DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
The examiner has cited particular passages including column and line numbers, paragraphs as designated numerically and/or figures as designated numerically in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claims, other passages, paragraphs and figures of any and all cited prior art references may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing an eventual response, to fully consider the context of the passages, paragraphs and figures as taught by the prior art and/or cited by the examiner while including in such consideration the cited prior art references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. MPEP 2141.02 VI: “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS." MPEP 2123 (I): “PATENTS ARE RELEVANT AS PRIOR ART FOR ALL THEY CONTAIN.”
Additionally, in an effort to provide a timely Office response to amendments the Applicant may file in response to this Office Action, it is respectfully requested that, on accompanying remarks/arguments papers, every effort be made to provide specific (page No., paragraph No., FIG. No., etc.) Specification/Drawings support for such amendments, particularly claim amendments.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed subject matter of claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The claim requires: wherein three MTJs are configured to share the SOT layer. There seems to be only one (1) instance in the specification where this claim could find support; paragraph [0124] discloses: “In some aspects, the techniques described herein relate to an apparatus, wherein three MTJs are configured to share the SOT layer.” Yet, there is no figure in the drawings that could highlight how this third MTJ is arranged with the other two MTJs and relevant circuitry/connectivity. For example, FIG. 3 discloses that the SOT layer 302 connects at one end with bitline BL1 and at the other end with bitline BL2. There is no disclosure of how the third MTJ, presumably associated with a third bitline, would fit within this FIG. 3 arrangement. There is no disclosure on whether a third MTJ could require additional write and read transistors and/or additional source lines SL. In sum, the disclosure for the claimed subject matter of claim 5 profoundly lacks any guidance one of ordinary skill in the art could use to enable to make and/or use the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CN 111354392 A to Yu et al. (“Yu”).
As to claim 1, Yu teaches an apparatus comprising: a spin orbit torque (SOT) layer (As found in at least FIG. 1: SOT 501 layer); and at least two magnetic tunnel junctions (MTJs) configured to share the SOT layer (As found in at least FIG. 1: first MTJ 502 and second MTJ 503 share SOT 501).
As to claim 2, Yu teaches wherein each MTJ is configured to independently store a bit of data (As found in the body of the reference: “The invention claims a new-type magnetic memory array (SOT-MRAM), magnetic storage structure of the array 2 is used in switching transistor (transistor) to drive 2 of magnetic storage unit (MTJ). forming a 2T-2R structure, the magnetic memory structure of the invention can be stored 2 memory bit (bit), and each magnetic memory unit are independently operable and effective set of double memory unit on the unit area, can greatly increase the integration density.”).
As to claim 3, Yu teaches wherein the MTJs comprise first and second MTJs, the apparatus further comprising: a first bitline configured for use in writing a first bit in the first MTJ; and a second bitline configured for use in writing a second bit in the second MTJ (As found in at least FIG. 1: MTJs 502 and 503; first bitline BL1-1 and second bitline BL1-2).
As to claim 4, Yu teaches wherein the first bitline is electrically coupled to a source line by the SOT layer and a transistor, and the second bitline is electrically coupled to the source line by the SOT layer and the transistor (As found in at least FIG. 1: bitline BL1-1 coupled to source line SL1 by SOT 501 and transistor 20; bitline BL1-2 coupled to source line SL1 by SOT 501 and transistor 20).
As to claim 6, Yu teaches further comprising a first transistor configured for independently writing each of first and second MTJs, and a second transistor configured for independently reading each of the first and second MTJs (As found in at least FIG. 1: first transistor 20 for writing each MTJ 502 and 503; second transistor 30 for reading each MTJ 502 and 503).
As to claim 7, Yu teaches wherein the first and second transistors share a common source (As found in at least FIG. 1: 20 and 30 share common source line SL1).
As to claim 8, Yu teaches wherein the first transistor has a drain electrically connected to the SOT layer at a point between the first and second MTJs (As found in at least FIG. 1: 20 has a drain terminal electrically connected to SOT 501 at a point between 502 and 503).
As to claim 9, Yu teaches wherein the second transistor has a drain electrically connected to each of the first and second MTJs (As found in at least FIG. 1: drain terminal of 30 connects to MTJs 502 and 503).
As to claim 10, Yu teaches A method comprising: switching on, using a write wordline, a first transistor having a current terminal connected to a spin orbit torque (SOT) layer; switching off, using a read wordline, a second transistor having a current terminal connected to first and second magnetic tunnel junctions (MTJs) that share the SOT layer; and applying a bias to a first bitline coupled to the SOT layer, the bias determining a first state written to the first MTJ (As found in at least FIGS. 1-3 and in the body of the reference: “Specifically, both an NMOS as an example for explanation to the first switch and the second switch, the magnetic memory unit shown in Figure 3, in the dotted line frame 50, when the first bit unit 50a writes "1", the first word line WL1 is applied with the high voltage Vdd to the first switch gating, the second word line RL1 is applied with ground voltage so that the second switch is closed, the second bit line BL1-2 is suspended, the first bit line BL1-1 applying a high voltage Vdd”).
As to claim 11, Yu teaches wherein a second bitline coupled to the SOT layer is floating while the first state is written to the first MTJ (As found in at least FIGS. 1-3 and in the body of the reference: Specifically, both an NMOS as an example for explanation to the first switch and the second switch, the magnetic memory unit shown in Figure 3, in the dotted line frame 50, when the first bit unit 50a writes "1", the first word line WL1 is applied with the high voltage Vdd to the first switch gating, the second word line RL1 is applied with ground voltage so that the second switch is closed, the second bit line BL1-2 is suspended, the first bit line BL1-1 applying a high voltage Vdd”).
As to claim 12, Yu teaches wherein: the write wordline is coupled to a first gate of the first transistor; the read wordline is coupled to a second gate of the second transistor; bias circuitry is configured to bias the write wordline, the read wordline, and the first bitline (As found in at least FIGS. 1-3: write WL1 is coupled to gate of first transistor 20, read RL1 is coupled to gate of second transistor 30; and, as found in the rejection to at least claim 10, WL1, RL1 and BL1-1 are biased; also refer to: “FIG. 1 is a circuit structure …,” “FIG. 3 shows an embodiment of the present invention for writing a magnetic memory array method and reading method of circuit state diagram.”).
As to claim 13, Yu teaches further comprising applying a bias to a second bitline coupled to the SOT layer, the bias determining a second state written to the second MTJ, wherein the first bitline is floating while the second state is written to the second MTJ (As found in at least FIGS. 1-3 and in the body of the reference: “when the second bit unit 50b writes "1", the first word line WL1 is applied with the high voltage Vdd to the first gating switch, the second word line RL1 is applied with ground voltage so that the second switch is closed, the suspended first bit line BL1-1, second bit line BL1-2 applying a high voltage Vdd”).
As to claim 14, Yu teaches further comprising: after the first state is written to the first MTJ, switching off, using the write wordline, the first transistor; switching on, using the read wordline, the second transistor; and applying a bias to the first bitline for reading the first state (As found in at least FIGS. 1-3 and in the body of the reference: “Specifically, when the first bit unit 50a for reading the first word line WL1 is applied with ground voltage so that the first switch is closed, the second word line RL1 applying a high voltage Vdd so that the second switch gating, the second bit line BL1-2 is suspended, the first bit line BL1-1 applying a high voltage Vdd”).
As to claim 15, Yu teaches wherein the first state is determined based on a resistance of the first MTJ (As found in at least FIGS. 1-3 and in the body of the reference: “by reading the magnitude of the output current flowing through the magnetic tunnel junction to determine the resistance state of the magnetic tunnel junction is high resistance or low resistance state”).
As to claim 16, Yu teaches wherein a second bitline coupled to the SOT layer is floating while reading the first state (As found in at least FIGS. 1-3 and in the body of the reference: “Specifically, when the first bit unit 50a for reading the first word line WL1 is applied with ground voltage so that the first switch is closed, the second word line RL1 applying a high voltage Vdd so that the second switch gating, the second bit line BL1-2 is suspended, the first bit line BL1-1 applying a high voltage Vdd”).
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over CN 111354392 A to Yu et al. (“Yu”).
As to claim 17, Yu teaches An apparatus comprising: sensing circuitry configured in a semiconductor substrate (As found in at least FIGS. 1-3, there is disclosed an apparatus configured in a semiconductor substrate 10; said apparatus is arranged to be written to and read from, as set forth in this Office action in the rejection to previous claims; reading from such apparatus involves sensing circuitry to sense current through said apparatus; this is made abundantly obvious in the body of the reference, for example: “Specifically, when the first bit unit 50a for reading the first word line WL1 is applied with ground voltage so that the first switch is closed, the second word line RL1 applying a high voltage Vdd so that the second switch gating, the second bit line BL1-2 is suspended, the first bit line BL1-1 applying a high voltage Vdd, source line SL1 applying a ground voltage to sense current flowing through the first bit unit 50a”); a spin orbit torque (SOT) layer overlying the semiconductor substrate (As found in at least FIG. 2: SOT 501 overlaying substrate 10); and at least two magnetic tunnel junctions (MTJs) overlying the SOT layer (As found in at least FIG. 2: MTJs 502 and 503 overlay SOT 501), wherein each MTJ has a free layer in contact with a top surface of the SOT layer (As found in at least FIG. 4: each MTJ, such as 502, has free layer 701 in contact with SOT 501); wherein the sensing circuitry is configured to read a state of each MTJ (As found in at least claim 25 of the reference).
As to claim 18, Yu teaches further comprising a metal layer underlying the SOT layer, wherein the metal layer comprises a first bitline configured to read and write a first MTJ, and a second bitline configured to read and write a second MTJ (As found in at least FIG. 2: bitlines BL1-1 and BL1-2, metal layers underlying SOT 501).
As to claim 19, Yu teaches further comprising: a write transistor configured in the semiconductor substrate, the write transistor having a drain electrically connected to the SOT layer by vertical interconnect (As found in at least FIG. 2: write transistor 104 in substrate 10 whose drain connects SOT 501); and a read transistor configured in the semiconductor substrate, the read transistor having a drain electrically connected to the MTJs by vertical interconnect (As found in at least FIG. 2: read transistor 105 in substrate 10 whose drain connects to MTJs 501 and 503).
As to claim 20, Yu teaches further comprising a source line patterned in a metal layer overlying the semiconductor substrate and underlying the SOT layer, wherein a source of the write transistor and a source of the read transistor are each connected to the source line (As found in at least FIG. 2: source line SL1, metal layer underlying SOT 501 and overlying substrate 10, and source terminal of 104 and 105 connect to source line SL1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 111354392 A to Yu et al. (“Yu”) in view of U.S. Patent/Publication No. 11842758 to Gupta et al. (“Gupta”).
As to claim 5, while Yu teaches substantially the claimed invention, the teachings may not expressly include wherein three MTJs are configured to share the SOT layer.
However, relevantly and complementarily, Gupta teaches wherein three MTJs are configured to share the SOT layer (As found in at least FIG. 2b: MTJ 81, MTJ 82 and MTJ 83).
Yu and Gupta are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, and/or are reasonably pertinent to the inventor’s problem to be solved: memory having more than one MTJ arranged over an SOT.
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to complement the teachings of Yu as set forth in this Office action and as found in the reference with the relevant and complementary teachings of Gupta also as set forth in this Office action and as found in the reference(s). The suggestion/motivation would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present Application: the prior art, such as US 12340830, introduces a memory arrangement of one MTJ over an SOT, Yu further teaches two MTJs over an SOT, and Gupta teaches three MTJs over an SOT; it is obvious that the relevant art clearly teaches that more than one MTJ can be arranged over an SOT, and that arranging 2, 3 or more MTJs over an SOT may be limited only by circuit arrangement complexity: one that must entertain not only the MTJs and the SOT, but also access -write and read- transistors and interconnecting wiring.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Yu with Gupta to make the above modification.
Conclusion
FERNANDO N. HIDALGO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2827
/Fernando Hidalgo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2827