DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Previous restriction is withdrawn due to applicant’s response to the restriction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US Pub. 2011/0044121).
Regarding claim 10, Fig. 1 and Fig. 5 of Kim discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a sense amp [11] connected to a first digit line [BL_L] and a second digit line [BL_R];
a first isolation device [IST_L] connected to the first digit line [BL_L] and configured to, in association with a sensing operation, receive a first activation signal [IOS_L] at a first voltage [at starting of sensing operation, Va (VISO1) is at VPP level, Fig. 5]; and
a second isolation device [IST_R] connected to the second digit line [BL_R] and configured to, in association with the sensing operation, receive a second activation signal [IOS_R] at a second voltage [at starting of sensing operation, Vb is at VSS level, Fig. 5];
wherein the first voltage [VPP] is greater than the second voltage [VSS] to provide a balancing [paragraphs 0017, 0020, and 0021] effect for the sense amplifier by increasing a voltage on the first digit line [BL_L] as compared to the second digit line [BL_R].
Regarding claim 11, Fig. 4 of Kim discloses wherein the threshold voltage difference is to compensate for a word line and a memory cell connected to the second digit line [as discloses in paragraph 0111, the voltage difference on the digit line is compensated by controlling the voltages apply to both IOS lines].
Regarding claim 12, Fig. 1 of Kim discloses wherein the first isolation device [IST_L] is connected to a first gate of a first transistor [gate of P12] and the second isolation device [IST_R] is connected to a second gate of a second transistor [gate of N11].
Regarding claim 13, Fig. 1 of Kim discloses wherein a first drain of the first transistor [P12] is connected to the first digit line [BL_L] and a second drain of the second transistor [N11] is connected to the second digit line [BL_R].
Regarding claim 14, Fig. 1 of Kim discloses herein the first digit line [BL_L] is a reference digit line and the second digit line [BL_R] is an active digit line.
Regarding claim 15, Fig. 1 of Kim discloses a controller [column decoder] configured to send a first activation signal [signal to activate bit line BL_L] to the first digit line at a first time [BL_L] during a compensation window when the first isolation device and the second isolation device are deactivated.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 and 17-20 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 1-9 and 17-20, the prior art does not teach or suggest either alone or in combination an apparatus and method comprising: apply a second activation signal to the second digit line at a second time during the compensation window, wherein the first time and the second time have a time difference that corresponds to a threshold voltage difference between the first digit line and the second digit line.
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 16, the prior art does not teach or suggest either alone or in combination the controller is configured to send a second activation signal to the second digit line at a second time during the compensation window, wherein the first time and the second time have a time difference that corresponds to a voltage threshold difference between the first digit line and the second digit line.
Conclusion
/ANTHAN TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825