DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-19 in the reply filed on 3/4/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/4/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) dated 1/8/2026 has been received and considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 87 from paragraph 50, the third line.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, line 2, --a-- should be inserted between “comprises” and “shoulder”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “the tube” in lines 2 and 5. It is unclear if this is referring to the “first tube” or the “second tube” as recited by the applicant in claims 7 and 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinoshita et al. (U.S. 2019/0093931) in view of Velez et al. (U.S. 6,938,437).
Kinoshita discloses a variable refrigerant flow assembly, comprising: a housing (30) including a first wall (the right wall in fig. 4), the first wall comprising a first hole (a hole for 13 or 8); a piping network (including, for instance, 15, 9, 10, 11, 12, 27, 28, etc.) arranged in the housing, the piping network including at least one valve (11) and at least one manifold (27, 28); a first tube (13 or 8) connected to the manifold and extending through the first hole (fig. 4).
While Kinoshita appears to disclose what appears to be connector bodies for each tube in figures 4-6 (see in particular figure 4 at the rightmost end of 13 and 8), Kinoshita is silent as to a connector body that is removably connectable to the first tube, including: a first end arranged to engage the first tube; a second end; a first through-bore extending from the first end to the second end; a first radially inward facing surface; and a first radially outward facing surface; and a filter removably arranged in the connector body.
Velez teaches it was known in the art to have a connector body (including 22, 32, 34, 42) that is removably connectable to a first tube (41), including: a first end arranged to engage the first tube (right end that engages the tube as shown in fig. 4); a second end (the left end); a first through-bore extending from the first end to the second end (figs. 1-4, the opening that extends through 22, 32, 34, 42); a first radially inward facing surface (the radially inward facing surfaces that define the through-bore); and a first radially outward facing surface (the radially outward facing surfaces); and a filter (47, see col. 2, ll. 15-16) removably arranged in the connector body (in chamber 60 of the connector body 22, see col. 2, ll. 15-16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kinoshita by having a/the connector body that is removable and couples to the tubing and having a through bore, first and second ends, and radially inward and outward facing surfaces with a filter removably arranged in the connector body as taught by Velez as Kinoshita is silent as to the details of any connector body present and the tubing and the connector body of Velez allows for removably secure connections to other tubes (such as the tube 31 of Velez) and also provides a filter for the refrigerant flow lines (the examiner notes Kinoshita is for a refrigerant application (see e.g., the title, abstract) and Velez is a connection assembly for a refrigerant tube connector (see e.g., the title, abstract)) and the filter allows for the removal of potential damaging debris.
Regarding claim 2, Kinoshita as modified further discloses a second tube (the other of 13 or 8) connected to the manifold (figs. 3-6, at least fluidly connected), the second tube extending through a second hole in the first wall (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Kinoshita as modified further discloses wherein the connector body is removably connected to the first tube via threading (the threading of 42 and 43 will secure the tube within the connector body as shown in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Kinoshita as modified further discloses a second tube (31, 30) removably connectable to the second end of the connector body (fig. 1 showing the disassembled configuration but assembled similar to that shown in fig. 4 for the opposite end).
Regarding claim 8, Kinoshita as modified further discloses wherein: the second tube comprises a shoulder (the shoulder of 30, the examiner notes that 30 is fixed to 31 (see col. 2, ll. 4-5 and thus is considered part of the tube)) operatively arranged to engage the second end (when assembled and similar to the depiction in fig. 4 of the opposite end, see also col. 2, ll. 1-16 generally); and the connector body further comprises a groove (one of the grooves that forms the female or male threading in, for instance, 32, 22, 34, 42).
Regarding claim 13, Kinoshita as modified further discloses wherein the filter is engaged with an axial surface in the connector body (the filter is captured in chamber 60, see col. 2, ll. 15-16, notice at the left end of chamber 60 in fig. 1 the axial surface which will engage with the filter, alternatively the sidewalls of chamber 60 extending left to right in fig. 1 will additionally engage the filter).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinoshita in view of Velez as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oberheide (EP2618036)(reference and machine translation included herewith and referred to below).
Kinoshita as modified discloses the claimed invention but does not appear to disclose wherein the filter is engaged with a frusto-conical radially inward facing surface in the connector body.
Oberheide teaches it was known in the art to have a similar connector that has a filter (9) that engages with a frusto-conical surface (7, see figs. 2-3 and para. 16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kinoshita by modifying the engagement of the filter with the connector body such that there is frusto-conical surface engagement between the filter and radially inward facing surface of the connector body as taught by Oberheide in order to allow for a more easily installable arrangement for the filter as the frusto-conical shape allows for a centering of the filter with respect to the connector body when installing and can provide a more secure means of retaining the filter in the connector body due to the frusto-conical engagement.
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinoshita in view of Velez as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kury (U.S. 10,549,221).
Kinoshita as modified discloses the claimed invention but does not appear to disclose the details of the filter, such as the filter having a second radially inward facing surface; a second radially outward facing surface; and a wall comprising a plurality of holes; wherein the second radially inward facing surface and the wall form a cavity.
Kury teaches it was known in the art to have a filter (12) having a second radially inward facing surface (the radially inward facing surfaces of 12 that form the sidewall of the frusto-conical portion); a second radially outward facing surface (the radially outward facing surfaces of 12 that form the sidewall of the frusto-conical portion); and a wall (the bottom circular portion of the filter) comprising a plurality of holes (see fig. 2); wherein the second radially inward facing surface and the wall form a cavity (within the frusto-conical portion).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kinoshita by having the filter have a radially outward facing surface, radially inward facing surface, wall with holes, and the radially inward facing surface and wall forming as cavity as taught by Kury as Kinoshita is silent as to the specific details of the shape of the filter and the filter of Kury is able to properly filter contaminants as intended by the filter of modified Kinoshita.
Regarding claim 15, Kinoshita as modified further discloses wherein the filter further comprises a protrusion extending radially outward from the second radially outward facing surface (the filter as taught above by Kury, notice the protrusion at 14 in figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 16, Kinoshita as modified further discloses wherein the second radially inward facing surface is frusto-conical (as taught by Kury, see figs. 2-3).
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinoshita in view of Velez and Kury.
Kinoshita discloses a variable refrigerant flow assembly, comprising: a housing (30) including a first wall (the right wall in fig. 4); a piping network (including, for instance, 15, 9, 10, 11, 12, 27, 28, etc.) arranged in the housing, the piping network including at least one valve (11) and at least one manifold (27, 28); a plurality of fluid connection assemblies connected to the at least one manifold (see at least the unlabeled connectors for 8 and 13 at the right end of each in fig. 4), each fluid connection assembly of the plurality of fluid connection assemblies comprising: a first tube connected to the manifold and extending through a hole in the first wall (see fig. 4 and the tubes for 8 and 13 extending through 30, see also figs. 5 and 6).
While Kinoshita appears to disclose what appears to be connector bodies for each tube in figures 4-6 (see in particular figure 4 at the rightmost end of 13 and 8), Kinoshita is silent as to each connector body removably connectable to the first tube, each connector body including: a first end arranged to engage the first tube; a second end; a first through-bore extending from the first end to the second end; a first radially inward facing surface; and a first radially outward facing surface; and a filter removably arranged in the connector body, the filter including: a second radially inward facing surface; a second radially outward facing surface; a wall comprising a plurality of holes; and a protrusion extending radially outward from the second radially outward facing surface, the protrusion engageable with a surface in the connector body.
Velez teaches it was known in the art to have a connector body (including 22, 32, 34, 42) that is removably connectable to a first tube (41), including: a first end arranged to engage the first tube (right end that engages the tube as shown in fig. 4); a second end (the left end); a first through-bore extending from the first end to the second end (figs. 1-4, the opening that extends through 22, 32, 34, 42); a first radially inward facing surface (the radially inward facing surfaces that define the through-bore); and a first radially outward facing surface (the radially outward facing surfaces); and a filter (47, see col. 2, ll. 15-16) removably arranged in the connector body (in chamber 60 of the connector body 22, see col. 2, ll. 15-16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kinoshita by having the connector bodies be removable and couple to the tubing and have a through bore, first and second ends, and radially inward and outward facing surfaces with a filter removably arranged in the connector body as taught by Velez as Kinoshita is silent as to the details of any connector body present at the tubing and the connector body of Velez allows for removably secure connections to other tubes (such as the tube 31 of Velez) and also provides a filter for the refrigerant flow lines (the examiner notes Kinoshita is for a refrigerant application (see e.g., the title, abstract) and Velez is a connection assembly for a refrigerant tube connector (see e.g., the title, abstract)) and the filter allows for the removable of potential damaging debris.
Kury teaches it was known in the art to have a filter (12) having a second radially inward facing surface (the radially inward facing surfaces of 12 that form the sidewall of the frusto-conical portion); a second radially outward facing surface (the radially outward facing surfaces of 12 that form the sidewall of the frusto-conical portion); a wall (the bottom circular portion of the filter) comprising a plurality of holes (see fig. 2); and a protrusion (14) extending radially outward from the second radially outward facing surface (figs. 2-3), the protrusion engageable with a surface in the connector body (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kinoshita by having the filter have a radially outward facing surface, radially inward facing surface, wall with holes, and a protrusion extending from the second radially outward facing surface and engageable with a surface in the connector body as taught by Kury as Kinoshita is silent as to the specific details of the shape of the filter and the filter of Kury is able to properly filter contaminants as intended by the filter of modified Kinoshita.
Regarding claim 18, Kinoshita as modified further discloses wherein the second radially inward facing surface comprises a frusto-conical surface (as taught above by Kury, see figs. 1-3 showing the frusto-conical shape).
Regarding claim 19, Kinoshita as modified further discloses wherein each fluid connection assembly (as taught above by Velez) of the plurality of fluid connection assemblies comprises: a second tube (31 of Velez), and a retainer (such as 32 of Velez) for removably connecting the second tube to the connector body (similar to how the connection is shown in fig. 4 of Velez).
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinoshita in view of French (U.S. 10,947,938) and Velez.
Kinoshita discloses a variable refrigerant flow assembly, comprising: a housing (30) including a first wall (the right wall in fig. 4), the first wall comprising a first hole (a hole for 13 or 8); a piping network (including, for instance, 15, 9, 10, 11, 12, 27, 28, etc.) arranged in the housing, the piping network including at least one valve (11) and at least one manifold (27, 28); a first tube (13 or 8) connected to the manifold and extending through the first hole (fig. 4).
While Kinoshita appears to disclose what appears to be connector bodies for each tube in figures 4-6 (see in particular figure 4 at the rightmost end of 13 and 8), Kinoshita is silent as to a connector body that is removably connectable to the first tube, including: a first end arranged to engage the first tube; a second end; a first through-bore extending from the first end to the second end; a first radially inward facing surface; and a first radially outward facing surface; and a filter removably arranged in the connector body.
French teaches it was known in the art to have a connector (20, 28, 150) that is removably connectable to a first tube (24), including: a first end arranged to engage the first tube (the end closer to 24 in fig. 1); a second end (the end closer to numeral 20 in fig. 1); a first through-bore extending from the first end to the second end (figs. 1-2); a first radially inward facing surface (the radially inward facing surface that defines the through-bore); and a first radially outward facing surface (the radially outward facing surface in figs. 1-2). The connector is coupled to the tube via a retaining ring / latch (26) having protrusions (235, 236) located in a groove (162) proximate the first end (left end in fig. 1) with a plurality of apertures (160) located within the groove (fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kinoshita by having a/the connector body that is removable and couples to the tubing and having a through bore, first and second ends, and radially inward and outward facing surfaces with a groove arranged in the surface proximate the first end and apertures in the groove and a retaining ring arranged in the groove and having protrusions extending through the apertures as taught by French as Kinoshita is silent as to the details of any connector body present and the tubing and the connector body with retaining ring located within a groove and having protrusions extending through apertures of the groove of French allows for removably secure connections to other tubes (such as the tube 24 of French) by being able to selectively insert or remove a retaining ring.
Velez teaches it was known in the art to have a connector body (including 22, 32, 34, 42) and a filter (47, see col. 2, ll. 15-16) removably arranged in the connector body (in chamber 60 of the connector body 22, see col. 2, ll. 15-16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kinoshita by a filter removably arranged in the connector body as taught by Velez as having a filter for the refrigerant flow lines (the examiner notes Kinoshita is for a refrigerant application (see e.g., the title, abstract) and Velez is a connection assembly for a refrigerant tube connector (see e.g., the title, abstract)) allows for the removable of potential damaging debris.
Regarding claim 2, Kinoshita as modified further discloses a second tube (the other of 13 or 8) connected to the manifold (figs. 3-6, at least fluidly connected), the second tube extending through a second hole in the first wall (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Kinoshita as modified further discloses wherein the connector body further comprises: a groove (as taught above by French in the rejection of claim 1, see 162) arranged in the radially outward facing surface proximate the first end (fig. 1); a plurality of apertures (as taught above by French in the rejection of claim 1, see 160) extending from the groove to the first through-bore; and a retaining ring (as taught above by French in the rejection of claim 1, see 26) arranged in the groove, the retaining ring including protrusions (as taught above by French in the rejection of claim 1, see 235, 236) that extend through the apertures and into the first through-bore (fig. 10).
Regarding claim 4, Kinoshita as modified further discloses wherein the first tube comprises shoulder (as taught above by French, see the enlarged portion at 230 and/or 220 for the tube 24 in fig. 16), the shoulder operatively arranged to engage the retaining ring to removably connect the connector body to the first tube (as taught above by French, see the engagement with the retaining ring and shoulder in fig. 18).
Regarding claim 5, Kinoshita as modified further discloses wherein the filter is axially arranged between an end of the first tube and a surface of the connector body (the filter as taught above by Velez, which will be between the end of the tube and a surface of the connector body (such as a surface at the second end)).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinoshita in view of Clapper et al. (U.S. 11,035,505) and Velez.
Kinoshita discloses a variable refrigerant flow assembly, comprising: a housing (30) including a first wall (the right wall in fig. 4), the first wall comprising a first hole (a hole for 13 or 8); a piping network (including, for instance, 15, 9, 10, 11, 12, 27, 28, etc.) arranged in the housing, the piping network including at least one valve (11) and at least one manifold (27, 28); a first tube (13 or 8) connected to the manifold and extending through the first hole (fig. 4).
While Kinoshita appears to disclose what appears to be connector bodies for each tube in figures 4-6 (see in particular figure 4 at the rightmost end of 13 and 8), Kinoshita is silent as to a connector body that is removably connectable to the first tube, including: a first end arranged to engage the first tube; a second end; a first through-bore extending from the first end to the second end; a first radially inward facing surface; and a first radially outward facing surface; and a filter removably arranged in the connector body.
Clapper teaches it was known in the art to have a connector (43) that is removably connectable to a first tube (such as 33 or 35) and a second tube (the other of 33 or 35), including: a first end arranged to engage the first tube (such as the left end in fig. 1); a second end (such as the right end in fig. 1); a first through-bore extending from the first end to the second end (fig. 1, along 37); a first radially inward facing surface (the radially inward facing surface that defines the through-bore); and a first radially outward facing surface (the radially outward facing surface in fig. 1). The connector is coupled to the tube via a retainer (45, 47, 48) with first and second sections (45 and 47) having first and second flanges (82 for both 45 and 47) that engage a groove of the connector body (groove 82) and a shoulder of a second tube (defined as the enlarged portion between groove 39 and the groove 76 of the second tube which is the other of 33 and 35), the two sections pivotally connected together (via hinge 48).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kinoshita by having a/the connector body that is removable and couples to the tubing and having a through bore, first and second ends, and radially inward and outward facing surfaces with the connector coupled to the tube via a retainer with first and second sections having first and second flanges that engage a groove of the connector body and a shoulder of a second tube with the two sections being pivotally connected as taught by Clapper as Kinoshita is silent as to the details of any connector body present and the tubing and the connector body with the connector coupled to the tube via a retainer with first and second sections having first and second flanges that engage a groove of the connector body and a shoulder of a second tube with the two sections being pivotally connected of Clapper allows for a user to easily and removably secure connections to other tubes and also the tube(s) of Kinoshita by being able to selectively couple the conduits together with a clamping means.
Velez teaches it was known in the art to have a connector body (including 22, 32, 34, 42) and a filter (47, see col. 2, ll. 15-16) removably arranged in the connector body (in chamber 60 of the connector body 22, see col. 2, ll. 15-16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kinoshita by a filter removably arranged in the connector body as taught by Velez as having a filter for the refrigerant flow lines (the examiner notes Kinoshita is for a refrigerant application (see e.g., the title, abstract) and Velez is a connection assembly for a refrigerant tube connector (see e.g., the title, abstract)) allows for the removable of potential damaging debris.
Regarding claim 2, Kinoshita as modified further discloses a second tube (the other of 13 or 8) connected to the manifold (figs. 3-6, at least fluidly connected), the second tube extending through a second hole in the first wall (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Kinoshita as modified further discloses a second tube (as taught above by Clapper, the other of 33 or 35) removably connectable to the second end of the connector body (figs. 1-2, via a retainer 45, 47, 48).
Regarding claim 8, Kinoshita as modified further discloses wherein: the second tube (as taught by Clapper, the other of 33 and 35) comprises a shoulder (as taught by Clapper, the shoulder defined between the grooves 39 and 76) operatively arranged to engage the second end (fig. 1 of Clapper); and the connector body further comprises a groove (the groove at 81 of Clapper).
Regarding claim 9, Kinoshita as modified further discloses a retainer (as taught by Clapper, the retainer at 45, 47, 48) including: a first flange (82 as taught by Clapper) arranged to engage the groove (the groove at 81 of Clapper) to secure the retainer to the connector body (fig. 1); and a second flange arranged to engage the shoulder to secure the second tube to the connector body (as taught by Clapper, the flange 51 that engages the end wall of the shoulder at 51 in fig. 1 that delimits the groove 39).
Regarding claim 10, Kinoshita as modified further discloses wherein the retainer comprises a first section and a second section pivotally connected to the first section (as taught above by Clapper, having first and second sections 45 and 47 pivotally connected at hinge 48).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11, as best understood, would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 11, as best understood, the closest prior art of record to Clapper above has a first groove in a tube (the groove at 39) with a retainer arranged in the first groove (the retainer portion 51), but the first radially inward facing surface of the connector body is not seen to have a second groove with the retainer operatively arranged to engage the second groove to secure the tube in the connector body.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ikari et al. (U.S. 2022/0205693) discloses a refrigerant flow path switching device with a housing and piping network and valves.
/MICHAEL R REID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753