DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on October 15, 2024 and July 29, 2024 have all been considered and made of record (note the attached copies of form PTO-1449).
Drawings
Fourty-four (44) sheets of drawings were filed on October 15, 2024 and have been accepted by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4, and 7-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,222,545 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 at least disclose or suggest all of the limitations of claims 1-2, 4, and 7-9 of the present application.
Regarding claim 1; see claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,222,545 B2. The second opening of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,222,545 B2 corresponds to the first opening of claim 1 of the present application.
Regarding claim 2; see claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,222,545 B2. The first opening of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,222,545 B2 corresponds to the second opening of the present application.
Regarding claim 4; see claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,222,545 B2.
Regarding claim 7; see claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,222,545 B2.
Regarding claim 8; see claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,222,545 B2.
Regarding claim 9; see claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,222,545 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-9, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2021/0132309 A1), hereafter Zhang.
Regarding claims 1 and 7-9; Zhang discloses a method (see Figures 2A-2N, 3A and 4) comprising:
attaching a photonic integrated circuit die (integrated photonics chip 101; see figures 2B and 2C) to a carrier substrate (package substrate 102A), the photonic integrated circuit die (101) comprising an optical coupler (optical coupling devices 111 or 111A) and an insulating layer (integrated photonics chip 101 includes optical waveguides and integrated couplers, 111 or 111A, which are understood to be formed with lower cladding, core, and upper cladding layers, wherein the upper cladding layer are understood to be insulative, in addition lower portion of 102B forms an insulating layer; see paragraph 59; dielectric material, glass-reinformed epoxy laminate material, etc.) covering the optical coupler (111);
forming an encapsulant (102B; the upper and side portions of 102B encapsulate the photonic die 101) over the carrier substrate (102A) and the photonic integrated circuit die (101), the encapsulant (102B) extending along a sidewall of the photonic integrated circuit die (101; see Figure 2D);
forming a first redistribution structure (layer 102C includes contact pads 103, electrical vias 104B, and contact pads 106, thereby forming a redistribution structure; see Figure 2G) over the photonic integrated circuit die (101) and the encapsulant (102B); and
patterning the first redistribution structure to form a first opening (110; see Figure 2H) in the first redistribution structure, the opening extending through the insulating layer (lower layer portion of 102B) to expose exposing the optical coupler (111);
further comprising coupling an optical fiber (113) to the optical coupler (111 or alternatively 111A; see Figures 2N or alternatively 3A);
wherein the optical coupler (111A) is an edge coupler (see Figure 3A);
wherein the optical coupler (111) is a grating coupler (see Figure 2N; see paragraphs 56 and 100).
Regarding claims 15 and 19; Zhang discloses a method of forming a semiconductor device (see Figures 2A-2N, 3A), the method comprising:
depositing an molding compound (102B) over and around a photonic integrated circuit die (101), the photonic integrated circuit die (101) comprising an optical coupler (111, 111A) and an insulating layer (integrated photonics chip 101 includes optical waveguides and integrated couplers, 111 or 111A, which are understood to be formed with lower cladding, core, and upper cladding layers, wherein the upper cladding layer are understood to be insulative, in addition lower portion of 102B forms an insulating layer; see paragraph 59; dielectric material, glass-reinformed epoxy laminate material, etc.);
forming a redistribution structure (layer 102C includes contact pads 103, electrical vias 104B, and contact pads 106, thereby forming a redistribution structure; see Figure 2G) over the molding compound (102B), wherein forming the redistribution structure comprises forming a first dielectric layer (102C) over the molding compound (102B) and the photonic integrated circuit die (101), the first dielectric layer (102C) extending along sidewalls of the insulating layer (layer 102C extends along a top of the sidewalls of 102B which forms an insulating layer over die 101 and along a length of layers of 101, including cladding layers of any waveguide and optical coupling components therein);
forming a first opening (110) through the first dielectric layer (102C) and overlapping the optical coupler (111, 111A); and
performing an singulation process through the first opening (see paragraph 74);
wherein the photonic integrated circuit die (101) comprises a die connector (118) in the insulating layer, and wherein forming the redistribution structure (102, 104, 106) comprises forming a first metallization pattern extending through the first dielectric layer (102C) and electrically connected to the die connector (118).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2021/0132309 A1), hereafter Zhang.
Regarding claim 20; Zhang teaches that singulation is performed and may expose edge connectors (see Figure 3A, 5A and paragraph 87; singulation exposes edge connectors), but does not explicitly teach that the singulation process is further performed through the photonic integrated circuit die. Before the effective filing date of the present application, a person ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the singulation process to expose edge connectors of a desired length and to provide packages of a desired size to ensure optimal optical coupling and positioning with respect to other elements for an intended use, as no novel or unexpected advantages would appear to arise from singulation through the photonic chip die, which is a known method step for manufacturing packages in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if any double patenting rejections set for the above are overcome.
Claims 10-14 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record, which is the most relevant prior art known, does not disclose or render obvious:
The method defined by claim 2, comprising: prior to forming the first redistribution structure, forming a second opening in the insulating layer to expose the optical coupler in combination with all of the limitations of base claim 1; or
A method of forming a semiconductor device, as defined by claim 10, the method comprising:
depositing a molding compound over and around a photonic integrated circuit die, the photonic integrated circuit die comprising an optical coupler, an insulating layer over the optical coupler, and a sacrificial layer over the insulating layer, the sacrificial layer covering the optical coupler;
planarizing the molding compound and at least upper portions of the sacrificial layer to expose the photonic integrated circuit die;
forming a redistribution structure over the molding compound, wherein forming the redistribution structure comprises forming a first dielectric layer over the molding compound and the photonic integrated circuit die, the first dielectric layer extending along sidewalls of the insulating layer; and
forming a first opening through the first dielectric layer and overlapping the optical coupler; or
The method defined by claim 16, wherein the photonic integrated circuit die further comprises a sacrificial layer over and along a sidewall of the first insulating layer, the sacrificial layer overlapping the optical coupler, wherein the method further comprises removing the sacrificial layer to define a second opening in the insulating layer in combination with all of the limitations of base claim 15.
Claims 3-6 are allowable by virtue of dependency from claim 2.
Claims 11-14 are allowable by virtue of dependency form claim 10.
Claims 17 and 18 are allowable by virtue of dependency from claim 16.
Conclusion
/MICHELLE R CONNELLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874