DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the first transistor" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, examiner has interpreted “the first transistor” to read “the transistor”.
By virtue of its dependency on claim 13, claim 14 is also rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 & 19, in response to applicants argument that Kanoun (US 11,099,594 B1) does not disclose wherein the weighted sum is determined according to a first variable resistor between the output node and the first current source, and a second variable resistor coupled between the output node and the second current source, this is not persuasive. it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the first variable resistor and second variable resistor between the recited elements. The claim discloses a coupling) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
However, Kanoun discloses, in figure 5, that the combined PTAT (first current source 510) and CTAT (second current source 520) current components form a reference voltage V.sub.REF (Col. 8 & 9, Lines 67 & 1). The weighted sum V.sub.REF is accordingly determined based on a first variable resistor RSD4, which, by broadest reasonable interpretation, is between and coupled to the output node 540 and the first current source 510 in the right to left direction, and the second variable resistor R3, which, by broadest reasonable interpretation, is between and coupled to the output node 540 and the second current source 520 with a path taken via switch MNG and resistor R2. Further, Kanoun discloses that the reference voltage [i.e., weighted sum] may be changed by adjusting one or more of the plurality of variable resistors including RSD4 and R3 (Col. 11, Lines 24-27). Thus, the weighted sum is determined according to a first variable resistor coupled the output node and the first current source, and a second variable resistor coupled to the output node and the second current source is disclosed, as required by the invention as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 15, & 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Washburn (US 2005/0231270 A1) in view of Kanoun (US 11,099,594 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Washburn discloses, in figure 2 & 6A, a bandgap reference circuit comprising:
a first (48) current source to provide a first current (Para [0032], “PTAT current I.sub.PTAT is applied by current mirroring MOSFET 48 to resistor 66 and a voltage is developed across resistor 66”), the first current source to provide a proportional to absolute temperature (PTAT) voltage via a resistor (Para [0032], “PTAT current I.sub.PTAT is applied by current mirroring MOSFET 48 to resistor 66 and a voltage is developed across resistor 66”);
a second (46) current source to provide a second current (Para [0029], “MOSFET 46…provide substantially equal flows of current…I.sub.2”), the second current source to provide a complementary to the absolute temperature (CTAT) voltage via a transistor (Para [0034], “current generating means 100…is equivalent to a CTAT voltage source V.sub.CTAT”…via transistor 54 coupled to MOSFET 46);
an output node (V.sub.OUT) to provide a bandgap voltage that is a weighted sum of the PTAT voltage and the CTAT voltage (Para [0003], “bandgap voltage reference circuit generates…the two voltages [i.e., PTAT and CTAT voltages]…and summed to produce the temperature-stable reference voltage”), but fails to disclose wherein the weighted sum is determined according to (i) a first variable resistor coupled to the output node and the first current source, and (ii) a second variable resistor coupled to the output node and the second current source.
However, Kanoun discloses, in figure 5, wherein the weighted sum (Col. 8 & 9, Lines 67 & 1, “combined CTAT and PTAT current components into a reference voltage, V.sub.REF”) is determined according to a (i) first variable resistor coupled to the output node and the first current source (RSD4 coupled to output node 540 and first current source 510) and (ii) a second variable resistor coupled to the output node and the second (R3 is coupled to the output node 540 and second current source 520 via R2) current source (Col. 11, Lines 24-27, “bandgap reference circuit 500 includes a plurality of variable resistors (e.g., R2, R3, RSD4, RSD5, RSD6, and RSD7) that can be adjusted (i.e., trimmed) to change (i) a value of the reference voltage [V.sub.REF] or reference current”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the variable resistors of Kanoun in the bandgap reference circuit of Washburn, to achieve the benefit of adjusting the bandgap voltage at a particular temperature and/or a rate of change of the bandgap voltage over a range of temperatures (Kanoun, Col. 11, Lines 26-30).
Regarding claim 2, Washburn in view of Kanoun disclose the bandgap reference circuit of claim 1, and Kanoun continues to disclose, in figure 5, wherein the first variable resistor is coupled between the output node and a first node (variable resistor RSD4 coupled between output node V.sub.REF and a first node), and the second variable resistor is coupled between the output node and a second node (variable resistor R3 coupled between V.sub.REF and a second node).
Regarding claim 3, Washburn in view of Kanoun disclose the bandgap reference circuit of claim 1, and Washburn continues to disclose, in figure 2 & 6A, wherein the transistor comprises a bipolar junction transistor (BJT) device (Para [0026], “transistor 54…configured as PNP transistor”).
Regarding claim 4, Washburn in view of Kanoun disclose the bandgap reference circuit of claim 3, and Kanoun continues to disclose, in figure 5, a switch coupled to an amplifier and the first current source (switch MNG coupled to amplifier A1 and to the first current source 410 producing the PTAT current).
Regarding claim 5, Washburn in view of Kanoun disclose the bandgap reference circuit of claim 4, and Kanoun continues to disclose, in figure 5, wherein the switch is coupled to a third current mirror (switch MNG is coupled to the third current output mirror 550 via R2).
Regarding claim 7, Washburn in view of Kanoun discloses the bandgap reference circuit of claim 1, and Washburn continues to disclose, in figure 5, wherein the bandgap voltage is less than 750 millivolts (the bandgap voltage V.sub.OUT is plotted in figure 5 with varying V.sub.DD voltage levels, but does not exceed roughly 637 millivolts).
Regarding claim 8, Washburn in view of Kanoun discloses the bandgap reference circuit of claim 1, and Washburn continues to disclose, in figure 2, wherein the bandgap voltage has a temperature coefficient less than 1000 parts-per-million per degree Celsius (Para [0035], “determines the net temperature coefficient at node N7 [i.e., indicative of the output bandgap voltage]…with a desired value…such as, for example, zero…is obtained”).
Regarding claim 9, Washburn in view of Kanoun disclose the bandgap reference circuit of claim 1, and Washburn continues to disclose, in figure 2 & 6A, wherein the transistor comprises a bipolar junction transistor (BJT) device (Para [0026], “transistor 54…configured as PNP transistor”).
Regarding claim 10, Washburn in view of Kanoun discloses the bandgap reference circuit of claim 1, and Washburn continues to disclose, in figure 2, an amplifier (42) coupled to the first current source and the second current source to provide a bias voltage to the first current source (Para [0024], “op-amp 42 is normally biased”…and thus provides a bias voltage to MOSFET 48 and MOSFET 46 via node N3);
Regarding claim 15, Washburn in view of Kanoun discloses the bandgap reference circuit of claim 1, and Washburn continues to disclose, in figure 2, wherein the first current source and the second current source each comprise at least one metal oxide semiconductor field effect transistor (MOSFET) device (Para [0025], “Metal oxide semiconductor transistors (MOSFETs) 44, 46 and 48”).
Regarding claim 17, Washburn discloses, in figure 2 & 6A, a bandgap reference circuit comprising:
an amplifier to provide a bias voltage (Para [0024], “op-amp 42 is normally biased”…and thus provides a bias voltage to MOSFET 48 and MOSFET 46 via node N3);
a first current source (48) coupled to the amplifier to receive the bias voltage (Para [0024], “op-amp 42 is normally biased”…and thus provides a bias voltage to MOSFET 48 via node N3) and provide a first current (Para [0032], “PTAT current I.sub.PTAT is applied by current mirroring MOSFET 48 to resistor 66 and a voltage is developed across resistor 66”);
a second current source (46) coupled to the amplifier to receive the bias voltage (Para [0024], “op-amp 42 is normally biased”…and thus provides a bias voltage to MOSFET 46 via node N3) and provide a second current (Para [0029], “MOSFET 46…provide substantially equal flows of current…I.sub.2”); and
a pair of resistors coupled in between the first current source and the second current source (resistor 66 and 64 coupled in between each first and second current source, respectively), but fails to disclose the pair of resistors comprising:
a first variable resistor coupled to the first current source;
a second variable resistor coupled to the second current source; and
an output node coupled to (i) the first variable resistor and (ii) the second variable resistor to provide a bandgap voltage that is a weighted sum of a proportional to absolute temperature (PTAT) voltage and a complementary to the absolute temperature (CTAT) voltage.
However, Kanoun discloses, in figure 2, the pair of resistors (Col. 11, Lines 24-27, “bandgap reference circuit 500 includes a plurality of variable resistors (e.g., R2, R3, RSD4, RSD5, RSD6, and RSD7) that can be adjusted (i.e., trimmed) to change (i) a value of the reference voltage [V.sub.REF] or reference current”) comprising:
a first variable resistor (RSD4) coupled to the first current source (RSD4 coupled to the first current source 510 generating PTAT current);
a second variable resistor (R3) coupled to the second current source (R3 coupled to the second current source generating CTAT current via R2); and
an output node coupled to (i) the first variable resistor and (ii) the second variable resistor (V.sub.REF coupled to resistor RSD4 and R3) to provide a bandgap voltage that is a weighted sum of a proportional to absolute temperature (PTAT) voltage and a complementary to the absolute temperature (CTAT) voltage (Col. 8 & 9, Lines 67 & 1, “combined CTAT and PTAT current components into a reference voltage, V.sub.REF”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the variable resistors of Kanoun in the bandgap reference circuit of Washburn, to achieve the benefit of adjusting the bandgap voltage at a particular temperature and/or a rate of change of the bandgap voltage over a range of temperatures (Kanoun, Col. 11, Lines 26-30).
Regarding claim 18, Washburn in view of Kanoun disclose the bandgap reference circuit of claim 17, and Washburn continues to disclose, in figure 2, wherein the first current source comprises:
a first p-type metal-oxide-semiconductor (PMOS) device coupled to the amplifier (Para [0025], “48…configured as p-channel MOSFETs”…and its gate coupled to the amplifier); and
a first resistor (66) coupled to the first PMOS device to receive the bias voltage and provide the PTAT voltage (Para [0032], “PTAT current I.sub.PTAT is applied by current mirroring MOSFET 48 to resistor 66 and a voltage is developed across resistor 66”);
Regarding claim 19, Washburn discloses, in figure 2 & 6A, a method to provide a bandgap reference, the method comprising:
generating a proportional to absolute temperature (PTAT) voltage based on a first current source (Para [0032], “PTAT current I.sub.PTAT is applied by current mirroring MOSFET 48 to resistor 66 and a voltage is developed across resistor 66”);
generating a complementary to the absolute temperature (CTAT) voltage based on a second current source (Para [0034], “current generating means 100…is equivalent to a CTAT voltage source V.sub.CTAT”…via transistor 54 coupled to MOSFET 46); and
providing a bandgap voltage (Para [0003], “bandgap voltage reference circuit”) according to a weighted sum of the PTAT voltage and the CTAT voltage (Para [0003], “CTAT voltage…PTAT voltage…the two voltages are voltage-divided as necessary and summed to produce the temperature-stable reference voltage”), but fails to disclose wherein the weighted sum is determined according to (i) a first variable resistor coupled to the output node and the first current source, and (ii) a second variable resistor coupled to the output node and the second current source.
However, Kanoun discloses, in figure 5, wherein the weighted sum (Col. 8 & 9, Lines 67 & 1, “combined CTAT and PTAT current components into a reference voltage, V.sub.REF”) is determined according to a (i) first variable resistor coupled to the output node and the first current source (RSD4 coupled to output node 540 and first current source 510) and (ii) a second variable resistor coupled to the output node and the second (R3 is coupled to the output node 540 and second current source 520 via R2) current source (Col. 11, Lines 24-27, “bandgap reference circuit 500 includes a plurality of variable resistors (e.g., R2, R3, RSD4, RSD5, RSD6, and RSD7) that can be adjusted (i.e., trimmed) to change (i) a value of the reference voltage [V.sub.REF] or reference current”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the variable resistors of Kanoun in the bandgap reference circuit of Washburn, to achieve the benefit of adjusting the bandgap voltage at a particular temperature and/or a rate of change of the bandgap voltage over a range of temperatures (Kanoun, Col. 11, Lines 26-30).
Regarding claim 20, Washburn in view of Kanoun discloses the method of claim 19, and Washburn continues to disclose, in figure 5, wherein the bandgap voltage is less than 750 millivolts (the bandgap voltage V.sub.OUT is plotted in figure 5 with varying V.sub.DD voltage levels, but does not exceed roughly 637 millivolts).
Claim 11 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Washburn in view of Kanoun as applied to claims 1-5, 7-10, 15, & 17-20 above, and further in view of Georgescu et al. (US 2007/0152740 A1), hereinafter Georgescu.
Regarding claim 11, Washburn in view of Kanoun disclose the bandgap reference circuit of claim 10, but fail to disclose wherein the amplifier is a two-stage operational amplifier.
However, Georgescu discloses, in figure 6, wherein the amplifier is a two-stage operational amplifier (Para [0057], “op amp 440 may be referred to as a 2-stage OTA”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the operational amplifier of Georgescu in the bandgap reference circuit of Washburn and Kanoun, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415‐421, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
Regarding claim 16, Washburn in view of Kanoun disclose the bandgap reference circuit of claim 1, and Kanoun continues to disclose, in figure 5, wherein the first resistor and second resistor are variable resistors (Col. 11, Lines 24-27, “bandgap reference circuit 500 includes a plurality of variable resistors (e.g., R2, R3, RSD4, RSD5, RSD6, and RSD7) that can be adjusted (i.e., trimmed) to change (i) a value of the reference voltage [V.sub.REF] or reference current”), but fails to disclose wherein a ratio of a resistance of the second resistor and a resistance of the first resistor is greater than ten.
However, Georgescu discloses, in figure 6, wherein a ratio of a resistance of the second resistor (Z3) and a resistance of the first resistor (Z5) is greater than ten (Para [0057], “impedance blocks Z1-Z7 may be configured such that: Z1=12R, Z2=48R, Z3=112R, Z4=80R, Z5=7R, Z6=6R, Z7=36R when R=816.3265 .OMEGA.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the resistance ratio of Georgescu in the bandgap reference circuit of Washburn and Kanoun, to achieve the benefit of compensating for voltage offsets in the current mirror portion of the bandgap circuit (Georgescu, Para [0043]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Washburn in view of Kanoun as applied to claims 1-5, 7-10, 15, & 17-20 above, and further in view of Tachibana et al. (US 2008/0001661 A1), hereinafter Tachibana.
Regarding claim 12, Washburn in view of Kanoun disclose the bandgap reference circuit of claim 10, but fail to disclose wherein the amplifier is a three-stage amplifier.
However, Tachibana discloses, in figure 2, wherein the amplifier is a three-stage amplifier (Para [0017], “three amplification stages”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the operational amplifier of Tachibana in the bandgap reference circuit of Washburn and Kanoun, to achieve the benefit of a high speed response and increased stability within the circuit (Tachibana, Para [0020]).
Claims 13-14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Washburn in view of Kanoun, as applied to claims 1-5, 7-10, 15, & 17-20 above, and further in view of Harris (US 6,362,612 B1).
Regarding claim 13, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection made above, Washburn in view of Kanoun discloses the bandgap reference circuit of claim 10, and Washburn continues to disclose, in figure 2, the bandgap reference circuit further comprising:
a second resistor (62) coupled to a first input of the amplifier (resistor 62 is coupled to the non-inverting input of the operational amplifier 42); and
a third transistor (Para [0026], “transistor 52…configured as PNP transistor”) coupled to a second input of the amplifier (transistor 52 is coupled to the inverting input of the operational amplifier 42), but fails to disclose a second transistor coupled to the transistor.
However, Harris discloses, in figure 2, a second transistor (Q.sub.2) coupled to the transistor (Q.sub.2 is coupled to the transistor Q.sub.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the BJT of Harris in the bandgap reference circuit of Washburn, to achieve the benefit of a temperature-stabilized output of the bandgap circuit (Harris, Col. 6, Lines 44-45).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Washburn, Kanoun, and Harris discloses the bandgap reference circuit of claim 13, and Washburn continues to disclose, in figure 2, wherein the transistor and the second transistor each comprise a bipolar junction transistor (BJT) (Para [0026], “transistor 54…configured as PNP transistor”), but fail to disclose wherein an emitter area of the second transistor is at least two times as large as an emitter area of the transistor device.
However, Harris discloses, in figure 2, wherein an emitter area of the second transistor is at least two times as large as an emitter area of the transistor (Col. 6, Lines 57-58, “Q.sub.2 has eight times the emitter area of Q.sub.3”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the larger emitter area of Harris in the second transistor of Washburn and Kanoun, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions [i.e., employing a transistor in the current mirror with increased current handling capability], and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415‐421, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the claim objections set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Eberlein (US 11,029,718 B2) [Figure 4A. Discloses a first supply node; a second supply node; a first transistor coupled to the first supply node, the first transistor is to provide a first current which is complementary to absolute temperature (CTAT); a second transistor coupled to the first supply node, the second transistor is to provide a second current which is proportional to absolute temperature (PTAT); a resistive device coupled in series at a node with the first and second transistors, and coupled to the second supply node, wherein the node is to sum the CTAT and the PTAT currents.]
Eberlein (US 2014/0266139 A1) [Figure 3. Discloses a circuit for generating a temperature-stabilized reference voltage on a semiconductor chip includes a differential amplifier having a first input, a second input and an output. The circuit further includes a CTAT circuit configured to generate a CTAT voltage at an output thereof. A first resistor is coupled between the output of the differential amplifier and the output of the CTAT circuit. Further, the first resistor is connected between the first input and the second input of the differential amplifier.]
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYLER J PERENY/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836