DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5, 11, 14-16, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-2, 7, 10, 15-16, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,084,307. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Claims 1-3, 5, 11, 14-16, and 20 are included and/or can be gleaned from Claims 1-2, 7, 10, 15-16, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,084,307.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engelsmann et al (U.S. Patent No. 3,567,147), hereinafter “Engelsmann”.
With respect to Claim 1, Engelsmann, Figures 1-5, teaches a device, comprising:
a reel 6 configured to rotate;
a guiding block 1,9,12, positioned around the reel 6, configured with an opening 2 at a receiving end between the guiding block 1,9,12, wherein each of the guiding block has an inner surface 12d configured to guide a received material on a path around a surface of the reel 6; and
a set of force application devices 11,14 configured to apply force on the set of guiding blocks 1,9,12 in one or more radially inward directions that are generally towards the reel 6.
Engelsmann teaches all the elements of the device except for a plurality of guiding blocks.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of guiding blocks since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
With respect to Claim 2, Engelsmann further teaches wherein the inner surface 7a of the plurality of guiding blocks are arc shaped.
With respect to Claim 3, Engelsmann is advanced above.
Engelsmann teaches all the elements of the device except for
wherein the plurality of guiding blocks are positioned at different positions from the surface of the reel when the reel is unloaded.
It was advanced above that it is obvious to provide a plurality of guiding blocks.
As such, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice, as determined through routine experimentation and optimization, to design the positioning of the guiding blocks of Engelsmann as specified in Claim 3, because one of ordinary skill would have been expected to have routinely experimented to determine the optimum design for a particular use.
With respect to Claim 6, Engelsmann is advanced above.
Engelsmann teaches all the elements of the device except for
wherein the set of guiding blocks comprises a plurality of guiding blocks positioned at different distances from the surface of the reel absent the received material on the reel.
It was advanced above that it is obvious to provide a plurality of guiding blocks.
As such, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice, as determined through routine experimentation and optimization, to design the positioning of the guiding blocks of Engelsmann as specified in Claim 6, because one of ordinary skill would have been expected to have routinely experimented to determine the optimum design for a particular use.
With respect to Claim 7, Engelsmann, Figures 1-5, teaches a device, comprising:
a reel 6 configured to rotate; and
a guiding block 1,9,12, positioned around the reel 6, configured with an opening 2, at a receiving end, configured to:
receive a first tape 5,
load the reel 6 with the first tape 5,
and unload the first tape 5 from the reel 6.
Engelsmann teaches all the elements of the device except for a set of guiding blocks.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a set of guiding blocks since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
With respect to Claim 8, Engelsmann further teaches wherein the first tape 5 is received from a tape and reel feeder.
With respect to Claim 9, Engelsmann further teaches wherein the set of guiding blocks are structured to guide the first tape 5 onto the reel 6.
With respect to Claim 10, Engelsmann further teaches wherein the set of guiding blocks comprises curved inner surfaces.
With respect to Claim 14, Engelsmann, Figures 1-5, teaches a method, comprising:
operating a motor that rotates a reel 6; and
loading or unloading, via curved inner surfaces of a guiding block 1,9,12 positioned around the reel 6, a material 5 onto or from the reel 6.
Engelsmann teaches all the elements of the device except for a set of guiding blocks.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a set of guiding blocks since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
With respect to Claim 18, Engelsmann further teaches wherein the motor is configured to operate in a first direction when the material is loaded onto the reel 6 or in a second direction when the material unloaded from the reel.
With respect to Claim 19, Engelsmann further teaches wherein the curved inner surfaces define a path for the material around the reel.
With respect to Claim 20, Engelsmann further teaches wherein the path around the surface of the reel is a spiral-shaped path.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 11-13, and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 4 is allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the entire combination of elements of the device set forth including
wherein the plurality of guiding blocks includes a first guiding block and a second guiding block, wherein an exterior surface of the first guiding block intersects with an interior surface of the second guiding block to provide the path around the surface of the reel.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest wherein the plurality of guiding blocks includes a first guiding block and a second guiding block, wherein an exterior surface of the first guiding block intersects with an interior surface of the second guiding block to provide the path around the surface of the reel as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the device in the manner required by the claims.
Claim 5 is allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the entire combination of elements of the device set forth including wherein the opening of the plurality of guiding blocks is configured to receive the received material after inspection by an automated optical inspection tool.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest wherein the opening of the plurality of guiding blocks is configured to receive the received material after inspection by an automated optical inspection tool as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the device in the manner required by the claims.
Claim 11 is allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the entire combination of elements of the device set forth including a set of tracks through which the set of guiding blocks are configured to travel towards or away from the reel.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest a set of tracks through which the set of guiding blocks are configured to travel towards or away from the reel as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the device in the manner required by the claims.
Claims 12-13 are allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the entire combination of elements of the device set forth including a set of force application devices configured to apply force on the guiding blocks to move radially inward towards the reel.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest a set of force application devices configured to apply force on the guiding blocks to move radially inward towards the reel as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the device in the manner required by the claims.
Claim 15 is allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the entire combination of elements of the device set forth including wherein the material is further loaded onto the reel, or unloaded from the reel, via one or more tracks from which the guiding blocks are configured to travel towards or away from the reel.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest wherein the material is further loaded onto the reel, or unloaded from the reel, via one or more tracks from which the guiding blocks are configured to travel towards or away from the reel as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the device in the manner required by the claims.
Claims 16-17 are allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the entire combination of elements of the device set forth including wherein the material is further loaded onto the reel, or unloaded from the reel, via a set of force application devices configured to apply force to resist the set of guiding blocks from traveling away from the reel.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest wherein the material is further loaded onto the reel, or unloaded from the reel, via a set of force application devices configured to apply force to resist the set of guiding blocks from traveling away from the reel as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the device in the manner required by the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/WILLIAM A. RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654