DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The primary reason for the allowance of the claims is the inclusion of the limitation, along with the other claimed features, “wherein the under-screen camera display screen comprises a driving substrate;
the driving substrate comprises a base, a first metal layer, a second metal layer, and a third metal layer;
the first metal layer, the second metal layer, and the third metal layer are sequentially formed on a side of the base;
the first metal layer is configured to form a light-shielding metal layer;
the second metal layer is configured to form a first gate electrode and a second gate electrode that are insulated from each other;
the third metal layer is configured to form a first source electrode, a second source electrode, a first drain electrode, and a second drain electrode that are insulated from each other;
the first gate electrode, the first drain electrode, and the first source electrode are configured to form a driving transistor of the first pixel circuit, and the driving transistor is configured to control current of the light-emitting device; the second gate electrode, the second source electrode, and the second drain electrode are configured to form a switching transistor of the first pixel circuit; in the first pixel circuit, the switching transistor is connected between the light-emitting device and the driving transistor; and
an anode of the light-emitting device is connected to the second drain electrode of the switching transistor through a via lead layer, and the via lead layer at least partially overlaps with the first source electrode of the driving transistor in a direction perpendicular to the base, so as to form a storage capacitor”, as recited in claim 6.
The primary reason for the allowance of the claims is the inclusion of the limitation, along with the other claimed features, “wherein the under-screen camera display screen comprises a driving substrate;
the driving substrate comprises a base, a first metal layer, a second metal layer, and a third metal layer;
the first metal layer, the second metal layer, and the third metal layer are sequentially formed on a side of the base;
the first metal layer is configured to form a light-shielding metal layer;
the second metal layer is configured to form a first gate electrode and a second gate electrode that are insulated from each other;
the third metal layer is configured to form a first source electrode, a second source electrode, a first drain electrode, and a second drain electrode that are insulated from each other;
the first gate electrode, the first drain electrode, and the first source electrode are configured to form a driving transistor of the first pixel circuit, and the driving transistor is configured to control current of the light-emitting device;
the second gate electrode, the second source electrode, and the second drain electrode are configured to form a switching transistor of the first pixel circuit; in the first pixel circuit, the switching transistor is connected between the light-emitting device and the driving transistor; and
an anode of the light-emitting device is connected to the second drain electrode of the switching transistor through a via lead layer, and the via lead layer at least partially overlaps with the first source electrode of the driving transistor in a direction perpendicular to the base, so as to form a storage capacitor”, as recited in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. 2024/0021626 A1, hereinafter refer to Wang) in view of Yang et al. (U.S. 2025/0056985 A1, hereinafter refer to Yang).
Regarding Claim 1: Wang discloses a under-screen camera display screen (see Wang, Fig.3 as shown below and ¶ [0002]), comprising:
a display area (AA) comprising an under-screen camera area (AA1) (see Wang, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0071]);
a non-display area (BB) comprising at least one corner area (see Wang, Fig.3 as shown above);
wherein the under-screen camera area (AA1) is disposed close to one of the at least one corner area (see Wang, Fig.3 as shown above); and
a pixel circuit (4/5) comprising a first pixel circuit (4), wherein the first pixel circuit (4) is configured to drive a light-emitting device (2) corresponding to the under-screen camera area (AA1) to emit light, and the first pixel circuit (4) is disposed close to the corner area that is close to the under-screen camera area (AA1) (see Wang, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0078]).
Wang is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein first pixel circuit is disposed in the corner area.
However, Wang teaches wherein the first pixel circuit (4) is disposed close to the corner area that is close to the under-screen camera area (AA1) (see Wang, Fig.3 as shown above).
Hence, claims to a first pixel circuit which read on the Wang prior art except with regard to the position of the first pixel circuit were held unpatentable because shifting and rearranging the position of the first pixel circuit would not have modified the operation of the device.
Wang is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the under-screen camera area is disposed to one of the at least one corner area.
For support see Yang, which teaches wherein the under-screen camera area (101) is disposed to one of the at least one corner area (see Yang, Fig.3 as shown below, ¶ [0035]- ¶ [0036], and ¶ [0067]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang and Yang to enable the under-screen camera area of Wang to be disposed to one of the at least one corner area as taught by Yang alternative to disposing under-screen camera area close to one of the at least one corner area in order to improving the light transmission effect and display effect of the photosensitive elements in the first display region.
Regarding Claim 2: Wang as modified teaches a under-screen camera display screen as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Wang and Yang further teaches wherein the non-display area (BB) surrounds the display area (AA), the non-display area (BB) further comprises side non-display areas (BB) (see Wang, Fig.3 as shown above), and
the corner area (101) is disposed in a junction area of two adjacent side non-display areas (104) (see Yang, Fig.3 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 3: Wang as modified teaches a under-screen camera display screen as set forth in claim 2 as above. The combination of Wang and Yang further teaches wherein the corner area where the first pixel circuit (104) is located is further configured to accommodate a gate driving circuit (10), and the gate driving circuit (10) is configured to drive the display area (see Wang, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0097]).
Regarding Claim 4: Wang as modified teaches a under-screen camera display screen as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Wang and Yang further teaches wherein the pixel circuit further comprises a second pixel circuit (5), the display area (AA) further comprises a non-under-screen camera area, the second pixel circuit (5) is configured to drive the light-emitting device (3) corresponding to the non-under-screen camera area to emit light (see Wang, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0073]).
Regarding Claim 9: Wang as modified teaches a under-screen camera display screen as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Wang and Yang further teaches wherein the light-emitting device is an organic light-emitting diode (see Wang, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0109]).
Regarding Claim 10: Wang as modified teaches a under-screen camera display screen as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Wang and Yang further teaches wherein the under-screen camera display screen (AA1) is rectangular, the non-display area (BB) comprises four side non-display areas (BB1/BB2/BB3/BB4) and four corner areas, and the first pixel circuit (4) is disposed in one corner area (BB1) (see Wang, Fig.3 as shown above).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. 2024/0021626 A1, hereinafter refer to Wang) and Yang et al. (U.S. 2025/0056985 A1, hereinafter refer to Yang) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yu et al. (U.S. 2024/0423055 A1, hereinafter refer to Yu).
Regarding Claim 5: Wang as modified teaches a under-screen camera display screen as applied to claim 1 above. The combination of Wang and Yang is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the under-screen camera area comprises a plurality of under-screen pixel areas and a plurality of light-transmitting areas, each of the plurality of light-transmitting areas is between the plurality of under-screen pixel areas, and each of the plurality of under-screen pixel areas corresponds to one light-emitting device.
For support see Yu, which teaches wherein the under-screen camera area (A1) comprises a plurality of under-screen pixel areas (10) and a plurality of light-transmitting areas, each of the plurality of light-transmitting areas is between the plurality of under-screen pixel areas (10), and each of the plurality of under-screen pixel areas (10) corresponds to one light-emitting device (12) (see Yu, Figs.1 and 2, ¶ [0053], ¶ [0082], and ¶ [0086]- ¶ [0087).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang, Yang, and Yu to enable the under-screen camera area to comprise a plurality of under-screen pixel areas and a plurality of light-transmitting areas, each of the plurality of light-transmitting areas to be between the plurality of under-screen pixel areas, and each of the plurality of under-screen pixel areas to be corresponds to one light-emitting device as taught by Yu in order to avoid a diffraction pattern in an image captured by the under-display camera device and ensure an image quality of the under-display camera device.
Claim(s) 11-15 and 19- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. 2024/0021626 A1, hereinafter refer to Wang) in view of Yang et al. (U.S. 2025/0056985 A1, hereinafter refer to Yang) and Yu et al. (U.S. 2024/0423055 A1, hereinafter refer to Yu).
Regarding Claim 11: Wang discloses a display device (see Wang, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0002]), comprising:
a camera module (see Wang, Fig.3 as shown above); and
an under-screen camera display screen (AA1) (see Wang, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0071]), comprising:
a display area (AA) comprising an under-screen camera area (AA1) (see Wang, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0071]);
a non-display area (BB) comprising at least one corner area (see Wang, Fig.3 as shown above);
wherein the under-screen camera area (AA1) is disposed close to one of the at least one corner area (see Wang, Fig.3 as shown above);
a pixel circuit (4/5) comprising a first pixel circuit (4), wherein the first pixel circuit (4) is configured to drive a light-emitting device (2) corresponding to the under-screen camera area (AA1) to emit light, and the first pixel circuit (4) is disposed in the corner area that is close to the under-screen camera area (AA1) (see Wang, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0078]);
Wang is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein first pixel circuit is disposed in the corner area.
However, Wang teaches wherein the first pixel circuit (4) is disposed close to the corner area that is close to the under-screen camera area (AA1) (see Wang, Fig.3 as shown above).
Hence, claims to a first pixel circuit which read on the Wang prior art except with regard to the position of the first pixel circuit were held unpatentable because shifting and rearranging the position of the first pixel circuit would not have modified the operation of the device.
Wang is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the under-screen camera area is disposed to one of the at least one corner area.
For support see Yang, which teaches wherein the under-screen camera area (101) is disposed to one of the at least one corner area (see Yang, Fig.3 as shown above, ¶ [0035]- ¶ [0036], and ¶ [0067]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang and Yang to enable the under-screen camera area of Wang to be disposed to one of the at least one corner area as taught by Yang alternative to disposing under-screen camera area close to one of the at least one corner area in order to improving the light transmission effect and display effect of the photosensitive elements in the first display region.
The combination of Wang and Yang is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a light-output side; and
a non-light-output side,
wherein the light-output side and non-light-output side are opposite to each other, and the camera module is disposed on the non-light-output side of the under-screen camera display screen and corresponds to the under-screen camera area.
For support see Yu, which teaches wherein a light-output side (display side) (see Yu, Fig.9 as shown below, ¶ [0082], and ¶ [0086]- ¶ [0087]); and
a non-light-output side (non-display side) (see Yu, Fig.9 as shown below, ¶ [0082], and ¶ [0086]- ¶ [0087]),
wherein the light-output side and non-light-output side are opposite to each other, and the camera module (02) is disposed on the non-light-output side of the under-screen camera display screen (02) and corresponds to the under-screen camera area (A1) (see Yu, Figs.1 and 9 as shown below, ¶ [0082], and ¶ [0086]- ¶ [0087]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wang, Yang, and Yu to enable the light-output side and non-light-output side opposite to each other, and the camera module to be disposed on the non-light-output side of the under-screen camera display screen and corresponds to the under-screen camera area as taught by Yu in order to avoid a diffraction pattern in an image captured by the under-display camera device and ensure an image quality of the under-display camera device.
Regarding Claim 12: Wang as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 11 as above. The combination of Wang, Yang, and Yu further teaches wherein the non-display area (BB) surrounds the display area (AA), the non-display area (BB) further comprises a side non-display area, and the corner area is disposed in a junction area of two adjacent side non-display areas (BB) (see Wang, Fig.3 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 13: Wang as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 12 as above. The combination of Wang, Yang, and Yu further teaches wherein the corner area where the first pixel circuit (4) is located is further configured to accommodate a gate driving circuit (10), and the gate driving circuit (10) is configured to drive the display area (AA) (see Wang, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0097]).
Regarding Claim 14: Wang as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 11 as above. The combination of Wang, Yang, and Yu further teaches wherein the pixel circuit further comprises a second pixel circuit (5), the display area (AA) further comprises a non-under-screen camera area, the second pixel circuit (5) is configured to drive the light-emitting device (3) corresponding to the non-under-screen camera area to emit light (see Wang, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0073]).
Regarding Claim 15: Wang as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 11 as above. The combination of Wang, Yang, and Yu further teaches wherein the under-screen camera area (A1) comprises a plurality of under-screen pixel areas (10) and a plurality of light-transmitting areas, each of the plurality of light-transmitting areas is between the plurality of under-screen pixel areas (10), and each of the plurality of under-screen pixel areas (10) corresponds to one light-emitting device (12) (see Yu, Figs.1 and 2 as shown above and ¶ [0053]).
Regarding Claim 19: Wang as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 11 as above. The combination of Wang, Yang, and Yu further teaches wherein the light-emitting device is an organic light-emitting diode (see Wang, Fig.3 as shown above and ¶ [0109]).
Regarding Claim 20: Wang as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 11 as above. The combination of Wang, Yang, and Yu further teaches wherein the under-screen camera (AA1) display screen is rectangular, the non-display area (BB) comprises four side non-display areas (BB1/BB2/BB3/BB4) and four corner areas, and the first pixel circuit (4) is disposed in one corner area (see Wang, Fig.3 as shown above).
Conclusion
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812