DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information Disclosure Statement (IDS) Form PTO-1449, filed 08/15/2024, 01/10/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosed therein was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 07/29/2024. These drawings are review and accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grobis et al (US 10,355,049 B1 hereinafter “Grobis”) in view of Saenz et al (US 9,576,657 B1 hereinafter “Saenz”).
Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Grobis, for example in Figs. 1-8, discloses a memory device (e.g., Memory Bay; in Figs. 1C-1F related in Figs. 2-8), comprising:
a three-dimensional array of unit cells (e.g., 202; in Fig. 2B related in Figs. 1, 3-8), each respective unit cell in the array (e.g., M414 in array 204; in Figs. 2C1-2C3 related in Figs. 1, 3-8) having a selector (e.g., selector M111-436; in Figs. 2C1-2C3 related in Figs. 1, 3-8) and a memory cell having a phase-change material (e.g., reversible resistance-switching memory elements include a phase change material; in Figs. 2C1-2C3 related in Figs. 1, 3-8). Grobis discloses a selector as found in Figs. 2C1-2C3 related in Figs. 1, 3-8.
However, Grobis is silent with regard to a selector transistor.
In the same field of endeavor, Saenz, for example in Figs. 1-5, discloses the memory cell included the memory element and a selector transistor (e.g., transistor VR1; in Figs. 3A, 3B, 3C related in Figs. 1-2, 4-5).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of Grobis such as methods and apparatus for three-dimensional non-volatile memory (see for example in Figs. 1-8 of Grobis) by incorporating the teaching of Saenz such as memory cells including vertically oriented adjustable resistance structures (see for example in Figs. 1-5 of Saenz), for the purpose of controlling the memory cell that includes a vertically-oriented adjustable resistance structure including a control terminal coupled to a word line, and a reversible resistance-switching element coupled in series with and disposed above or below the vertically-oriented adjustable resistance structure (Saenz disclosed).
Regarding Independent Claim 12, Grobis, for example in Figs. 1-8, discloses an apparatus (see for example in Figs. 2A, 2C1, 2C2, 2C3 related in Figs. 1, 3-8), comprising:
a first local digit line (e.g., LBL11; in Figs. 2A, 2C1, 2C2, 2C3 related in Figs. 1, 3-8) configured to extend in a first direction (e.g., Z direction; in Figs. 2A, 2C1, 2C2, 2C3 related in Figs. 1, 3-8);
a second local digit line (e.g., LBL12; in Figs. 2A, 2C1, 2C2, 2C3 related in Figs. 1, 3-8) configured in parallel with the first local digit line (see for example in Figs. 2A, 2C1, 2C2, 2C3 related in Figs. 1, 3-8);
a plurality of unit cells (e.g., non-volatile memory cells M112-222; in Figs. 2A, 2B, 2C1, 2C2, 2C3 related in Figs. 1, 3-8) stacked in the first direction (see for example in Figs. 2A, 2C1, 2C2, 2C3 related in Figs. 1, 3-8) and sandwiched between
the first local digit line and the second local digit line (see for example in Figs. 2A, 2B, 2C1, 2C2, 2C3 related in Figs. 1, 3-8), each respective unit cell among the plurality of unit cells configured to connect the first local digit line to the second local digit line in a second direction (e.g., X direction; in Figs. 2A, 2B, 2C1, 2C2, 2C3 related in Figs. 1, 3-8) that is perpendicular to the first direction, the respective unit cell having a transistor and a memory cell (e.g., S as selector and R as reversible resistance-switching memory element; in Figs. 2A, 2C1, 2C2, 2C3 related in Figs. 1, 3-8); and
a plurality of wordlines (e.g., WL10-40; in Figs. 2A, 2C1, 2C2, 2C3 related in Figs. 1, 3-8) configured to extend in a third direction (e.g., Y direction; in Figs. 2A, 2C1, 2C2, 2C3 related in Figs. 1, 3-8) that is perpendicular to
the first direction and the second direction, wherein selectors in the plurality of unit cells are connected to the wordlines (see for example in Figs. 2A, 2C1, 2C2, 2C3 related in Figs. 1, 3-8).
However, Grobis is silent with regard to a selector transistor.
In the same field of endeavor, Saenz, for example in Figs. 1-5, discloses the memory cell included the memory element and a selector transistor (e.g., transistor VR1; in Figs. 3A, 3B, 3C related in Figs. 1-2, 4-5).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teaching of Grobis such as methods and apparatus for three-dimensional non-volatile memory (see for example in Figs. 1-8 of Grobis) by incorporating the teaching of Saenz such as memory cells including vertically oriented adjustable resistance structures (see for example in Figs. 1-5 of Saenz), for the purpose of controlling the memory cell that includes a vertically-oriented adjustable resistance structure including a control terminal coupled to a word line, and a reversible resistance-switching element coupled in series with and disposed above or below the vertically-oriented adjustable resistance structure (Saenz disclosed).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-11, 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the prior arts of record fail to teach or suggest a memory device as recited in claim 2, and particularly, wherein the respective unit cell further includes two ionic liquid layers; and the phase-change material is sandwiched between the two ionic liquid layers.
Regarding claim 13, the prior arts of record fail to teach or suggest an apparatus as recited in claim 13, and particularly, wherein the memory cell includes: a first metal layer; a first iconic liquid layer on the first metal layer; a layer of phase-change material on the first iconic liquid layer; a second iconic liquid layer on the layer of phase-change material; and a second metal layer on the second iconic liquid layer.
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art made of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed limitations. Grobis et al (US 10,355,049 B1 hereinafter “Grobis”) and Saenz et al (US 9,576,657 B1 hereinafter “Saenz”), taken individually or in combination, do not teach the claimed invention having the following limitations, in combination with the remaining claimed limitations:
Regarding Independent claim 17, there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation for combination in the prior art to the step of applying, to a plurality of wordlines connected to transistors in the plurality of unit cells, voltages representative of input data to cause a current in the first local digit line to be representative of a sum of the input data multiplied by the weight data; connecting, via a select device stacked on top of the plurality of unit cells, the current in the first local digit line to a global digit line; and determining, via an analog to digit convert connected to the global digit line, the sum from measuring the current as a multiple of a predetermined amount of current, in combination with the other limitations in the claim.
Conclusion
/THA-O H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825 01/02/2026