DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-24 remain in the application for prosecution thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4,18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the term “may” renders the claim unclear and confusing as to whether or not the etchants recited are actually utilized? The Examiner suggests deletion of the term “may” to overcome the rejection. Clarification is requested.
Regarding claim 18, the term “the thickness” lacks antecedent basis. The second layer does not recite any “thickness”. Clarification is requested.
Regarding claim 20, the term “the first reaction chamber” lacks antecedent basis. It appears that this claim should refer to claim 19 which recites a first reaction chamber”? Clarifications is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,3-6 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Siddiqui et al. (2016/0343806).
Siddiqui et al. (2016/0343806) teaches a interface passivation layers and methods of fabricating whereby forming a silicon-germanium layer (210) over a substrate (205), removing a native oxide layer (211) from an upper surface of the silicon-germanium layer and exposing the upper surface having the removed native oxide layer to an ozone containing solution resulting in forming a passivation layer including germanium oxide and germanium dioxide layer (220) (abstract, [0003],[0014],[0018] and Fig. 1). Siddiqui et al. (2016/0343806) teaches forming a dielectric layer (230) over the passivation layer (220) [0026].
Regarding claim 1, the substrate is silicon [0019] and the SiGe layer being applied to the substrate can also be considered the substrate. The ozone containing solution is the oxidant. The first layer is the GeO/GeO2 (220) and the second is the dielectric layer (230).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, the etchant include hydrofluoric acid (HF) [0015],[0021].
Regarding claim 5, the substrate is silicon [0019] and the SiGe layer being applied to the substrate can also be considered the substrate.
Regarding 6, the ozone containing solution is de-ionized and hence would be a weaker oxidizer than solely ozone [0015].
Regarding claim 14, the first layer is GeO/GeO2 and the second layer is an oxide dielectric [0026].
Regarding claim 15, the first layer can also include silicon along with the GeO/GeO2 since the substrate include silicon.
Regarding claim 16, the second oxide layer includes aluminum oxide (Al2O3), Hafnium oxide (HfO2) or zirconium oxide (ZrO2) [0026].
Regarding claim 17, the second oxide layer includes Yttrium (Y2O3) or Lanthanum (La2O3) [0026].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2,7-13 and 18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siddiqui et al. (2016/0343806) in combination with Tapily (2020/0328078).
Features detailed above concerning the teachings of Siddiqui et al. (2016/0343806) are incorporated here.
Siddiqui et al. (2016/0343806) fails to teach the etchant is gas phase, the oxidant is gas phase, the oxidant includes H2O2 (hydrogen peroxide) and the process steps are performed in a first and/or second chamber.
Tapily (2020/0328078) teaches a similar process whereby removing residue (native oxides) by a cleaning gas including hydrogen and nitrogen [0015], an oxidizer gas including H2O2 [0021] in a plurality of processing chambers (Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Siddiqui et al. (2016/0343806) to utilize the claimed oxidant and utilize a gas phase etchant and oxidant as evidenced by Tapily (2020/0328078) with the expectation of providing a clean surface prior to forming the oxide layer thereon.
Regarding claim 2, Tapily (2020/0328078) teaches cleaning gas (claimed etchant) including hydrogen [0015].
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Tapily (2020/0328078) teaches oxidant being gaseous and including H2O2 [0021].
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Siddiqui et al. (2016/0343806) teaches controlling the thickness of the passivation layer (claimed first oxide layer) to be 1.5nm or less which would overlap the claimed less than 5 or 10 angstroms [0023],[0024]. Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the portion of [Sudo’s temperature range] that corresponds to the claimed range. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549 (CCPA 1974).
Regarding claim 11, Tapily (2020/0328078) teaches restoring hydroxylated groups on the surface with the oxidizer [0017].
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Tapily (2020/0328078) teaches heat treating the substrate during the removing residue and hence would be suggestive of heat treating during other processing steps including the oxidizing step and this heat treating being heating the substrate which is typically held by a susceptor [0015].
Regarding claim 18, Siddiqui et al. (2016/0343806) is silent with respect to the thickness of the claimed second dielectric layer disclosed in [0026]. The Examiner takes the position that the thickness would be a matter of design choice by one skilled in the art depending upon the desire final product and hence the claimed thickness of 0.5-30 angstroms would be a matter of design choice absent a showing of criticality thereof.
Regarding claims 19-24, Tapily (2020/0328078) teaches using a plurality of chambers for performing the removing residual, oxidizing and forming layers ([0025] and Fig 3) and hence would be suggestive of performing these in the first and/or second chambers as claimed absent a showing of criticality thereof.
/BRIAN K TALBOT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712