CTNF 18/787,272 CTNF 79799 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-10, 12, 13 and 15-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Renken et al. U.S. PGPub 2004/0225462 (hereinafter “Renken”) . Regarding claims 1, 20 and 21, Renken discloses a process condition measurement device comprising: a substrate assembly comprising: a bottom substrate (e.g. Fig. 10D, #1002), wherein the bottom substrate defines a cavity (e.g. ¶120-123; Fig. 10D); a spacer, wherein the spacer is disposed above and adhered to the bottom substrate, wherein the spacer defines a through hole, wherein the through hole is disposed above and aligned with the cavity (e.g. ¶120-123; Fig. 10D); and a cover, wherein the cover is disposed above and adhered to the spacer (e.g. ¶120-123; Fig. 10D); and a component, wherein the component is coupled to the bottom substrate in the cavity, wherein the component is partially embedded within the cavity, wherein the component extends between the cavity and the through hole, wherein the component is disposed within the through hole, wherein the cover is disposed above the component (e.g. ¶120-123; Fig. 10D). Regarding claim 2, Renken discloses the process condition measurement device of claim 1, wherein at least one of the bottom substrate, the spacer, or the cover comprise one of silicon, glass, aluminum oxide, silicon carbide, or quartz (e.g. ¶120-123; Fig. 10D). Regarding claim 3, Renken discloses the process condition measurement device of claim 1, wherein the spacer is adhered to the bottom substrate by an adhesive, wherein the adhesive comprises silicone (e.g. ¶81, 85 and 128). Regarding claim 4, Renken discloses the process condition measurement device of claim 1, wherein the cover is adhered to the spacer by an adhesive, wherein the adhesive comprises epoxy (e.g. ¶84). Regarding claim 5, Renken discloses the process condition measurement device of claim 1, wherein the cover and the spacer are directly adhered, wherein the spacer abuts the cover (e.g. ¶120-123; Fig. 10D). Regarding claim 6, Renken discloses the process condition measurement device of claim 5, wherein the cover and the spacer are directly adhered by one of direct silicon-to-silicon bonding, direct bonding through an oxide or hydroxide intermediary (e.g. ¶118), eutectic bonding, or anodic bonding. Regarding claim 7, Renken discloses the process condition measurement device of claim 1, wherein a top surface of the component is disposed above the bottom substrate (e.g. ¶120-123; Fig. 10D). Regarding claim 8, Renken discloses the process condition measurement device of claim 7, wherein the top surface of the component is disposed within the through hole (e.g. ¶120-123; Fig. 10D). Regarding claim 9, Renken discloses the process condition measurement device of claim 7, wherein the cover defines a recess, wherein the recess is aligned with and disposed above the through hole, wherein the top surface of the component is disposed within the recess (e.g. ¶120-123; Fig. 10D). Regarding claim 10, Renken discloses the process condition measurement device of claim 1, wherein the cover is a full cover, wherein the cover extends across the bottom substrate and the spacer (e.g. ¶120-123; Fig. 10D). Regarding claim 12, Renken discloses the process condition measurement device of claim 1, wherein the process condition measurement device comprises a thickness of 6 mm or less (e.g. ¶60). Regarding claim 13, Renken discloses the process condition measurement device of claim 12, wherein the bottom substrate is thicker than the spacer and the cover (e.g. ¶120-123; Fig. 10D). Regarding claim 15, Renken discloses the process condition measurement device of claim 1, wherein the cavity and the through hole conform to the component (e.g. ¶120-123; Fig. 10D). Regarding claim 16, Renken discloses the process condition measurement device of claim 1, comprising one or more conductive traces, wherein the one or more conductive traces are formed on the bottom substrate, wherein the spacer is disposed over and covers the one or more conductive traces, wherein the component is coupled to the one or more conductive traces (e.g. ¶120-123; Fig. 10D). Regarding claim 17, Renken discloses the process condition measurement device of claim 16, wherein the component is coupled to the one or more conductive traces by one or more wire bonds (e.g. ¶120-123; Fig. 10D). Regarding claim 18, Renken discloses the process condition measurement device of claim 16, wherein the process condition measurement device is configured to be received by a front opening unified pod (e.g. ¶11, 132 and 164). Regarding claim 19, Renken discloses the process condition measurement device of claim 16, comprising a controller, a power source, a communication interface, and a sensor, wherein the component is at least one of the controller, the power source, the communication interface, or the sensor (e.g. ¶153-157; Fig. 17) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renken as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Nguyen et al. U.S. Patent 10,720,350 (hereinafter “Nguyen”) . Renken discloses a cover, but does not explicitly disclose a partial cover. Nguyen discloses a partial cover, wherein the cover is smaller than the bottom substrate (e.g. Fig. 1E). At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to alternatively utilize a partial cover. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this since Nguyen discloses this as an effective alternative design. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Renken with Nguyen to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renken as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Jensen et al. U.S. PGPub 2018/0114681 (hereinafter “Jensen”) . Renken discloses a cover, but does not explicitly disclose the cover being thicker than the spacer. Nguyen discloses a cover, wherein the cover is thicker than the spacer (e.g. Fig. 2A-2B). At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to alternatively utilize a thicker cover. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this since Nguyen discloses this as an effective alternative design. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Renken with Jensen to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHARLES R KASENGE whose telephone number is (571)272-3743. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 7:30am to 4pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kenneth Lo can be reached at (571) 272-9774. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. CK June 16, 2026 /CHARLES R KASENGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/787,272 Page 2 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/787,272 Page 3 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/787,272 Page 4 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/787,272 Page 5 Art Unit: 2116 Application/Control Number: 18/787,272 Page 6 Art Unit: 2116