Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 10, 13 and 15 -18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US Pub. 2009/0225932 A1) in view of Franco et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0223706 A1).
With regards to claim 1 and 17, Zhu teaches a cone-beam CT (CBCT) imaging system (See figures 1 and 2) for the treatment planning of radiation therapy is shown in FIG. 1. As with a conventional CBCT system, an x-ray source 100 generates a cone beam 102 which creates a projection image on detector 104 after passing through a patient 106. The system is designed to rotate around axis 108 during the imaging process [0017]. The reconstruction of the CBCT image slices preferably includes correcting for scatter using an estimated scatter derived from a stored scatter distribution for the patient [0008]. FIG. 2 shows a top-view cross-section of a beam blocking sheet, wherein the sheet is composed of several rectangular strips, 200, 202, 204, 206, 208, arranged in parallel with gaps, such as gap 210, separating them. This arrangement produces a pattern of parallel slits through which x-rays may pass [0019].
Zhu further teaches the inside and/or lead strips create shadow regions with no primary detector data in shadow yields scatter signals/samples [0021], [0030].
Zhu fails to expressly disclose that the region of interest, as in the ascertaining material, of an examination subject interrogation as claimed.
Franco relates to the field of radiant energy imaging systems, and more specifically to a system that uses a combination of X-ray coherent scatter, diffraction, and multi-energy transmission X-ray radiation technologies for detecting concealed objects and identifying materials of interest [0002].
Franco teaches an inspection X-ray system with collimation/detectors for scanned object of interest [0102]. Scatter/diffraction data acquisition supported as an evaluation [0154] - [0158]. Material properties from scatter and/or diffraction signature and/or transmission imaging including density and other classifying or determining processing [0076] – [0083], [0154] - [0158].
In view of the utility, to improve material identification, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Zhu’s shadow scatter acquisition to include the teaching such as that taught by Franco material evaluation inspection system.
With regards to claim 2, Zhu modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 1, but fails to disclose that a location of the region of interest is determined from a user input by a user and/or by a segmentation process in at least one two-dimensional image data set or three-dimensional prior image data set acquired by the imaging x-ray device for the examination subject.
Franco teaches determining a location of interest from an initial analysis and using the location to drive subsequent scanning/collimations which is reasonable analogous to segmentation as broadly claimed [0029] [0091] [0102] [0106].
In view of the utility, to improve material identification, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Zhu’s shadow scatter acquisition to include the teaching such as that taught by Franco material evaluation inspection system.
With regards to claim 8, Zhu modified discloses the scattered radiation image is acquired without an anti-scatter grid (i.e., notice no anti-scatter grid was included) [0019] – [0022].
With regards to claim 10, Zhu modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 1, but fails to expressly disclose the material information comprises an effective atomic number, a density of the material, a classification as one of at least two candidate materials, or a combination thereof.
Franco discloses effective atomic number, signatures and density as characteristics used for classification algorithms to classify and/or identify materials/objects [0004] [0016] [0080] [0081] [0102] [0106].
In view of the utility, to improve material identification, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Zhu to include the teaching such as that taught by Franco.
With regards to claim 13, Zhu modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 1, but fails to expressly disclose that in order to ascertain the material information, similarity measures of the scattered radiation image to comparison images of different comparison material information are determined and the material information is ascertained based on at least one of the similarity measures.
Franco discloses the normalized/corrected scatter spectrum or diffraction signature is compared to a set of scatter spectra or diffraction signatures and this information, along with the measured density (ρ) and effective atomic number (Zeff) of step 580, is used to identify the object [0004], [0076], [0102], [0110], [0182], [0209].
In view of the utility, to improve material identification, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Zhu to include the teaching such as that taught by Franco.
With regards to claim 15, Zhu modified discloses a plurality of scattered radiation images is acquired using different acquisition geometries and evaluated in order to ascertain the material information (i.e., the system is designed to rotate around axis 108 during the imaging process) [0018] [0017] [0030] [0034].
With regards to claim 16, Zhu modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 1, but fails to expressly disclose that the evaluation is by statistical and/or plausibility-checking consolidation of individual pieces of the material information for each scattered radiation image.
Franco discloses processing by a processor/system to analyze, position collimators and process scatter scan data to classify materials [0076] [0158] [0207].
In view of the utility, to improve material identification, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Zhu to include the teaching such as that taught by Franco.
With regards to claim 18, Zhu modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 1, but fails to expressly disclose that a computer program is tied to controlling the device as in the collimator, scattering and evaluations as claimed in claim 1.
Franco teaches a system comprising computing systems in control of the system parts and processing software instructions to analyze and generated output as needed [0160], and specifically teaches that the functions of positioning of the collimator, positioning of the alignment container within the X-ray beam for CT and CXS screening, X-ray on/off, and data acquisition are all controlled by dedicated control software [0202].
In view of the utility, to improve the computing execution, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Zhu to include the teaching such as that taught by Franco.
Claim(s) 3 – 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US Pub. 2009/0225932 A1) and Franco et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0223706 A1) in view of Kok et al. (WO 2018/037128 A1).
With regards to claim 3, Zhu modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 1, but fails to expressly disclose that the imaging x-ray device further comprises an anti-scatter grid on a detector side to which an adjustment device for aligning the anti-scatter grid onto the region of interest as focus is assigned.
Kok relates to an anti-scatter device for an X-ray detector, an X-ray detector with such anti-scatter device and a method for producing an anti-scatter device (Abstract). Kok teaches an x-ray apparatus including an anti-scatter device is bendable by applying the voltage to the electroactive polymer material of the cover element. For instance, at least an outer surface of the cover element may be bendable. Accordingly, by applying the voltage, a curvature of at least a part of the anti-scatter device is adjustable and/or inducible by applying the voltage. This may allow to bend the anti-scatter device and/or the anti-scatter grid from a flat shape to a curved shape by applying the voltage (Page 4, Lines 10 – 25) (Page 11, Line 11 – Page 14, Line 12).
In view of the utility, to improve the image quality in addition to providing a compact, reliable, robust, easily controllable, easily adjustable and cost-efficient anti-scatter device for an X-ray detector, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Zhu to include the teaching such as that taught by Kok.
With regards to claims 4 and 5, Zhu modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 3, but fails to expressly disclose the anti-scatter grid has adjustable absorption elements on which the adjustment device acts in order to achieve an at least partial alignment onto the region of interest.
Kok relates to an anti-scatter device for an X-ray detector, an X-ray detector with such anti-scatter device and a method for producing an anti-scatter device (Abstract).
Kok teaches that the grid comprises adjustable absorption elements acted on by adjustment device (i.e., an anti-scatter grid with a plurality of slats for absorbing light, such that a distance between the ends of the slats is controllable, changeable and/or increasable by applying the voltage) (Page 11, Line 11 – Page 14, Line 12). Notice that Kok states that the slats may refer to strips, lamellae, bars and/or tube-shaped elements comprising X-ray absorbing material, such as e.g. lead (Pb), molybdenum (Mo), tungsten (W) and/or a compound thereof (Page 3, Line 3).
In view of the utility, to improve the image quality in addition to providing a compact, reliable, robust, easily controllable, easily adjustable and cost-efficient anti-scatter device for an X-ray detector, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Zhu to include the teaching such as that taught by Kok.
With regards to claim 6, Zhu modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 3, but fails to expressly disclose changing a position of the anti-scatter grid along a direction of a central beam by an adjustment component of the adjustment device, wherein the anti-scatter grid is positioned along the direction of the central beam in order to be aligned at least partially onto the region of interest.
Kok relates to an anti-scatter device for an X-ray detector, an X-ray detector with such anti-scatter device and a method for producing an anti-scatter device (Abstract).
Kok teaches variable focus/alignment adapted as function of source-detector geometry aligning for relevant centering as focal spotting as claimed (Page 11, Line 11 – Page 14, Line 12) ((Page 17, Line 31).
In view of the utility, to improve the image quality in addition to providing a compact, reliable, robust, easily controllable, easily adjustable and cost-efficient anti-scatter device for an X-ray detector, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Zhu to include the teaching such as that taught by Kok.
With regards to claim 7, Zhu modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 6, but fails to expressly disclose wherein the anti-scatter grid is a permanently focused anti-scatter grid, which is initially aligned in a base position onto a focal spot of the x-ray tube assembly, and wherein the anti-scatter grid is shifted from the base position by a distance between the region of interest and the focal spot of the x-ray tube assembly.
Kok relates to an anti-scatter device for an X-ray detector, an X-ray detector with such anti-scatter device and a method for producing an anti-scatter device (Abstract).
Kok teaches variable focus/alignment adapted as function of source-detector geometry aligning for relevant centering as focal spotting as claimed (Page 11, Line 11 – Page 14, Line 12) ((Page 17, Line 31).
In view of the utility, to improve the image quality in addition to providing a compact, reliable, robust, easily controllable, easily adjustable and cost-efficient anti-scatter device for an X-ray detector, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Zhu to include the teaching such as that taught by Kok.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US Pub. 2009/0225932 A1) and Franco et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0223706 A1) in view of DeFreitas et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0098935 A1).
With regards to claim 9, Zhu modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 8, but fails to expressly disclose the anti-scatter grid is removed from a beam path for the acquisition of the scattered radiation image.
DeFreitas relates to collimation and retractable anti-scatter grids and x-ray imaging system (Abstract). The system can include a scatter-suppressing grid selectively movable between a position in the path of the imaging beam and a position outside that path (for magnification imaging or the like) [0012]. Notice an auto-collimation control to adjust the collimation of beam 30 (Figure 2) [0020].
In view of the utility, to improve the image quality in addition to providing a compact, reliable, robust, easily controllable, easily adjustable and cost-efficient anti-scatter device for an X-ray detector, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Zhu to include the teaching such as that taught by DeFreitas.
Claim(s) 11, 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US Pub. 2009/0225932 A1) and Franco et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0223706 A1) in view of Shiyu et al. (EP 3,688,723 B1).
With regards to claim 11, Zhu modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 1, but fails to expressly disclose the evaluating of the scattered radiation image comprises applying at least one trained function to the scattered radiation image as input data and/or with the material information as output data.
Shiyu relates to computed tomography (CT) imaging arts, spectral CT imaging arts, CT image reconstruction arts, medical imaging arts, image reconstruction arts, scatter correction arts, and related art [0001]. Shiyu teaches different scatter estimator neural networks can be trained for different types of imaging subjects (e.g. adult, pediatric, normal weight, obese, et cetera) and the appropriate subject scattering estimator neural network may be employed, along with the appropriate filter scatter estimation neural network. Such modularity provides a great deal of flexibility in tailoring the scatter correction to the specific CT imaging subject and CT imaging device configuration in use in a particular CT examination [0021] – [0024], [0038] - [0041], (Figure 1).
In view of the utility, to improve the image quality by correcting and improving data measurements, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Zhu to include the teaching such as that taught by Shiyu.
With regards to claim 12, Zhu modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 11, but fails to expressly disclose training images annotated with a ground truth are used for training the trained function, simulations of an imaging process for the scattered radiation image are performed for different regions of interest and/or materials in order to determine training data for specified examination subjects, or a combination thereof.
Shiyu relates to computed tomography (CT) imaging arts, spectral CT imaging arts, CT image reconstruction arts, medical imaging arts, image reconstruction arts, scatter correction arts, and related art [0001]. Shiyu teaches different scatter estimator neural networks can be trained for different types of imaging subjects (e.g. adult, pediatric, normal weight, obese, et cetera) and the appropriate subject scattering estimator neural network may be employed, along with the appropriate filter scatter estimation neural network [0021] – [0024], [0038] - [0041], (Figure 1).
With reference to FIGURE 8, for the simulated data, scatter profiles from the CNN at the center slice of three different views are plotted, and compared to the those from the Monte Carlo simulation (which serves as ground truth) for both detector layers. As can be seen in FIGURE 8, the match between the CNN scatter estimate and the ground truth from the Monte Carlo simulation is very close [0045] – [0047].
In view of the utility, to improve the image quality by correcting and improving data measurements, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Zhu to include the teaching such as that taught by Shiyu.
With regards to claim 14, Zhu modified discloses the claimed invention according to claim 13, but fails to expressly disclose the comparison images are determined at least in part by simulation of an imaging process of the scattered radiation image for a model of the examination subject, and wherein a material of the respective comparison material information is inserted in the model in the region of interest.
Shiyu discloses simulation-based generation of training with comparison data for scatter estimation [0027], [0038], [0046] - [0048].
In view of the utility, to improve the image quality by correcting and improving data measurements, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify Zhu to include the teaching such as that taught by Shiyu.
Conclusion
/DJURA MALEVIC/
Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884