DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10, 15-17, 21, 23 and 34 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, Line 10: “the heatsink” should be amended to recite “the heat sink apparatus”.
Claim 10, Line 2: “on first heat sink apparatus” should be amended to recite “on the heat sink apparatus”.
Claim 15, Line 2: “the first optoelectronic chip is overlap with the heat sink apparatus” should be amended to recite “the first optoelectronic chip overlaps with the heat sink apparatus”.
Claim 16, Lines 2-3: “the second optoelectronic chip is overlap with the prince circuit board and is not overlap with the heat sink apparatus” should be amended to recite “the second optoelectronic chip overlaps with the prince circuit board and does not overlap with the heat sink apparatus”.
Claim 17, Line 2: “the first optoelectronic chip is arranged besides the printed circuit board” should be amended to recite “the first optoelectronic chip is arranged beside the printed circuit board”.
Claim 21, Line 5: “the heatsink apparatus” should be amended to recite “the heat sink apparatus”.
Claim 23, Line 4: “connected to second surface” should be amended to recite “connected to the second surface”.
Claim 34, Lines 2-3: “an external electrical interface” should be amended to recite “the external electrical interface”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 14-15, 17-18, 24-25 and 27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 7-8 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11432395. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the same claimed structure as shown below:
18/786,783
US 11432395 B2
14. An optical module, comprising: a housing including a first housing and a second housing facing each other and connected to each other; a heat sink apparatus arranged between the first housing and the second housing and thermally connected to the second housing; a printed circuit board arranged on the heat sink apparatus; and a first electrical isolation pad, wherein the optical module further comprises a first optoelectronic chip and a second optoelectronic chip, the first optoelectronic chip being arranged on the heat sink apparatus, the first optoelectronic chip and second optoelectronic chip are both electrically connected to the printed circuit board, the first electrical isolation pad is arranged between the first optoelectronic chip and the heat sink apparatus.
1. An optical module, comprising: a housing; a heat sink apparatus arranged in and thermally connected to the housing; and a printed circuit board partially arranged in the heat sink apparatus and adhered on the heat sink apparatus, wherein the optical module further comprises a first optoelectronic chip and a second optoelectronic chip that are both arranged on the heat sink apparatus, the first optoelectronic chip and second optoelectronic chip are both electrically connected to the printed circuit board, the second optoelectronic chip is arranged separately from the first optoelectronic chip, the printed circuit board has an external electrical interface, for realizing external electrical connections, arranged at an end of the printed circuit board, the external electrical interface including gold fingers, the first optoelectronic chip is arranged near one end of the printed circuit board opposite to the end of the printed circuit where the gold fingers are arranged, at least a portion of the first optoelectronic chip is arranged outside of the printed circuit board and does not overlap with the printed circuit board.
4. The optical module according to claim 2, wherein the housing includes a first housing and a second housing facing each other and connected to each other, the heat sink apparatus being arranged between the first housing and the second housing and thermally connected to the second housing, the first heat sink has a base and a first protruding platform protruding towards the first housing, the first optoelectronic chip is arranged on the first protruding platform.
10. The optical module according to claim 1, wherein the optical module comprises a first electrical isolation pad; the first electrical isolation pad is arranged between the first optoelectronic chip and the heat sink apparatus; and the first electrical isolation pad is thermally connected to and electrically isolated from the heat sink apparatus.
Claims 15, 17-18, 24-25 and 27 are encompassed within Claims 1 and 7-8 of the Patent.
Claims 14-21 and 23-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14-21 and 23-28 of U.S. Patent No. 12075559. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the same claimed structure as shown below:
18/786,783
US 12075559 B2
14. An optical module, comprising: a housing including a first housing and a second housing facing each other and connected to each other; a heat sink apparatus arranged between the first housing and the second housing and thermally connected to the second housing; a printed circuit board arranged on the heat sink apparatus; and a first electrical isolation pad, wherein the optical module further comprises a first optoelectronic chip and a second optoelectronic chip, the first optoelectronic chip being arranged on the heat sink apparatus, the first optoelectronic chip and second optoelectronic chip are both electrically connected to the printed circuit board, the first electrical isolation pad is arranged between the first optoelectronic chip and the heat sink apparatus.
14. An optical module, comprising: a housing including a first housing and a second housing facing each other and connected to each other; a heat sink arranged between the first housing and the second housing and thermally connected to the second housing; and a printed circuit board arranged on the heat sink, wherein the optical module further comprises a first optoelectronic chip and a second optoelectronic chip, the first optoelectronic chip being arranged on the heat sink, the first optoelectronic chip and the second optoelectronic chip are both electrically connected to the printed circuit board, and the first optoelectronic chip is arranged on a first side of the heat sink facing the first housing, and the second optoelectronic chip is arranged on a second side of the heat sink facing the second housing.
28. The optical module according to claim 15, wherein the optical module comprises a first electrical isolation pad, the first electrical isolation pad is arranged between the first optoelectronic chip and the heat sink, and the first electrical isolation pad is thermally connected to and electrically isolated from the heat sink.
Claims 15-21 and 23-27 are encompassed within Claims 15-21 and 23-27 of the Patent.
Claims 1-9 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12075559 in view of Wolf (US 6773532 B2).
18/786,783
US 12075559 B2
1. An optical module, comprising:
a housing;
a heat sink apparatus arranged in and thermally connected to the housing;
a printed circuit board having a first surface, a second surface opposite to the first surface, and an opening that extends from the first surface to the second surface;
and a thermal pad or thermal grease arranged between the heat sink apparatus and the housing,
wherein the heatsink is adhered to the printed circuit board and covers the opening,
the optical module further comprises an optoelectronic chip arranged on the heat sink apparatus and a first electrical isolation pad,
the heat sink apparatus is connected to the second surface,
the opening is located near the center of the printed circuit board,
the optoelectronic chip is arranged in the opening,
the first electrical isolation pad is arranged between the first optoelectronic chip and the heat sink apparatus.
1. An optical module, comprising:
a housing;
a heat sink apparatus arranged in and thermally connected to the housing; and
a printed circuit board adhered to the heat sink apparatus, wherein the optical module further comprises an optoelectronic chip arranged on the heat sink apparatus, the printed circuit board has a first surface, a second surface opposite to the first surface, and an opening that extends from the first surface to the second surface, the heat sink apparatus is connected to the second surface, the opening is located near a center of the printed circuit board, the optoelectronic chip is arranged in the opening, the printed circuit board has a first end arranged with an external electrical interface, and a second end opposite to the first end, and the opening is spaced apart from the second end.
4. The optical module according to claim 3, wherein the heat sink apparatus has a base and a protruding platform, the protruding platform is in the opening and protrudes towards the first housing, and the optoelectronic chip is arranged on the protruding platform.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because other because the claims of the reference application include substantially all of the limitations of the instant claims, and the remaining limitations would have been obvious in view of Wolf.
The reference application does not explicitly disclose:
a thermal pad or thermal grease arranged between the heat sink apparatus and the housing;
a first electrical isolation pad,
the first electrical isolation pad is arranged between the first optoelectronic chip and the heat sink apparatus.
However, Wolf discloses:
a thermal pad 1725 or thermal grease arranged between the heat sink apparatus 1606 and the housing (thermal pads 1725 arranged between 1606 and casing cover 117 of package 123);
a first electrical isolation pad (604; col. 17, Lines 43-45 “transmitter adhesive pads 604 that mount optical transmitters 112 may be designed to be electrically insulative (e.g., 10.sup.6 ohm/sq inch) and thermally conductive (e.g., 0.5-6.0 watts/m-K.)”),
the first electrical isolation pad 604 is arranged between the optoelectronic chip 112 and the heat sink apparatus 1606 (see Fig. 17A, 604 disposed between 112 and 1606);
in order to provide improved heat transfer and electrical insulation within the device (col. 17, Lines 43-45, col. 16, Lines 42-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of the reference claims as suggested by Wolf, e.g., providing:
a thermal pad or thermal grease arranged between the heat sink apparatus and the housing;
a first electrical isolation pad,
the first electrical isolation pad is arranged between the first optoelectronic chip and the heat sink apparatus;
in order to provide improved heat transfer and electrical insulation within the device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed invention of the instant application, since all limitations were either disclosed in the reference application or would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Additionally, claims 2-9 and 11 are encompassed within Claims 2-9 and 11 of the Patent.
Claims 1, 3, 6-7 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 7 and 9-10 of U.S. Patent No. 10791620 in view of Wolf (US 6773532 B2).
18/786,783
US 10791620 B2
1. An optical module, comprising:
a housing;
a heat sink apparatus arranged in and thermally connected to the housing;
a printed circuit board having a first surface, a second surface opposite to the first surface, and an opening that extends from the first surface to the second surface;
and a thermal pad or thermal grease arranged between the heat sink apparatus and the housing,
wherein the heatsink is adhered to the printed circuit board and covers the opening,
the optical module further comprises an optoelectronic chip arranged on the heat sink apparatus and a first electrical isolation pad,
the heat sink apparatus is connected to the second surface,
the opening is located near the center of the printed circuit board,
the optoelectronic chip is arranged in the opening,
the first electrical isolation pad is arranged between the first optoelectronic chip and the heat sink apparatus.
1. An optical module, comprising: a housing; a heat sink apparatus arranged in and thermally connected to the housing; and a printed circuit board partially arranged in the heat sink apparatus, wherein the optical module further comprises a first optoelectronic chip and a second optoelectronic chip that are both arranged on the heat sink apparatus, the first optoelectronic chip and second optoelectronic chip are both electrically connected to the printed circuit board, the printed circuit board has a first surface, a second surface opposite to the first surface, and an opening that extends from the first surface to the second surface, the second optoelectronic chip is arranged at the opening, the second optoelectronic chip is arranged separately from the first optoelectronic chip, the printed circuit board has an external electrical interface, for realizing external electrical connections, arranged at an end of the printed circuit board, the external electrical interface including gold fingers, the heat sink apparatus has an L-shape and comprises a first heat sink corresponding to a first side of the L-shape and a second heat sink corresponding to a second side of the L-shape, the first optoelectronic chip is arranged on the first heat sink, and the second optoelectronic chip is arranged on the second heat sink, and the L-shape heat sink apparatus extends parallel to a surface of the printed circuit board.
2. The optical module according to claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the second heat sink is located in the opening, and the second optoelectronic chip is arranged on the portion of the second heat sink.
10. The optical module according to claim 1, wherein the printed circuit board is adhered on the heat sink apparatus.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because other because the claims of the reference application include substantially all of the limitations of the instant claims, and the remaining limitations would have been obvious in view of Wolf.
The reference application does not explicitly disclose:
a thermal pad or thermal grease arranged between the heat sink apparatus and the housing;
a first electrical isolation pad,
the opening is located near the center of the printed circuit board,
the first electrical isolation pad is arranged between the first optoelectronic chip and the heat sink apparatus.
However, Wolf discloses:
a thermal pad 1725 or thermal grease arranged between the heat sink apparatus 1606 and the housing (thermal pads 1725 arranged between 1606 and casing cover 117 of package 123);
a first electrical isolation pad (604; col. 17, Lines 43-45 “transmitter adhesive pads 604 that mount optical transmitters 112 may be designed to be electrically insulative (e.g., 10.sup.6 ohm/sq inch) and thermally conductive (e.g., 0.5-6.0 watts/m-K.)”),
the opening 602 is located near the center of the printed circuit board 108 (cut-away region 602 is near/adjacent center of 108),
the first electrical isolation pad 604 is arranged between the first optoelectronic chip 112 and the heat sink apparatus 1606 (see Fig. 17A, 604 disposed between 112 and 1606);
in order to provide improved heat transfer and electrical insulation within the device (col. 17, Lines 43-45, col. 16, Lines 42-44) and provide a secure mounting region for the optical device (col. 10, Lines 14-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of the reference claims as suggested by Wolf, e.g., providing:
a thermal pad or thermal grease arranged between the heat sink apparatus and the housing;
a first electrical isolation pad,
the opening is located near the center of the printed circuit board,
the first electrical isolation pad is arranged between the first optoelectronic chip and the heat sink apparatus;
in order to provide improved heat transfer and electrical insulation within the device and provide a secure mounting region for the optical device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed invention of the instant application, since all limitations were either disclosed in the reference application or would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Additionally, claims 3, 6-7 and 11 are encompassed within Claims 1, 7 and 9 of the Patent.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. 10791620 in view of Wolf (US 6773532 B2).
18/786,783
US 10791620 B2
14. An optical module, comprising: a housing including a first housing and a second housing facing each other and connected to each other; a heat sink apparatus arranged between the first housing and the second housing and thermally connected to the second housing; a printed circuit board arranged on the heat sink apparatus; and a first electrical isolation pad, wherein the optical module further comprises a first optoelectronic chip and a second optoelectronic chip, the first optoelectronic chip being arranged on the heat sink apparatus, the first optoelectronic chip and second optoelectronic chip are both electrically connected to the printed circuit board, the first electrical isolation pad is arranged between the first optoelectronic chip and the heat sink apparatus.
18. An optical module, comprising: a housing including a first housing and a second housing facing each other and connected to each other; a heat sink apparatus arranged between the first housing and the second housing and thermally connected to the second housing; and a printed circuit board partially arranged in the heat sink apparatus, wherein the optical module further comprises a first optoelectronic chip and a second optoelectronic chip, the first optoelectronic chip being arranged on the heat sink apparatus, the first optoelectronic chip and second optoelectronic chip are both electrically connected to the printed circuit board, the second optoelectronic chip is arranged separately from the first optoelectronic chip, the first optoelectronic chip is arranged on a side of the printed circuit board near an end of the printed circuit board opposite to an end at which an external electrical interface is arranged for realizing external electrical connections, the printed circuit board has a first surface, a second surface opposite to the first surface, a third surface located between the first surface and the second surface and parallel to the first surface and the second surface, and a side surface connecting the first surface and the third surface, the printed circuit board includes an accommodating recess formed by the side surface and the third surface, and the accommodating recess accommodates the second optoelectronic chip.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because other because the claims of the reference application include substantially all of the limitations of the instant claims, and the remaining limitations would have been obvious in view of Wolf.
The reference application does not explicitly disclose:
a first electrical isolation pad;
the first electrical isolation pad is arranged between the first optoelectronic chip and the heat sink apparatus.
However, Wolf discloses:
a first electrical isolation pad (604; col. 17, Lines 43-45 “transmitter adhesive pads 604 that mount optical transmitters 112 may be designed to be electrically insulative (e.g., 10.sup.6 ohm/sq inch) and thermally conductive (e.g., 0.5-6.0 watts/m-K.)”);
the first electrical isolation pad 604 is arranged between the first optoelectronic chip 112 and the heat sink apparatus 1606 (see Fig. 17A, 604 disposed between 112 and 1606);
in order to provide improved heat transfer and electrical insulation within the device (col. 17, Lines 43-45, col. 16, Lines 42-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of the reference claims as suggested by Wolf, e.g., providing:
a first electrical isolation pad;
the first electrical isolation pad is arranged between the first optoelectronic chip and the heat sink apparatus;
in order to provide improved heat transfer and electrical insulation within the device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed invention of the instant application, since all limitations were either disclosed in the reference application or would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 8 recites the limitation "the first optoelectronic chip" in lines 16 and 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
For the purpose of examination below, Examiner interprets the limitation in claims 1 and 8 as reciting:
“the optoelectronic chip”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the direction" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-12, 14-17, 21-22 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wolf (US 6773532 B2).
As to Claim 1 (as best understood), Wolf discloses:
An optical module (optical transponder 100; Figs. 1-3, 17A), comprising:
a housing (casing 118 and casing cover 117 comprise housing case package 123);
a heat sink apparatus (pedestals 1606) arranged in and thermally connected to the housing 123 (col. 16, Lines 50-52 “The housing case 123 includes a plurality of housings 1606, that support, and transfer heat downwardly from, the optical receiver 114”);
a printed circuit board 108 having a first surface (top surface), a second surface (bottom surface) opposite to the first surface (top and bottom surfaces are opposite), and an opening 602 that extends from the first surface (top) to the second surface (bottom; col. 16, Lines 47-49 “the optical transmitter extends through the cut-away region 602 as shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, and connects via the attachment pad 604 directly to the housing 1606”);
and
a thermal pad 1725 or thermal grease arranged between the heat sink apparatus 1606 and the housing (thermal pads 1725 arranged between 1606 and casing cover 117 of package 123),
wherein
the heat sink apparatus 1606 is adhered to the printed circuit board 108 and covers the opening 602 (at least a portion of 1606 is adhered to 108 via 604 and transmitter 112 and through thermal pad 1725 under receiver 114; Fig. 17A; 1606 under transmitter covers opening 602),
the optical module 100 further comprises an optoelectronic chip (transmitter 112) arranged on the heat sink apparatus 1606 (112 disposed on 1606) and a first electrical isolation pad (604; col. 17, Lines 43-45 “transmitter adhesive pads 604 that mount optical transmitters 112 may be designed to be electrically insulative (e.g., 10.sup.6 ohm/sq inch) and thermally conductive (e.g., 0.5-6.0 watts/m-K.)”),
the heat sink apparatus 1606 is connected to the second surface (1606 connected to bottom side of board 108),
the opening 602 is located near the center of the printed circuit board 108 (602 is near/adjacent to center of board 108),
the optoelectronic chip 112 is arranged in the opening 602 (col. 16, Lines 47-49 “the optical transmitter extends through the cut-away region 602 as shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, and connects via the attachment pad 604 directly to the housing 1606”),
the first electrical isolation pad 604 is arranged between the optoelectronic chip 112 and the heat sink apparatus 1606 (see Fig. 17A, 604 disposed between 112 and 1606).
As to Claim 2, Wolf discloses:
wherein the optoelectronic chip 112 is arranged beside the printed circuit board 108 and does not overlap with the printed circuit board 108 (112 is disposed in the cut-away region 602, beside at least a portion of board 108, does not overlap with board 108).
As to Claim 3, Wolf discloses:
wherein the housing 123 includes a first housing 117 and a second housing 118 facing each other and connected to each other (117 and 118 face each other and are connected), the heat sink apparatus 1606 is arranged between the first housing 117 and the second housing 118 (1606 disposed between 117 and at least outer edge of 118) and thermally connected to the second housing (1606 thermally connected to 118), and the optoelectronic chip 112 is facing to the first housing 117 (top of 112 faces 117).
As to Claim 4, Wolf discloses:
wherein the heat sink apparatus 1606 has a base and a second protruding platform (see highlighted Fig. below), the second protruding platform is in the opening 602 and protrudes towards the first housing 117 (protruding platform is in the extension of 602 protrudes toward 117), the optoelectronic chip 112 is arranged on the second protruding platform (112 is arranged on protruding platform of 1606).
As to Claim 9, Wolf discloses:
wherein the printed circuit board 108 is a rigid circuit board (col. 21, Lines 7-10 “The circuit board 108 and the optical device 116 are both designed to have sufficient strength to resist any force that would be reasonably applied by the optical device removal tool 900 during this removal process”).
As to Claim 10, Wolf discloses:
wherein a fiber (optical fiber cable) is arranged on the heat sink apparatus 1606 to allow light to pass through (120 indirectly arranged on 1606 via transmitter 112; optical fiber cable allows light to pass).
As to Claim 11, Wolf discloses:
wherein the optoelectronic chip comprises a first optoelectronic chip 112 and a second optoelectronic chip (optical receiver 114) that are both electrically connected to the printed circuit board 108 (col. 18, Lines 62-66 “Once the optical transmitter 112 or optical receiver 114 is affixed using the receiver adhesive pad 605 or the transmitter adhesive pad 604, a separate electrical contact 608 is established for each of the electric lead interconnects 212 to the respective electric contact 608”),
the second optoelectronic chip 114 is arranged separately from the first optoelectronic chip 112 (114 and 112 are arranged separate from one another).
As to Claim 12, Wolf discloses:
wherein the first electrical isolation pad 604 is thermally connected to and electrically isolated from the heat sink apparatus 1606 (col. 17, Lines 43-45 “transmitter adhesive pads 604 that mount optical transmitters 112 may be designed to be electrically insulative (e.g., 10.sup.6 ohm/sq inch) and thermally conductive (e.g., 0.5-6.0 watts/m-K.)”; 604 transfer heat to 1606).
As to Claim 14, Wolf discloses:
An optical module (optical transponder 100; Figs. 1-3, 17A), comprising:
a housing (casing 118 and casing cover 117 comprise housing case package 123) including a first housing 117 and a second housing 118 facing each other and connected to each other (117 and 118 face each other and are connected);
a heat sink apparatus (pedestal 1606 beneath 112) arranged between the first housing 117 and the second housing 118 and thermally connected to the second housing (1606 thermally connected to 118);
a printed circuit board 108 arranged on the heat sink apparatus (108 arranged at least indirectly on 1606); and
a first electrical isolation pad 604,
wherein the optical module 100 further comprises a first optoelectronic chip (optical transmitter 112) and a second optoelectronic chip (optical receiver 114), the first optoelectronic chip 112 being arranged on the heat sink apparatus 1606 (112 arranged on 1606),
the first optoelectronic chip 112 and second optoelectronic chip 114 are both electrically connected to the printed circuit board 108 (col. 18, Lines 62-66 “Once the optical transmitter 112 or optical receiver 114 is affixed using the receiver adhesive pad 605 or the transmitter adhesive pad 604, a separate electrical contact 608 is established for each of the electric lead interconnects 212 to the respective electric contact 608”),
the first electrical isolation pad 604 is arranged between the first optoelectronic chip 112 and the heat sink apparatus 1606 (604 disposed between 112 and 1606, see Fig. 17A).
As to Claim 15, Wolf discloses:
wherein the first optoelectronic chip 112 overlaps with the heat sink apparatus 1606 (112 overlaps 1606).
As to Claim 16, Wolf discloses:
wherein the second optoelectronic chip 114 overlaps with the printed circuit board 108 (114 overlaps 108) and does not overlap with the heat sink apparatus (114 does not overlap 1606 beneath 112).
As to Claim 17, Wolf discloses:
wherein the first optoelectronic chip 112 is arranged beside the printed circuit board 108 (112 disposed in cut-away region 602, arranged beside 108).
As to Claim 21, Wolf discloses:
wherein the printed circuit board 108 has a first surface (bottom surface), a second surface (top surface) opposite to the first surface (top and bottom surfaces are opposite), and an opening 602 that extends from the first surface (bottom) to the second surface (top; col. 16, Lines 47-49 “the optical transmitter extends through the cut-away region 602 as shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, and connects via the attachment pad 604 directly to the housing 1606”),
the opening 602 is located near the center of the printed circuit board 108 (602 is near/adjacent to center of board 108), and
the heat sink apparatus 1606 covers the opening 602 (1606 beneath 112 covers extension of 602).
As to Claim 22, Wolf discloses:
wherein the cross section of the opening in the direction parallel to the first surface is a closed shape, and the cross section of the opening in the direction parallel to the first surface is square; or the cross section of the opening 602 in the direction parallel to the first surface (bottom of 108) may also be configured to be an open shape, and the cross section of the opening in the direction parallel to the first surface may be configured to be U-shaped or L-shaped (602 is an open shape, has U-shape).
As to Claim 25, Wolf discloses:
wherein the printed circuit board 108 is adhered on the heat sink apparatus (1606 beneath 112; 108 and 1606 are adhered via 112).
As to Claim 26, Wolf discloses:
wherein the printed circuit board 108 is a rigid circuit board (col. 21, Lines 7-10 “The circuit board 108 and the optical device 116 are both designed to have sufficient strength to resist any force that would be reasonably applied by the optical device removal tool 900 during this removal process”).
As to Claim 27, Wolf discloses:
wherein the first optoelectronic chip 112 is a transmitting-end chipset (112 is a transmitter), and the second optoelectronic chip 114 is a receiving-end chipset (114 is a receiver).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 8 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf (US 6773532 B2) as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Runyan (US 5250845 A).
As to Claim 5, Wolf discloses:
wherein the optoelectronic chip 112 is electrically connected to the first surface (top side) of the printed circuit board 108 (col. 18, Lines 62-66 “Once the optical transmitter 112 or optical receiver 114 is affixed using the receiver adhesive pad 605 or the transmitter adhesive pad 604, a separate electrical contact 608 is established for each of the electric lead interconnects 212 to the respective electric contact 608”).
Wolf does not disclose:
wherein the optoelectronic chip is electrically connected to the printed circuit board by gold wire bonding.
However, Runyan discloses:
wherein the optoelectronic chip (chips 48, 50) is electrically connected to the printed circuit board (substrates) by gold wire bonding 52,54 (col. 3, Lines 22-26 “Integrated circuit chips 48 and 50, as seen in FIG. 2, can be attached to the high density interconnect substrates 44 and 46, respectively, and connected by means of gold wire bonds 52 and 54 to pads on the high density interconnect substrates”);
in order to provide a reliable connection means between chips and substrates.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wolf as further suggested by Runyan e.g., providing:
wherein the optoelectronic chip is electrically connected to the printed circuit board by gold wire bonding;
in order to provide a reliable connection means between chips and substrates.
Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
As to Claim 8 (as best understood), Wolf discloses:
wherein the optoelectronic chip 112 is a transmitting-end chipset (112 is a transmitter), the optoelectronic chip 112 is electrically connected to the first surface of the printed circuit board (top side of 108; col. 18, Lines 62-66 “Once the optical transmitter 112 or optical receiver 114 is affixed using the receiver adhesive pad 605 or the transmitter adhesive pad 604, a separate electrical contact 608 is established for each of the electric lead interconnects 212 to the respective electric contact 608”).
Wolf does not disclose:
wherein the optoelectronic chip is electrically connected to the printed circuit board by gold wire.
However, Runyan discloses:
wherein the optoelectronic chip (chips 48, 50) is electrically connected to the printed circuit board (substrates) by gold wire 52,54 (col. 3, Lines 22-26 “Integrated circuit chips 48 and 50, as seen in FIG. 2, can be attached to the high density interconnect substrates 44 and 46, respectively, and connected by means of gold wire bonds 52 and 54 to pads on the high density interconnect substrates”);
in order to provide a reliable connection means between chips and substrates.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wolf as further suggested by Runyan e.g., providing:
wherein the optoelectronic chip is electrically connected to the printed circuit board by gold wire;
in order to provide a reliable connection means between chips and substrates.
See preferred material case law in rejection of claim 5 above.
As to Claim 23, Wolf discloses:
wherein the printed circuit board 108 has a first surface (bottom side) and a second surface (top side) opposite to the first surface (top and bottom side are opposite);
the first optoelectronic chip 112 is electrically connected to the second surface (top side) of the printed circuit board (top side of 108; col. 18, Lines 62-66 “Once the optical transmitter 112 or optical receiver 114 is affixed using the receiver adhesive pad 605 or the transmitter adhesive pad 604, a separate electrical contact 608 is established for each of the electric lead interconnects 212 to the respective electric contact 608”).
Wolf does not disclose:
wherein the first optoelectronic chip is electrically connected to the printed circuit board by gold wire.
However, Runyan discloses:
wherein the first optoelectronic chip (chips 48, 50) is electrically connected to the printed circuit board (substrates) by gold wire 52,54 (col. 3, Lines 22-26 “Integrated circuit chips 48 and 50, as seen in FIG. 2, can be attached to the high density interconnect substrates 44 and 46, respectively, and connected by means of gold wire bonds 52 and 54 to pads on the high density interconnect substrates”);
in order to provide a reliable connection means between chips and substrates.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wolf as further suggested by Runyan e.g., providing:
wherein the first optoelectronic chip is electrically connected to the printed circuit board by gold wire;
in order to provide a reliable connection means between chips and substrates.
See preferred material case law in rejection of claim 5 above.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf (US 6773532 B2) alone.
As to Claim 6 (as best understood), Wolf discloses:
wherein a cross section of the opening 602 in a direction parallel to the first surface of the printed circuit board (top of 108) is a partially closed shape (602 is partially closed).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a closed shape, since it has been held that a change in shape, absent persuasive evidence that the change in shape is significant, is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claims 7 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf (US 6773532 B2) as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Chou (US 20180156990 A1).
As to Claim 7, Wolf does not disclose:
wherein some gold fingers are arranged at one end of the printed circuit board for realizing external electrical connections.
However, Chou discloses:
wherein some gold fingers 690 are arranged at one end of the printed circuit board 170 for realizing external electrical connections (Par. 0029 “The electrical interface 690 may be a plurality of contacts (a.k.a. gold finger), connector or an interface on edge of the substrate 170 for connecting the active optical module 600 and an external network device (e.g. a switch, host, server, workstation, a router or an end device which is compatible with the active optical transceiver module)”);
in order to provide a connection between the optical module and an external network device (Par. 0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wolf as further suggested by Chou e.g., providing:
wherein some gold fingers are arranged at one end of the printed circuit board for realizing external electrical connections;
in order to provide a connection between the optical module and an external network device.
As to Claim 24, Wolf discloses:
wherein the printed circuit board 108 has an external electrical interface (connector 140), for realizing external electrical connections, arranged at an end of the printed circuit board 108 (140 is at an end of 108; col. 13, Lines 48-52 “The electronic connector 140 can be integrated, in certain embodiments, into the device package case 122. The electronic connection 140 provides an interface that allows end users to connect their electronic devices (e.g., computers, phones, etc.) to the optical transponder 100”).
Wolf does not disclose:
the external electrical interface including gold fingers.
However, Chou discloses:
the external electrical interface including gold fingers (Par. 0029 “The electrical interface 690 may be a plurality of contacts (a.k.a. gold finger), connector or an interface on edge of the substrate 170 for connecting the active optical module 600 and an external network device (e.g. a switch, host, server, workstation, a router or an end device which is compatible with the active optical transceiver module)”);
in order to provide a connection between the optical module and an external network device (Par. 0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wolf as further suggested by Chou e.g., providing:
the external electrical interface including gold fingers;
in order to provide a connection between the optical module and an external network device.
Claims 29-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf (US 6773532 B2) in view of Chou (US 20180156990 A1) and Runyan (US 5250845 A).
As to Claim 29, Wolf discloses:
An optical module (optical transponder 100; Figs. 1-3, 17A), comprising:
a housing (casing 118 and casing cover 117 comprise housing case package 123);
a heat sink apparatus (pedestals 1606) arranged in and thermally connected to the housing 123 (col. 16, Lines 50-52 “The housing case 123 includes a plurality of housings 1606, that support, and transfer heat downwardly from, the optical receiver 114”); and
a printed circuit board 108 arranged on the heat sink apparatus 1606 (108 disposed on 1606; Figs. 3 and 17A),
wherein the optical module 100 further comprises a first optoelectronic chip (transmitter 112) and a second optoelectronic chip (receiver 114), the first optoelectronic chip 112 being arranged on the heat sink apparatus 1606 (112 arranged on 1606, see Fig. 17A),
the first optoelectronic chip 112 and second optoelectronic chip 114 are electrically connected to the same surface of the printed circuit board (top side of 108; col. 18, Lines 62-66 “Once the optical transmitter 112 or optical receiver 114 is affixed using the receiver adhesive pad 605 or the transmitter adhesive pad 604, a separate electrical contact 608 is established for each of the electric lead interconnects 212 to the respective electric contact 608”),
the printed circuit board 108 has an external electrical interface (electrical connector 140), for realizing external electrical connections, arranged at an end of the printed circuit board (140 is at an end of 108; col. 13, Lines 48-52 “The electronic connector 140 can be integrated, in certain embodiments, into the device package case 122. The electronic connection 140 provides an interface that allows end users to connect their electronic devices (e.g., computers, phones, etc.) to the optical transponder 100”),
the housing 123 includes a first housing 117 and a second housing 118 facing each other and connected to each other (117 and 118 face one another and are connected),
the heat sink apparatus 1606 is arranged between the first housing 117 and the second housing 118 and thermally connected to the second housing 118 (col. 16, Lines 50-52 “The housing case 123 includes a plurality of housings 1606, that support, and transfer heat downwardly from, the optical receiver 114”; heat transferred down toward 118),
the first optoelectronic chip 112 is electrically connected to a surface of the printed circuit board (top side of 108; col. 18, Lines 62-66 “Once the optical transmitter 112 or optical receiver 114 is affixed using the receiver adhesive pad 605 or the transmitter adhesive pad 604, a separate electrical contact 608 is established for each of the electric lead interconnects 212 to the respective electric contact 608”).
Wolf does not disclose:
the external electrical interface including gold fingers;
the first optoelectronic chip is electrically connected to the printed circuit board by gold wire.
However, Chou discloses:
the external electrical interface including gold fingers (Par. 0029 “The electrical interface 690 may be a plurality of contacts (a.k.a. gold finger), connector or an interface on edge of the substrate 170 for connecting the active optical module 600 and an external network device (e.g. a switch, host, server, workstation, a router or an end device which is compatible with the active optical transceiver module)”);
in order to provide a connection between the optical module and an external network device (Par. 0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wolf as further suggested by Chou e.g., providing:
the external electrical interface including gold fingers;
in order to provide a connection between the optical module and an external network device.
Further, Runyan discloses:
the first optoelectronic chip (chips 48, 50) is electrically connected to the printed circuit board (substrates) by gold wire 52,54 (col. 3, Lines 22-26 “Integrated circuit chips 48 and 50, as seen in FIG. 2, can be attached to the high density interconnect substrates 44 and 46, respectively, and connected by means of gold wire bonds 52 and 54 to pads on the high density interconnect substrates”);
in order to provide a reliable connection means between chips and substrates.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wolf in view of Chou as further suggested by Runyan e.g., providing:
the first optoelectronic chip is electrically connected to the printed circuit board by gold wire;
in order to provide a reliable connection means between chips and substrates.
See preferred material case law in rejection of claim 5 above.
As to Claim 30, the obvious modification of Wolf in view of Chou and Runyan discloses:
wherein the optical module (100 of Wolf) comprises a first electrical isolation pad 604 arranged between the first optoelectronic chip 112 and the heat sink apparatus 1606 (see Fig. 17A, 604 disposed between 112 and 1606), the first electrical isolation pad 604 has an upper surface electrically connected to the printed circuit board 108 and a lower surface thermally connected to the heat sink apparatus 1606 (col. 17, Lines 43-45 “transmitter adhesive pads 604 that mount optical transmitters 112 may be designed to be electrically insulative (e.g., 10.sup.6 ohm/sq inch) and thermally conductive (e.g., 0.5-6.0 watts/m-K.)”; 604 provides at least some electrical conductivity, connected to board 108 via 112; thermally connected to 1606).
As to Claim 31, the obvious modification of Wolf in view of Chou and Runyan discloses:
wherein the optical module (100 of Wolf) comprises a thermal pad 1725 or thermal grease arranged between the heat sink 1606 apparatus and the housing (thermal pads 1725 arranged between 1606 and casing cover 117 of package 123).
As to Claim 32, the obvious modification of Wolf in view of Chou and Runyan discloses:
wherein the printed circuit board (108 of Wolf) is a rigid circuit board (col. 21, Lines 7-10 “The circuit board 108 and the optical device 116 are both designed to have sufficient strength to resist any force that would be reasonably applied by the optical device removal tool 900 during this removal process”; Wolf).
As to Claim 33, the obvious modification of Wolf in view of Chou and Runyan discloses:
wherein the printed circuit board (108 of Wolf) has a first surface (top side), a second surface (bottom side) opposite to the first surface (top and bottom sides of 108 are opposite), and an opening (cut-away region 602) that extends from the first surface to the second surface (cut-away region 602 extends from top to bottom surface),
the opening 602 is located near the center of the printed circuit board 108 (602 is near/adjacent to center of board 108), and
the heatsink apparatus 1606 covers the opening 602 (1606 beneath 112 covers extension of 602).
As to Claim 34, the obvious modification of Wolf in view of Chou and Runyan discloses:
wherein the printed circuit board (108 of Wolf) has a first end arranged with the external electrical interface 140 (right side of 108 in Fig. 3 of Wolf), and a second end (left side of 108) opposite to the first end (left and right sides of 108 are spaced apart), and
the opening 602 is spaced apart from the second end (at least a portion of 602 is spaced from a periphery of the left side of board 108; Wolf).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13, 18-20 and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 13, 18-20 and 28, the allowability resides in the overall structure and functionality of the device as recited in the dependent claims 13, 18 and 28, including all of the limitations of their base claims and intervening claims, and at least in part, because claims 13, 18 and 28 recite the following limitations:
“wherein
the first electrical isolation pad has an upper surface electrically connected to the printed circuit board and a lower surface thermally connected to the heat sink apparatus.” – claim 13;
“wherein the heat sink apparatus has a hole or a groove to allow light to pass through.” – claim 18;
“wherein the first electrical isolation pad has an upper surface electrically connected to the printed circuit board and a lower surface thermally connected to the heat sink apparatus.” – claim 28.
Iwafuji (US 20040101006 A1) discloses a groove disposed in a heatsink, however does not disclose the limitations of the independent claim or combine with Wolf.
Moalemi (US 20120327554 A1) discloses conductive pads separated by an insulating material.
Moriyama (US 20150331208 A1), Hosking (US 20090190310 A1) and Law (US 20180019569 A1) disclose heat dissipation of optical modules.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claims 13, 18 and 28, are believed to render said claims 13, 18 and 28 and all claims dependent therefrom allowable over the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW SINCLAIR MUIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841