DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group III (claims 15-20) in the reply filed on 6/8/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Thus, claims 1-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/8/26. Newly added claims 21-26 appears to readable on the elected Group III is acknowledged.
An OA on the merits of claims 15-20 and 21-26 as follows:
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed subject matter as in claim 15 entirely must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Note that ¶ [0105] discloses the tool but no reference or drawing number representing such tool as claimed.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Abstract should have been revised to reflect a tool invention
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 15-17 and 21-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Jeong (US 20210125813).
Jeong discloses the claimed semiconductor manufacturing tool comprising:
an electrostatic chuck (ESC) 101 (see Fig. 1);
a first electrode electrically coupled to the electrostatic chuck (see discussion at the end section of ¶ [0019] for the voltage terminal which disposed through the ESC 101 representing the claimed first electrode, respectively); and
an edge ring 102 extending over the electrostatic chuck, wherein the edge ring comprises a coil embedded in a dielectric material (see Fig. 1, and discussed in ¶ [0019]).
Limitations of claims 16-18 are also met by Jeong (in light of discussion in ¶ [0019] see bottom section).
As applied to claims 21-26 (see similar discussion as claims 15-18 above) with the exception of where “the coil extending over the ESC” (see Fig. 1 of the Jeong which discloses the configuration as set forth in claim 21) includes the coil 102 extending over the ESC (see Fig. 1, depicts that coil 102 being extended over the ESC 101, respectively).
In an Alternatively, Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Jeong in view of Chuang et al.
If it is argued that the Jeong does not teach a first electrode electrically coupled to the electrostatic chuck (ESC). Then refer to the Chuang (see Fig. 2, depicts an electrode 52 as first electrode electrically coupled to the ELS 64, respectively). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to employ the Chuang’s teaching as noted above onto the invention of Jeong in order to form a device tool having the above configurations, facilitate operation would improve. The motivation for the combination can be obtained from either reference since both is in same endeavor field invention.
Limitations of claims 16-18 are also met by the modified of Jeong / Chuang et al (see discussion above).
As applied to claim 19, refer to Fig. 2 of the Chuang et al which discloses “wherein a portion of the first electrode 52 is located within an edge portion of ECS 64 and further refer to Fig. 1 of the Jeong for the arranging of wherein the coil 102 is located over the portion of the first electrode or voltage terminal as discussed in ¶ [0019], bottom section)”, respectively. It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to employ the Chuang’s teaching as noted above onto the invention of Jeong in order to form a device tool having the above configurations by utilizing the known and available semiconductor tool. No inventive effort would have been required to make a combined apparatus. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had the necessary technological capabilities to have incorporated the arranging electrode from Chuang into the tooling of Jeong without major modification.
Claim 20 does not further limit the claimed tool since it is directed to a material entity of the dielectric material. The subject-matter of claim 20 is therefore not inventive when departing from Jeong/Chuang. The skilled person would incorporate such material from a host of available materials without exercising any inventive skills.
Conclusion
/MINH N TRINH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729 mt