DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In ¶ [0055]: “anode 110” should read --anode 100--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li (US 20240164187 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 19 of Li discloses an anode (Fig. 19, first anode 2, first hole injection layer 6, ¶ [0101]) with surface quantum states, comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 19, substrate 100, ¶ [0084]), a conductive anode (2), and a surface quantum state generation region (6), which are arranged in sequence from bottom to top (The instant application discloses, in ¶ [0066], that the quantum states are formed by a chemical reaction between metal aluminum and a HAT-CN layer with a thickness of no more than 5 nm. Li discloses metal aluminum and a 5 nm thick layer of HAT-CN. Therefore, the Examiner asserts that Li inherently discloses a quantum state generation region because the required structure is disclosed, see ¶ [0096], [0107] and [0109] of Li).
Regarding claim 3, Fig. 19 of Li disclose the anode with surface quantum states according to claim 1 as applied above, and Fig. 19 of Li further discloses wherein the conductive anode (2) comprises metal, or a metal alloy (“the material of the first anode 2 may include Al, or Ag or Mg/Ag alloy”, ¶ [0109]).
Regarding claim 4, Fig. 19 of Li disclose the anode with surface quantum states according to claim 1 as applied above, and Fig. 19 of Li further discloses wherein the conductive anode (2) comprises aluminum (“the material of the first anode 2 may include Al”, ¶ [0109]).
Regarding claim 6, Fig. 19 of Li disclose the anode with surface quantum states according to claim 4 as applied above, and Fig. 19 of Li further discloses wherein the surface quantum state generation region (6) comprises metal and an organic compound (“a material of the first hole injection layer 6 includes… HAT-CN”, “the material of the first anode 2 may include Al”, ¶ [0107] and [0109]); and
the metal and the organic compound in the surface quantum state generation region (6) are capable of undergoing a charge transfer reaction (The instant application discloses, in ¶ [0066], that the Al and the HAT-CN undergo a charge transfer as a result of a chemical reaction between metal aluminum and a HAT-CN layer with a thickness of no more than 5 nm. Li discloses metal aluminum and a 5 nm thick layer of HAT-CN. Therefore, the Examiner asserts that Li inherently discloses a quantum state generation region because the required structure is disclosed, see ¶ [0096], [0107] and [0109] of Li).
Regarding claim 7, Fig. 19 of Li disclose the anode with surface quantum states according to claim 6 as applied above, and Fig. 19 of Li further discloses wherein the organic compound is an organic compound with a lowest unoccupied molecular orbital level comparable to the work function of the metal and capable of accepting charges from the metal (Li discloses that same materials as the instant application for the organic compound and the metal. Therefore, Li inherently discloses these limitations).
Regarding claim 8, Fig. 19 of Li disclose the anode with surface quantum states according to claim 6 as applied above, and Fig. 19 of Li further discloses wherein the organic compound is HAT-CN (Dipyrazino[2,3-f:2',3'-h]quinoxaline-2,3,6,7,10,11-hexacarbonitrile) (“a material of the first hole injection layer 6 includes… HAT-CN”, ¶ [0107]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5, and 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20240164187 A1) in view of Kang et al. (US 20220123060 A1) herein after “Kang”.
Regarding claim 2, Fig. 19 of Li disclose the anode with surface quantum states according to claim 1 as applied above, but Li fails to explicitly disclose wherein the substrate is a silicon with integrated transistors, or a substrate comprising thin film transistors.
In the similar field of endeavor of display devices, Fig. 5 of Kang discloses wherein the substrate (Fig. 5, base substrate BS, circuit layer DP-CL, ¶ [0060]) is a silicon with integrated transistors, or a substrate (BS, DP-CL) comprising thin film transistors (“the circuit layer DP-CL may be disposed on the base substrate BS, and the circuit layer DP-CL may include a plurality of transistors”, ¶ [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the substrate of Li with the transistors as disclosed by Kang, to control the light emitting device (see Kang, ¶ [0061]).
Regarding claim 5, Fig. 19 of Li disclose the anode with surface quantum states according to claim 3 as applied above, but Li fails to disclose wherein the conductive anode comprises one of copper, nickel, platinum, an aluminum-copper alloy, or an aluminum-titanium alloy.
In the similar field of endeavor of display devices, Fig. 6A of Kang discloses wherein the conductive anode (Fig. 6A, first electrode EL1, ¶ [0094]) comprises one of copper, nickel, platinum, an aluminum-copper alloy, or an aluminum-titanium alloy (“the first electrode EL1 may include Ag, Mg, Cu, Al…, a compound thereof, or a mixture thereof”, ¶ [0117]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the anode of Li with the material as disclosed by Kang, to control the light emitting device (see Kang, ¶ [0061]) and/or because the use of conventional materials to perform their known function is prima-facie obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 9, Fig. 19 of Li disclose the anode with surface quantum states according to claim 1 as applied above, and Fig. 19 of Li further discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 19, “a green quantum dot light-emitting device”, ¶ [0059]), comprising:
an anode layer (2, 6), a hole transport layer (Fig. 19, first hole transport layer 5, ¶ [0075]), an electroluminescent layer (Fig. 19, quantum dot light-emitting layer 3, ¶ [0075]), an electron transport layer (Fig. 19, first electron transport layer 4, ¶ [0075]), and a conductive cathode layer (Fig. 19, first cathode 1, ¶ [0075]), which are arranged in sequence from top to bottom; and
wherein the anode layer (2, 6) is the anode (2, 6) with surface quantum states according to claim 1 (The instant application discloses, in ¶ [0066], that the quantum states are formed by a chemical reaction between metal aluminum and a HAT-CN layer with a thickness of no more than 5 nm. Li discloses metal aluminum and a 5 nm thick layer of HAT-CN. Therefore, the Examiner asserts that Li inherently discloses a quantum state generation region because the required structure is disclosed, see ¶ [0078], [0092] and [0102] of Li).
Li fails to disclose an electron injection layer.
In the similar field of endeavor of display devices, Fig. 6A of Kang discloses an anode layer (Fig. 6A, first electrode EL1, hole injection layer HIL-1, ¶ [0094] and [0123]), a hole transport layer (Fig. 6A, hole transport layers HTL-1, ¶ [0123]), an electroluminescent layer (Fig. 6A, emission layers EL-B, ¶ [0064]), an electron transport layer (Fig. 6A, electron transport layer ETL-1, ¶ [0123]), an electron injection layer (Fig. 6A, electron injection layers EIL-1, ¶ [0123]) and a conductive cathode layer (Fig. 6A, second electrode EL2, ¶ [0094]), which are arranged in sequence from top to bottom.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the semiconductor device of Li with the electron injection layer as disclosed by Kang, to obtain the desired electrical properties (see Kang, ¶ [0135]).
Regarding claim 10, Li and Kang together disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 9 as applied above, and Fig. 19 of Li further discloses wherein material of the hole transport layer (5) is one of CBP (4, 4'-N, N'-dicarbazole-biphenyl), TCTA (4,4',4''-tris(carbazol-9-yl)triphenylamine), TAPC (4,4'-cyclohexylidenebis[N,N-bis(p-tolyl)aniline]), NPB (N, N'-diphenyl-N, N'-bis(1-naphthyl-pheny1)-1, 1'-biphenyl-4, 4'-diamine), or m-MTDATA (4,4',4''-Tris(N-3-methylphenyl-N-phenylamino)triphenylamine) (“the first hole transport layer includes an organic material or an inorganic material, wherein the organic material includes… 4,4′,4″-tris (carbazol-9-yl) triphenylamine”, ¶ [0011]).
Regarding claim 11, Li and Kang together disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 9 as applied above, and Fig. 19 of Li further discloses wherein material of the electroluminescent layer (3) is one of Ir(ppy)2(acac) (Bis(2-phenylpyridinato-C2,N) (acetylacetonate) iridium (III)), Ir(MDQ)2(acac) (Bis(2-methyldibenzo[f,h]quinoxaline) (acetylacetonate) iridium (III)), Firpic (Bis[2-(4, 6-difluorophenyl)pyridinato-C2,N] (picolinato) iridium (III)), quantum dots, or perovskite (“quantum dot light-emitting layer 3”, ¶ [0075]).
Regarding claim 12, Li and Kang together disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 9 as applied above, and Fig. 19 of Li further discloses wherein the conductive cathode layer (1) is made of transparent and conductive materials (“The electrode (top electrode)… includes a transparent film layer”, ¶ [0085]).
Regarding claim 13, Li and Kang together disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 9 as applied above, but Li fails to explicitly disclose wherein the substrate is a silicon with integrated transistors, or a substrate comprising thin film transistors.
In the similar field of endeavor of display devices, Fig. 5 of Kang discloses wherein the substrate (BS, DP-CL) is a silicon with integrated transistors, or a substrate (BS, DP-CL) comprising thin film transistors (“the circuit layer DP-CL may be disposed on the base substrate BS, and the circuit layer DP-CL may include a plurality of transistors”, ¶ [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the substrate of Li with the transistors as disclosed by Kang, to control the light emitting device (see Kang, ¶ [0061]).
Regarding claim 14, Li and Kang together disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 9 as applied above, and Fig. 19 of Li further discloses wherein the conductive anode (2) comprises metal, or a metal alloy (“the material of the first anode 2 may include Al, or Ag or Mg/Ag alloy”, ¶ [0109]).
Regarding claim 15, Li and Kang together disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 9 as applied above, and Fig. 19 of Li further discloses wherein the conductive anode (2) comprises aluminum (“the material of the first anode 2 may include Al, or Ag or Mg/Ag alloy”, ¶ [0109]).
Regarding claim 16, Li and Kang together disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 14 as applied above, but Li fails to explicitly disclose wherein the conductive anode comprises one of copper, nickel, platinum, an aluminum-copper alloy, or an aluminum-titanium alloy.
In the similar field of endeavor of display devices, Fig. 6A of Kang discloses wherein the conductive anode (EL1) comprises one of copper, nickel, platinum, an aluminum-copper alloy, or an aluminum-titanium alloy (“the first electrode EL1 may include Ag, Mg, Cu, Al…, a compound thereof, or a mixture thereof”, ¶ [0117]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the anode of Li with the material as disclosed by Kang, to control the light emitting device (see Kang, ¶ [0061]) and/or because the use of conventional materials to perform their known function is prima-facie obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 17, Li and Kang together disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 9 as applied above, and Fig. 19 of Li further discloses wherein the surface quantum state generation region (6) comprises metal and an organic compound (“a material of the first hole injection layer 6 includes… HAT-CN”, “the material of the first anode 2 may include Al”, ¶ [0107] and [0109]); and
the metal and the organic compound in the surface quantum state generation region (6) are capable of undergoing a charge transfer reaction (The instant application discloses, in ¶ [0066], that the Al and the HAT-CN undergo a charge transfer as a result of a chemical reaction between metal aluminum and a HAT-CN layer with a thickness of no more than 5 nm. Li discloses metal aluminum and a 5 nm thick layer of HAT-CN. Therefore, the Examiner asserts that Li inherently discloses a quantum state generation region because the required structure is disclosed, see ¶ [0096], [0107] and [0109] of Li).
Regarding claim 18, Li and Kang together disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 17 as applied above, and Fig. 19 of Li further discloses wherein the organic compound is an organic compound with a lowest unoccupied molecular orbital level comparable to the work function of the metal and capable of accepting charges from the metal (The claim recites limitations that are material properties inherent to the organic compound and metal. Li discloses that same materials as the instant application for both the organic compound and the metal. Therefore, Li inherently discloses these limitations).
Regarding claim 19, Li and Kang together disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 17 as applied above, and Fig. 19 of Li further discloses wherein the organic compound is HAT-CN (Dipyrazino[2,3-f:2',3'-h]quinoxaline-2,3,6,7,10,11-hexacarbonitrile) (Dipyrazino[2,3-f:2',3'-h]quinoxaline-2,3,6,7,10,11-hexacarbonitrile) (“a material of the first hole injection layer 6 includes… HAT-CN”, ¶ [0107]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20240164187 A1) and Kang (US 20220123060 A1) in further view of Zhou et al. (US 20180248138 A1) herein after “Zhou”.
Regarding claim 20, Li and Kang together disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 12 as applied above, but the combination fails to explicitly disclose wherein the anode layer and the conductive cathode layer are connected to a power supply.
In the similar field of endeavor of electroluminescent devices, Fig. 1 of Zhou discloses wherein the anode layer (Fig. 1, anode layer 2, ¶ [0085]) and the conductive cathode layer (Fig. 1, cathode layer 9, ¶ [0085]) are connected to a power supply (shown in Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the semiconductor device of Li with the power supply as disclosed by Zhou, to inject current and drive light emission (see Zhou, ¶ [0057]).
Conclusion
/C.A.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893