DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in 10-2023-0097792 on 7/26/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the instant application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Please note the priority document exchange failure status report dated 12/26/2024.
Claim Objections
The objections to claims 4, 19-20 are withdrawn in view of the amendments thereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (KR 102424424 – hereinafter, “Lim”).
With respect to claim 1, Lim teaches (In Fig 10) an electronic device (101) comprising: a housing (10a) forming an exterior of the electronic device; a printed circuit board (180) on which at least one component (190) is disposed; a heat dissipation member (450) contacting the at least one component through a thermal conductive material (440) and a thermal conductive block (430); and a support (420) including an opening (411) spatially corresponding to the at least one component (190, see Fig 10), wherein the heat dissipation member (450) is disposed on one surface (Top surface of 420) of the support (See Fig 10), and wherein the thermal conductive block (430) is disposed through the opening formed in the support (See Fig 10).
With respect to claim 2, Lim further teaches wherein the support is accommodated in the housing (“For example, the housing 10a may include a substrate (eg, 180 of FIG. 10 ) on which an electric element (eg, 190 of FIG. 10 ) is disposed” which suggests that the assembly (400) shown in Fig 10 is within the housing (10a) shown in Fig 4).
Claims 1-2, 11, 12, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (US 2026/0033342 – hereinafter, “Jung”) .
The applied reference has a common Applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
With respect to claim 1, Jung teaches (In Figs 1B, 5) an electronic device (100) comprising: a housing (¶ 0039) forming an exterior of the electronic device (See Fig 1B); a printed circuit board (150) on which at least one component (230) is disposed; a heat dissipation member (111) contacting the at least one component through a thermal conductive material (571) and a thermal conductive block (240); and a support (220) including an opening (20) spatially corresponding to the at least one component (230, see Fig 5), wherein the heat dissipation member (111) is disposed on one surface (Top surface of 220) of the support (See Fig 5), and wherein the thermal conductive block (240) is disposed through the opening formed in the support (See Fig 5).
With respect to claim 2, Jung further teaches that the support is accommodated in the housing (See Fig 1B which shows the printed circuit board of Fig 5 in the housing).
With respect to claim 11, Jung further teaches a shield can (250) disposed on the PCB to at least partially surround the at least one component (See Fig 5); and a shielding sheet (210) stacked on at least a portion of the shield can (250).
With respect to claim 12, Jung further teaches that the shielding sheet includes a conductive shielding sheet (¶ 0088, “The shielding film 210 may be formed to have flexibility and electrical conductivity”).
With respect to claim 15, Jung further teaches that the heat dissipation member (111) comprises at least one of copper, stainless steel, aluminum, titanium, or magnesium (¶ 0042).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim in view of Miyakoshi (US 2022/0301997).
With respect to claim 3, Lim teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest that the thermal conductive material includes a TIM.
Miyakoshi, however, teaches a thermal interface material to attach a metal plate (equivalent to the metal plate of Lim which is equated to the claimed “thermal conductive material”) to a cooling unit (¶ 0032, “A cooling unit (not illustrated) may be attached via a thermal interface material to the metal plate 13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Miyakoshi with that of Lim such that the thermal conductive material/metal plate (440) of Lim includes a thermal interface material, as taught by Miyakoshi, since doing so would provide for better heat transfer between the thermal conductive material (440) of Lim and the thermal conductive block (430).
Claims 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Jung (US 2021/0068244 – hereinafter, “Jung-244”).
With respect to claim 14, Jung teaches the limitations of claim 2 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest the limitations of claim 14.
Jung-244, however, teaches a conductive double-sided tape (585, ¶ 0124, “The conductive adhesive member 585 may be a structure configured by a conductive tape or soldering so as to fix the cooling member 581 or 583 to the bracket 332 and prevent and/or reduce an increase of heat resistance.”) disposed between a support (332) and a heat dissipation member (540, see Fig 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jung-244 with that of Jung such that Jung includes a conductive double-sided tape disposed between the support and the heat dissipation member, as taught by Jung-244, since doing so would allow, for example, layer 573 to be adhered to layer 571 in Jung.
With respect to claim 19, Jung teaches (In Figs 1B, 5) an electronic device (100) comprising: a housing (¶ 0039) forming an exterior of the electronic device; a printed circuit board (150) on which at least one component (230) is disposed; and a heat dissipation member (111) contacting the at least one component through a thermal conductive material (571) and a thermal conductive block (240) disposed on the thermal conductive material (See Fig 5); a shield can (250) disposed on the printed circuit board to at least partially surround the at least one component (See Fig 5); a conductive shielding sheet (210, ¶ 0088) stacked on at least a portion of the shield can (See Fig 5); a support (220) disposed on the conductive shielding sheet (See Fig 5), wherein the heat dissipation member (111) is disposed on one surface of the support (See Fig 5, 111 is disposed on the top surface of 220), wherein the thermal conductive block (240) is disposed through an opening (20) formed in the support (220, see Fig 5).
Jung fails to specifically teach or suggest a conductive double-sided tape disposed between the support and the heat dissipation member.
Jung-244, however, teaches a conductive double-sided tape (585, ¶ 0124, “The conductive adhesive member 585 may be a structure configured by a conductive tape or soldering so as to fix the cooling member 581 or 583 to the bracket 332 and prevent and/or reduce an increase of heat resistance.”) disposed between a support (332) and a heat dissipation member (540, see Fig 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jung-244 with that of Jung such that Jung includes a conductive double-sided tape disposed between the support and the heat dissipation member, as taught by Jung-244, since doing so would allow, for example, layer 573 to be adhered to layer 571 in Jung.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16, 18 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to claims 16 and 18, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in independent claim 16 and at least in part because claim 16 recites, “a heat dissipation member contacting the at least one component through a thermal conductive material and a thermal conductive block disposed on the thermal conductive material, and including a first plate, a second plate and a wick, and a support including an opening spatially corresponding to the at least one component, wherein the heat dissipation member is disposed on one surface of the support, wherein the wick is disposed on the second plate inside the heat dissipation member and includes a first portion and a second portion, and wherein the first portion is thicker than the second portion”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claim 16 are believed to render said claim 16 and all claims dependent therefrom patentable over the art of record.
While Lim and Jung teaches some of the limitations of claim 16 as per the above rejections to claim 1, neither Lim nor Jung nor any other art of record – either alone or in combination – teach or suggest the above-mentioned limitations of claim 16.
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claims 5-6, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent claim 5 and at least in part because claim 5 recites, “wherein the heat dissipation member includes a first plate, a second plate and a wick, and wherein the at least one component contacts the second plate, or contacts the second plate through the thermal conductive material”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claim 5 are believed to render said claim 5 and all claims dependent therefrom patentable over the art of record.
While Lim and Jung teaches some of the limitations of claim 5 as per the above rejections to claim 1, neither Lim nor Jung any other art of record – either alone or in combination – teach or suggest the above-mentioned limitations of claim 5.
With respect to claim 10, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent claim 10 and at least in part because claim 10 recites, “a battery having at least a portion disposed on a same plane as the printed circuit board, and wherein a heat receiving portion of the heat dissipation member is disposed at a position corresponding to the at least one component, and a heat dissipation portion of the heat dissipation member is disposed at a position corresponding to the battery.”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claim 10 are believed to render said claim 10 and all claims dependent therefrom patentable over the art of record.
While Lim and Jung teaches some of the limitations of claim 10 as per the above rejections to claim 1, neither Lim nor Jung nor any other art of record – either alone or in combination – teach or suggest the above-mentioned limitations of claim 10.
With respect to claim 13, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent claim 13 and at least in part because claim 13 recites, “wherein the shielding sheet includes a compressible foam, a shielding film disposed on two opposite surfaces of the compressible foam, and/or a conductive double-sided tape”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claim 13 are believed to render said claim 13 and all claims dependent therefrom patentable over the art of record.
While Jung teaches some of the limitations of claim 13 as per the above rejection to claim 11, neither Jung nor any other art of record – either alone or in combination – teach or suggest the above-mentioned limitations of claim 13.
With respect to claim 20, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent claim 20 and at least in part because claim 20 recites, “wherein the heat dissipation member includes a first plate, a second plate and a wick, wherein the wick includes a first portion disposed on a heat receiving portion and a second portion disposed on a heat dissipation portion, and wherein either the first portion or the second portion further includes a reinforced portion, wherein the reinforced portion comprises a third portion different from the first portion and/or the second portion, or the reinforced portion comprises a portion formed to extend integrally from the first portion or the second portion”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claim 20 are believed to render said claim 20 patentable over the art of record.
While Jung and Jung-244 teach some of the limitations of claim 20 as per the above rejection to claim 19, neither Jung nor Jung-244 nor any other art of record – either alone or in combination – teach or suggest the above-mentioned limitations of claim 20.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the Applicant’s remarks to claims 1, 16 and 19 in regards to the Jung reference (US 2021/0068244), the Examiner agrees and notes the previous rejections thereto have been withdrawn. However, a new grounds rejection is made to claims 1 and 19 in view of Lim, Jung (US 2026/0033342), and Jung-244. As per the above 102(a) rejections, both Lim and Jung are believed to anticipate claim 1. As per the above 103(a) rejection, the combination of Jung and Jung-244 are believed to render claim 19 prima facie obvious. Claim 16 is believed to be allowable at this time.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY PAPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841