DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AI et al. (hereinafter “AI578”) (CN 111023578 A).
As to claims 1, 13, and 20, AI578 teaches the invention ([Abstract] The invention claims a water heater water outlet temperature control method and a control system), comprises:
determining that the water heater is in a minimum load operation state ([Fig. 1] [Abstract] judging whether the water heater works in minimum heat load state and continuing to judge the water temperature T2 is greater than the pre-heating temperature T);
in accordance with a determination that the water heater is in the minimum load operation state, detecting an outlet water temperature of the water heater ([Fig. 1] [Abstract] judging whether the water heater works in minimum heat load state and continuing to judge the water temperature T2 is greater than the pre-heating temperature T);
determining that the outlet water temperature meets a preset condition ([Fig. 1] [Abstract] continuing to judge the water temperature T2 is greater than the pre-heating temperature T…the water heater works in the minimum heat load state, by comparing the outlet water temperature T2 and pre-heating temperature T, judging whether stopping the water heater works, the water heater of the water temperature will not be too high; [page 4] during the step 600, the water heater is started, judging whether the water heater works at a minimum heat load state, if so, continuously judging whether the outlet water temperature T2 is greater than the pre-heating temperature T, if so, controlling the water heater stops heating); and
in accordance with a determination that the outlet water temperature meets the preset condition, controlling the water heater to stop heating ([Fig. 1] [Abstract] the water heater works in the minimum heat load state, by comparing the outlet water temperature T2 and pre-heating temperature T, judging whether stopping the water heater works, the water heater of the water temperature will not be too high; [page 4] during the step 600, the water heater is started, judging whether the water heater works at a minimum heat load state, if so, continuously judging whether the outlet water temperature T2 is greater than the pre-heating temperature T, if so, controlling the water heater stops heating).
Claim(s) 1-3, 13-15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AI et al. (hereinafter “AI946”) (CN 112178946 A).
As to claims 1, 13, and 20, AI946 teaches the invention, comprises:
determining that the water heater is in a minimum load operation state ([Fig. 1] [Abstract] judging the intake air amount of the gas water heater, if it is at the maximum load, executing S50, if it is at the minimum load, executing S60);
in accordance with a determination that the water heater is in the minimum load operation state, detecting an outlet water temperature of the water heater ([page 3] According to some embodiments of the invention, after S60,… if the water outlet temperature of the gas water heater is still greater than or equal to the target temperature + β, judging whether the lasting time of the water outlet temperature is greater than or equal to α seconds);
determining that the outlet water temperature meets a preset condition ([page 3] According to some embodiments of the invention, after S60,… if the water outlet temperature of the gas water heater is still greater than or equal to the target temperature + β, judging whether the lasting time of the water outlet temperature is greater than or equal to α seconds); and
in accordance with a determination that the outlet water temperature meets the preset condition, controlling the water heater to stop heating ([page 3] According to some embodiments of the invention, after S60,… if the water outlet temperature of the gas water heater is still greater than or equal to the target temperature + β, judging whether the lasting time of the water outlet temperature is greater than or equal to α seconds…when the gas water heater is in the minimum load, if the water outlet temperature is still higher than the target temperature + β, and continuously exceeds α seconds, at this time, the gas water heater can be stopped).
As to claims 2 and 14, AI946 teaches the preset condition includes that: the outlet water temperature is greater than a set temperature of the water heater, and a temperature difference value between the outlet water temperature and the set temperature is not less than a temperature difference threshold ([page 3] According to some embodiments of the invention, after S60,… if the water outlet temperature of the gas water heater is still greater than or equal to the target temperature + β, judging whether the lasting time of the water outlet temperature is greater than or equal to α seconds…when the gas water heater is in the minimum load, if the water outlet temperature is still higher than the target temperature + β, and continuously exceeds α seconds, at this time, the gas water heater can be stopped).
As to claims 3 and 15, AI946 teaches the preset condition further includes that a change value of the outlet water temperature is less than a preset value ([page 3] According to some embodiments of the invention, if the duration is less than α seconds, the gas water heater keeps the minimum load operation. In order to avoid the fluctuation of the water temperature influence to the judging result, generally need delay setting. According to some embodiments of the present invention, β is a positive integer with a temperature unit, and 1 ° C < β 4 ° C. The value of the beta can be preset by the manufacturer. Some embodiments created according to the invention, 10 ≤α ≥20. the value of α is not too small or too large; when the value of α is too small, it is difficult to eliminate the influence of water temperature fluctuation; when the value of α is too large, it will affect the water use experience of the user. According to some embodiments of the present invention, λ is a positive integer with a temperature unit, and 1 ° C < λ > 5 ° C. The value of the λ can be preset by the manufacturer.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-11, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AI946 in view of BAI et al. (hereinafter “BAI”) (CN 113108474 A).
As to claims 4 and 16, AI946 teaches in accordance with a determination that the outlet water temperature meets the preset condition, controlling the water heater to stop heating ([page 3] According to some embodiments of the invention, after S60,… if the water outlet temperature of the gas water heater is still greater than or equal to the target temperature + β, judging whether the lasting time of the water outlet temperature is greater than or equal to α seconds…when the gas water heater is in the minimum load, if the water outlet temperature is still higher than the target temperature + β, and continuously exceeds α seconds, at this time, the gas water heater can be stopped). AI946 does not explicitly teach after controlling the water heater to stop heating: determining that the outlet water temperature of the water heater drops to meet a second preset condition; and in accordance with a determination that the outlet water temperature of the water heater drops to meet the second preset condition, controlling the water heater to start heating.
However, BAI teaches a method and system for water heater control. Especially, BAI teaches after controlling the water heater to stop heating: determining that the outlet water temperature of the water heater drops to meet a second preset condition; and in accordance with a determination that the outlet water temperature of the water heater drops to meet the second preset condition, controlling the water heater to start heating ([page 13] Specifically, if according to a plurality of water temperature value, determining the water temperature is continuously reduced, until the current water outlet temperature value is less than or equal to the eighth threshold value, determining the target heating power of the water heater is the second heating power. Exemplary, the eighth threshold is 91 degrees centigrade for example, when the water heater stops heating, if the temperature is continuously reduced until the water outlet temperature is less than or equal to 91 degrees centigrade, controlling the water heater to heat at 2 KW power).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of BAI with the teachings of AI946 for the purpose of restart the water heater to maintain the outlet water temperature a desired level by using different temperature threshold levels to improve the user experience.
As to claims 5 and 17, BAI teaches the second preset condition includes at least one of following conditions: a current outlet water temperature of the water heater is greater than a set temperature of the water heater, and a temperature difference value between the current outlet water temperature and the set temperature of the water heater is not greater than a temperature difference threshold; and a time duration during which the water heater stops heating is not less than a target time duration [pages 9-14].
As to claims 6 and 18, BAI teaches the target time duration is negatively correlated with an inlet water flow rate of the water heater [pages 10-11].
As to claims 7 and 19, BAI teaches before controlling the water heater to start heating: obtaining a number of times that the water heater stops heating in the minimum load operation state, and/or a change value of the outlet water temperature of the water heater during a last period of heating cessation, and/or an ambient temperature corresponding to the water heater; and determining the temperature difference threshold based on the number of times and/or the change value of the outlet water temperature and/or the ambient temperature [pages 9-14].
As to claim 8, BAI teaches determining the temperature difference threshold includes: obtaining a target correspondence among the number of times, the change value of the outlet water temperature, and the temperature difference threshold according to the ambient temperature; and determining the temperature difference threshold corresponding to the number of times and the change value of the outlet water temperature according to the target correspondence [pages 9-14].
As to claim 9, BAI teaches after controlling the water heater to stop heating: controlling the water heater to maintain a water-in and water-out state [pages 9-10].
As to claim 10, BAI teaches controlling the water heater to start heating includes: obtaining: a change rate of the outlet water temperature after the water heater stops heating, and a temperature difference value between a current outlet water temperature of the water heater and a set temperature of the water heater; adjusting a current inlet water flow rate of the water heater according to the temperature difference value and the change rate; and controlling the water heater to start heating [pages 9-14].
As to claim 11, BAI teaches after controlling the water heater to start heating: detecting again the outlet water temperature of the water heater in accordance with a determination that the water heater is in the minimum load operation state [pages 9-14].
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AI946 in view of HAMAGAMI et al. (hereinafter “HAMAGAMI”) (US 20220196290 A1).
As to claim 12, AI946 teaches in accordance with a determination that the outlet water temperature meets the preset condition, controlling the water heater to stop heating ([page 3]). AI946 does not explicitly teach after controlling the water heater to stop heating: controlling a fan in a combustion chamber of the water heater to operate at a revolving speed not greater than a preset revolving speed to discharge smoke in the combustion chamber until the water heater starts heating.
However, HAMAGAMI teaches a system and method for control hot water supply. Especially, HAMAGAMI teaches after controlling the water heater to stop heating: controlling a fan in a combustion chamber of the water heater to operate at a revolving speed not greater than a preset revolving speed to discharge smoke in the combustion chamber until the water heater starts heating [0055].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of HAMAGAMI with the teachings of AI946 for the purpose of controlling combustion fan to driven at a lower rotation speed for a post-purge time to exhaust smoke in the combustion chamber.
Conclusion
/ZHIPENG WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115