CTNF 18/788,604 CTNF 88162 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 2. This is the initial office action based on the application filed on July 30 th , 2024, which claims 1-7 are presented for examination. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims 3. Claims 1-7 are pending, of which claims, of which claim 1 and 7 are in independent form. Priority 4. The instant application has a foreign priority JAPAN 2022-019597 02/10/2022. Information Disclosure Statement 5. Information disclosure statement filed on 07/30/2024, has been reviewed and considered by Examiner. The Office's Note: 6. The Office has cited particular paragraphs / columns and line numbers in the reference(s) applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim(s), other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the cited passages as taught by the prior art or relied upon by the Examiner. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 7. The claims 1-6 in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non- structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. 8. Claims 1-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more . Claim 1 recites “ a package generation section that is configured to generate a package including update data to be distributed to the vehicle; a logic identification information registration section that is configured to register identification information assigned to logic for generating the package in accordance with a specification of a master device that is installed in the vehicle, receives a package distributed from a center device, and transfers update data to the electronic control device; a logic registration section in which the logic is registered; a file registration section in which a manifest file having a description of the identification information is registered, wherein the package generation section includes an identification information acquisition section that acquires the identification information with reference to the manifest file, a master information acquisition section that acquires information on a master device corresponding to the identification information from the logic identification information registration section, and a logic acquisition section that acquires a logic corresponding to the identification information from the logic identification information registration section, and the package generation section generates a package on a basis of the logic. ” as drafted, are functions that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of a mental process. The limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the function through observation, evaluation judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, this limitation recites and falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas under Prong 1. Under Prong 2, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements ““memory”, and “processor” are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer, and/or mere computer components, and “ the package generation section generates a package on a basis of the logic. ” do nothing more than add insignificant extra solution activity to the judicial exception of merely gathering, displaying, updating, transmitting and storing data/information. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is therefore directed to the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Under Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of ““memory,” and “processor” are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer, and/or mere computer components, and “ the package generation section generates a package on a basis of the logic.” , the courts have identified merely gathering, displaying, updating, transmitting and storing data/information on a display is well-understood, routine and conventional activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d). The recitation of generic computer instruction and computer components to apply the judicial exception, and merely displaying data do not amount to significantly more, thus, cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible under 35 USC 101. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more . Claim 7 recites “ registering identification information assigned to logic for generating the package in accordance with a specification of a master device that is installed in the vehicle, receives a package distributed from a center device, and transfers update data to the electronic control device; registering the logic; registering a manifest file in which the identification information is described; acquiring the identification information with reference to the manifest file; acquiring information on a master device corresponding to the identification information; and acquiring logic corresponding to the identification information and generating a package on a basis of the logic.. ” as drafted, are functions that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of a mental process. The limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the function through observation, evaluation judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, this limitation recites and falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas under Prong 1. Under Prong 2, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements ““memory”, and “processor” are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer, and/or mere computer components, and “ generating a package on a basis of the logic. ” do nothing more than add insignificant extra solution activity to the judicial exception of merely gathering, displaying, updating, transmitting and storing data/information. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is therefore directed to the judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Under Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of ““memory,” and “processor” are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer, and/or mere computer components, and “ generating a package on a basis of the logic.” , the courts have identified merely gathering, displaying, updating, transmitting and storing data/information on a display is well-understood, routine and conventional activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d). The recitation of generic computer instruction and computer components to apply the judicial exception, and merely displaying data do not amount to significantly more, thus, cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible under 35 USC 101. In conclusion, claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA 9. Claim s 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakurai (US 20200183676– hereinafter Sakurai ) and further in view of Tobolski (US 20150242198 – hereinafter Tobolski ) . Claim 1 rejected, Sakurai teaches a center device that manages data to be written to a plurality of electronic control devices installed in a vehicle, the center device comprising ( Sakurai , abstract and summary): a package generation section that is configured to generate a package including update data to be distributed to the vehicle ( Sakurai , US 20200183676, fig. 7B and par [0090], The specification data generation unit 201 accesses various DBs and generates the rewriting specification data. The package generation unit 202 generates the distribution package containing the rewriting specification data and the reprogramming data, and registers the distribution package in the package DB 206 . The package generation unit 202 may generate the distribution package further containing the distribution specification data. The package distribution unit 203 distributes the registered distribution package to the vehicle system 4. The distribution package corresponds to a file.); a logic identification information registration section that is configured to register identification information assigned to logic for generating the package in accordance with a specification of a master device that is installed in the vehicle, receives a package distributed from a center device, and transfers update data to the electronic control device ( Sakurai , fig. 7B and par [0090], The specification data generation unit 201 accesses various DBs and generates the rewriting specification data. The package generation unit 202 generates the distribution package containing the rewriting specification data and the reprogramming data, and registers the distribution package in the package DB 206 . The package generation unit 202 may generate the distribution package further containing the distribution specification data. The package distribution unit 203 distributes the registered distribution package to the vehicle system 4. The distribution package corresponds to a file. Para [0091-0092], The individual vehicle information management section 3C includes an individual vehicle information registration unit 209, a configuration information check unit 210, an update presence/absence check unit 211, a short massage service (SMS) sending control unit 212, and an individual vehicle information DB 213. The individual vehicle information registration unit 209 registers vehicle information of each individual vehicle uploaded from each individual vehicle in the individual vehicle information DB 213 in association with, for example, a respective VIN. The vehicle information of each individual vehicle is also called a vehicle information entry.); a logic registration section in which the logic is registered ( Sakurai , Fig. 19 and para [0216], With reference to FIG. 19, package generation processes performed by the package generation unit 202 will be described. The processes for package generation for vehicles belonging to the vehicle type=aaa will be given by way of example. As shown in FIG. 19, the center apparatus 3 activates the package generation unit 202 of the package management section 3A in response to instructions from the operator. At C1, the package generation unit 202 determines the ECU SWIDs of the update target ECU in the same manner as in B1 . At C2, the package generation unit 202 acquires the data corresponding to the ECU SWIDs of the respective update target ECUs from the ECU reprograming data DB 204 and generates a single reprogramming data. Fo r example, in the case of FIG. 10, the package generation unit 202 acquires: the integrity verification data for the new program; the update data provided as the difference data; the integrity verification data for the update data; the integrity verification data for the old program; and the rollback data provided as the difference data. Then the package generation unit 202 generates the reprogramming data. At C3, the package generation unit 202 combines together the generated reprograming data and the corresponding rewriting specification data described in B1 to B6 to generate a single distribution package file. Next, at C4, the package generation unit 202 generates the integrity verification data for the generated package file and at C5 registers the package file and the integrity verification data in the package DB 206); wherein the package generation section includes a master information acquisition section that acquires information on a master device corresponding to the identification information from the logic identification information registration section ( Sakurai , fig. 16 and para [0116], First, at B1, the specification data generation unit 201 determines the update available ECU 19 called also the update target ECU 19 as shown in FIG. 16. Specifically, the specification data generation unit 201 accesses the ECU reprograming data DB 204 and displays on the display device 219 a display screen on which the ECU(s) for update are selectable from among the registered ECU SWIDs. The specification data generation unit 201 retains, in a specific ECU order, the ECU SWIDs selected by the OEM operator via the input device 218. Here, the specific ECU order indicates an order in which the ECUs 19 are to be rewritten in the vehicle system 4. The specification data generation unit 201 sets the specific ECU order to the order designated by the OEM operator. Para [0117], The specification data generation unit 201 may access the configuration information DB 208 and determine the update ECU 19 (ECU to be updated), without receiving inputs from the OEM operator. The specification data generation unit 201 extracts the ECU(s) 19 to be updated, with reference to the ECU SWIDs associated with the latest vehicle SWID and the ECU SWIDs associated with the one-previous vehicle SWID . For example, in the case of FIG. 9, the update target ECUs 19 are the ECUs having the ECU ID=ADS, the ECU ID=BRK, and the ECU ID=EPS. The specification data generation unit 201 sets the specific ECU order to the order registered in the configuration information DB 208.), and a logic acquisition section that acquires a logic corresponding to the identification information from the logic identification information registration section, and the package generation section generates a package on a basis of the logic ( Sakurai , fig. 16 and para [0116-0119], Next, at B3, the specification data generation unit 201 accesses the ECU metadata DB 205 and acquires the specification data of the update target ECU 19 including the update data related information, the hardware attribute information, and the software attribute information. For example, as shown in FIG. 17, the update data related information may include: an update program version; an update program acquisition address; a update program size; a rollback program version; a rollback program acquisition address; a rollback program size; a writing data type; and a writing memory area. The hardware attribute information may include: a connected bus; a connected power; and a memory type. The software attribute information include: rewrite memory area information; security access key information; a rewriting method; and a transfer size. The rewriting method indicates power control for the rewriting. Specifically, the rewriting method indicates whether the rewriting is to be performed by enabling the power self-holding function upon change from the IG on to the IG off or the rewriting is to be performed in accordance with the IG on and the IG off. Information other than the key may be included as the security access key information. Fig. 19 and para [0216], With reference to FIG. 19, package generation processes performed by the package generation unit 202 will be described. The processes for package generation for vehicles belonging to the vehicle type=aaa will be given by way of example. As shown in FIG. 19, the center apparatus 3 activates the package generation unit 202 of the package management section 3A in response to instructions from the operator. At C1, the package generation unit 202 determines the ECU SWIDs of the update target ECU in the same manner as in B1 . At C2, the package generation unit 202 acquires the data corresponding to the ECU SWIDs of the respective update target ECUs from the ECU reprograming data DB 204 and generates a single reprogramming data. Fo r example, in the case of FIG. 10, the package generation unit 202 acquires: the integrity verification data for the new program; the update data provided as the difference data; the integrity verification data for the update data; the integrity verification data for the old program; and the rollback data provided as the difference data. Then the package generation unit 202 generates the reprogramming data. At C3, the package generation unit 202 combines together the generated reprograming data and the corresponding rewriting specification data described in B1 to B6 to generate a single distribution package file. Next, at C4, the package generation unit 202 generates the integrity verification data for the generated package file and at C5 registers the package file and the integrity verification data in the package DB 206.). Sakurai does not explicitly teach a file registration section in which a manifest file having a description of the identification information is registered, an identification information acquisition section that acquires the identification information with reference to the manifest file, However, Tobolski teaches a file registration section in which a manifest file having a description of the identification information is registered ( Tobolski , US 20150242198, fig. 2D and para [0034-0036], As one aspect of requesting the updates 236, and referring to FIGS. 2C and 2D, the cloud server 204 may forward 238 the signed log 230 to the data backend 208 via the gateway 206 to allow the data backend 208 to record 240 the interrogator log 230 to keep track of the current installation status of the vehicle 31, such as the version 242 and configuration of the vehicle module 202 and other modules of the vehicle 31 , as well as to maintain a copy of interrogator log 230 itself.), an identification information acquisition section that acquires the identification information with reference to the manifest file ( Tobolski , para [0035-0036], Referring back to FIG. 2B, as another aspect of requesting the updates 236, the cloud server 204 may check for new updates 244 to the vehicle 31 software that may be required. The cloud server 204 may be configured to review the current module configuration indicated by the interrogator log 230 and current version of the vehicle module 202, and determine whether any software updates to the vehicle 31 should be installed. Based on the determination, the cloud server 204 may identify binaries that should be installed on the vehicle 31 to perform the identified updates. These binaries may be identified in a manifest 246. Moreover, the manifest 246 may specify network locations at which each of the specified update binaries may be retrieved. As one example, the manifest 246 may specify the network locations as URLs served by the cloud server 204. In some cases, the binaries may include new versions of files to be installed, while in other cases, the binaries may include incremental updates to be applied to currently installed binaries to update the currently installed binaries from one version to a next version.), It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Tobolski into Sakurai to update software modules for a vehicle. The processor is mounted within a vehicle, and a control device is designed for receiving explanation from a cloud server by the vehicle, where network locations are indicated by software updates determined based on polling protocol. The control device installs update binary elements at an inactive installation of memory installations as suggested by Tobolski (See abstract and conclusion). Claim 2 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 1, Sakurai and Tobolski teach the center device according to claim 1, wherein the identification information acquisition section acquires the identification information from the manifest file on condition that the identification information acquisition section failed to acquire information on the master device from an external server ( Sakura i, para [0199], the center apparatus 3 accesses the individual vehicle information DB 213 to identify the vehicle that is included in the VIN list of the campaign DB 217 and that has not sent the vehicle information for the predetermined time period since the sending date and time stored in the individual vehicle information DB 213. Tobolski , para [0035-0036], Referring back to FIG. 2B, as another aspect of requesting the updates 236, the cloud server 204 may check for new updates 244 to the vehicle 31 software that may be required. The cloud server 204 may be configured to review the current module configuration indicated by the interrogator log 230 and current version of the vehicle module 202, and determine whether any software updates to the vehicle 31 should be installed. ). Claim 3 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 1, Sakurai and Tobolski teach the center device according to claim 1, further comprising a package distribution section that is configured to distribute the package to the vehicle, wherein the package generation section associates the generated package with information related to a master device corresponding to the identification information, and transmits the package to the package distribution section ( Sakurai , fig. 7B and par [0090], The specification data generation unit 201 accesses various DBs and generates the rewriting specification data. The package generation unit 202 generates the distribution package containing the rewriting specification data and the reprogramming data, and registers the distribution package in the package DB 206 . The package generation unit 202 may generate the distribution package further containing the distribution specification data. The package distribution unit 203 distributes the registered distribution package to the vehicle system 4. The distribution package corresponds to a file. Para [0091-0092], The individual vehicle information management section 3C includes an individual vehicle information registration unit 209, a configuration information check unit 210, an update presence/absence check unit 211, a short massage service (SMS) sending control unit 212, and an individual vehicle information DB 213. The individual vehicle information registration unit 209 registers vehicle information of each individual vehicle uploaded from each individual vehicle in the individual vehicle information DB 213 in association with, for example, a respective VIN. The vehicle information of each individual vehicle is also called a vehicle information entry. Para [0129], then, the package distribution unit 203 distributes the registered distribution package to the vehicle system 4. Thus, the vehicle system 4 receives the specification data together with the update data. This makes it possible for the vehicle system 4 to appropriately select the update target ECU 19 based on the specification data and appropriately control the writing process using the update data.) Claim 4 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 3, Sakurai and Tobolski teach the center device according to claim 3, wherein the package distribution section includes a vehicle information storage section in which device identification information for each of the plurality of electronic control devices and vehicle-related information related to identification of data stored in each of the devices are stored together with a type of the vehicle, and the package distribution section compares the information related to the master device with content of the vehicle information storage section to identify a vehicle to which the package is to be distributed ( Sakurai , fig. 7B and par [0090], The specification data generation unit 201 accesses various DBs and generates the rewriting specification data. The package generation unit 202 generates the distribution package containing the rewriting specification data and the reprogramming data, and registers the distribution package in the package DB 206 . The package generation unit 202 may generate the distribution package further containing the distribution specification data. The package distribution unit 203 distributes the registered distribution package to the vehicle system 4. The distribution package corresponds to a file. Para [0129], then, the package distribution unit 203 distributes the registered distribution package to the vehicle system 4. Thus, the vehicle system 4 receives the specification data together with the update data. This makes it possible for the vehicle system 4 to appropriately select the update target ECU 19 based on the specification data and appropriately control the writing process using the update data.) . Claim 5 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 4, Sakurai and Tobolski teach the center device according to claim 4, wherein the package distribution section distributes the package when information related to a master device of a vehicle requesting distribution of the package corresponds to the vehicle to which the package is to be distributed ( Sakurai , para [0129], then, the package distribution unit 203 distributes the registered distribution package to the vehicle system 4. Thus, the vehicle system 4 receives the specification data together with the update data. This makes it possible for the vehicle system 4 to appropriately select the update target ECU 19 based on the specification data and appropriately control the writing process using the update data.). Claim 6 is rejected for the reasons set forth hereinabove for claim 1, Sakurai and Tobolski teach the center device according to claim 1, wherein the master information acquisition section acquires information on the master device as a range corresponding to a configuration of each of a plurality of master devices ( Sakurai , fig. 23 and para [0153], In the case illustrated in FIG. 23A, the vehicle C having the VIN=300 belonging to the vehicle model=aaa has the vehicle SWID=0001, the ECU SWID=ads_002 for the ECU ID=ADS, the ECU SWID=eng_010 for the ECU ID=ENG; the ECU SWID=brk_003 for the ECU ID=BRK; and the ECU SWID=eps_010 for the ECU ID=EPS. Fig. 23 and para [0155], Let us consider the vehicle A having VIN=100 illustrated in FIG. 23A. The vehicle A has the vehicle SWID=0001, the ECU SWID=ads_001 for the ECU ID=ADS, the ECU SWID=eng_010 for the ECU ID=ENG, the ECU SWID=brk_001 for the ECU ID=BRK, and the ECU SWID=eps_010 for the ECU ID=EPS.). Claim 7 rejected, Sakurai teaches a data package generation method in which data to be written to a plurality of electronic control devices installed in a vehicle is managed, the data package generation method comprising, during generation of a package including update data to be distributed to the vehicle ( Sakurai , abstract and summary. Fig. 7B and fig. 8): registering identification information assigned to logic for generating the package in accordance with a specification of a master device that is installed in the vehicle, receives a package distributed from a center device, and transfers update data to the electronic control device ( Sakurai , US 20200183676, fig. 7B and par [0090], The specification data generation unit 201 accesses various DBs and generates the rewriting specification data. The package generation unit 202 generates the distribution package containing the rewriting specification data and the reprogramming data, and registers the distribution package in the package DB 206 . The package generation unit 202 may generate the distribution package further containing the distribution specification data. The package distribution unit 203 distributes the registered distribution package to the vehicle system 4. The distribution package corresponds to a file. Para [0091-0092], The individual vehicle information management section 3C includes an individual vehicle information registration unit 209, a configuration information check unit 210, an update presence/absence check unit 211, a short massage service (SMS) sending control unit 212, and an individual vehicle information DB 213. The individual vehicle information registration unit 209 registers vehicle information of each individual vehicle uploaded from each individual vehicle in the individual vehicle information DB 213 in association with, for example, a respective VIN. The vehicle information of each individual vehicle is also called a vehicle information entry.); registering the logic ( Sakurai , Fig. 19 and para [0216], With reference to FIG. 19, package generation processes performed by the package generation unit 202 will be described. The processes for package generation for vehicles belonging to the vehicle type=aaa will be given by way of example. As shown in FIG. 19, the center apparatus 3 activates the package generation unit 202 of the package management section 3A in response to instructions from the operator. At C1, the package generation unit 202 determines the ECU SWIDs of the update target ECU in the same manner as in B1 . At C2, the package generation unit 202 acquires the data corresponding to the ECU SWIDs of the respective update target ECUs from the ECU reprograming data DB 204 and generates a single reprogramming data. Fo r example, in the case of FIG. 10, the package generation unit 202 acquires: the integrity verification data for the new program; the update data provided as the difference data; the integrity verification data for the update data; the integrity verification data for the old program; and the rollback data provided as the difference data. Then the package generation unit 202 generates the reprogramming data. At C3, the package generation unit 202 combines together the generated reprograming data and the corresponding rewriting specification data described in B1 to B6 to generate a single distribution package file. Next, at C4, the package generation unit 202 generates the integrity verification data for the generated package file and at C5 registers the package file and the integrity verification data in the package DB 206; acquiring information on a master device corresponding to the identification information ( Sakurai , fig. 16 and para [0116], First, at B1, the specification data generation unit 201 determines the update available ECU 19 called also the update target ECU 19 as shown in FIG. 16. Specifically, the specification data generation unit 201 accesses the ECU reprograming data DB 204 and displays on the display device 219 a display screen on which the ECU(s) for update are selectable from among the registered ECU SWIDs. The specification data generation unit 201 retains, in a specific ECU order, the ECU SWIDs selected by the OEM operator via the input device 218. Here, the specific ECU order indicates an order in which the ECUs 19 are to be rewritten in the vehicle system 4. The specification data generation unit 201 sets the specific ECU order to the order designated by the OEM operator. Para [0117], The specification data generation unit 201 may access the configuration information DB 208 and determine the update ECU 19 (ECU to be updated), without receiving inputs from the OEM operator. The specification data generation unit 201 extracts the ECU(s) 19 to be updated, with reference to the ECU SWIDs associated with the latest vehicle SWID and the ECU SWIDs associated with the one-previous vehicle SWID . For example, in the case of FIG. 9, the update target ECUs 19 are the ECUs having the ECU ID=ADS, the ECU ID=BRK, and the ECU ID=EPS. The specification data generation unit 201 sets the specific ECU order to the order registered in the configuration information DB 208.); and acquiring logic corresponding to the identification information and generating a package on a basis of the logic (Sakurai, fig. 16 and para [0116-0119], Next, at B3, the specification data generation unit 201 accesses the ECU metadata DB 205 and acquires the specification data of the update target ECU 19 including the update data related information, the hardware attribute information, and the software attribute information. For example, as shown in FIG. 17, the update data related information may include: an update program version; an update program acquisition address; a update program size; a rollback program version; a rollback program acquisition address; a rollback program size; a writing data type; and a writing memory area. The hardware attribute information may include: a connected bus; a connected power; and a memory type. The software attribute information include: rewrite memory area information; security access key information; a rewriting method; and a transfer size. The rewriting method indicates power control for the rewriting. Specifically, the rewriting method indicates whether the rewriting is to be performed by enabling the power self-holding function upon change from the IG on to the IG off or the rewriting is to be performed in accordance with the IG on and the IG off. Information other than the key may be included as the security access key information. Fig. 19 and para [0216], With reference to FIG. 19, package generation processes performed by the package generation unit 202 will be described. The processes for package generation for vehicles belonging to the vehicle type=aaa will be given by way of example. As shown in FIG. 19, the center apparatus 3 activates the package generation unit 202 of the package management section 3A in response to instructions from the operator. At C1, the package generation unit 202 determines the ECU SWIDs of the update target ECU in the same manner as in B1 . At C2, the package generation unit 202 acquires the data corresponding to the ECU SWIDs of the respective update target ECUs from the ECU reprograming data DB 204 and generates a single reprogramming data. Fo r example, in the case of FIG. 10, the package generation unit 202 acquires: the integrity verification data for the new program; the update data provided as the difference data; the integrity verification data for the update data; the integrity verification data for the old program; and the rollback data provided as the difference data. Then the package generation unit 202 generates the reprogramming data. At C3, the package generation unit 202 combines together the generated reprograming data and the corresponding rewriting specification data described in B1 to B6 to generate a single distribution package file. Next, at C4, the package generation unit 202 generates the integrity verification data for the generated package file and at C5 registers the package file and the integrity verification data in the package DB 206.). Sakurai does not explicitly teach registering a manifest file in which the identification information is described; acquiring the identification information with reference to the manifest file; However, Tobolski teaches registering a manifest file in which the identification information is described ( Tobolski , US 20150242198, fig. 2D and para [0034-0036], As one aspect of requesting the updates 236, and referring to FIGS. 2C and 2D, the cloud server 204 may forward 238 the signed log 230 to the data backend 208 via the gateway 206 to allow the data backend 208 to record 240 the interrogator log 230 to keep track of the current installation status of the vehicle 31, such as the version 242 and configuration of the vehicle module 202 and other modules of the vehicle 31 , as well as to maintain a copy of interrogator log 230 itself.); acquiring the identification information with reference to the manifest file ( Tobolski , para [0035-0036], Referring back to FIG. 2B, as another aspect of requesting the updates 236, the cloud server 204 may check for new updates 244 to the vehicle 31 software that may be required. The cloud server 204 may be configured to review the current module configuration indicated by the interrogator log 230 and current version of the vehicle module 202, and determine whether any software updates to the vehicle 31 should be installed. Based on the determination, the cloud server 204 may identify binaries that should be installed on the vehicle 31 to perform the identified updates. These binaries may be identified in a manifest 246. Moreover, the manifest 246 may specify network locations at which each of the specified update binaries may be retrieved. As one example, the manifest 246 may specify the network locations as URLs served by the cloud server 204. In some cases, the binaries may include new versions of files to be installed, while in other cases, the binaries may include incremental updates to be applied to currently installed binaries to update the currently installed binaries from one version to a next version.); It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Tobolski into Sakurai to update software modules for a vehicle. The processor is mounted within a vehicle, and a control device is designed for receiving explanation from a cloud server by the vehicle, where network locations are indicated by software updates determined based on polling protocol. The control device installs update binary elements at an inactive installation of memory installations as suggested by Tobolski (See abstract and conclusion). Inquiry Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DUY KHUONG THANH NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)270-7139. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 0800-1630. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Lewis Bullock can be reached at 5712723759. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DUY KHUONG T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 2 Art Unit: 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 3 Art Unit: 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 4 Art Unit: 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 5 Art Unit: 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 6 Art Unit: 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 7 Art Unit: 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 8 Art Unit: 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 9 Art Unit: 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 10 Art Unit: 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 11 Art Unit: 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 12 Art Unit: 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 13 Art Unit: 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 14 Art Unit: 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 15 Art Unit: 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 16 Art Unit: 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 17 Art Unit: 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 18 Art Unit: 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 19 Art Unit: 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 20 Art Unit: 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 21 Art Unit: 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 22 Art Unit: 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 23 Art Unit: 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 24 Art Unit: 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 25 Art Unit: 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 26 Art Unit: 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 27 Art Unit: 2199 Application/Control Number: 18/788,604 Page 28 Art Unit: 2199