DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Acknowledgements
This office action is in response to the application filed 7/30/2024.
Claims 1-8 are pending and have been examined.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Republic of Korea on 09/21/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2023-0126014 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. The automated document retrieval request was unsuccessful.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim line 3 recites “housing 1”. Applicant should consistently use or omit reference numbers. Here, Examiner suggested “housing”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by or in the alternative under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (KR 20020044371 A) (machine translation attached).
Re claim 1, Han discloses an apparatus for removing a residual gas on a wafer (abstract, fine particles, moisture, and the like, RE “gas” intended use. See MPEP 2114), comprising: at least one spraying nozzle (ref. 350C) disposed at a front of a loading volume (see fig. 3) formed within a housing (ref. 300) and extending linearly along a horizontal direction (claim 5, p. 3 ¶¶ 4-6 “installed in a horizontal direction”) respectively; and a plurality of spraying holes (ref. 350C, inherent in a spraying nozzle to include a hole) formed at each spraying nozzle along the extending direction of each spraying nozzle, wherein the residual gas or a contaminating matter on a surface of the wafer is removed by a gas (abstract, inert gas) or a CDA (Clean Dry Air) sprayed through the plurality of the spraying holes (abstract, fine particles, moisture and the like are removed….purified loading mechanism).
Re claim 2, wherein the at least one spraying nozzle consists of a plurality of spraying nozzles arranged along a vertical direction (see fig. 3 plurality of vertical arranged spraying nozzles ref. 350c).
Re claim 3, wherein the at least one spraying nozzle comprises a first spraying nozzle group (see fig. 1 refs. 150c) and a second spraying nozzle group (see fig. 3 refs. 350c) arranged in a shape to face each other. To any extent, the combination of separate embodiments in fig. 1 and fig. 3 does not anticipate the claims, it would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to provide a plurality of spraying nozzle groups as depicted, in order to provide a greater coverage.
Re claim 6, Regarding “wherein each at least one spraying nozzle extends to an inner direction from a side of the housing and extends in an inclined shape to an outer direction”, the mere rearrangement of the spraying nozzle at different angle is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the purpose of targeted air spray.
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (KR 20020044371 A), as applied above, in view Smith et al. (WO 2020046867 A1).
Re claim 4, Han discloses a shown above but does not disclose “wherein the plurality of spraying holes are formed in a spiral shape along the extending direction.” However, Smith discloses it is known in the substrate container purging art (abstract) to provide wherein the plurality of spraying holes (see fig. 7B holes in ref. 520) are formed in a spiral shape along the extending direction (see fig. 7B right example). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the plurality of spraying holes to be formed in a spiral shape, as suggested by Smith, in order to ensure every portion of the internal purge gas channel may be accessed.
Re claim 7, Smith further discloses wherein the apparatus further comprises a plurality of loading members (ref. 196) disposed within the loading volume and for loading the wafer, and contacting tip (see fig. 1 contacting portion of ref. 196 being semi spherical in shape) contacting the wafer and having a spherical shape, a poly pyramidal shape, a corn shape or a semi spherical shape is formed at each loading member.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (KR 20020044371 A), as applied above, in view Mun (KR 20180046272 A) (machine translation attached).
Re claim 5, Han discloses a shown above but does not disclose wherein the at least one spraying nozzle is configured to be rotated along a circumferential direction. However, Mun discloses it is known in the substrate container purging art (abstract) to provide at least one spraying nozzle (refs. 2620) configured to be rotated along a circumferential direction (p. 6 ¶ 12 rotation drive member). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the plurality of spraying nozzles to further be rotated, as suggested by Mun, in order to form an air stream in various directions.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (KR 20020044371 A), as applied above, in view of Jeon (KR101075171B1) (machine translation attached).
Re claim 8, Han discloses a shown above but does not disclose “wherein the apparatus further comprises a discharging module formed at a rear side of the housing, and the discharging module comprises a discharging plate where a plurality of penetrating holes are formed uniformly”. However, Jeon discloses it is known in the substrate container purging art (abstract) to provide a discharging module (see figs. 1-2 and 6, refs. 110) formed at a rear side of the housing, and the discharging module comprises a discharging plate (top surface of 100) where a plurality of penetrating holes (ref. 110) are formed uniformly. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Han to further include a discharging plate, as suggested by Jeon, in order to flow the inert gas at high speed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2004097927 A1 note fig. 9a horizontal purge device
US 2022/0359250 A1 note 730 spray nozzle orientations.
KEVIN G. LEE
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/KEVIN G LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1711