DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 6 – 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim.
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses “A display device comprising: a display layer; and a sensor layer located on the display layer in the thickness direction (Figure 1, Paragraph [0029], and Paragraphs [0060] – [0062] (Notice a display device is provided with a display layer 300 and sensor layer 100 located on the display layer 300 in a top to bottom thickness direction.)), “and including a sensing region and a wiring region” (Figure 16 and Paragraph [0140], Lines 6 – 7 (Notice that active area 101 provides a sensing region with a wiring region outside of the sensing region 101.)), “wherein the sensor layer comprises: a plurality of first electrodes located in the sensing region, extending in a first direction and arranged along a second direction crossing the first direction” (Figure 16 (Notice that second sensing cells 132 provide a plurality of first electrodes located in the sensing region, extending in a first ‘Y’ direction, and arranged along a second ‘x’ direction that crosses the first Y direction.)), “a plurality of second electrodes located in the sensing region, extending in the second direction, and arranged along the first direction” (Figure 16 (Notice that the first sensing cells 122 provide a plurality of second electrodes located in the sensing region, extending in the second X direction, and arranged along the first Y direction.)), “a plurality of auxiliary electrodes located in the sensing region, extending in the second direction, arranged along the first direction, and respectively corresponding to the plurality of second electrodes” (Figure 16 (Notice that a plurality of auxiliary electrodes 162 are located in the sensing region, extend in the second X direction, are arranged along the first Y direction and correspond to the plurality of second electrodes 122.)), “first trace lines located in the wiring region and respectively connected to the plurality of first electrodes” (Figure 16 (Notice that first trace lines 144 are located in the wiring region and are connected to the plurality of first electrodes 132.)), “second trace lines located in the wiring region and respectively connected to the plurality of second electrodes” (Figure 16 (Notice that second trace lines 142 are located in the wiring region and are connected to the plurality of second electrodes 122.)), “and at least one third trace line located in the wiring region and connected to the plurality of auxiliary electrodes” (Figure 16 (Notice that at least one third trace line 146 is located in the wiring region and connected to the plurality of auxiliary electrodes 162.)), “and wherein each of the plurality of auxiliary electrodes comprises first patterns and second patterns connecting the first patterns” (Figures 16, 7A, 7B (Notice the each of the plurality of auxiliary electrodes comprise first patterns 162 and second patterns 164 connecting the first patterns.)), “and located at a different layer from the first patterns in the thickness direction” (Figures 16, 7A, 7B (Notice that at least a portion of second patterns 164 is located on a different layer at the top of 110 in the top to bottom thickness direction from another portion of first patterns 162 provided at a layer inside of the bulk of material of 170 in the top to bottom thickness direction.)), “second patterns overlapping with the first patterns in the thickness direction” (Notice that second patterns 164 overlap with the first patterns 162 in a at least a diagonal component of the top to bottom thickness direction.)), “and, wherein an insulating layer is located between the first patterns and the second patterns in the thickness direction” (Figures 16, 7A, 7B (Notice at least a portion of first insulating layer 170 in the top to bottom thickness direction is between first patterns 162 of an electrode 160 and second patterns of another electrode 160.)).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 1). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein: the display layer comprises a display region corresponding to the sensing region” (Figure 1 (Notice that a display region 301 corresponds to the sensing region 101 of sensor layer 100.)), “and a non-display region corresponding to the wiring region” (Figure 1 (Notice that a non-display region 302 corresponds the wiring region found in non-active region 102.)), “the display region comprises light emission regions and non-light emission regions” (Figure 1 (Notice that display region 301 comprises light emission region of pixels ‘P’ and non-light emission regions surrounding pixels P.)), “and the plurality of first electrodes have openings that correspond to the light emission regions” (Figures 1 and 16 (Notice the plurality of first electrodes 132 have openings between 136 and 132 the correspond to light emission regions below.)).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 1). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein each of the plurality of first electrodes has a single body shape” (Figure 16 (Notice that each of first electrodes 132 has a single body shape.)).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 1). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein each of the plurality of second electrodes comprises sensing patterns and bridge patterns connecting the sensing patterns and located at a different layer from the sensing patterns” (Figure 16 and 7A (Notice that each of the plural second electrodes 122 comprises sensing patterns 122 and bridge patterns 124 for connection and located at a different layer.)).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 4). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein the sensing patterns and the first patterns are at a same layer, and wherein the bridge patterns and the second patterns are at a same layer” (Figures 16 and 7A (Notice that the sensing patterns 122 and first patterns 162 are at a same layer 170 and that the bridge patterns 124 and second patterns 164 are at a same layer 170.)).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 4). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein the bridge patterns and the second patterns cross the plurality of first electrodes” (Figures 16 and 7B (Notice that the bridge patterns 124 and second patterns 164 cross the plurality of first electrodes 132 at portions 134 connecting first electrodes 132.)).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 1). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein the at least one third trace line is connected to each of the plurality of auxiliary electrodes” (Figure 16 (Notice that at least one third trace line 146 is connected to each of plurality of auxiliary electrodes 162 via connections in the non-active wiring area.)).
Regarding Claim 9, Kim discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 1). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein that at least one third trace line comprises a plurality of third trace lines” (Figure 16 (Notice that third trace line 146 branches into a plurality of 4 trace lines in X-axis at active area 101.)), “wherein one of the plurality of third trace lines is connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of auxiliary electrodes” (Figure 16 (Notice that one of the 4 traces in the most positive Y-axis direction connect to corresponding auxiliary electrodes 162 in a topmost row (i.e. topmost when Figure 16 is viewed with reference “FIG. 16” reading from left to right).)), “and wherein another one of the plurality of third trace lines is connected to another corresponding one of the plurality of auxiliary electrodes” (Figure 16 (Notice that one of the 4 traces in the next to most positive Y-axis direction connect to corresponding auxiliary electrodes 162 in a next to topmost row (i.e. next to topmost when Figure 16 is viewed with reference “FIG. 16” reading from left to right).)).
Regarding Claim 10, Kim discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 1). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein the plurality of second electrodes and the plurality of auxiliary electrodes are arranged in one-to-one correspondence” (Figure 16 (Notice that the plurality of second electrodes 122 and plurality of third electrodes 162 correspond to each of in a one-to-once manner.)).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim discloses everything claimed as applied above (See Claim 1). In addition, Kim discloses “wherein portions of the second patterns overlap with the first electrodes in the thickness direction” (Figure 7B (Notice that at least portions of second patterns 164 overlap with the first electrodes 132 in a at least a diagonal component of the top to bottom thickness direction.)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 11, in the prior art of record it has been shown to provide for the limitations of Claim 1 from which Claim 11 is dependent. However, it has not been shown in the prior art of record to provide for the limitations of Claim 11 in combination with those of Claim 1.
Response to Applicants Amendments and Arguments
Applicants amendments and arguments filed November 19, 2025 have been fully considered.
First, the Examiner agrees that the amendments to Claim 9 have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection as set forth and made of record in the Office Action mailed March 20, 2025 and continued in the Office Action mailed August 20, 2025.
Second, the Examiner disagrees that - - independent claim 1 has been furth amended to be further distinguishable from the cited portion of Kim - - (REMARKS, Page 6, Lines 2 – 3 (Line reference made my all written lines excluding page headings and blank lines)). The Examiner disagrees because of the reasoning set forth in the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 1 above.
Finally, the Examiner agrees that - - the connection lines 164 (e.g., the alleged second pattern) do no appear to be connected to the electrode portion 162 via contact holes defined in the insulating layer - - (REMARKS, Page 7, Lines 3 – 5 (Line reference made my all written lines excluding page headings and blank lines)).
Conclusion
/BRIAN M BUTCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627 December 19, 2025