DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7, 8, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh et al. (US 2025/0282541 – hereinafter, “Hsieh”) in view of Tian et al. (US 10,568,236 – hereinafter, “Tian”) and further in view of Tung et al. (US 11,262,135 – hereinafter, “Tung”)
With respect to claim 1, Hsieh teaches (In Fig 1) a passive liquid recycle device (1), adapted to be in communication with a two-phase immersion cooling device (¶ 0016, “In this embodiment, the deformable container 12 may be connected to an airtight base 16 through a quick release connector 14, and the airtight base 16 may be connected to a cooling tank of an immersion cooling system (not shown) through a tube (not shown). In general, the cooling tank may store a cooling liquid (e.g. dielectric liquid) with a low boiling point. An electronic component (not shown) may be immersed in the cooling liquid”), the passive liquid recycle device comprising: a housing (10); at least one bag (120), accommodated in a volume variable manner in the housing (See Fig 1), the bag being capable of passively receiving a gaseous coolant from the two-phase immersion cooling device and accordingly expanding, and contracting after the gaseous coolant condenses into a liquid coolant and returns to the two-phase immersion cooling device (¶ 0016, “The cooling liquid evaporates and changes into gas after absorbing the heat generated by the electronic component. The deformable container 12 is used to temporarily store the gas of the cooling liquid and control the pressure.”, ¶ 0026, “In this embodiment, a bottom 1206 of the bag body 120 may be inclined with respect to the first tube portion 1220 of the first connecting member 122 to help recover the liquid condensed from the gas of the cooling liquid.”), and a communication pipe group, having an outer pipe (“tube” ¶ 0016, “and the airtight base 16 may be connected to a cooling tank of an immersion cooling system (not shown) through a tube (not shown).”), and a guide pipe (16), the outer pipe (“tube”) being in communication with an interior of a sealed chamber of the two-phase immersion cooling device (¶ 0016, “and the airtight base 16 may be connected to a cooling tank of an immersion cooling system (not shown) through a tube (not shown).”), and the guide pipe (16) being in communication with the outer pipe (“tube”) and an interior of the bag (120) wherein the guide pipe (16) is obliquely disposed (See Fig 1).
Hsieh fails to specifically teach or suggest that the bag is higher than the two-phase immersion cooling device and a position of the guide pipe in communication with the outer pipe is lower than a position of the guide pipe in communication with the bag.
Tian, however, teaches a flexible membrane (20-2) which is higher than a two-phase immersion cooling device (10, see Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tian with that of Hsieh, such that, in Hsieh, the bag is higher than the two-phase immersion cooling device, as taught by Tian, since doing so would locate the passive liquid recycling device of Hsieh to a position relative to the two-phase immersion cooling device that allow for the passive liquid recycling device to be relatively close to the cooling device while also being in the natural flow path of any vapor which would be emitted from the cooling device.
With respect to the limitations which require a position of the guide pipe in communication with the outer pipe is lower than a position of the guide pipe in communication with the bag, Tung teaches (In Fig 2A) a guide pipe (150) which is in communication with a bellows (130) at a first position and in communication with a outer pipe (154) at a second position, the second position being lower than the first position (See Fig 2A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tung with that of Hsieh such that, in Hsieh, the outer pipe is connected to the guide pipe at a bottom of the guide pipe, whereby a position thereof in communication with the outer pipe is lower than a position thereof in communication with the bag, as taught by Tung, since doing so would allow for the condensate from the bag to flow to the cooling device via gravity.
With respect to claim 4, Hsieh further teaches a plurality of bags (120) are provided (¶ 0017, “two deformable containers 12”), and the interiors of the plurality of bags are all in communication with the guide pipe (16 is connected to both bags).
With respect to claim 7, Hsieh further teaches that the housing (10) has therein at least one first hanging portion (100), and the bag (120) has at least one second hanging portion (1300), wherein the second hanging portion is detachably connected to the corresponding first hanging portion (¶ 0025).
With respect to claim 8, Hsieh further teaches that the first hanging portion is disposed on an inner side of a top surface of the housing (See Fig 1, top portion of 10 has 100), and the second hanging portion (1300) is disposed on a top end of the bag (See Fig 1, the top of 120 is connected to 10 via 100).
With respect to claim 10, Hsieh further teaches that the housing (10) has at least one pressure balance opening (Top opening between frame members. This opening allows the pressure to balance between inside the housing and outside the housing and is thus a pressure balance opening).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh in view of Tian in view of Tung and further in view of Tung et al. (US 11,378,344 – hereinafter, “Tung-344”).
With respect to claim 6, Hsieh as modified by Tian and Tung teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above and Hsieh further teaches that the guide pipe (16) is located within the housing.
Hsieh as modified by Tian and Tung fails to specifically teach or suggest that the outer pipe is at least partially located outside the housing.
Tung-344, however, teaches (In Fig 2) an outer pipe (200) located outside of a housing (351)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tung with that of Hsieh such that, in Hsieh, the outer pipe is at least partially located outside of the housing, as taught by Tung-344, since doing so would allow for portions of the outer pipe to be easily accessible.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh in view of Tian in view of Tung and further in view of Maloney et al. (US 2016/0073547 – hereinafter, “Maloney”).
With respect to claim 9, Hsieh as modified by Tian and Tung teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein the housing has a frame base and a plurality of door panels, and the plurality of door panels are openably coupled on different sides of the frame base.
Maloney, however, teaches (In Fig 10) wherein a housing (100) has a frame base and a plurality of door panels (142), and the plurality of door panels are openably coupled on different sides of the frame base.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Maloney with that of Hsieh such that, in Hsieh, the housing has a frame base and a plurality of door panels, and the plurality of door panels are openably coupled on different sides of the frame base, as taught by Maloney, since doing so would provide mechanical protection on two sides of the housing of Hsieh thus providing protection to the one or more bags hanging in the housing.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the Applicant’s remarks to claim 1 regarding the Fujiwara reference (Present remarks pages 6-7) the Examiner agrees and notes the 102(a) rejection to claim 1 in view of Fujiwara has been withdrawn.
With respect to the Applicant’s remarks to claim 1 that, “First, in the Office Action, the allegation that element 16 is obliquely disposed relies solely on a drawing (see FIG. 1 of Hsieh below), without any accompanying textual support. The specification of Hsieh describes element 16 only in paragraphs [0016] and [0017]. Paragraph [0016] describes element 16 solely in terms of its connective function, reciting that "the deformable container 12 may be connected to an airtight base 16 through a quick release connector 14, and the airtight base 16 may be connected to a cooling tank of an immersion cooling system (not shown) through a tube (not shown)." Paragraph [0017] further recites that "two deformable containers 12 may be connected to the frame 10 and the airtight base 16 side by side," indicating that element 16 functions as a shared base connecting multiple deformable containers rather than as a conduit. Neither paragraph [0016] nor paragraph [0017] contains any description of the shape, orientation, or disposition of element 16 itself. The only passage in the specification of Hsieh that describes any oblique structural relationship is paragraph [0026], which recites: "a bottom 1206 of the bag body 120 may be inclined with respect to the first tube portion 1220 of the first connecting member 122 to help recover the liquid condensed from the gas of the cooling liquid." This passage discloses an oblique relationship between the bottom 1206 of the bag body 120 and the first tube portion 1220 of the first connecting member 122 (see, e.g., FIG. 3 of Hsich below), not element 16, the airtight base that the Office Action maps to the claimed "guide pipe". Hsieh contains no textual disclosure that element 16 itself is obliquely disposed, nor that a position of element 16 in communication with the outer pipe (tube) is lower than a position of element 16 in communication with the bag. Accordingly, Hsieh fails to teach or suggest that "the guide pipe is obliquely disposed, and a position thereof in communication with the outer pipe is lower than a position thereof in communication with the bag" as recited in the amended claim 1 of the present application.” (Present remarks pages 9-10) the Examiner respectfully disagrees that Hsieh fails to teach or suggest, “the guide pipe is obliquely disposed”. The Examiner is required to give claim limitations their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification1. Applicant’s written description makes two mentions of the guide pipe being obliquely disposed: ¶ 0014 which recites, “In the passive liquid recycle device of the present invention, the guide pipe can be obliquely disposed, and a position thereof in communication with the outer pipe can be lower than a position thereof in communication with the bag.”; and ¶ 0035 which recites, “Referring to FIG. 1, FIG. 4, and FIG. 5, in an embodiment of the present disclosure, the guide pipe 32 can be obliquely disposed”. Figs 4 and 5 do show the guide pipe (32) disposed at an angle with respect to the bottom angled portions of the bag (2, see Fig A below).
Similarly, Hsieh also teaches the guide pipe (16) which is obliquely disposed relative to a portion of the at least one bag (120, see Fig B below).
Accordingly, Hsieh is believed to properly teach that the guide pipe (16) is obliquely disposed (relative to an angled portion of the at least one bag).
With respect to the Applicant’s additional remarks to claim 1 regarding the Tung reference (Present remarks pages 11-12) the Examiner notes that Tung was/is not relied upon for teaching the guide pipe being obliquely disposed and, accordingly, these remarks are moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY PAPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
1 MPEP 2111