a device to the video-enabled virtual meeting, without one or more security checks.
Jaudon discloses:
(open a channel) … video-enabled virtual meeting (The central server computer system may also preemptively establish a logical bridge between the devices prior to a start of the collaboration activity. In certain examples, the central server computer system may merge the data of different types from multiple users into a single collaboration stream, and transmit to each user a version of the collaboration stream adapted to the type of data associated with that user, See ¶26);
(merging a call with the) … video-enabled virtual meeting … (to join the device to the) video-enabled virtual meeting, without one or more security checks, … video-enabled virtual meeting (Because the bridge between the users has already been set up by the central server computer system, the users accepting the invitation may receive calls from the bridge at smartphone and telephone, respectively, immediately following their acceptance. When these calls are answered, the users may be automatically connected in a conference call with each other without having to dial in, enter credentials (bypassing security checks), or take other action to set up the conference call, See ¶76); and
It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the Applicant's effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jaudon’s teaching of opening a channel via a video-enabled virtual meeting, along with joining an audio only caller to a meeting via a client device to improve Hogan’s system. Jaudon’s system includes establishing a logical bridge between devices to start a collaboration activity. The combination is an improvement upon the existing system because an audio only caller can be joined to a meeting via a client device, such as the operator console, as taught by Hogan, where the meeting can further be based on opening a channel via a video-enabled virtual meeting, as taught by Jaudon, to allow participants to seamlessly join a meeting via a client device when the meeting is already in progress.
The combination of Hogan and Jaudon however does not expressly disclose:
creating a dedicated meeting view for the audio-only caller in the video-enabled virtual meeting.
Butterfield discloses:
create a dedicated meeting view for the audio-only caller in the video-enabled virtual meeting (A user might be able to select from audio-only, audio/video, screen share, scratch pad/whiteboard, file share, or any other type of multimedia session. In some embodiments, a “talking heads” multimedia session is available including audio and a small, headshot-only video, image, or animation for the speaker. Non-speaking users may be represented with just the user's profile icon, See Col. 8, Lines 14 - 45).
It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the Applicant's effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Butterfield’s teaching of an audio-only caller meeting view and Jaudon’s teaching of opening a channel via a video-enabled virtual meeting, along with joining an audio only caller to a meeting via a client device to improve Hogan’s system. Butterfield’s system includes displaying a small, headshot-only video, image, or animation for the audio-only caller. The combination is an improvement upon the existing system because an audio only caller can be joined to a meeting via a client device, such as the operator console, as taught by Hogan, where the meeting can be based on opening a channel via a video-enabled virtual meeting, as taught by Jaudon, and the audio-only caller can further be represented in the meeting view, as taught by Butterfield, to allow participants to seamlessly join a meeting via a client device when the meeting is already in progress.
As per claim 15, the server device of claim 14, wherein the one or more security checks that are bypassed include operations for authenticating participants of the video-enabled virtual meeting (Jaudon, Because the bridge between the users has already been set up by the central server computer system, the users accepting the invitation may receive calls from the bridge at smartphone and telephone, respectively, immediately following their acceptance. When these calls are answered, the users may be automatically connected in a conference call with each other without having to dial in, enter credentials (authenticating participants), or take other action to set up the conference call, See ¶76).
As per claim 16, the server device of claim 14, wherein a user of the client device is an assistant to a participant of the video-enabled virtual meeting, and wherein the virtual meeting information corresponds to calendar information accessible by the user of the client device via a calendar for the participant.
As per claim 17, the server device of claim 14, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to: receive a request from the client device to transfer the call (Hogan, In one embodiment, operator console sends a JOIN REQUEST message to conference call controller. In response, conference call controller sends a JOIN RESPONSE message, and informs the console what actions are needed to join the conference participant. For example, the console may be required to announce to the already on-line conference participants that the new conference participant is being joined to the conference call, See Col. 20, Line 57 – Col. 21, Line 12) to the video-enabled virtual meeting (Jaudon, A collaboration activity may include, but is not limited to, a conference call, a video conference, sharing a portion of a desktop over a network, a presentation broadcast over a network, and other types of collaborative activities, See ¶26).
Claim(s) 4 – 5, 8, 12, and 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hogan (US 5483587), in view of Jaudon (US 20140025740), in view of Butterfield (US 11140203), and in further view of Narayanan (US 20130018950).
As per claim 4, the combination of Hogan, Jaudon, and Butterfield discloses all limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Hogan, Jaudon, and Butterfield however does not expressly disclose:
based on a client application being installed on the device, causing the channel between the device and the server to open using the client application.
Narayanan disclose:
the method of claim 1, comprising: based on a client application being installed on the device, causing the channel between the device and the server to open using the client application (Narayanan, One or meeting clients (e.g., applications, software, programs, etc.) can be identified on the device. For example, the device may comprise one or more client applications, and/or one or more versions of a client application, that may be used to join a meeting, See ¶17).
It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the Applicant's effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Narayanan’s teaching of a client application to open a channel, Butterfield’s teaching of an audio-only caller meeting view, and Jaudon’s teaching of opening a channel via a video-enabled virtual meeting, along with joining an audio only caller to a meeting via a client device to improve Hogan’s system. Narayanan’s system includes a client application for joining a meeting. The combination is an improvement upon the existing system because an audio only caller can be joined to a meeting via a client device, such as the operator console, as taught by Hogan, where the meeting can further be based on opening a channel via a video-enabled virtual meeting, as taught by Jaudon, and the audio-only caller can be represented in the meeting view, as taught by Butterfield, and the channel can further be opened by a client application, as taught by Narayanan, to allow participants to seamlessly join a meeting via a client device when the meeting is already in progress.
As per claim 5, the method of claim 1, comprising:
determining that a client application is installed on the device (Narayanan, One or more meeting clients (e.g., applications) can be identified (e.g., detected) on the device requesting to join the meeting, See ¶27); and
transmitting, to the device, a push notification configured to cause the client application to launch (Narayanan, a device code package and/or a document comprising meeting related information (push notification) can be sent to a device requesting to join a meeting, for example in response to the request (e.g., request to join the device to the meeting). As an example, the device code package can comprise script comprising logic for performing checks at the device side, to select an appropriate application used to join the meeting. In one embodiment, the code package can comprise code (e.g., script code) that is configured to identify one or more meeting clients on the device; select a supported meeting client from the one or more identified meeting clients; launch the supported meeting client, ¶25).
As per claim 8, the method of claim 1, wherein the call is maintained as an audio channel of the video-enabled virtual meeting (Jaudon, The data type(s) identified for each user may be based on the type of terminal devices with which each user is associated. For example, a user of IP telephone may be associated with the ability to send and receive voice/audio data, See ¶89) for the audio-only caller (Hogan, When a call is originated by originating user, call audio and call data for the call are routed to call processing system. A key feature of call processing system is that it enables call audio on audio channel to be handled separately from call data, Col. 7, Lines 28 – 31) based on a client application not being installed on the device (Narayanan, One or more telephone coordinates (e.g., a telephone number and/or meeting reference number) may be provided, for example, so that a user can call in to join and participate in the meeting. For example, a supported meeting client (e.g., an appropriate application for participating in the meeting) may not be available for download and/or be installed on the device. Further, in this example, the default or available browser for the device may not support joining the meeting. If a supported meeting client and/or online-based meeting client cannot be utilized, for example, the user can be provided an appropriate telephone number to call into the meeting (e.g., and a reference number to join the meeting), See ¶31).
As per claim 12, the system of claim 9, wherein the software is configured to: based on a client application being installed on the device, cause the channel between the device and the server to open using the client application (Narayanan, One or meeting clients (e.g., applications, software, programs, etc.) can be identified on the device. For example, the device may comprise one or more client applications, and/or one or more versions of a client application, that may be used to join a meeting, See ¶17).
As per claim 18, the server device of claim 14, wherein the call is maintained as an audio channel (Jaudon, The data type(s) identified for each user may be based on the type of terminal devices with which each user is associated. For example, a user of IP telephone may be associated with the ability to send and receive voice/audio data, See ¶89) of the video-enabled virtual meeting (Hogan, When a call is originated by originating user, call audio and call data for the call are routed to call processing system. A key feature of call processing system is that it enables call audio on audio channel to be handled separately from call data, Col. 7, Lines 28 – 31) for the device based on a client application not being installed on the device (Narayanan, One or more telephone coordinates (e.g., a telephone number and/or meeting reference number) may be provided, for example, so that a user can call in to join and participate in the meeting. For example, a supported meeting client (e.g., an appropriate application for participating in the meeting) may not be available for download and/or be installed on the device. Further, in this example, the default or available browser for the device may not support joining the meeting. If a supported meeting client and/or online-based meeting client cannot be utilized, for example, the user can be provided an appropriate telephone number to call into the meeting (e.g., and a reference number to join the meeting), See ¶31).
As per claim 19, the server device of claim 14, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to: based on a client application being installed on the device, cause the channel to open using the client application (Narayanan, One or meeting clients (e.g., applications, software, programs, etc.) can be identified on the device. For example, the device may comprise one or more client applications, and/or one or more versions of a client application, that may be used to join a meeting, See ¶17).
As per claim 20, the server device of claim 14, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to: based on a client application being installed on the device (Narayanan, One or more meeting clients (e.g., applications) can be identified (e.g., detected) on the device requesting to join the meeting, See ¶27), transmitting, to the device, a push notification configured to cause the client application to launch (Narayanan, a device code package and/or a document comprising meeting related information (push notification) can be sent to a device requesting to join a meeting, for example in response to the request (e.g., request to join the device to the meeting). As an example, the device code package can comprise script comprising logic for performing checks at the device side, to select an appropriate application used to join the meeting. In one embodiment, the code package can comprise code (e.g., script code) that is configured to identify one or more meeting clients on the device; select a supported meeting client from the one or more identified meeting clients; launch the supported meeting client, ¶25).
Conclusion
/NAZIA NAOREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458