Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.02, 502.03.
DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 07/30/2024 has been fully considered and is attached hereto.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because reference sign “63 a” has been used in drawings (Fig 5), however specification does not mention it. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “63 a” has been used in drawings (Fig 5), however specification does not mention it.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6 is objected to because of the following lack of intelligible content informalities:
● In Claim 1, Line 21, “a coil a part of which ” should be changed to read - - a coil, a part of which - -.
● In Claim 6, Lines 5 and 12, “the lid are aligned are aligned ” should be changed to read - - the lid are aligned - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Toshiaki (JP2023053944) in view of Kitami et al (US 2015/0279550).
For the purpose of citation, Examiner used machine translation of JP2023053944, said translation has been provided herewith to the Applicant.
Regarding Claim 1, Toshiaki (In Figs 1-3) discloses a power conversion apparatus (100), comprising:
a boost converter (20) for boosting direct current power input from a direct current power supply (100), (Fig 1);
an inverter (10) for converting the direct current power boosted by the boost converter into alternate current power, and supplying the alternate current power to a load (210), (Fig 1);
a direct current/direct current converter (30) for transforming the direct current power input from the direct current power supply; and
a base (50) on which the boost converter (20), the inverter (10), and the direct current/direct current converter (30) are arranged, (Fig 2), wherein the base (50) includes
a cooler main part (52) including a cooling flow path (51) formed in the cooler main part (52), and formed of a metal (¶ 41, II. 3-4), and
a lid (53) arranged to cover the cooling flow path (51) of the cooler main part (50), and formed of a metal (¶ 51, II. 1-4), the boost converter (20), includes a reactor (22), however Toshiaki does not disclose wherein the boost converter includes a reactor formed of a resin to include a coil a part of which is exposed by resin molding, and the reactor is arranged to bring the exposed coil part, which is exposed from the resin, of the coil in contact with a contact part of the lid to be in contact with the reactor.
Instead, Kitami (In Fig 6) teaches wherein the boost converter (voltage converter, ¶ 28, II. 3-6) includes a reactor (2) formed of a resin (4, ¶ 29, II. 1-3) to include a coil (3) a part (3a) of which is exposed by resin molding (4), and the reactor (2) is arranged to bring the exposed coil part (3a), which is exposed from the resin (4), of the coil (3) in contact with a contact part (portion of 90 in direct contact with 3a) of the lid (90) to be in contact with the reactor (2), (Fig 6).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Toshiaki with Kitami with the boost converter including a reactor formed of a resin to include a coil a part of which being exposed by resin molding, and the reactor being arranged to bring the exposed coil part, which is being exposed from the resin, of the coil in contact with a contact part of the lid to be in contact with the reactor to benefit from enhancing the cooling efficiency by uniformly flattening a lateral face of the coil and ensuring good contact between the coil and the cooler (Kitami, ¶ 9, II. 1-6).
Regarding Claim 2, Toshiaki in view of Kitami discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Toshiaki as modified does not disclose wherein the exposed coil part has a rectangular shape as viewed in a direction in which the reactor and the lid are aligned; and the contact part has a rectangular shape that overlaps the exposed coil part as viewed in the direction in which the reactor and the lid are aligned.
Instead Kitami (In Fig 6) further teaches wherein the exposed coil part has a rectangular shape as viewed in a direction in which the reactor (2) and the lid (90) are aligned (¶ 9, II. 1-6), (Fig 6); and the contact part (portion of 90 in direct contact with 3a) has a rectangular shape that overlaps the exposed coil part (3a) as viewed in the direction in which the reactor (2) and the lid (90) are aligned, (Fig 6).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Toshiaki with Kitami with the exposed coil part having a rectangular shape as viewed in a direction in which the reactor and the lid being aligned; and the contact part has a rectangular shape that overlaps the exposed coil part as viewed in the direction in which the reactor and the lid are aligned to benefit from enhancing the cooling efficiency by uniformly flattening a lateral face of the coil and ensuring good contact between the coil and the cooler (Kitami, ¶ 9, II. 1-6).
wherein the contact part is formed to protrude from the lid toward an exposed coil part side.
Claims 3, 5 and 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Toshiaki in view of Kitami and further in view of Uematsu (JP2011181856).
For the purpose of citation, Examiner used machine translation of JP2011181856 said translation has been provided herewith to the Applicant.
Regarding Claim 3, Toshiaki in view of Kitami discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Toshiaki as modified does not disclose wherein the contact part is formed to protrude from the lid toward an exposed coil part side.
Instead Uematsu (In Fig 2) teaches wherein the contact part (15) is formed to protrude from the lid (14) toward an exposed coil part side (side of 13 exposed to 15a) (Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Toshiaki with Kitami and further with Uematsu with the contact part being formed to protrude from the lid toward an exposed coil part side to benefit from dissipating heat generated in the cores to cooling water flowing through the refrigerant channel (Uematsu, ¶ 9, II. 1-6).
Regarding Claim 5, Toshiaki in view of Kitami discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Toshiaki as modified does not disclose wherein the exposed coil part has a convex shape that protrudes toward a lid side; and the contact part is arranged at a position corresponding to the convex shape of the exposed coil part, and has a concave shape that is recessed toward the lid side.
Instead, Uematsu (In Fig 2) teaches wherein the exposed coil part (part of 13 exposed to 15a) has a convex shape that protrudes toward a lid side (14), (Fig 2); and the contact part (15) is arranged at a position corresponding to the convex shape of the exposed coil part (part of 13 exposed to 15a), and has a concave shape that is recessed (15a) toward the lid (14) side, (Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Toshiaki with Kitami and further with Uematsu with the exposed coil part having a convex shape that protrudes toward a lid side; and the contact part being arranged at a position corresponding to the convex shape of the exposed coil part, and having a concave shape that is recessed toward the lid side to benefit from dissipating heat generated in the cores to cooling water flowing through the refrigerant channel (Uematsu, ¶ 9, II. 1-6).
Regarding Claim 7, Toshiaki in view of Kitami discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Toshiaki as modified does not disclose wherein a cooling fin protruding into the cooling flow path is formed at a position of a surface of the lid on a cooling flow path side corresponding to the contact part.
Instead, Uematsu (In Fig 2) teaches wherein a cooling fin (fins within 14A) protruding into the cooling flow path (14A) is formed at a position of a surface of the lid (14) on a cooling flow path side (side of 14 with fins) corresponding to the contact part (15), (Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Toshiaki with Kitami and further with Uematsu with a cooling fin protruding into the cooling flow path being formed at a position of a surface of the lid on a cooling flow path side corresponding to the contact part to benefit from dissipating heat generated in the cores to cooling water flowing through the refrigerant channel (Uematsu, ¶ 9, II. 1-6).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Toshiaki in view of Kitami and further in view of Miyamoto (US 9,449,751).
Regarding Claim 6, Toshiaki in view of Kitami discloses the limitations of Claim 2, however Toshiaki as modified does not disclose wherein two exposed coil parts each of which has an elongated rectangular shape as viewed in the direction in which the reactor and the lid are aligned are aligned with each other in an extension direction of a shorter side of the elongated rectangular shape as the exposed coil part; and two contact parts each of which has an elongated rectangular shape that overlaps corresponding one of the two exposed coil parts as viewed in the direction in which the reactor and the lid are aligned are aligned with each other in the extension direction of the shorter side of the elongated rectangular shape as the contact part.
Instead, Miyamoto (In Figs 2-6) teaches wherein two exposed coil parts (parts off 12a/12b exposed to 42/43) each of which has an elongated rectangular shape as viewed in the direction in which the reactor (10) and the lid (40) are aligned are aligned with each other in an extension direction of a shorter side of the elongated rectangular shape as the exposed coil part (part pf 12a/12b exposed to 42/43); and two contact parts (42/42) each of which has an elongated rectangular shape that overlaps corresponding one of the two exposed coil parts (parts of 12a/12b exposed to 42/43)as viewed in the direction in which the reactor (10) and the lid (40) are aligned are aligned with each other in the extension direction of the shorter side of the elongated rectangular shape as the contact part (42).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Toshiaki with Kitami and further with Miyamoto with two exposed coil parts each of which having an elongated rectangular shape as viewed in the direction in which the reactor and the lid being aligned with each other in an extension direction of a shorter side of the elongated rectangular shape as the exposed coil part; and two contact parts each of which having an elongated rectangular shape that overlaps corresponding one of the two exposed coil parts as viewed in the direction in which the reactor and the lid are aligned with each other in the extension direction of the shorter side of the elongated rectangular shape as the contact part to benefit from increasing the cooling performance of the coil by to increase heat transfer effect (Miyamoto, Col 7, II. 60-64).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to Claim 4, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent Claim 4 and at least in part because Claim 4 recites, “the contact part has a protrusion height that forms a gap between a part of a surface of the reactor on the exposed coil part side other than the exposed coil part and the lid, with the contact part being in contact with the exposed coil part”.
The aforementioned limitation in combination with all remaining limitations of Claim 4 are believed to render said Claim 4 patentable over the art of record.
The closest art of record is believed to be that of Uematsu (JP2011181856 – hereafter “Uematsu”).
While Uematsu Fig 2 teaches the limitations of Claim 4, however neither Uematsu nor any other art of record, either alone or in a combination, teach or suggest above-mentioned limitations of Claim 4.
Any comment considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submission should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Power Converter and Coil Unit WO2024/202187, Power Conversion System and Assembling Method US 2019/0348907, Power Conversion Apparatus US 2024/0314985, Rack with Integrated Rear-Door Heat Exchange US 8,730,001. Other pertinent art made of record are on form PTO-892 notice of reference cited.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AMIR JALALI whose telephone number is (303)297-4308. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5:00pm, Mountain Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jayprakash Gandhi can be reached on 571-272-3740. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AMIR A JALALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841