DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/30/2024 was filed after the mailing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoo, U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0164947.
Regarding claim 1, Yoo discloses (See Fig. 8):
A hybrid element (assembly of CMOS and micro-LED 100) (Fig. 8), [0031] comprising:
a first element (CMOS cells on silicon 200, substrate 201; [0031], [0049], [0051]) formed on a first substrate, and
a second element (micro-LED 100 mounted on 200; [0032], [0059]-[0062]) formed on the first substrate and different from the first element (LED vs CMOS),
wherein the second element comprises:
a shuttle layer (layer GaN buffer/undoped layer 131a; [0069]-[0071]) configured to be grown on a second substrate (layer 131a grown on sapphire 131; Figs. 2a-2e) formed of a material different from a material of the first substrate (sapphire 131 vs silicon 201; [0049], [0059], [0069]),
an element layer which is provided on the shuttle layer and is configured to be grown on the shuttle layer (grown stack 132/133/134 above layer 131a; [0028], [0042]-[--43], Fig. 2a), and
an electrode layer provided on a surface of the element layer (electrode pad 150 on p-type layer 134).
Regarding claim 5, Yoo discloses:
wherein the first element comprises at least one of a CMOS, a memory, an IC, an optical sensor solar cell (CMOS cells, [0031]), and
wherein the second element comprises at least one of a light-emitting diode, a laser, a detector, electronic element (micro-LED 100, [0028]).
Regarding claim 7, Yoo discloses wherein the electrode layer comprises a plurality of electrodes provided on a same plane and are symmetrical with respect to a center of the electrode layer (Figs. 2, 8; pads 140/150 have coplanar end surfaces, [0044]; the three interior electrode pads 150 arranged with one in the middle and corresponding pads on either side and the outer common pad portion 140 on both side to provide the symmetry arrangement).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo, U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0164947, in view of Wei et al., U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0285092.
Regarding claim 4, Yoo fails to disclose the two-dimensional material comprises at least one of graphene, a carbon nanotube, hBN, MoS2, WSe2, TMDs).
Wei discloses the two-dimensional graphene layer 110 comprising a layer of carbon atoms ([0038]; [0145], [0149], [0151], Fig. 16; layer 120 is grown in two stages to enclose graphene 110).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Yoo in view of Wei to use graphene as two-dimensional material in order to improve light extraction [0125].
Claims 2-3, 6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo, U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0164947.
Regarding claim 2, Yoo discloses:
wherein the first substrate comprises group IV material (Silicon 201, [0049]),
second substrate comprises III-V material or sapphire (Sapphire 131, [0069]).
Yoo fails to disclose wherein the second substrate is smaller than the first substrate.
However, the selection of such parameters such as energy, concentration, temperature, time, molar fraction, depth, thickness, etc., would have been obvious and involve routine optimization which has been held to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. "Normally, it is to be expected that a change in energy, concentration, temperature, time, molar fraction, depth, thickness, etc., or in conbination of the parameters would be an unpatentable modification. Under some circumstances, however, changes such as these may impart patentability to a process if the particular ranges claimed produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely degree from the results of the prior art ... such ranges are termed "critical ranges and the applicant has the burden of proving such criticality.... More particularly, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller 105 USPQ233, 255 (CCPA 1955). See also In re Waite 77 USPQ 586 (CCPA 1948); In re Scherl 70 USPQ 204 (CCPA 1946); In re Irmscher 66 USPQ 314 (CCPA 1945); In re Norman 66 USPQ 308 (CCPA 1945); In re Swenson 56 USPQ 372 (CCPA 1942); In re Sola 25 USPQ 433 (CCPA 1935); In re Dreyfus 24 USPQ 52 (CCPA 1934).
Regarding claim 3, Yoo discloses:
Wherein the shuttle layer comprises III-V material (GaN 131a, [0069]),
Wherein the element layer comprises a group III-V material or a two-dimensional material (GaN-based LED semiconductor stack).
Yoo fails to mention that the shuttle layer is thicker than element layer.
However, the selection of such parameters such as energy, concentration, temperature, time, molar fraction, depth, thickness, etc., would have been obvious and involve routine optimization which has been held to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. "Normally, it is to be expected that a change in energy, concentration, temperature, time, molar fraction, depth, thickness, etc., or in conbination of the parameters would be an unpatentable modification. Under some circumstances, however, changes such as these may impart patentability to a process if the particular ranges claimed produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely degree from the results of the prior art ... such ranges are termed "critical ranges and the applicant has the burden of proving such criticality.... More particularly, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller 105 USPQ233, 255 (CCPA 1955). See also In re Waite 77 USPQ 586 (CCPA 1948); In re Scherl 70 USPQ 204 (CCPA 1946); In re Irmscher 66 USPQ 314 (CCPA 1945); In re Norman 66 USPQ 308 (CCPA 1945); In re Swenson 56 USPQ 372 (CCPA 1942); In re Sola 25 USPQ 433 (CCPA 1935); In re Dreyfus 24 USPQ 52 (CCPA 1934).
Regarding claims 6 and 8, Yoo fails to disclose wherein a size of the second element is smaller than a size of the first element (claim 6), nor element layer has an asymmetrical structure and electrode provided in parallel although Yoo discloses the electrodes are in the same plane. However, the selection of such parameters such as energy, concentration, temperature, time, molar fraction, depth, thickness, etc., would have been obvious and involve routine optimization which has been held to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. "Normally, it is to be expected that a change in energy, concentration, temperature, time, molar fraction, depth, thickness, etc., or in conbination of the parameters would be an unpatentable modification. Under some circumstances, however, changes such as these may impart patentability to a process if the particular ranges claimed produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely degree from the results of the prior art ... such ranges are termed "critical ranges and the applicant has the burden of proving such criticality.... More particularly, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller 105 USPQ233, 255 (CCPA 1955). See also In re Waite 77 USPQ 586 (CCPA 1948); In re Scherl 70 USPQ 204 (CCPA 1946); In re Irmscher 66 USPQ 314 (CCPA 1945); In re Norman 66 USPQ 308 (CCPA 1945); In re Swenson 56 USPQ 372 (CCPA 1942); In re Sola 25 USPQ 433 (CCPA 1935); In re Dreyfus 24 USPQ 52 (CCPA 1934).
Conclusion
/THAO P LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818