Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 9, 2026 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Claim 1 recites, inter alia, “attaching a first surface of a first wafer to a carrier wafer, wherein the first wafer includes a first alignment feature extending from the first surface to a second surface opposite the first surface” (emphasis added). Figs. 2A-2C show first surface 211a of a first wafer 210 getting attached to a carrier
wafer 240. However, Figs 2A-2C do not show the first alignment feature 232 extending from the first surface to a second surface opposite the first surface. Furthermore, claim 3 recites, inter alia, “the first alignment feature includes a transparent material extending from the first surface to the second surface and an alignment mark at the second surface, and wherein optically measuring the first position of the first alignment feature comprises optically identifying the alignment mark through the transparent material” (emphasis added). Figs. 2A-2E show the alignment mark 234 at the first surface and not at the second surface 211b.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which were not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 3 recites, inter alia, “the first alignment feature includes a transparent material extending from the first surface to the second surface and an alignment mark at the second surface, and wherein optically measuring the first position of the first alignment feature comprises optically identifying the alignment mark through the transparent material”.(emphasis added). Figs. 2A-2E show the alignment mark 234 at the first surface and not at the second surface 211b. If the alignment mark 234 is at the second surface instead of the first surface, optical identification of the alignment mark would not involve identification through the transparent material as the optical imaging element is stationed on the side of the second surface of the first wafer.
Appropriate correction/clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 3 recites, inter alia, “the first alignment feature includes a transparent material extending from the first surface to the second surface and an alignment mark at the second surface, and wherein optically measuring the first position of the first alignment feature comprises optically identifying the alignment mark through the transparent material”.(emphasis added). Figs. 2A-2E show the alignment mark 234 at the first surface and not at the second surface 211b. If the alignment mark 234 is at the second surface instead of the first surface, optical identification of the alignment mark would not involve identification through the transparent material as the optical imaging element is stationed on the side of the second surface of the first wafer.
Appropriate correction/clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chen et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0310554 A1) in view of Wimplinger (Pub. No. : US 2012/0255365 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen et al. discloses a method for forming a semiconductor device, the method comprising: attaching a first surface of a first wafer to a carrier wafer, wherein the first wafer includes a first alignment feature extending from the first surface towards a second surface opposite the first surface (Par. 0017-0025; Figs. 1-17 – first wafer 20; carrier wafer 10; first alignment feature 50-AM);
optically measuring a first position of the first alignment feature of the first wafer (Par. 0032-0034; Figs. 1-17 – this prior art teaches “the aligner of the bonding instrument searches and recognizes the pattern of alignment mark 50-AM of wafer 20”); optically measuring a second position of a second alignment feature on an upper surface of a second wafer (Par. 0030-0035; Figs. 6-17 – second wafer 120; second alignment feature 150-AM; this prior art teaches “The aligner of the bonding instrument also searches and recognizes the pattern of alignment mark 150-AM of wafer 120”); aligning the first wafer over the second wafer with the first alignment feature vertically aligned with the second alignment feature based on the measured first and second positions (Par. 0030-0035; Figs. 6-17 – this prior art teaches “With the relative positions of wafers 20 and 120 known, an alignment process may be performed to align wafer 120 to wafer 20”); stacking the first wafer on the second wafer such that the second surface of the first wafer contacts the upper surface of the second wafer (Par. 0030-0035; Figs. 6-17); and bonding the first and second wafers together (Par. 0030-0035; Figs. 6-17 – this prior art teaches “with wafer 120 being aligned to wafer 20, a bonding process is performed to bond wafer 120 to wafer 20”). Chen et al. does not disclose the first alignment feature extending from the first surface to a second surface opposite the first surface. However, Wimplinger teaches the first alignment feature extending from the first surface to a second surface opposite the first surface (Par. 0065-0071; Figs. 1a-2c – first wafer 2; first alignment feature 40 comprising alignment mark 4.1; first alignment feature 40 extends from the first surface to the second surface opposite the first surface; this prior art teaches “regions 40 are transparent to
electromagnetic radiation of a certain wavelength or a certain wavelength range. A first detection means 7, especially optics, can correlate the first alignment keys 3.1 to 3.4 of the first wafer 1 with the corresponding second alignment keys 4.1 to 4.4 through the transparent regions 40”; second wafer 1). Chen et al. discloses use of aligner, which may be a part of the bonding apparatus, to recognize the pattern of alignment marks. Wimplinger, also teaches use of visible light to generate the initial position maps of each wafer before they are bonded to each other. This prior art further teaches use of infrared light for in-situ alignment monitoring wherein the light goes through a transparent region that extends from one side of the wafer to the other side to detect the various alignment marks and determine their relative positioning. This improves overall accuracy of alignment. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teachings of Wimplinger to adapt the method for forming a semiconductor device, the method comprising: wherein the first alignment feature of Chen et al. extending from the first surface to a second surface opposite the first surface in order to use infrared light to more accurately align the alignment marks for eventual wafer-to-wafer bonding.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Chen et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the method wherein optically measuring the first position of the first alignment feature comprises imaging a lower surface of the first alignment feature exposed on the second surface of the first wafer (Wimplinger - Par. 0065-0071; Figs. 1a-2c – first wafer 2; first alignment feature 40 comprising alignment marks 4.1 to 4.4; first alignment feature 40 extends from the first surface to the second surface opposite the first surface; this prior art teaches that regions 40 are transparent to electromagnetic radiation of a certain wavelength or a certain wavelength range; the surface containing the alignment keys 4.1 to 4.4 of the first alignment feature could be considered as the lower surface of the first alignment feature; alignment keys 4.1 to 4.4 are monitored through the transparent regions 40 using optics 7/8). .
Regarding Claim 3, modified Chen et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the method wherein the first alignment feature includes a transparent material extending from the first surface to the second surface and an alignment mark at the second surface, and wherein optically measuring the first position of the first alignment feature comprises optically identifying the alignment mark through the transparent material (Wimplinger - Par. 0065-0071; Figs. 1a-2c – first wafer 2; first alignment feature 40 comprising alignment marks 4.1 to 4.4; first alignment feature 40 extends from the first surface to the second surface opposite the first surface; this prior art teaches that regions 40 are transparent to electromagnetic radiation of a certain wavelength or a certain wavelength range; the surface containing the alignment keys 4.1 to 4.4 of the first alignment feature could be considered as the second surface; alignment keys 4.1 to 4.4 are monitored through the transparent regions 40 using optics 7/8). .
Regarding Claim 4, modified Chen et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the method further comprising confirming an alignment of the first and second wafers before bonding the first and second wafers together (Chen et al. - Par. 0030-0035; Figs. 6-17 – this prior art teaches “With the relative positions of wafers 20 and 120 known, an alignment process may be performed to align wafer 120 to wafer 20”).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Chen et al., as applied to claim 4, discloses
the method wherein confirming the alignment of the first and second wafers comprises measuring, using an infrared imaging device, a position of the first and second alignment features (Wimplinger - Par. 0065-0071).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Chen et al., as applied to claim 4, discloses
the method wherein the first and second alignment features are a first pair of alignment features, and wherein confirming the alignment of the first and second wafers comprises imaging a second pair of alignment features independent from the first pair of alignment features (Chen et al. - Par. 0030-0036; Figs. 15-17).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Chen et al., as applied to claim 4, discloses
the method wherein confirming the alignment of the first and second wafers comprises confirming the first and second alignment features are vertically aligned to form an alignment pattern (Chen et al. - Par. 0030-0036; Figs. 15-17).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Chen et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the method wherein the first wafer further includes a conductive structure formed in a signal trench extending from the first surface to the second surface, wherein the second wafer further includes a bond pad at the upper surface, and wherein aligning the first wafer over the second wafer further includes vertically aligning the signal trench of the first wafer with the bond pad on the upper surface of the second wafer (Chen et al. - Par. 0017-0035; Figs. 1-17 – first wafer 20; first alignment feature 50-AM; conductive structure comprising through silicon vias formed in a signal trench; second wafer 120; bond pad 148).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Chen et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses
the method wherein the first wafer further includes a conductive structure extending from the first surface to the second surface, and wherein the method further comprises: removing the carrier wafer from the first surface of the first wafer; and forming one or more metallization layers over the first surface of the first wafer, wherein the conductive structure is electrically coupled to at least one of the one or more metallization layers (Chen et al. - Par. 0017-0035; Figs. 1-17 (especially Fig. 13)).
Regarding Claim 10, Chen et al. discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: a first wafer (Par. 0017-0025; Figs. 1-17 – first wafer 20), comprising: a front surface and a back surface opposite the front surface (Par. 0017-0025; Figs. 1-17 – first wafer 20); one or more through signal trenches extending from the front surface to the back surface, wherein each of the one or more signal trenches includes a conductive structure (Par. 0017-0025; Figs. 1-2 – signal trench 26); and
one or more first alignment features Par. 0017-0025; Figs. 1-17 –first alignment feature 50-AM); and a second wafer (Par. 0030-0035; Figs. 6-17 – second wafer 120) comprising: an upper surface coupled to the back surface of the first wafer (Par. 0030-0035; Figs. 6-17); one or more conductive pads formed on the upper surface, wherein each of the one or more conductive pads is electrically coupled to the conductive structure in a corresponding one of the one or more signal trenches (Par. 0017-0035; Figs. 1-17 – conductive pads 148; signal trench 26); and one or more second alignment features positioned within the longitudinal footprint of a corresponding one of the one or more first alignment features (Par. 0030-0035; Figs. 6-17 – second wafer 120; second alignment feature 150-AM; this prior art teaches “The aligner of the bonding instrument also searches and recognizes the pattern of alignment mark 150-AM of wafer 120”). Chen et al. does not disclose one or more first alignment features each comprising a transparent material extending from the front surface to the back surface forming one or more windows between the front surface and the back surface. However, Wimplinger teaches one or more first alignment features each comprising a transparent material extending from the front surface to the back surface forming one or more windows between the front surface and the
back surface (Par. 0065-0071; Figs. 1a-1c – first wafer 2; first alignment feature 40 comprising alignment mark 4.1; first alignment feature 40 extends from the first surface to the second surface opposite the first surface; this prior art teaches “regions 40 are transparent to electromagnetic radiation of a certain wavelength or a certain wavelength range. A first detection means 7, especially optics, can correlate the first alignment keys 3.1 to 3.4 of the first wafer 1 with the corresponding second alignment keys 4.1 to 4.4 through the transparent regions 40”). Chen et al. discloses use of aligner, which may be a part of the bonding apparatus, to recognize the pattern of alignment marks. Wimplinger, also teaches use of visible light to generate the initial position maps of each wafer before they are bonded to each other. This prior art further teaches use of infrared light for in-situ alignment monitoring wherein the light goes through a transparent region that extends from one side of the wafer to the other side to detect the various alignment marks and determine their relative positioning. This improves overall accuracy of alignment. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teachings of Wimplinger to adapt the semiconductor device, comprising: one or more first alignment features of Chen et al. each comprising a transparent material extending from the front surface to the back surface forming one or more windows between the front surface and the back surface in order to use infrared light to more accurately align the alignment marks for eventual wafer-to-wafer bonding.
.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Chen et al., as applied to claim 10, discloses
the semiconductor device wherein each of the one or more first alignment features includes one or more first alignment marks, wherein each of the one or more second alignment features includes one or more second alignment marks, and wherein the one or more first alignment marks and the one or more second alignment marks do not vertically overlap (Wimplinger - Par. 0065-0071; Figs. 1a-1c – first alignment feature 40 comprising first alignment marks 4.1 to 4.4; second alignment marks 3.1 to 3.4; the one or more first alignment marks and the one or more second alignment marks do not vertically overlap (Figs. 3-4)
Regarding Claim 12, modified Chen et al., as applied to claim 10, discloses
the semiconductor device wherein each of the one or more second alignment features includes one or more alignment marks that are visible in the one or more windows of the corresponding one of the one or more first alignment features (Wimplinger - Par. 0065-0071; Figs. 1a-1c – second alignment features includes alignment marks 3.1 to 3.4; first alignment feature 40 comprising alignment marks 4.1 to 4.4; first alignment feature 40 extends from the first surface to the second surface opposite the first surface; this prior art teaches “regions 40 are transparent to electromagnetic radiation of a certain wavelength or a certain wavelength range. A first detection means 7, especially optics, can correlate the first alignment keys 3.1 to 3.4 of the first wafer 1 with the corresponding second alignment keys 4.1 to 4.4 through the transparent regions 40”)
Regarding Claim 15, modified Chen et al., as applied to claim 10, discloses
the semiconductor device further comprising a third wafer coupled to the front surface of the first wafer, wherein the third wafer comprises one or more metallization layers, and wherein each of the conductive structures in the one or more signal trenches in the first wafer is electrically coupled to one or more of the one or more metallization layers in the third wafer.
(Chen - Par. 0045; Fig. 14b – package component 68 together with metallization layer 54-n could be considered as the third wafer)
Regarding Claim 17, Chen et al. discloses a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, the method comprising: forming one or more signal trenches Par. 0017-0025; Figs. 1-2 – first wafer 20; signal trench 26);
attaching the first surface of the first wafer to a carrier wafer (Par. 0017-0025; Figs. 1-2 – carrier wafer 10); removing material from a second surface of the first wafer to thin the first wafer and expose a first lower surface of at least one of the one or more signal trenches Par. 0017-0025; Figs. 2-3); aligning the first alignment feature on the first wafer with a second alignment feature on a second wafer, wherein the second wafer includes an upper surface and at least one conductive pad at the upper surface corresponding to each of the one or more signal trenches exposed on the second surface of the first wafer (Par. 0017-0025, 0030-0035; Figs. 5-17 – first wafer 20; first alignment feature 50-AM; second wafer 120; second alignment feature 150-AM; conductive pad 148; this prior art teaches “With the relative positions of wafers 20 and 120 known, an alignment process may be performed to align wafer 120 to wafer 20”); and stacking the second surface of the first wafer on the upper surface of the second wafer (Par. 0030-0035; Figs. 6-17). Chen et al. does not disclose forming a first alignment feature in a first surface of a first wafer; and exposing a second lower surface of the first alignment feature However, Wimplinger teaches forming a first alignment feature in a first surface of a first wafer (Par. 0065-0071; Figs. 1a-2c – first wafer 2; first alignment feature 40 comprising alignment mark 4.1; first alignment feature 40 extends from the first surface to the second surface opposite the first surface); and
exposing a second lower surface of the first alignment feature (Par. 0065-0071; Figs. 1a-2c – first wafer 2; first alignment feature 40 comprising alignment mark 4.1; first alignment feature 40 extends from the first surface to the second surface opposite the first surface; this prior art teaches “regions 40 are transparent to electromagnetic radiation of a certain wavelength or a certain wavelength range. A first detection means 7, especially optics, can correlate the first alignment keys 3.1 to 3.4 of the first wafer 1 with the corresponding second alignment keys 4.1 to 4.4 through the transparent regions 40”) Chen et al. discloses use of aligner, which may be a part of the bonding apparatus, to recognize the pattern of alignment marks. Wimplinger, also teaches use of visible light to generate the initial position maps of each wafer before they are bonded to each other. This prior art further teaches use of infrared light for in-situ alignment monitoring wherein the light goes through a transparent region that extends from one side of the wafer to the other side to detect the various alignment marks and determine their relative positioning. This improves overall accuracy of alignment. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teachings of Wimplinger to adapt the method for forming a semiconductor device, the method comprising: forming a first alignment feature in a first surface of a first wafer of Chen et al.; and exposing a second lower surface of the first alignment feature in order to use infrared light to more accurately align the alignment marks for eventual wafer-to-wafer bonding.
Regarding Claim 18, modified Chen et al., as applied to claim 17, discloses
the method wherein forming the one or more signal trenches and the first alignment feature comprises: forming a first trench in the first surface of the first wafer to an intermediate depth (Par. 0018; Figs. 1-2 – only one trench is shown but presence of plurality of trenches are implied); forming a second trench in the first surface of the first wafer spaced to the intermediate depth, wherein the second trench is spaced apart from the first trench by a known distance (Par. 0018; Figs. 1-2 – only one trench is shown but presence of plurality of trenches are implied); and filling the first and second trenches with an oxide-based material (Par. 0018; Figs. 1-2 – the trenches are encircled by an isolation liner formed of oxide-based material (not shown) and at least partially fills the trenches).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Chen et al., as applied to claim 17, discloses
the method wherein the first alignment feature includes an alignment marker at the first surface of the first wafer, and wherein aligning the first alignment feature with the second alignment feature includes optically imaging the alignment marker through the second lower surface of the first alignment feature (Wimplinger - Par. 0065-0071; Figs. 1a-2c – first wafer 2; first alignment feature 40 comprising alignment marks 4.1 to 4.4; first alignment feature 40 extends from the first surface to the second surface opposite the first surface; this prior art teaches that regions 40 are transparent to electromagnetic radiation of a certain wavelength or a certain wavelength range; the surface containing the alignment marks 4.1 to 4.4 of the first alignment feature could be considered as the first surface of the first wafer; alignment keys 4.1 to 4.4 are monitored through the transparent regions 40 using optics 7; i.e. optically imaging the alignment marker 4.1 to 4.4 through the second lower surface of the first alignment feature (Fig. 2b); it has to be mentioned that this prior art teaches stacking the first surface of the first wafer on the upper surface of the second wafer instead of stacking the second surface of the first wafer on the upper surface of the second wafer which the instant invention requires ). .
.
Regarding Claim 20, modified Chen et al., as applied to claim 17, discloses
the method wherein aligning the first alignment feature with the second alignment feature includes optically imaging the second lower surface of the first alignment feature to identify a location of the first alignment feature from the second surface of the first wafer (Wimplinger - Par. 0065-0071; Figs. 1a-2c – first wafer 2; first alignment feature 40 comprising alignment marks 4.1 to 4.4; first alignment feature 40 extends from the first surface to the second surface opposite the first surface; this prior art teaches that regions 40 are transparent to electromagnetic radiation of a certain wavelength or a certain wavelength range; the surface containing the alignment marks 4.1 to 4.4 of the first alignment feature could be considered as the first surface of the first wafer; alignment keys 4.1 to 4.4 are monitored through the transparent regions 40 using optics 7; i.e. optically imaging the alignment marker 4.1 to 4.4 through the second lower surface of the first alignment feature (Fig. 2b); it has to be mentioned that this prior art teaches stacking the first surface of the first wafer on the upper surface of the second wafer instead of stacking the second surface of the first wafer on the upper surface of the second wafer which the instant invention requires). .
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chen et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0310554 A1) and Wimplinger (Pub. No. : US 2012/0255365 A1), as applied to claim 10.
Regarding Claim 13, modified Chen et al., as applied to claim 10, does not explicitly disclose
the semiconductor device wherein each of the one or more second alignment features includes one or more alignment marks that are not vertically aligned with the one or more windows of the corresponding one of the one or more first alignment features. However, it would have been obvious to a person or ordinary skill to fabricate the semiconductor device wherein at least one of the second alignment features includes one or more alignment marks that are not vertically aligned with the one or more windows of the corresponding one of the one or more first alignment feature as in order to make the alignment process more robust by avoiding the risk that a mark sitting exactly inside a window becomes hard to distinguish from the window edge especially under infrared light wherein resolution is lower .
Modified Chen et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the semiconductor device wherein each of the one or more second alignment features includes one or more alignment marks that are not vertically aligned with the one or more windows of the corresponding one of the one or more first alignment features. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adapt the semiconductor device wherein each of the one or more second alignment features includes one or more alignment marks that are not vertically aligned with the one or more windows of the corresponding one of the one or more first alignment features, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 1010 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chen et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0310554 A1) and Wimplinger (Pub. No. : US 2012/0255365 A1), as applied to claim 10, further in view of .Chen et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0219820 A1), hereinafter Chen et al.(820).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Chen et al., as applied to claim 10, does not disclose
the semiconductor device wherein the transparent material is an oxide-based material. However, Chen et al.(820) teaches
the semiconductor device wherein the transparent material is an oxide-based material (Par. 0057; Fig. 6 – alignment feature 640 comprises transparent material, such as an oxide-based material). Modified Chen et al., as applied to claim 10, teaches first alignment features each comprising a transparent material extending from the front surface to the back surface forming one or more windows between the front surface and the back surface. The transparent material is formed of undoped or lowly-doped silicon and is transparent to certain wavelength range of infrared, e.g., wavelength above 1000 nm. However, this transparent region is opaque to visible light. However, if the transparent region of modified Chen et al. is replaced with the transparent region of Chen et al.(820) which is formed of oxide-based material such as silicon oxide; the resultant transparent region would become transparent to the visible light. This would improve accuracy of alignment process It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teachings of Chen et al.(820) to adapt the semiconductor device, wherein the transparent material of modified Chen et al. is an oxide-based material.in order to be able to use visible light to more accurately align the alignment marks for better wafer-to-wafer bonding.
Regarding Claim 16, modified Chen et al., as applied to claim 10, discloses
the semiconductor device wherein each of the one or more signal trenches includes an insulation material formed around the conductive structure (Chen et al. - Par. 0018; Figs. 1-2 – the trenches are encircled by an isolation liner formed of oxide-based material (not shown) and at least partially fills the trenches).
Modified Chen et al. does not disclose
the semiconductor device wherein the transparent material is the same as the insulation material.
However, Chen et al.(820), at least implicitly, teaches
the semiconductor device wherein the transparent material is the same as the insulation material (Par. 0057; Fig. 6 – alignment feature 640 comprises transparent material, such as an oxide-based material). In short, modified Chen et al., as applied to claim 10, teaches first alignment features each comprising a transparent material extending from the front surface to the back surface forming one or more windows between the front surface and the back surface. The transparent material is formed of undoped or lowly-doped silicon and is transparent to certain wavelength range of infrared, e.g., wavelength above 1000 nm. However, this transparent region is opaque to visible light. However, if the transparent region of modified Chen et al. is replaced with the transparent region of Chen et al.(820) which is formed of oxide-based material such as silicon oxide; the resultant transparent region would become transparent to the visible light. This would improve accuracy of alignment process. The insulator material surrounding the conductive structure of the signal trench of modified Chen et al. is also oxide based. Forming the transparent material the same as the insulation material would also simplify the manufacturing process and reduce cost It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teachings of Chen et al.(820) to adapt the semiconductor device, wherein the transparent material is the same as the insulation material of modified Chen et al. in order to be able to use visible light to more accurately align the alignment marks for better wafer-to-wafer bonding and also to simplify the manufacturing process and reduce cost
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang (Patent No.: US 7,349,140 B2) – This prior art teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device, the method comprising: attaching a first surface of a first wafer (130) to a carrier wafer (150), wherein the first wafer includes a first alignment feature (740) extending from the first surface to a second surface opposite the first surface (Fig. 7); optically measuring a first position of the first alignment feature of the first wafer (Fig. 7); optically measuring a second position of a second alignment feature (732) on an upper surface of a second wafer (110); aligning the first wafer over the second wafer with the first alignment feature vertically aligned with the second alignment feature based on the measured first and second positions (Fig. 7); stacking the first wafer on the second wafer such that the second surface of the first wafer contacts the upper surface of the second wafer (Fig. 7); and bonding the first and second wafers together (Fig. 7).
10/27/2026
/SYED I GHEYAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893