DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-9 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Further, it should be noted that Applicant’s arguments that Akatsuka can not serve as a base reference in future obviousness rejections are not convincing further safety measures can be applied to the vehicle of Akatsuka to enhance safety in different scenarios.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akatsuka (US 2023/0227299 A1) hereinafter Akasuka and Chandrasekar (US 2020/0039353 A1) hereinafter Chandrasekar.
Claim 1:
Akatsuka discloses an alert system [131], comprising: a vehicle control unit [81], controlling a traveling device [10] and a cargo handling device [22] of a cargo handling vehicle [10]; an alarm device [136], mounted on the cargo handling vehicle and outputting an alarm by sound and/or light [¶¶84, 94]; and an information processing device [134], mounted on the cargo handling vehicle and connected to the vehicle control unit [81] and the alarm device [136], wherein the information processing device [134] comprising an event detection unit [133; ¶87] which determines a plurality of hazardous events in a distinguishable manner based on vehicle information [10] regarding the cargo handling vehicle from the vehicle control unit [81], an alarm control unit [136] which activates the alarm device when the event detection unit detects any of the hazardous events, and causes the alarm device to output an alarm [¶98], and a restriction command unit [131] which transmits a restriction command to the vehicle control unit [81] to restrict operation of the cargo handling vehicle [10] when the event detection unit detects a part of specific hazardous events among the hazardous events [Fig. 6, S2, S3], wherein the vehicle control unit [81] restricts traveling operation of the traveling device [10] and/or cargo handling operation of the cargo handling device when receiving the restriction command from the information processing device [134].
Akatsuka doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the hazardous events are determined based on at least one of the following: comparing preset thresholds and dynamic operational parameters of the cargo handling vehicle comprising at least one of a traveling speed, an acceleration, a turning speed; and a concurrent operation of the traveling device and the cargo handling device.
However, Chandrasekar does disclose wherein the hazardous events are determined based on at least one of the following: comparing preset thresholds and dynamic operational parameters of the cargo handling vehicle comprising at least one of a traveling speed, an acceleration, a turning speed; and a concurrent operation of the traveling device and the cargo handling device [¶¶42-46].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the alert system of Akatsuka with the speed governor of Chandrasekar to further increase the safety of the vehicle in additional scenarios.
Claim 3:
Akatsuka and Chandrasekar, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Akatsuka also discloses wherein restriction of the traveling operation is to set the maximum traveling speed of the cargo handling vehicle to a non-zero value that is lower than the maximum traveling speed before the restriction [¶¶112-121].
Claim 5:
Akatsuka and Chandrasekar, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Akatsuka also discloses wherein the vehicle control unit removes the restriction when it is detected that an operation unit for operating the cargo handling vehicle has been operated in a predetermined manner during the restriction of the traveling operation and/or the cargo handling operation [¶¶118-121].
Claim 6:
Akatsuka and Chandrasekar, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Akatsuka also discloses wherein the alarm control unit continues to output an alarm by sound and/or light until it is detected that an operation unit for operating the cargo handling vehicle has been operated in a predetermined manner based on the vehicle information after detection of the hazardous event [¶¶107-112; since the alarm is only active in specific states, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize the alarm is not active in a normal operating state thus reading on the claimed limitation].
Claim 7:
Akatsuka and Chandrasekar, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Akatsuka also discloses wherein the information processing device comprises a processing unit comprising the event detection unit and an additional processing unit comprising the alarm control unit and the restriction command unit [Fig. 2].
Claim 9:
Akatsuka and Chandrasekar, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Akatsuka also discloses wherein the cargo handling vehicle is a forklift [Fig. 1, Item 10].
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akatsuka and Chandrasekar as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamagami (US 2009/0236182 A1) hereinafter Yamagami.
Akatsuka and Chandrasekar, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Akatsuka also discloses wherein the specific hazardous events comprise a first specific hazardous event [133; ¶87] and the vehicle control unit restricts merely one of the traveling operation and the cargo handling operation when the event detection unit detects the first specific hazardous event [Fig. 6, S2, S3].
Akatsuka doesn’t explicitly disclose a second specific hazardous event different from the first specific hazardous event, and restricts both the traveling operation and the cargo handling operation when the event detection unit detects the second specific hazardous event.
However, Yamagami does disclose a second specific hazardous event different from the first specific hazardous event, and restricts both the traveling operation and the cargo handling operation when the event detection unit detects the second specific hazardous event. [¶21]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the alert system of Akatsuka and Chandrasekar with the restriction means of Yamagami to prevent damage to an onboard battery.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akatsuka and Chandrasekar as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamada et al. (US 9,731,950 B2) hereinafter Yamada.
Akatsuka and Chandrasekar, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Akatsuka doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the cargo handling device is provided with forks for supporting cargo, and restriction of the cargo handling operation is to set the maximum lift speed of the forks to a non-zero value that is lower than the maximum lift speed before the restriction.
However, Yamada does disclose wherein the cargo handling device is provided with forks for supporting cargo, and restriction of the cargo handling operation is to set the maximum lift speed of the forks to a non-zero value that is lower than the maximum lift speed before the restriction. [Fig. 5; col. 7, lines 36-49]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the alert system of Akatsuka and Chandrasekar with the restriction means of Yamada to increase safety without eliminating the ability of the device to function.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akatsuka and Chandrasekar as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Iida (JP2021172464A) hereinafter Iida.
Akatsuka and Chandrasekar, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 7.
Akatsuka doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the processing unit comprises a first event detection unit as the event detection unit, the additional processing unit further comprises a second event detection unit as the event detection unit, and the second event detection unit detects the hazardous event that is not detected by the first event detection unit.
However, Iida does disclose wherein the processing unit comprises a first event detection unit as the event detection unit, the additional processing unit further comprises a second event detection unit as the event detection unit, and the second event detection unit detects the hazardous event that is not detected by the first event detection unit. [Fig. 3, Items 23A, 23B]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the alert system of Akatsuka and Chandrasekar with the detection means of Iida to enable protection in multiple directions from different obstacles thus increasing safety.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KURT P. LIETHEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/KURT PHILIP LIETHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747