DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/31/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the virtual boundary layers" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as no mention of multiple virtual boundary lines was made. For purposes of furthering prosecution, it is understood to be the horizontal and vertical virtual boundary lines depicted in Figures 14, 16-18, and 23-24 and described in paragraphs 00127, 00139, and 00163.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-10, 12, 14-18, 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) in view of Park (US Patent No 9,698,163).
Regarding claim 1, Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) teaches a display device (display apparatus 10000, Figure 1A) comprising: a substrate (panel substrate 2100 + circuit board 1001, Figure 1A); a plurality of light-emitting elements (light emitting devices 100, Figure 1A) arranged in each of a plurality of transfer areas (pixel module 1000, Figure 1A) on the substrate; and a black matrix (molding layer 91, Figure 1A + 13, paragraph 0069 + 0175-0180) having a plurality of transmissive holes (Figure 13) each corresponding to one of the plurality of light-emitting elements, wherein the plurality of transfer areas include a first transfer area (Figure 1A) and a second transfer area (Figure 1A) arranged adjacent to each other, the black matrix includes a first area (Figure 1A) corresponding to the first transfer area and a second area (Figure 1A) corresponding to the second transfer area, the first area and the second area are arranged adjacent to each other based on a virtual boundary line (Figure 1A), the first area includes a first transmissive hole (Figure 1A) disposed at a first distance (Figure 1A) from the virtual boundary line and a second transmissive hole (Figure 1A) disposed at a second distance (Figure 1A) from the virtual boundary line, as claimed.
Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) is silent to teach a size of the first transmissive hole being larger than a size of the second transmissive hole.
In an analogous art, Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teaches a size of the first transmissive hole (opening BO11, Figure 4) is larger than a size of the second transmissive hole (opening BO21, Figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for some one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) to size the transmissive hole as taught by Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) thereby ensuring improved radiation efficiency and less visible step-like pattern (col 2, lines 11-12).
Regarding claim 2, Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) and Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teach the display device of claim 1, as claimed. Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) further teaches wherein the second distance is larger than the first distance (Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 3, Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) and Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teach the display device of claim 2, as claimed. Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) further teaches wherein the first area includes a third transmissive hole (Figure 1A) disposed at a third distance (Figure 1A) larger than the second distance based on the virtual boundary line.
Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) is silent to teach a size of the third transmissive hole is smaller than the size of the second transmissive hole.
Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) further teaches a size of the third transmissive hole (opening BO31, Figure 4) is smaller (Figure 4, col 4 line 31 - col 5 line 45) than the size of the second transmissive hole (opening BO21, Figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for some one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the teachings of Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) to size the transmissive hole as taught by Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) thereby ensuring improved radiation efficiency and less visible step-like pattern (col 2, lines 11-12).
Regarding claim 4, Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) and Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teach the display device of claim 3, as claimed.
Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) is silent to teach wherein an interval (Figure 1A) between the first transmissive hole in the first area and a first transmissive hole in the second area disposed adjacent to each other is smaller than a first interval between the first and second transmissive holes disposed in the first area.
It is understood from Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) that the second transfer area has a similar configuration of transmissive holes as the first transfer area (paragraph 0069). Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teaches a size variation between transmissive holes relative to the virtual boundary line (Figure 4). Thus a mirrored flip of the region R1 of Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teaches wherein an interval (Figure 4) between the first transmissive hole (opening BO11, Figure 4) in the first area and a first transmissive hole (mirrored opening BO11, Figured below) in the second area disposed adjacent to each other is smaller than a first interval between the first and second transmissive holes (opening BO21, Figure 4) disposed in the first area.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for some one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the teachings of Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) with the teachings of and Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) by sizing the transmissive holes of the second transfer area similar to the transmissive holes of the first transfer area thereby ensuring improved radiation efficiency and less visible step-like pattern near the boundary line.
Regarding claim 5, Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) and Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teach the display device of claim 4, as claimed. Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) further teaches wherein the first interval is smaller than a second interval between the second and third transmissive holes disposed in the first area (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 6, Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) and Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teach the display device of claim 3, as claimed. Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) further teaches wherein an interval between the first transmissive hole and the second transmissive hole is different from an interval between the second transmissive hole and the third transmissive hole (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 8, Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) and Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teach the display device of claim 1, as claimed.
Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) is silent to teach wherein a distance between the virtual boundary line and the light-emitting element disposed adjacent to the virtual boundary line in the first transfer area is different from a distance between the virtual boundary line and the light-emitting element disposed adjacent to the virtual boundary line in the second transfer area
Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teaches varying the transmissive hole sizes such that the intervals may also be varied (Figure 4), for the reason of improved radiation efficiency and less visible step-like pattern (col 2, lines 11-12), such that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05
Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the teachings of Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) by altering the distance of the light-emitting elements from the virtual boundary line in the first transfer area to compared to the distance of the light-emitting elements from the virtual boundary line in the second area thereby ensuring improved radiation efficiency and less visible step-like pattern (col 2, lines 11-12).
Regarding claim 9, Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) and Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teach the display device of claim 1, as claimed.
Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) is silent to teach wherein the light-emitting element disposed adjacent to the virtual boundary line in the first transfer area is disposed at a first transfer distance, the light-emitting element disposed adjacent to the virtual boundary line in the second transfer area is disposed at a second transfer distance, and a sum of the first transfer distance and the second transfer distance is larger than a distance from a center of the first transmissive hole in the first area to a center of a first transmissive hole in the second area.
Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teaches varying the transmissive hole sizes such that the intervals may also be varied (Figure 4), for the reason of improved radiation efficiency and less visible step-like pattern (col 2, lines 11-12), such that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05
Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the teachings of Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) by altering the distance of the light-emitting elements from the virtual boundary line in the first transfer area to compared to the distance of the light-emitting elements from the virtual boundary line in the second area such that the sum of those distances is larger than the distance between the centers of the respective transmissive holes in which the light-emitting elements are disposed in thereby ensuring improved radiation efficiency and less visible step-like pattern (col 2, lines 11-12).
Regarding claim 10, Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) and Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teach the display device of claim 1, as claimed. Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) further teaches wherein the transmissive holes arranged in the black matrix have an area that becomes smaller as a distance from the virtual boundary line increases (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 12, Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) and Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teach the display device of claim 1, as claimed. Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) further teaches wherein an interval between the transmissive holes arranged in the black matrix increases as a distance from the virtual boundary line increases (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 14, Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) and Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teach the display device of claim 1, as claimed. Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) further teaches wherein a plurality of the first transmissive holes are arranged adjacently along the virtual boundary line (Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 15, Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) and Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teach the display device of claim 1, as claimed. Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) further teaches wherein the plurality of light-emitting elements (light-emitting devices 100, Figure 1A) disposed in the first transfer area (pixel module 1001, Figure 1A) are arranged to be spaced apart at predetermined intervals along a first direction and a second direction (Figure 1A).
Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) is silent to teach a portion of a first electrode electrically connected to each of the plurality of light-emitting elements overlaps with a space between a side of the transmissive hole and one side of connected light-emitting element in a third direction.
Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teaches a portion of a first electrode (gate line GL, Figure 4, col 4, lines 35-48) electrically connected to each of the plurality of light-emitting elements overlaps with a space between a side of the transmissive hole and one side of connected light-emitting element in a third direction
Therefore, it would have been obvious for some one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the teachings of Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) with the teachings of Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) by having the light-emitting elements electrically connected to the first electrode thereby having electrical wiring to provide power to the light-emitting elements of the display device.
Regarding claim 16, Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) and Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teach the display device of claim 1, as claimed. Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) further teaches wherein the plurality of transmissive holes are arranged to be rotationally symmetric with respect to an intersection point where the virtual boundary lines intersect (Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 17, Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) and Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teach the display device of claim 1, as claimed. Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) further teaches wherein the light-emitting element is an inorganic light emitting diode (Figure 1A, paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 18, Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) and Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teach the display device of claim 3, as claimed.
Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) is silent to teach wherein a portion of the light-emitting element disposed to correspond to the third transmissive hole overlaps the black matrix in a third direction.
Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teaches wherein a portion of the light-emitting element disposed to correspond to the third transmissive hole overlaps the black matrix in a third direction (Figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the teachings of Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) with the teachings of Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) by having a portion of the light-emitting element corresponding to the third transmissive hole overlap with the black matrix thereby ensuring improved radiation efficiency and less visible step-like pattern near the boundary line.
Regarding claim 21, Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) teaches a display device (display apparatus 10000, Figure 1A) comprising: a substrate (panel substrate 2100 + circuit board 1001, Figure 1A); a plurality of light-emitting elements (light emitting devices 100, Figure 1A) arranged in each of a plurality of transfer areas (pixel module 1000, Figure 1A) on the substrate; and a black matrix (molding layer 91, Figure 1A + 13, paragraph 0069 + 0175-0180) having a plurality of transmissive holes (Figure 1A) each corresponding to one of the plurality of light-emitting elements, wherein the plurality of transfer areas include a first transfer area (Figure 1A) and a second transfer area (Figure 1A) arranged adjacent to each other based on a virtual boundary line (Figure 1A), wherein the black matrix includes a first area (Figure 1A) corresponding to the first transfer area and a second area (Figure 1A) corresponding to the second transfer area, as claimed.
Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) is silent to teach wherein the transmissive holes arranged in the first area have a size that becomes smaller as a distance from the virtual boundary line increases.
In an analogous art, Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teaches wherein the transmissive holes arranged in the first area have a size that becomes smaller as a distance from the virtual boundary line increases (Figure 4, col 4 line 31 - col 5 line 45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for some one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) with the teachings of Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) by having transmissive holes decreasing in size as the distance from a virtual boundary line increases thereby ensuring improved radiation efficiency and less visible step-like pattern near the boundary line.
Regarding claim 22, Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) teaches a display device (display apparatus 10000, Figure 1A) comprising: a substrate (panel substrate 2100 + circuit board 1001, Figure 1A); a plurality of light-emitting elements (light emitting devices 100, Figure 1A) arranged in each of a plurality of transfer areas (pixel module 1000, Figure 1A) on the substrate; and a black matrix (molding layer 91, Figure 1A + 13, paragraph 0069 + 0175-0180) having a plurality of transmissive holes (Figure 1A) each corresponding to one of the plurality of light-emitting elements, wherein the plurality of transfer areas include a first transfer area (Figure 1A) and a second transfer area (Figure 1A) arranged adjacent to each other, the black matrix includes a first area (Figure 1A) corresponding to the first transfer area and a second area (Figure 1A) corresponding to the second transfer area, the first area and the second area are arranged adjacent to each other based on a virtual boundary line (Figure 1A), the first area includes a first transmissive hole (Figure 1A) disposed at a first distance (Figure 1A) from the virtual boundary line, a second transmissive hole (Figure 1A) disposed at a second distance (Figure 1A) from the virtual boundary line, and a third transmissive hole (Figure 1A) disposed at a third distance (Figure 1A) from the virtual boundary line, as claimed.
Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) is silent to teach a size of the first transmissive hole is larger than a size of the second transmissive hole, and the size of the second transmissive hole is larger than a size of the third transmissive hole.
In an analogous art, Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teaches a size of the first transmissive hole (opening BO11, Figure 4) is larger (col 4 line 31 - col 5 line 45) than a size of the second transmissive hole (opening BO21, Figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for some one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) with the teachings of Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) by having transmissive holes decreasing in size as the distance from a virtual boundary line changes thereby ensuring improved radiation efficiency and less visible step-like pattern near the boundary line.
Regarding claim 23, Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) and Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teach the display device of claim 22, as claimed. Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) further teaches wherein the second distance is larger than the first distance (Figure 1A), and the third distance is larger than the second distance (Figure 1A).
Regarding claim 24, Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) and Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teach the display device of claim 23, as claimed.
Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) is silent to teach wherein an interval between the first transmissive hole and the second transmissive hole is different from an interval between the second transmissive hole and the third transmissive hole
Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teaches wherein an interval between the first transmissive hole and the second transmissive hole is different from an interval between the second transmissive hole and the third transmissive hole (Figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for some one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the teachings of Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) with the sizing of the transmissive holes as taught by Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) thereby ensuring improved radiation efficiency and less visible step-like pattern near the boundary line.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) and Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) in view of Bae (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0328465A1).
Regarding claim 19, Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) and Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) teach the display device of claim 1, as claimed.
Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) is silent to teach further comprising: an insulating layer disposed on the substrate; a plurality of first electrodes and a contact electrode disposed on the insulating layer; a second electrode disposed on the plurality of light-emitting elements; and a passivation layer covering the plurality of first electrodes, wherein the plurality of light-emitting elements are disposed on the plurality of first electrodes.
In an analogous art, Bae (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0328465A1) teaches further comprising: an insulating layer (gate insulating layer 13, Figure 9) disposed on the substrate; a plurality of first electrodes (first electrode RME1 + second electrode RME2, Figure 9) and a contact electrode (first voltage line VL1 or second voltage line VL2, Figure 9) disposed on the insulating layer; a second electrode (first connecting electrode CNE1 or second connecting electrode CNE2, Figure 9) disposed on the plurality of light-emitting elements (light-emitting elements ED, Figure 9); and a passivation layer (second insulating layer PAS2 + third insulating layer PAS3, Figure 9) covering the plurality of first electrodes, wherein the plurality of light-emitting elements are disposed on the plurality of first electrodes (Figure 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) and Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) with the teachings of Bae (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0328465A1) thereby having components to operate the light-emitting elements of the display device.
Regarding claim 20, Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1), Park (US Patent No 9,698,163), and Bae (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0328465A1) teach the display device of claim 19, as claimed.
Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) is silent to teach further comprising: a plurality of connection wires disposed between the substrate and the insulating layer, and a pixel driving circuit connected to the plurality of connection wires, wherein the plurality of connection wires are electrically connected to the plurality of first electrodes and the contact.
Bae (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0328465A1) further teaches further comprising: a plurality of connection wires (first transistor T1, Figure 9) disposed between the substrate and the insulating layer, and a pixel driving circuit (Figure 9, paragraph 0126) connected to the plurality of connection wires, wherein the plurality of connection wires are electrically connected to the plurality of first electrodes and the contact electrode (Figure 9, paragraph 0155).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the teachings of Ryu (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0352619A1) and Park (US Patent No 9,698,163) with the teachings of Bae (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0328465A1) thereby having components to operate the light-emitting elements of the display device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 11, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the combination of a center of the light-emitting element disposed to correspond to the first transmissive hole being spaced apart from a center of the first transmissive hole, as claimed in claim 7.
As the distance from the virtual boundary line increases, the transmissive holes arranged in the black matrix have an area that becomes smaller and then becomes constant, as claimed in claim 11.
As the distance from the virtual boundary line increases, the interval between the transmissive holes arranged in the black matrix becomes larger and then maintains constant, as claimed in claim 13.
Conclusion
/KAREEM M MOHAMED-ALY/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/Leonard Chang/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/Leonard Chang/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898