DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on 7/31/2024, 11/22/2024, and 3/24/2025 have all been considered and made of record (note the attached copies of form PTO-1449).
Inventorship
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “bonding layer” must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims (Specification: Para [0046]).
Not all features of claim 1 and claim 7 are shown in any of the figures. The most relevant drawing is Figure 20 which illustrates a laser diode 162 present in dielectric layer 148. However, there is no waveguide in dielectric layer 148 as required by claim 1 in lines 4-6:
“a first dielectric layer over the laser diode, wherein the first dielectric layer physically contacts the bonding layer of the laser diode;
a first silicon nitride waveguide in the first dielectric layer, wherein the first silicon nitride waveguide extends over the laser diode”
Specification discloses layer 135 may also contain devices 106 which may be a laser diodes (Para [0015]). However, laser diode 106 in dielectric layer 134 does not show any bonding layer nor is there—a first silicon nitride waveguide in the first dielectric layer--.
In claim 7, the limitation—the laser diode is surrounded by a third dielectric layer—is not shown. Most relevant drawing is Figure 20 which illustrates a laser diode 162 present in the dielectric layer 148. Figure 20 does not show a “third dielectric layer” nor any other figures show this feature.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "plurality of dielectric layers" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 2021/0088723 A1, herein “Yu”) in view of Voigt et al. (US 2024/0266801 A1, herein “Voigt”) and Kim et al. (US 2014/0346532 A1, herein “Kim”).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Yu discloses a package (Fig. 8) comprising:
a laser diode (Fig. 8: layer 108 contains a plurality of components 106a-c wherein the components 106 maybe a laser diode, Para [0017]) comprising; a first dielectric layer over the laser diode (Fig. 8: layer 108 is made of dielectric material Para [0021], wherein layer 108 is over 106a-c of which element 106 maybe a laser diode, Para [0017]), wherein the first dielectric layer physically contacts laser diode (Fig. 8: layer 108 physically contacts laser diode layer 106a-c);
a first silicon waveguide (Fig. 8: 104 is silicon base, Para [0016] in the first dielectric layer 108), an interconnect structure over the silicon waveguide (Fig. 8: 120 over 104); and conductive features (Fig. 8: 112/114, Para [0024]; and 115/116, Para [0026]) extending through the first dielectric layer (Fig. 8: 108) and the second dielectric layer (Fig. 8: 102b-c) to electrically contact the interconnect structure (112/114, Para [0024]; and 115/116, Para [0026]).
Yu does not teach a first silicon nitride waveguide; wherein the first silicon nitride waveguide extends over the laser diode; a second dielectric layer over the first silicon nitride waveguide; a silicon nitride waveguide in the second dielectric layer; wherein the second dielectric layer extends over the second silicon nitride waveguide.
Voigt teaches a first silicon nitride waveguide (Fig. 1: 122, wherein the active photonic component 122 maybe a laser diode, Para [0057]); wherein the first waveguide (Fig. 1: 128.2, Para [0094]) extends over the laser diode (Fig. 1: 128.2 extends over 122 which can be a laser diode, Para [0057]); a second dielectric layer (Fig. 1: 118; Para [0091]) over the first waveguide (Fig. 1; 128.2); a silicon nitride waveguide in the second dielectric layer (Fig. 1: 132.1, Para [0097]); wherein the second dielectric layer extends over the second silicon nitride waveguide (Fig. 1: 118 in m3, Para [0097]). The orientation of various layers being over one another is shown below wherein Fig. 1 is turned upside down. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the layer 102b/102c or to replace layer 108 of Yu to have a multiple stack waveguides configuration similar to 132.1-132.4 and the laser diode 122 (Voigt: Fig. 1) in order to produce super-mode coupling (Para [0075] and [0098]). The device of Yu utilizes horizontal coupling which requires complex coupling and tight horizontal alignment tolerance between each component (104/106a-c). However horizontal coupling is based on cross sections of the components 106a and 104 at the butt coupling location wherein some of the modes may be excluded out if the sizes are mismatch. Super mode coupling occurs when the all the modes in one waveguide overlaps with another waveguide in a vertical configuration. This avoids complex alignment schemes and super-mode coupling ensures all the modes are coupled which allows for high density bandwidth transmission because all the modes are utilized due to super-mode overlaps.
Furthermore, by moving the location of the laser diode 106 in layer 108 or to include an additional laser diode on the bottom of layer 102b/102c will produce a vertical stack with multiple layers of silicon nitride waveguides 132.1-132.4 (Voigt Fig. 1) relative to laser diode 122 that allows the device to be manufactured using known CMOS techniques which reduces cost and manufacturing yield (Voigt: Para [0064]).
Lastly, it would also be obvious to one of ordinary skill in art in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the all the waveguides to be made of silicon nitride in order to make the device compatible with different optical communication applications such data communication, bio-photonics, optical signal processing from visible through mid-infrared wavelengths since silicon nitride is capable of transmitting wavelengths from 0.4 um to 4 um (Voigt: Para [0064]).
Yu in view of Voigt (herein “Yu / Voigt”) do not teach a laser diode having a bonding layer, wherein the first dielectric layer physically contacts the bonding layer of the laser diode.
Kim does teach wherein a laser diode (Fig. 6: 220; Para [0047]) having a bonding layer (Fig. 6: 20; Para [0047]) wherein the dielectric layer physically contacts the bonding layer of the laser diode (Figs. 5-6: 20 comes into contact with the vertical side surface of dielectric material; Para [0050]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yu/Voigt to include a bonding layer on a surface of laser diode to ensure the alignment between the laser diode, coupling waveguides are maintained. This will ensure low loss transmission is taking place during operations.
Regarding claim 2, Yu / Voigt / Kim teach the device of claim 1, wherein Yu further teaches an electronic die (Fig. 8: 122; Para [0025]) physically and electrically connected to the interconnect structure (Fig. 8: 122 and layer 120 which contains electrical coupling structures in layer 115/114 which are part of layer 120).
Regarding claim 4, Yu / Voigt / Kim teach the device of claim 1, wherein Yu further teaches a grating coupler may be present in the area of 106a in the first dielectric.
Yu does not teach multiple layers of dielectric having stack waveguide configuration.
Voigt teaches multiple layers of dielectric, wherein each layer contains a separate waveguide which are vertically coupled to each other to produce super-mode coupling for high density transmission (See Rejection of Claim 1).
The examiner finds the limitation of having a grating coupler in the 2nd dielectric layer of Voigt to be obvious over the disclosure of Yu to element 106a for the purpose vertically coupling the light out of the device to an external source such as fiber 150. In view of KSR “obvious to try” rationale, the examiner finds modifying the 2nd dielectric layer to be an obvious variant feature of 106a wherein grating coupler can be applied to any of the dielectric layers for outputting purpose either vertically up or down. This allows the device to be scaled for multiple input or output configurations as desired.
In this application there are only 4 layers of dielectric material, the number of possibilities of using coupler 106a in each layer of 118 is a finite combination wherein any two layers will produce the desired effects of the claimed limitation as recited. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007).
Regarding claim 5, Yu / Voigt / Kim teach the device of claim 1, wherein Yu teaches the laser diode is optically coupled to the silicon waveguide through the first waveguide (Fig. 8: 106a-c, Para [0017] is coupled to 104). The limitation of wherein the waveguide is made of “silicon nitride” is detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, Yu / Voigt / Kim teach the device of claim 1, wherein Yu teaches a photonic device in the second dielectric layer, wherein the photonic device is electrically connected to the interconnect structure (Fig. 8: 106a-c can be other components that require electrical power such as a PD or modulators, Para [0017]).
The modification as proposed in claim 1 will result in the device of Yu having multiple layers of dielectric material and waveguides that are vertically stacked to each other produce super-mode coupling. Yu indicates that the layer 108 may include additional components such modulators and PD which can be applied to each layer of dielectric 118 as taught by Voigt. Yu teaches having element 112 as a conductor for electrical transmission vertically through layer 102b and 102c will ensure the modification of Voigt to be compatible with the device of Yu.
Regarding claim 7, Yu / Voigt / Kim teach the device of claim 1, wherein Yu teaches the laser diode in 106a-c is surround by a dielectric layer 118.
Regarding claim 8, Yu / Voigt / Kim teach the device of claim 7, wherein Yu teaches the conductive features extend through the third dielectric layer (Fig. 8: 102b or 102c, 112).
Claims 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Voigt (herein “Yu / Voigt”)
Regarding claim 9, Yu teaches a device (Fig. 8) comprising: a plurality of waveguides (Fig. 8: 104 Para [0016]) in a first dielectric layer (Fig. 8: 104; Paras [0015]-[0017] in 108, wherein 108 and 102b are dielectric [102b, Para 0015] and [108, Para 0021]); a silicon waveguide (104 made of silicon material [0016]) on a top side of the first dielectric layers (Fig. 8: 104 in 108 is on top of dielectric 102b), a plurality of first through vias (Fig. 8: 112 left side) extending through the plurality of first dielectric layers (Fig. 8: dielectric layers 102b and 108); a plurality of second through vias (Fig. 8: 112 on the right side) extending through the second dielectric layer (102c which can be dielectric materials Para [0015]), a laser diode (Fig. 8: layer 108 contains a plurality of components 106a-c wherein the components 106 maybe a laser diode; Para [0017]) wherein the laser diode (Fig. 8: 106a-c Para [0017]) comprising; a first silicon waveguide on a top side of the plurality dielectric layers (Fig. 8: 104 wherein 104 is silicon base Para [0016] in the first dielectric layer 108, 102b and 102c), an interconnect structure over the silicon waveguide (Fig. 8: 120 over 104); and conductive features (112/114, Para [0024]; and 115/116, Para [0026]) extending through the first dielectric layer (Fig. 8: 108) and the second dielectric layer (Fig. 8: 102b-c) to electrically contact the interconnect structure (112/114, Para [0024]; and 115/116, Para [0026]).
Yu does not teach a plurality of nitride waveguides in a plurality of dielectric layers; wherein the first nitride waveguide extends over the laser diode; a silicon waveguide on a top side of the plurality of first dielectric layers, wherein the silicon waveguide is optically coupled to a first nitride waveguide of the plurality of nitride waveguides; a second dielectric layer covering the laser diode and the bottom side of the plurality of first dielectric layers.
Voigt teaches a plurality of nitride waveguides (Fig. 1 below: waveguides 132.2-132.4 within m1-m3 are made from silicon nitride materials so they qualify as “nitride waveguides” Paras [0064] and [0097]) in a plurality of dielectric layers (Fig. 1: 118 in m1-m3, Para [0091]); wherein the first nitride waveguide (132.2-132.4) extends over the laser diode (Fig. 26 of the applicant discloses waveguides 134a and 134L being over laser diode 162, however not every waveguide 134 extends over the laser diode 162 such as layer that houses 134B. Fig. 1 of Voigt teaches waveguides 132.2 to 132.4 in the dielectric layer 118 are over the laser diode 122 but the waveguide orientations do not extend over the waveguide); a silicon waveguide (Fig. 1: 130 is made of from silicon since layer 104 is made of silicon Para [0095]). Voigt also teaches that silicon waveguide is optically coupled to a first nitride waveguide of the plurality of nitride waveguides (Fig. 1: 130 is optically coupled to 132.2 – 132.4, Para [0097]); a second dielectric layer (dielectric layer 106, Para [0089]) covering the laser diode and the bottom side of the plurality of first dielectric layers (Fig. 1: 106 is covering 118). The device of Yu utilizes horizontal coupling which requires complex coupling and tight horizontal alignment tolerance between each component (104/106a-c). However horizontal coupling is based on cross sections of the components 106a and 104 at the butt coupling location wherein some of the modes may be excluded out if the sizes are mismatch. Super mode coupling occurs when the all the modes in one waveguide overlaps with another waveguide in a vertical configuration. This avoids complex alignment schemes and super mode coupling ensures all the modes are coupled which allows for high density bandwidth transmission because all the modes are utilized due to super-mode overlaps.
Furthermore, by moving the location of the laser diode 106 to a vertical alignment similar to 122 relative to the stack silicon nitride waveguides 132.1-132.4 (Voigt Fig. 1) allows the device to be manufactured using known CMOS techniques which reduces cost and manufacturing yield (Voigt: Para [0064]).
Lastly, it would also be obvious to one of ordinary skill in art in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the all the waveguides to be made of silicon nitride in order to make the device compatible with different optical communication applications such data communication, bio-photonics, optical signal processing from visible through mid-infrared wavelengths since silicon nitride is capable of transmitting wavelengths from 0.4 um to 4 um (Voigt: Para [0064]).
Regarding claim 10, Yu / Voigt teach the device of claim 9, but Yu does not teach the laser diode physically contacts a bottom surface of a first dielectric layer of the plurality of dielectric layers.
Voigt teaches the laser diode (Fig. 1: 122) physically contacts a bottom surface of a first dielectric layer (Fig. 1: 122 contacts surface of TM2 which also contains dielectric materials 118) of the plurality of dielectric layers (118). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dielectric layers of 108/102b-c to have the plurality of the first dielectric layers with their respective waveguides relative to a bottom located laser diode for the purpose of utilizing overlap super mode coupling to increase optical bandwidth because super mode coupling will couple all modes from one input to an output. The greater number of modes allows the signal to carry more data or information in each mode relative to a butt-coupled waveguide which is limited in its ability for mode coupling.
Regarding claim 11, Yu / Voigt teach the device of claim 9, wherein Yu further teaches an interconnect structure (Fig. 120) over the silicon waveguide (104), wherein the interconnect structure is electrically connected to the plurality of first through vias (Fig. 8: 120 and 112).
Regarding claim 12, Yu / Voigt teach the device of claim 11, wherein Yu further teaches a semiconductor die (Fig. 8: 122 [0028]) bonded to the interconnect structure (Fig. 8: 122 and 120, Para [0028]).
Regarding claim 13, Yu / Voigt teach the device of claim 11, wherein Yu further teaches a photonic component (106a-c) on the top side of the plurality of first dielectric layers (Fig. 8: 108 and 102b, 102c, wherein 106a-c is located in top dielectric layer 108), wherein the photonic component is electrically connected to the interconnect structure (Fig. 8: 106a-c is connected interconnector 120).
Regarding claim 14, Yu / Voigt teach the device of claim 9, wherein Yu further teaches an oxide layer between the silicon waveguide and the plurality of first dielectric layers (Fig. 8: 108, Para [0021] and 102c, Para [0015] are dielectric layers wherein 102c maybe a multi-layer structure, Para [0015]. In between 108 and 102c there is an oxide layer 102b, Para [0015]).
Regarding claim 15, Yu / Voigt teach the device of claim 14.
Yu does not teach wherein the oxide layer physically contacts the silicon waveguide.
Voigt teaches wherein the oxide layer physically contacts the silicon waveguide (Fig. 1: dielectric layer 118, wherein the dielectric layer contacts the waveguide 132.4) and at least one nitride waveguide of the plurality of nitride waveguides (132.2-132.4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yu wherein the dielectric layer comes in contact with the waveguide wherein the dielectric layer is made of silicon oxide in or function as both an electrical dielectric and a cladding layer, Paras [0050]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 16, Yu teaches a structure (Fig. 8) comprising: a first waveguide (Fig. 8: 104) on a first side of an oxide layer (Fig. 8: 108); a photonic device (106a-c) on the first side of the oxide layer (108), wherein the photonic device is optically coupled to the first waveguide (Fig. 8: 106 and 104); an interconnect structure (Fig. 8: 120) over the photonic device (Fig. 8: 120 is over 106a-c), wherein the interconnect structure is electrically coupled to the photonic device (Fig. 8: 120 and 106a-c); a semiconductor device (Fig. 8: 122, Para [0028]) over the interconnect structure (Fig. 8: 122 is over 120), wherein the semiconductor device is electrically coupled to the interconnect structure (Fig. 8: 122 is coupled to 120, Para [0030]).
Yu does not teach a first waveguide, a second waveguide on a second side of the oxide layer, wherein the second waveguide is a different material than the first waveguide; a first dielectric layer over the second waveguide and the second side of the oxide layer; and a laser device on the first dielectric layer, wherein the laser device is optically coupled to the second waveguide.
Voigt teaches a first waveguide (Fig. 1: 132.4 made of silicon nitride, Para [0097]), a second waveguide (Fig. 1: 130) on a second side of the oxide layer (Fig. 8: 118 in m1 layer), wherein the second waveguide (130) is a different material than the first waveguide (Fig. 1: 130 is made of silicon, Para [0095], while 132.4 is made of silicon nitride, Para [0097]); a first dielectric layer (Fig. 1: 106) over the second waveguide (Fig. 1: 106 over 130) and the second side of the oxide layer (Fig. 1: 106 is over 118); and a laser device (122) on the first dielectric layer (Fig. 1: laser can be located above 130), wherein the laser device is optically coupled to the second waveguide (Para [0107] wherein laser can be coupled to 130).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bottom layer 102c or 102b to include orientation as discussed by Voigt wherein a oxide layer is coupled to two waveguides on opposite sides to enable vertical super-mode coupling, wherein an additional laser diode is located at the site of 130 to enable multiple point on input/output in which the PIC can send multiple output via different laser diode location. This modification enables designs in rack systems wherein side coupling or vertical coupling is ideal. In this particular case, the Yu reference already teaches vertical coupling via 106a, having an additional I/O ports that enable side coupling into the PIC gives the chip flexibility for different orientation hookup in a rack system.
Regarding claim 17, Yu / Voigt teach the device of claim 16, wherein Yu further teaches a through via (112) extending through the oxide layer (102b or 102c), wherein the through via (Fig. 8: 114 which maybe vias, Para [0026]) is electrically coupled to the interconnect structure (Fig. 8: conductive features 114 runs through 108 and wherein 114 maybe vias, Para [0026]).
Regarding claim 18, Yu / Voigt teach the device of claim 16, wherein Yu further teaches an edge coupler (Fig. 12: 106d, Para [0038]) on the second side of the oxide layer (left side of 108), wherein the edge coupler is optically coupled to the second waveguide (Fig. 12: either 104 or 150).
Regarding claim 19, Yu / Voigt teach the device of claim 16.
Yu does not teach the second waveguide comprises silicon nitride.
Voigt teaches waveguide material can be made of silica or silicon nitride (Para [0064]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of the second waveguide 104 shown in Fig. 12 on the left side that is in contact with the edge coupler. Voigt indicates that silicon nitride waveguides have vast utility in different disciplines of optics such display, processing or bio-photonic. This allows the chip to be compatible with many different devices across my different applications.
Regarding claim 20, Yu / Voigt teach the device of claim 1, wherein Yu teaches the laser device (106a-c) physically contacts the first dielectric layer (108).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yu et al. (US 2020/0003950 A1) teaches a photonic integrated chip having laser diodes and silicon nitride coupling waveguides.
/ERIN D CHIEM/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874