DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6-8 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the bottom contact" in ln. 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is assumed that this phrase should read as “a bottom contact,” and is interpreted as such. Claims 7-8 are rejected as inheriting these deficiencies by virtue of their dependence on claim 6.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the bottom metal bonding structure" in ln. 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is assumed that this phrase should read as “a bottom metal bonding structure,” and is interpreted as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9-11, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. No. US 10700239 B1 to Chen et al. (hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a micro light emitting diode (LED) structure (figs. 1A-1C), comprising:
a mesa structure (structure of figs. 1A-1C), comprising:
a first semiconductor layer (110; fig. 1A) (col. 3 ln. 10-15) having a first conductive type (p-type) (col. 3 ln. 10-15);
a light emitting layer (active layer 130; fig. 1A) (col. 3 ln. 25-30) formed on (in physical contact) the first semiconductor layer (110); and
a second semiconductor layer (120; fig. 1A) (col. 3 ln. 10-15) formed on (in physical contact) the light emitting layer (130), the second semiconductor layer (120) having a second conductive type (n-type) (col. 3 ln. 10-15) different (col. 3 ln. 10-15) from the first conductive type (p-type);
wherein, the first semiconductor layer (110) comprises:
a semiconductor region (low resistance portion LP; fig. 1A) (col. 3 ln. 35-40); and
an ion implantation region (high resistance portion HP; fig. 1A) (col. 3 ln. 35-40) formed around the semiconductor region (LP).
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches the micro-LED structure according to claim 1, wherein the first conductive type is P type (col. 3 ln. 10-15) and the second conductive type is N type (col. 3 ln. 10-15).
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches the micro-LED structure according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the semiconductor region (LP) is greater than or equal to a thickness of the ion implantation region (HP), a diameter of the semiconductor region (LP) is greater than or equal to a diameter of the bottom contact (bottom surface of 110 in the inverted view), and a diameter of the ion implantation region (HP) is greater than the diameter of the semiconductor region (LP; see figs 1B and 1C).
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches the micro-LED structure according to claim 1, wherein the ion implantation region (HP) comprises at least one type of implanted ions (col. 3 ln. 45-55).
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches the micro-LED structure according to claim 9, wherein the implanted ions are selected from one or more of the following ions: hydrogen, nitrogen, fluorine, oxygen, carbon, argon, phosphorus, boron, silicon (col. 3 ln. 45-55), sulfur, arsenic, chlorine, and metal ions.
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches the micro-LED structure according to claim 10, wherein the metal ions are selected from one or more of zinc, copper, indium, aluminum, nickel, titanium (col. 3 ln. 45-55), magnesium, chromium, gallium, tin, antimony, tellurium, tungsten, tantalum, germanium, molybdenum, and platinum.
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches the micro-LED structure according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the light emitting layer (130) is less than a thickness of the first semiconductor layer (110).
Regarding claim 20, Chen teaches the micro-LED structure according to claim 1, wherein the ion implantation region (HP) having a resistance higher (col. 3 ln. 35-45) than a resistance of the semiconductor region (LP).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen.
Regarding claim 7, Chen, teaches the micro LED structure according to claim 6, wherein the diameter of the semiconductor region (LP) is less than or equal (fig. 1B) to three times of the diameter of the bottom contact (140);
Regarding claim 7, Chen, in the embodiment of fig. 1B, does not teach wherein the diameter of the ion implantation region is greater than two times of the diameter of the semiconductor region.
Chen, however, in the embodiment of fig. 4B, teaches wherein the diameter of the ion implantation region (HP) is greater than two times of the diameter of the semiconductor region (LP).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the structure of Chen, fig. 1B, to satisfy the diameter requirements of claim 7 to allow for undoped parts of LP to remain in the structure as taught by Chen (col. 6 ln. 1-35).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. US 20230132210 A1 to Do (hereinafter “Do”).
Regarding claim 12, Chen does not teach the micro LED structure according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first semiconductor layer is greater than a thickness of the second semiconductor layer.
Do, however, teaches thicknesses of semiconductor layers as they relate to each other in a micro-LED [0274].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the LED of Chen to comprise layers of the required thickness relationship of Chen to manage the movement distance of holes injected into the layers as taught by Do [0274]. To reach the exact relationship of claim 12, the person of ordinary skill in the art has what they need to reach the above through routine experimentation. M.P.E.P. 2144.05 II A.
Regarding claim 13, Chen in view of Do does not explicitly teach the micro LED structure according to claim 12, wherein, the thickness of the first semiconductor layer ranges from 700 nm to 2 μm and the thickness of the second type semiconductor layer ranges from 100 nm to 200 nm.
Do, however, teaches thicknesses of semiconductor layers as they relate to each other in a micro-LED [0274].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the LED of Chen to comprise layers of the required thickness relationship of Chen to manage the movement distance of holes injected into the layers as taught by Do [0274]. To reach the exact relationship of claim 12, the person of ordinary skill in the art has what they need to reach the above through routine experimentation. M.P.E.P. 2144.05 II A.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. US 20190164945 A1 to Chae et al. (hereinafter “Chae”).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches the micro-LED structure according to claim 1, further comprising: a top contact (portion of 150 in contact with 120; fig. 1A) formed on a top surface (vertically top in fig. 1A, when viewed inverted) of the second semiconductor layer (120); and a bottom contact (portion of 140 in contact with 110; fig. 1A) formed on a bottom surface (bottom when fig. 1A is viewed inverted) of the first semiconductor layer (110), the bottom contact (portion of 140) contacting the semiconductor region (LP).
Chen does not teach that the bottom contact has the first conductive type (to match 110) and the top contact (portion of 150) having the second conductive type (matching 120)
Chae, however, teaches that the bottom contact (p-type contact electrode 227; fig. 27A) [0487] has the first conductive type (p-type) and the top contact (n-type contact electrode; fig. 27A) [0487] having the second conductive type (n-type).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the inventio to modify the structure of Chen to comprise contacts of the conductivity types as required in claim 3 to initiate ohmic contact with an electrode as taught by Chae [0487].
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches the micro LED structure according to claim 3, wherein a center of the bottom contact (bottom of 110 in inverted view), a center of the top contact (portion of 150), and a center of the semiconductor region (LP) are aligned along a same axis perpendicular to the top surface of the second semiconductor layer (120), and wherein a diameter of the ion implantation region (HP) is greater than or equal to a diameter of the top contact (portion of 150, fig. 1A showing these diameters to be equal).
Regarding claim 5, Chen teaches the micro-LED structure according to claim 3, further comprising a top conductive layer (electrode 150; fig. 1A) (col. 4 ln. 10-20), formed on the second semiconductor layer (120) and the top contact (portion of 150).
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of “High-quality p–n junctions with quaternary AlInGaN/InGaN quantum wells“ to Chitnis et al. (hereinafter “Chitnis”).
Regarding claim 15, Chen does not teach the micro-LED structure according to claim 1, wherein the light emitting layer (130) is formed by a quantum well layer located between the first semiconductor layer (p-GaN layer) (p. 3800 col. right para. 1) and the second semiconductor layer (n+-GaN layer) (p. 3800 col. right para. 1).
Chitnis, however, teaches a light emitting layer (quantum well) (p. 3800 col. right para. 1) the use of a quantum well layer (p. 3800 col. right para. 1) between the first semiconductor layer (p-GaN layer) (p. 3800 col. right para. 1) and the second semiconductor layer (n+-GaN layer) (p. 3800 col. right para. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to form the active layer to particularly comprise a quantum well meeting the limitations of claim 15 to increase the quality of the heterojunction in the pn diode as taught by Chitnis (p. 3802 col. right para. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Chen in view of Chitnis does not teach, as presently modified, the micro-LED structure according to claim 15, wherein a thickness of the quantum well layer is less than or equal to 30 nm.
Chitnis, however, teaches a light emitting layer (quantum well) (p. 3800 col. right para. 1) comprising a quantum well layer (p. 3800 col. right para. 1) wherein a thickness of the quantum well layer is less than or equal to 30 nm (25 Å or 2.5 nm) (p. 3800 col. right para. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to form the active layer to particularly comprise a quantum well meeting the limitations of claim 15 to increase the quality of the heterojunction in the pn diode as taught by Chitnis (p. 3802 col. right para. 2).
Regarding claim 17, Chen in view of Chitnis teaches the micro-LED structure according to claim 15, wherein the quantum well layer comprises three or less than three pairs of quantum wells (this interpretation includes one quantum well) (Chitnis p. 3800 col. right para. 1).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. US 20170373228 A1 to Chang et al. (hereinafter “Chang”).
Regarding claim 18, Chen does not teach the micro-LED structure according to claim 1, further comprising a first reflective mirror formed on the bottom surface of the first semiconductor layer.
Chang, however, teaches a micro-LED structure (fig. 3A) comprising first reflective mirror (134; fig. 3A) [0043] formed on the bottom surface of the first semiconductor layer (layer 124; fig. 3A) [0042].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the micro-LED structure of Chen to comprise a reflective mirror on the bottom surface of the first semiconductor layer to reflect emitted light within a designed viewing angle as taught by Chang [0053].
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. US 20190214537 A1 to Ahn et al. (hereinafter “Ahn”).
Regarding claim 21, Chen teaches a micro display panel, comprising: a micro light emitting diode (LED) array, comprising: a first micro-LED structure according to claim 1, the first micro-LED structure comprising a first mesa structure (structure of figs. 1A-1C);
Chen does not teach an integrated circuit (IC) back plane formed under the first micro-LED structure, wherein the first micro-LED structure is electrically coupled to IC back plane.
Ahn, however, teaches a micro light emitting diode array (fig. 4) comprising an integrated circuit (IC) back plane (circuit board 300; fig. 4) [0052] formed under the first micro-LED structure (structure of 100 including elements 107, 104, 103, and 102; fig. 4) wherein the first micro-LED structure is electrically coupled to IC back plane (300).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the panel of Chen to comprise a backside circuit structure according to claim 21 to form integrated structure with driving means and the LEDs as taught by Ahn [0083].
Claim 24 and 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Ahn as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. US 20210125972 A1 to Jang et al. (hereinafter “Jang”).
Regarding claim 24, Chen in view of Ahn does not teach the micro display panel according to claim 21, further comprising: a second micro LED structure according to claim 1, the second micro LED structure comprising a second mesa structure; and a dielectric layer, wherein the second mesa structure is located adjacent to the first mesa structure, and wherein the dielectric layer is not conductive and is formed between the first and second mesa structures.
Jang, however, teaches a second micro LED structure (100; fig. 15) [0059] according to claim 1, the second micro LED structure (100) comprising a second mesa structure (platform structure; fig. 15); and a dielectric layer (91; fig. 15) [0125], wherein the second mesa structure (platform) is located adjacent to the first mesa structure (platform of other device 100), and wherein the dielectric layer (91) is not conductive (alumina) and is formed between the first and second mesa structures.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the inventio to modify the LED of Chen to comprise a second LED and dielectric layer meeting the requirements of claim 24 to prevent light from being emitted laterally, improving uniformity as taught by Jang [0125].
Regarding claim 25, Chen in view of Ahn and Jang teaches the micro display panel according to claim 24, wherein material of the dielectric layer (91 of Jang) is at least one of SiO2, Si3N4, Al2O3 (alumina) [0126], AlN, HfO2, TiO2 and ZrO2.
Claims 26-27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Ahn and Jang as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. US 20220099985 A1 to Li et al. (hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 26, Chen in view of Ahn and Jang do not teach the micro display panel according to claim 24, further comprising a reflective structure formed in the dielectric layer and between the first and second mesa structures, wherein the reflective structure does not contact the mesa structures.
Li, however, teaches a reflective structure (reflective coating in 111 and 112 ; fig. 1A and 4) [0268]-[0271] formed in the dielectric layer (the reflective coating comprising a dielectric) [0268] and between the first and second mesa structures (420 and 430 comprising mesas; fig. 4), wherein the reflective structure (reflective coating) does not contact the mesa structures.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the structure of Chen in view of Jang to comprise a coating according to claim 26 to increase reflectance as taught by Li [0268].
Regarding claim 27, Chen in view of Ahn, Jang, and Li teaches the micro display panel according to claim 26, wherein the reflective structure (of Li) has: a top surface (vertically top) aligned with top surfaces (vertically top) of the first and second mesa structures (fig. 14 of Li); and a bottom surface (vertically bottom) aligned with bottom surfaces (vertically bottom) of the first and second mesa structures (see fig. 14 of Li).
Claims 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Ahn as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Chae.
Regarding claim 22, Chen in view of Ahn and Jang do not teach the micro display panel according to claim 21, wherein the micro LED structure further comprising: a bottom contact formed on a bottom surface of the first mesa structure, and a bottom metal bonding structure coupled with a bottom surface of the bottom contact, wherein a center of the bottom metal bonding structure and a center of the bottom contact are aligned along a same axis perpendicular to the bottom surface of the bottom contact
Chae, however, teaches a bottom contact (227’) formed on a bottom surface of the first mesa structure, and a bottom metal bonding structure (227; fig. 27A) coupled with a bottom surface of the bottom contact, wherein a center of the bottom metal bonding structure and a center of the bottom contact are aligned along a same axis perpendicular to the bottom surface of the bottom contact (see fig. 27A).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the LED of Chen in view of Ahn and Jang to form a bottom contact and bonding structure to initiate Ohmic contact as taught by Chae [0487].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 19 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Each of the claims indicated above are allowable because no references are found which would reasonably read on the claim limitations. It is noted that special consideration is taken to consider the scope of the claims in these determinations.
Conclusion
/ETHAN EDWARD CUTLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892