DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9, 14, 16-17, & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (US 2022/0157822) [Hereinafter Ahn] & Lee (US 2016/0093732).
Regarding claim 1, Ahn teaches A semiconductor device comprising:
a substrate [fig. 1B, substrate 100, para 16] provided with a first active pattern [annotated fig. 1B] and a second active pattern [annotated fig. 1B], wherein
the first active pattern (annotated fig. 1B) and the second active pattern (annotated fig. 1B) are adjacent to each other in a first direction [fig. 1B, horizontal direction],
each of the first active pattern and the second active pattern includes
a first edge portion (annotated fig. 1B),
a second edge portion (annotated fig. 1B),
a center portion (annotated fig. 1B) therebetween, and the first direction (lateral direction) is parallel to an upper surface of the substrate (fig. 1B, 100);
a word line [fig. 1B, wordline WL, para 21] extending in the first direction and including a first portion overlapping the center portion of the first active pattern [annotated fig. 1B] and
a second portion overlapping the center portion of the second active pattern [annotated fig. 1B];
a first bit line [fig. 1B, bit line pattern 151, para 21] disposed on the first edge portion of the first active pattern (annotated fig. 1B); and
a first storage node contact [annotated fig. 1B, storage note contact BC, para 24] disposed on the second edge portion of the first active pattern [annotated fig. 1B, E2], wherein
the first active pattern [annotated fig. 1B/fig. 1A, ACT] extends lengthwise in a second direction intersecting the first direction [fig. 1A], and
the second direction [fig. 1A, D2] is parallel to the upper surface of the substrate [para 16], wherein
the second active pattern [annotated fig. 1B/fig. 1A, ACT] extends lengthwise in a third direction [fig. 1A, D3] intersecting the first direction and the second direction [para 16], and
the third direction is parallel to the upper surface of the substrate [para 16], and wherein
the first active pattern and the second active pattern are symmetric in shape [para 16; wherein the active patterns have a bar shape].
Ahn fails to explicitly disclose the wordline having a wave shape.
However, Lee teaches the wordline [fig. 12A, word-lines 161, para 53] having a wave shape [fig. 12A].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the wordline having a wave shape to suppress crosstalk and parasitic capacitance.
ANNOTATED FIG. 1A
ANNOTATED FIG. 1B
Regarding claim 2, Ahn/Lee teaches The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein
the first edge portion [Ahn, annotated fig. 1A],
the first portion of the word line [Ahn, annotated fig. 1A], and
the second edge portion of the first active pattern [Ahn, annotated fig. 1A] are sequentially disposed in the second direction (Ahn, fig. 1A, D2).
Regarding claim 3, Ahn/Lee teaches The semiconductor device of claim 2, further comprising:
a second bit line [Ahn, annotated fig. 1A] disposed on the first edge portion of the second active pattern [Ahn, annotated fig. 1A], wherein
the first edge portion of the first active pattern [Ahn, annotated fig. 1A] and
the second edge portion of the second active pattern [Ahn, annotated fig. 1A] is spaced apart from each other at a first distance in the first direction [Ahn, fig. 1A; wherein the active patterns are diagonally spaced].
Regarding claim 4, Ahn/Lee teaches The semiconductor device of claim 3, further comprising:
a second storage node disposed on the second edge portion of the second active pattern [Ahn, annotated fig. 1B], wherein
the second edge portion of the second active pattern is spaced apart from the first edge portion of the first active pattern at a second distance in the first direction [Ahn, annotated fig. 1A], and wherein
the second distance is different from the first distance [Ahn, annotated fig. 1A].
Regarding claim 7, Ahn/Lee teaches The semiconductor device of claim 1,
wherein the first active pattern is repeatedly positioned in the first direction to form a plurality of first active patterns,
wherein the second active pattern is repeatedly positioned in the first direction to form a plurality of second active patterns, and
wherein each of the plurality of first active patterns and each of the plurality of second active patterns are alternately arranged in the first direction [Ahn, annotated fig. 1A & annotated fig. 1B collectively illustrates a plurality of first and second active fins alternately arranged].
Regarding claim 8, Ahn/Lee teaches The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein
the word line (Ahn, fig. 1A, WL) has a first side (left side) on the first edge portion of the first active pattern (Ahn, annotated fig. 1A) and a second side (right side of word line) opposing the first side (Ahn, annotated fig. 1A), and wherein,
when viewed in a plan view,
each of the first side and the second side of the word line has a concave surface [Ahn, annotated fig. 1A; illustrates both sides to have a concave surfaces].
Regarding claim 9, Ahn/Lee teaches The semiconductor device of claim 8, wherein, when viewed in a plan view,
the concave surface of the first side of the word line and the concave surface of the second side of the word line are concave toward opposite directions [Ahn, fig 1A, wherein opposite side of the word line concaves inwards thereby concave in opposite directions relative to the object’s interior].
Regarding claim 14, Ahn teaches The semiconductor device of claim 13.
Ahn fails to explicitly disclose wherein, when viewed in a plan view, each of the opposite sides of the word line has a wave shape extending in the first direction.
However, Lee teaches wherein, when viewed in a plan view. Each of the opposite sides of the wordline [fig. 12A, word-lines 161, para 53] has a wave shape [fig. 12A].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the wordline having a wave shape to suppress crosstalk and parasitic capacitance.
Regarding claim 16, Ahn teaches The semiconductor device of claim 13.
Ahn fails to explicitly disclose wherein the convex surfaces on one side of the opposite sides of the word line and the convex surfaces on the other side are convex toward opposite directions.
However, Lee teaches wherein the convex surfaces on one side of the opposite sides of the word line and the convex surfaces on the other side are convex toward opposite directions [fig. 12A, word line 161; wherein the convex surfaces on opposite sides of the word line convex towards opposite directions.
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the wordline having a wave shape to suppress crosstalk and parasitic capacitance.
Regarding claim 17 Ahn teaches The semiconductor device of claim 13.
Ahn fails to explicitly disclose wherein the convex surfaces of one of the opposite sides of the word line are adjacent to the concave surfaces of the other side of the opposite sides of the word line in the second direction or the third direction.
However, Lee teaches wherein the convex surfaces of one of the opposite sides of the word line are adjacent to the concave surfaces of the other side of the opposite sides of the word line in the second direction or the third direction [fig. 12A, word line 161].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the wordline having a wave shape to suppress crosstalk and parasitic capacitance.
Regarding claim 19, Ahn teaches A semiconductor device comprising:
a first active pattern [annotated fig. 1A] and
a second active pattern [annotated fig. 1A] adjacent to each other in a first direction,
each of the first active pattern and the second active pattern including
a first edge portion [annotated fig. 1A] and
a second edge portion [annotated fig. 1A] spaced apart from each other;
a word line crossing between the first and second edge portions of each of the first and second active patterns [annotated fig. 1A] and
a bit line disposed on the first edge portion of the first active pattern [annotated fig. 1A];
a storage node contact disposed on the second edge portion of the first active pattern [annotated fig. 1B];
a landing pad [fig. 1B, landing pad LP, para 25] disposed on the storage node contact (fig. 1B, BC); and
a data storage pattern [fig. 1B, TE/330/BE, para 35] disposed on the landing pad (fig. 1B, LP),
wherein the first active pattern extends lengthwise in a second direction intersecting the first direction [annotated fig. 1A],
wherein the second active pattern extends lengthwise in a third direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction [annotated fig. 1A],
wherein the second direction and the third direction are symmetrical with respect to the first direction [para 16], and
wherein the first direction, the second direction, and the third direction are on the same plane [para 16].
Ahn fails to explicitly disclose the word line having a wave shape extending in the first direction.
However Lee teaches the word line having a wave shape extending in the first direction [fig. 12A, word line 161].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the wordline having a wave shape to suppress crosstalk and parasitic capacitance.
Regarding claim 20, Ahn/Lee teaches The semiconductor device of claim 19,
wherein each of opposite sides of the word line has convex surfaces and concave surfaces alternately arranged in the first direction [Lee, fig. 12A, word line 161].
Claim(s) 13, 15, & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn.
Regarding claim 13, Ahn teaches A semiconductor device comprising:
a first active pattern [annotated fig. 1A] and
a second active pattern [annotated fig. 1A] adjacent to each other in a first direction [annotated fig. 1A, D1], each of the first and second active patterns including
a first edge portion [annotated fig. 1A] and
a second edge portion [annotated fig. 1A] spaced apart from each other;
a word line [fig. 1A, word lines WL]crossing between the first and second edge portions of each of the first and second active patterns and extending in the first direction [fig. 1A];
a bit line [fig. 1A, BL] on the first edge portion of the first active pattern [annotated fig. 1A]; and
a storage node contact on the second edge portion of the first active pattern [annotated fig. 1B], wherein
the first active pattern extends lengthwise in a second direction intersecting the first direction [fig. 1A],
wherein the second active pattern extends lengthwise in a third direction intersecting the first direction and the third direction [annotated fig. 1, para 16],
wherein the second direction and the third direction are symmetrical with respect to the first direction [para 16],
wherein the first direction, the second direction, and the third direction are on the same plane [para 16], and
wherein each of opposite sides of the word line has convex surfaces and concave surfaces alternately arranged in the first direction [annotated fig. 1A; illustrates opposite vertical sides of word lines to have a concave surface].
Regarding claim 15, Ahn teaches The semiconductor device of claim 13, wherein, when viewed in a plan view,
the concave surfaces on one side of the opposite sides of the word line and the concave surfaces on the other side are concave toward opposite directions [fig 1A, wherein opposite side of the word line concaves inwards thereby concave in opposite directions relative to the object’s interior]..
Regarding claim 18, Ahn teaches The semiconductor device of claim 13,
wherein the first active pattern is repeatedly positioned in the first direction to form a plurality of first active patterns [annotated fig. 1A/1B],
wherein the second active pattern is repeatedly positioned in the first direction to form a plurality of second active patterns [annotated fig. 1A/1B], and
wherein each of the plurality of first active patterns and each of the plurality of second active patterns are alternately arranged in the first direction [annotated fig. 1B].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 & 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, Ahn/Lee teaches The semiconductor device of claim 2.
The prior art of record fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second edge portion, the second portion of the word line, and the first edge portion of the second active pattern are sequentially disposed in the third direction.
Thereby claim 5 contains allowable subject matter in light of the additional limitations recited therein and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, Ahn/Lee teaches The semiconductor device of claim 1.
The prior art of record fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first active pattern and the second active pattern, when viewed in a plan view, are spaced increasingly farther apart in the first direction along an imaginary line between therebetween, and
wherein the imaginary line extends in a fourth direction parallel to the upper surface of the substrate and perpendicular to the first direction.
Thereby claim 6 contains allowable subject matter in light of the additional limitations recited therein and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 10, Ahn/Lee teaches The semiconductor device of claim 8.
The prior art of record fails to explicitly disclose wherein, when viewed in a plan view,
the first edge portion of the first active pattern and the second edge portion of the second active pattern are provided on the concave surface of the first side of the word line.
Thereby claim 10 contains allowable subject matter in light of the additional limitations recited therein and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 11, The semiconductor device of claim 8.
The prior art of record fails to explicitly disclose wherein, when viewed in a plan view,
the second edge portion of the first active pattern and the first edge portion of the second active pattern are provided on the concave surface of the second side of the word line.
Thereby claim 11 contains allowable subject matter in light of the additional limitations recited therein and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 12, Ahn/Lee teaches The semiconductor device of claim 1.
The prior art of record fails to explicitly disclose wherein the wave shape of the word line has a substantially constant width in a fourth direction parallel to the upper surface of the substrate and perpendicular to the first direction.
Thereby claim 12 contains allowable subject matter in light of the additional limitations recited therein and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/FELIX B ANDREWS/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812