DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
No IDS has been filed. While not required, as per MPEP 609, In nonprovisional applications, applicants and other individuals substantively involved with the preparation and/or prosecution of the application have a duty to submit to the Office information which is material to patentability as defined in 37 CFR 1.56.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "guiding hole" in claim 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the three motors connected to the electrode with connecting means through ONE guiding hole must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Iizuka (2012/0111501).
Iizuka teaches a system for controlling an upper electrode, comprising:
- an upper electrode module facing a lower electrode in a process chamber, see Fig. 1 and particularly [0023-26], wherein the system is a parallel plate etching system with the showerhead acting as the upper electrode,
- a lid, see cover body 12,
- at least three motors disposed at an upper surface of the lid, see actuators 30, initially the Office holds that it is understood that at least motors are disposed, because it is taught that the alignment is precisely controlled such motors are arranged at regular intervals along a periphery, it would be understood that an alignment of a circular object would not be able to be precisely controlled without at least three motors, see MPEP 2144.01, wherein it is stated that it is proper to take into account both the explicit and implicit teachings of a reference in a case of anticipation,
- in the alternative, but in any case wherein Iizuka teaches that a plurality of such motors are arranged at regular intervals along a periphery, the range is overlapped and the limitation is met and made obvious,
- connecting means for connected the motors to the motors – this term is interpreted under 112(f) as per above, and the specification teaches operating shafts and therefore the term is interpreted to include such shafts and their equivalent; the portions on Iizuka are unlabeled, but the parts connecting the motor to the electrode module meet the requirements of the claimed shafts or their equivalents.
Regarding claim 2, the location and slope is controlled by the connecting means. In regard to the ‘regulation’ however, it has been held that claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). Also, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). The prior art includes the claimed structure and is therefore deemed capable of the same use (though in this case the prior art teaches the same control).
Regarding claim 4, the motors are disposed separately at different edge portions of the lid as described.
Claims 3, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Iizuka (2012/0111501) in view of Kim (2014/0020708).
The teachings of Iizuka are described above, the teachings include bellows 14, but for other elements and not the connecting means. Kim teaches an analogous system including multiple positioning mechanisms for an upper electrode, see Fig. 3 and particularly [0040-49] and [0069]. The system includes multiple positioning mechanisms (see PM in the figure), the mechanisms include a bellow and are arranged at positions around the periphery and also in the center portions of the lid.
Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to include the use of the bellows to enclose the positioning mechanisms of Iizuka as Kim teaches that bellows are useful for the same, the positioning mechanisms work the same function as the claimed connecting means.
Regarding claim 5, Iizuka does not teach the motors disposed at different center portions of the lid, but Kim teaches the equivalent system as noted and includes that positioning mechanisms are usefully included at periphery and center portions of the lid. While Kim does not necessarily teach multiple center portions, the teachings include both center and edge and further the duplication and/or rearrangement of parts is obvious without a showing of criticality, see MPEP 2144.04 B. and C. In this case, to include multiple center mechanisms would have been either a duplication and/or a rearrangement and obvious for the purpose of level the upper electrode as in both of the teachings. The instant claims drawn to such motors at the center or the edge suggests a lack of criticality.
Regarding claim 6, the motors are all connected through guiding holes. The claim reads as though the three motors are connected through one guiding hole, it is also interpreted as one guiding hole per each connecting means.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Iizuka (2012/0111501) in view of Fukiage (2016/0322218)
The teachings of Iizuka are described above, including a showerhead but not teaching a purge gap. Fukiage teaches a system with a showerhead and teaches that it is useful to include a gap at the edge of the showerhead in order to flow a purge gas [0004]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to apply the purge gas of Fukiage as a known feature around a showerhead to the system/showerhead of Iizuka. It is noted that the use for a “purge gas” is intended use but in any case the prior art teaches the same.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The teachings of Mullapudi (2006/0231382) further include an insulator ring electrically insulating a top plate, but there is no reason to include the claimed flowing holes along the ring base.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A MILLER, JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712