DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
It is argued that the outer sidewall 1 (see marked up figure 2) of Hsu does not extend downwardly from the lower surface of the cover plate to a rear surface of the die because there is an adhesive in between.
Note that claim does not require direct contact between the cold plate and the semiconductor device. The claim only requires it extends downwardly to a backside of the semiconductor device. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim includes an adhesive between the two components. Further note that Hsu (paragraph 0050) states other means may be used as opposed to the use of an adhesive. Therefore direct bonding may be used.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-20, 28, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being clearly anticipated by Hsu et al., US 2021/0074608.
Regarding claim 17, Hsu (see marked up figure 2 below) teaches a device package comprising:
an integrated cooling assembly comprising a semiconductor device 20 and a cold plate 30 bonded (using 302) to the semiconductor device 20, wherein the cold plate 30 comprises:
a first side 312a;
a second side 312b opposite the first side 312a;
outer sidewalls 1 extending downwardly from the first side 312a to a backside 20b of the semiconductor device 20;
inner sidewalls 2 extending between the first side 312a and the second side 312b, wherein the outer sidewalls 1 and the inner sidewalls 2 define openings 320; and
one or more protrusions 3 extending downwardly from the second side 312b towards the backside 20a of the semiconductor device 20, wherein:
one or more lower surfaces of the one or more protrusions 3 are bonded (using 302) to the backside 20a of the semiconductor device 20;
the second side 312a, the outer sidewalls 1, and the backside of the semiconductor device 20a collectively define a coolant chamber volume therebetween; and
wherein each of the inner sidewalls 2 and the outer sidewalls 1 includes a plurality of segments (324 and bulging section) having a plurality of different textures (324 and bulging section), respectively.
With respect to claim 18, Hsu (figure 2) teaches sidewalls of the one or more protrusions 324 slope away from the second side at an angle greater than 90 degrees. The first bend in 324 is greater than 90 degrees.
As to claim 19, Hsu (figure 2) teaches one or more segments of the plurality of segments of at least one of the inner sidewalls 2 and the outer sidewalls 1 slope towards the second side at an angle less than 90 degrees. The second bend in 324 is less than 90 degrees.
In re claim 20, Hsu (figure 2) teaches one or more segments of the plurality of segments of at least one of the inner sidewalls 2 and the outer sidewalls 1 slope towards the first side at an angle less than 90 degrees. The second bend in 324 is less than 90 degrees.
Concerning claim 28, though Hsu (see marked up figure 23 above) fails to teach the one or more protrusions 3, the outer sidewalls 1, and the inner sidewalls 2 are formed through a double-sided wet etch process that concurrently wet etches the first side and the second side, a double-sided wet etch process is process limitation in a product claim and therefore is a product-by-process limitation that isn’t given any patentable weight. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Pertaining to claim 30, Hsu (see marked up figure 23 above) teaches the one or more protrusions 3 extend laterally along the second side 312b between the openings 322/324; and the one or more protrusions 3 are spaced apart to define coolant channels 320 therebetween.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al., US 2021/0074608, as applied to claim 17 above.
In claim 23, Hsu (see marked up figure 2 below) each protrusion comprises distal segments and a central segment extending between the distal segments; and though Hsu fails to teach a width of the distal segments between protrusion sidewalls of the protrusion is less than a width of the central segment between the protrusion sidewalls it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the relative widths through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 24, though Hsu fails to specifically teach the cold plate is bonded to the semiconductor device by direct dielectric bonds, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use direct dielectric bonds in the invention of Hsu because Hsu teaches any means can be used to form the bond (paragraph 0050).
With respect to claim 25, though Hsu fails to specifically teach the cold plate is bonded to the semiconductor device by direct hybrid bonds, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use direct hybrid bonds in the invention of Hsu because Hsu teaches any means can be used to form the bond (paragraph 0050).
As to claim 26, though Hsu fails to specifically teach the lower surfaces of the one or more protrusions are bonded to the backside of the semiconductor device by direct dielectric bonds, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use direct dielectric bonds in the invention of Hsu because Hsu teaches any means can be used to form the bond (paragraph 0050).
In re claim 27, wherein the openings of the cold plate 30 comprise an inlet opening 322 and an outlet opening 324, and wherein the coolant chamber volume is in fluid communication with the inlet opening 322 and the outlet opening 324 of the cold plate 30, and though Hsu fails to teach the device package further comprising: a package cover, the package cover having an inlet opening and an outlet opening disposed therethrough, wherein the coolant chamber volume is in fluid communication with the inlet opening and the outlet opening of the package cover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use such a package cover in the invention of Hsu because it is conventionally known and used in the art to protect the package and forma a reliable connection to the inlet/outlet openings. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID A ZARNEKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891 9/29/26