DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In response to the application filed on 07/31/2024, claims 1-20 are currently pending for the examination. The present application, filed on or after March 1wl16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/31/2024 has been placed in the application file, and the information referred therein has been considered as to the merits.
Drawings
Drawing figures submitted on 07/31/2024 have been reviewed and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-12, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 2023/0209446 A1) in view of PARK et al. (US 2023/0371126 A1).
Regarding claim 1; Kim teaches an apparatus comprising at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
attach to a visited public land mobile network as an user (See Fig. 7: A UE 100 is connected to a data network via the UPF 440 through a Next Generation Radio Access Network (NG-RAN) including the gNB 20 (i.e., public land mobile network). ¶ [0101]);
receive, from an application function, a service announcement (See Fig. 6: the UE obtains location information (i.e., service announcement) for a multicast communication service from an Application Function (AF), ¶ [0158]): comprising at least one of a multicast service session allowed to be accessed by multicast service class (See Fig. 7: for supporting a local multicast service: ¶ [0162]);
determine, based on the service announcement, whether the apparatus is allowed to access a multicast session or multicast service class in the visited public land mobile network (See Fig. 7: the UE may determine that the UE is within the service area based on location information (i.e., service announcement) in the form of non-3GPP location(e.g. geographical area information or civic address information), and may perform a Join request to a network node (e.g., land mobile network node). However, in terms of location information in the form of 3GPP location (e.g., Cell ID list, list of gNB, and/or TAI list), since the UE is outside the service area, a situation may occur in which the network node (e.g., AMF or SMF) rejects the Join request. ¶ [0159]);
transmit, in response to determining that the apparatus is allowed to access, a request to join a multicast session comprising an identifier of the multicast session and/or a multicast service class (See Fig. 7: @ step 8) In order to indicate the UE’s interest in receiving a specific multicast service identified by the TMGI, the UE may transmit a Multicast Join Request message to the AMF. Multicast Join Request message may include TMGI…The MB-SMF may transmit a multicast session response message to the AMF. The MB-SMF may include the cell ID list stored for TMGI in the multicast session response message. AMF may store TMGI, cell ID list, and the MB-SMF information for a multicast session. The AMF may transmit a Multicast Join Accept message to the UE. The AMF may include a list of cell IDs stored for TMGI in the Multicast Join Accept message. ¶ [0189] and ¶ [0190-0192]); and
receive an indication of an acceptance or rejection of the request to join the multicast session (See Fig. 7: The AMF may transmit a Multicast Join Accept message to the UE. The AMF may include a list of cell IDs stored for TMGI in the Multicast Join Accept message. ¶ [0189] and ¶ [0190-0192]).
Even though, Kim teaches receiving the service announcement for accessing multicast service, Kim doesn’t explicitly describe attaching to a visited public land mobile network as an inbound roamer.
However, Park discloses attaching to a visited public land mobile network as an inbound roamer (Park-See Fig. 6: In order for the UE (i.e., inbound roamer looking for a service) to receive service, the UE selects one of Public Land Mobile Networks (PLMNs) that can be physically accessed from where the UE is located. When the UE accesses a Visited PLMN (VPLMN) rather than a Home PLMN (HPLMN), the UE may periodically search for the HPLMN. ¶ [0143]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide attaching to a visited public land mobile network as an inbound roamer as taught by Park to have incorporated in the system of Kim, so that it would provide that, when a disaster situation occurs in a 5G system, it is possible to prevent the UE from unnecessarily searching for the HPLMN while receiving service through the PLMN for disaster roaming. Park-¶ [0012].
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “…or…”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 2; Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to: register with the visited public land mobile network (See Fig. 7: @ step 3) The MB-SMF may allocate a TMGI for multicast service and store the TMGI and List of Cell IDs as multicast service area. In order for AMF to discover a MB-SMF for a TMGI, the MB-SMF may register the TMGI and a corresponding address (e.g., address of MB-SMF) to NRF. ¶ [0180-0181]); and establish a local break out protocol data unit session (See Fig. 7: he UE may transmit a PDU session modification request message or a PDU session establishment request message. For example, due to the request of higher layers or detection(e.g. detection of an IGMP or Multicast Listener Report (MLR) and changing the content of an IGMP or MLR message) by the lower layer of the UE participating in the multicast group, the UE may transmit a PDU session modification request message or a PDU session establishment request message. ¶ [0217]).
Regarding claim 3; Kim teaches the apparatus wherein the service announcement indicates at least one public land mobile network of allowed or disallowed inbound roamers (Kim-The SMF may determine to allow the PDU Session establishment (or establishment) request. Accordingly, the SMF may transmit a PDU Session Establishment Accept message to the UE. The PDU Session Establishment Accept message may include service area information (e.g., Cell ID list and/or TAI list) of the multicast session for which the Join request is rejected. For the multicast session requested by the UE to join, the SMF may include an indication/list indicating that the SMF rejects the Join request and/or information related to the reason (e.g., the UE is outside the service area) in the PDU Session Establishment Accept message. ¶ [0251]).
Regarding claim 4; Kim teaches the apparatus wherein the indication of rejection of the request to join the multicast session contains an indication that access to the multicast session is not permitted for an inbound roamer (Kim-The SMF may decide to reject the PDI; Session establishment (or establishment) request. Accordingly, the SMF may transmit a PDU Session Establishment Reject message to the UE. The PDU Session Establishment Reject message may include service area information (e.g., Cell ID list and/or TAI list) of the multicast session for which the Join request is rejected. ¶ [0250]).
Regarding claim 5; Kim teaches an apparatus comprising at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
handle a local breakout packet data unit session for an inbound roamer user equipment (See Fig. 7: The UE may register with the PLMN and request establishment (or establishment) of a PDU session. The UE may also indicate the ability to receive multicast data over the air. ¶ [0215]);
receive a join request of the inbound roamer user equipment for a multicast service session or a multicast service class (See Fig. 7: @ step 8) In order to indicate the UE’s interest in receiving a specific multicast service identified by the TMGI, the UE may transmit a Multicast Join Request message to the AMF. Multicast Join Request message may include TMGI. ¶ [0198]);
determine, based on multicast roaming authorization information for the multicast service session or a multicast service class and/or the inbound roamer (See Fig. 7: the UE may determine that the UE is within the service area based on location information (i.e., service announcement) in the form of non-3GPP location(e.g. geographical area information or civic address information), and may perform a Join request to a network node (e.g., land mobile network node). However, in terms of location information in the form of 3GPP location (e.g., Cell ID list, list of gNB, and/or TAI list), since the UE is outside the service area, a situation may occur in which the network node (e.g., AMF or SMF) rejects the Join request. ¶ [0159]);, whether to accept the join request (Kim-The SMF may determine to allow the PDU Session establishment (or establishment) request. Accordingly, the SMF may transmit a PDU Session Establishment Accept message to the UE. The PDU Session Establishment Accept message may include service area information (e.g., Cell ID list and/or TAI list) of the multicast session for which the Join request is rejected. For the multicast session requested by the UE to join, the SMF may include an indication/list indicating that the SMF rejects the Join request and/or information related to the reason (e.g., the UE is outside the service area) in the PDU Session Establishment Accept message. ¶ [0251]); and
send a join reply message indicating whether the join request is accepted or rejected (Kim-See Fig. 7; @ step 11) The AMF may transmit a Multicast Join Accept message to the UE. The AMF may include a list of cell IDs stored for TMGI in the Multicast Join Accept message. ¶ [0192]).
Even though, Kim teaches receiving the service announcement for accessing multicast service, Kim doesn’t explicitly describe attaching to a visited public land mobile network as an inbound roamer.
However, Park discloses attaching to a visited public land mobile network as an inbound roamer (Park-See Fig. 6: In order for the UE (i.e., inbound roamer looking for a service) to receive service, the UE selects one of Public Land Mobile Networks (PLMNs) that can be physically accessed from where the UE is located. When the UE accesses a Visited PLMN (VPLMN) rather than a Home PLMN (HPLMN), the UE may periodically search for the HPLMN. ¶ [0143]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide attaching to a visited public land mobile network as an inbound roamer as taught by Park to have incorporated in the system of Kim, so that it would provide that, when a disaster situation occurs in a 5G system, it is possible to prevent the UE from unnecessarily searching for the HPLMN while receiving service through the PLMN for disaster roaming. Park-¶ [0012].
Regarding claim 6; Kim in view of Park discloses the apparatus wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to: retrieve user equipment multicast service subscription data from a unified data manager comprising at least one of:
multicast service classes that the apparatus is authorized to access while roaming (Park: the corresponding system should be ready to accept roaming calls through preliminary network interworking between operators, and may accommodate roaming calls between operators by taking follow-up measures according to occurrence criteria when a communication disaster occurs. ¶ [0174]).
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “at least one of”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 8; Kim teaches the apparatus wherein the join reply message indicating that the join request is rejected comprises an error cause indicating that access to the multicast service session or multicast service class is not permitted for an inbound roamer (Kim- See Fig. 7: The SMF may decide to reject the PDU Session Modification request. Accordingly, the SMF may transmit a PDU Session Modification Reject message to the UE. The PDU Session Modification Reject message may include service area information (e.g., Cell ID list and/or TAI list) of the multicast session for which the Join request is rejected. ¶ [0258]).
Regarding claim 9; Kim teaches an apparatus comprising at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
determine whether a multicast session or multicast service class is open to inbound roamers, resulting in a determination (See Fig. 7: the UE may determine that the UE is within the service area based on location information (i.e., service announcement) in the form of non-3GPP location(e.g. geographical area information or civic address information), and may perform a Join request to a network node (e.g., land mobile network node). However, in terms of location information in the form of 3GPP location (e.g., Cell ID list, list of gNB, and/or TAI list), since the UE is outside the service area, a situation may occur in which the network node (e.g., AMF or SMF) rejects the Join request. ¶ [0159]); and
transmit, based on the determination, a service announcement for a multicast session or service class indicating whether inbound roamers are allowed to access the multicast service or multicast service class (Kim-The SMF may determine to allow the PDU Session establishment (or establishment) request. Accordingly, the SMF may transmit a PDU Session Establishment Accept message to the UE. The PDU Session Establishment Accept message may include service area information (e.g., Cell ID list and/or TAI list) of the multicast session for which the Join request is rejected. For the multicast session requested by the UE to join, the SMF may include an indication/list indicating that the SMF rejects the Join request and/or information related to the reason (e.g., the UE is outside the service area) in the PDU Session Establishment Accept message. ¶ [0251]).
Even though, Kim teaches receiving the service announcement for accessing multicast service, Kim doesn’t explicitly describe attaching to a visited public land mobile network as an inbound roamer.
However, Park discloses attaching to a visited public land mobile network as an inbound roamer (Park-See Fig. 6: In order for the UE (i.e., inbound roamer looking for a service) to receive service, the UE selects one of Public Land Mobile Networks (PLMNs) that can be physically accessed from where the UE is located. When the UE accesses a Visited PLMN (VPLMN) rather than a Home PLMN (HPLMN), the UE may periodically search for the HPLMN. ¶ [0143]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide attaching to a visited public land mobile network as an inbound roamer as taught by Park to have incorporated in the system of Kim, so that it would provide that, when a disaster situation occurs in a 5G system, it is possible to prevent the UE from unnecessarily searching for the HPLMN while receiving service through the PLMN for disaster roaming. Park-¶ [0012].
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “…or…”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 10; Kim teaches the apparatus wherein the service announcement further indicates at least one home public land mobile network of allowed or disallowed inbound roamers (Kim-The SMF may determine to allow the PDU Session establishment (or establishment) request. Accordingly, the SMF may transmit a PDU Session Establishment Accept message to the UE. The PDU Session Establishment Accept message may include service area information (e.g., Cell ID list and/or TAI list) of the multicast session for which the Join request is rejected. For the multicast session requested by the UE to join, the SMF may include an indication/list indicating that the SMF rejects the Join request and/or information related to the reason (e.g., the UE is outside the service area) in the PDU Session Establishment Accept message. ¶ [0251]).
Regarding claim 11; Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the determination is based on configured information (See Fig. 7: the UE may determine that the UE is within the service area based on location information (i.e., service announcement) in the form of non-3GPP location(e.g. geographical area information or civic address information), and may perform a Join request to a network node (e.g., land mobile network node). However, in terms of location information in the form of 3GPP location (e.g., Cell ID list, list of gNB, and/or TAI list), since the UE is outside the service area, a situation may occur in which the network node (e.g., AMF or SMF) rejects the Join request. ¶ [0159]);
Regarding claim 12; Kim teaches the apparatus wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to: request establishment of the multicast service from a network entity (See Fig. 7: @ step 8) In order to indicate the UE’s interest in receiving a specific multicast service identified by the TMGI, the UE may transmit a Multicast Join Request message to the AMF. Multicast Join Request message may include TMGI. ¶ [0198]); and indicating in the request whether inbound roamers are allowed to access the multicast service (Kim-The SMF may determine to allow the PDU Session establishment (or establishment) request. Accordingly, the SMF may transmit a PDU Session Establishment Accept message to the UE. The PDU Session Establishment Accept message may include service area information (e.g., Cell ID list and/or TAI list) of the multicast session for which the Join request is rejected. For the multicast session requested by the UE to join, the SMF may include an indication/list indicating that the SMF rejects the Join request and/or information related to the reason (e.g., the UE is outside the service area) in the PDU Session Establishment Accept message. ¶ [0251]).
Regarding claim 14; Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to: indicate the service class in the request for the establishment of the multicast session (See Fig. 7: The UE may register with the PLMN and request establishment (or establishment) of a PDU session. The UE may also indicate the ability to receive multicast data over the air. The AMF may obtain information on whether the UE can participate in the multicast session from the UDM as part of the SMF Selection Subscription data. ¶ [0215]).
Regarding claim 15; Kim teaches tn apparatus comprising at least one processor, and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
receive a request for establishment of a multicast session from a network entity; determine whether inbound roamers are allowed to access the multicast session, resulting in a determination (See Fig. 7: @ step 8) In order to indicate the UE’s interest in receiving a specific multicast service identified by the TMGI, the UE may transmit a Multicast Join Request message to the AMF. Multicast Join Request message may include TMGI. ¶ [0198]);; and
transmit a response to the request indicating whether inbound roamers are allowed to access the multicast session (Kim-See Fig. 7; @ step 11) The AMF may transmit a Multicast Join Accept message to the UE. The AMF may include a list of cell IDs stored for TMGI in the Multicast Join Accept message. ¶ [0192]).
Regarding claim 16; Kim teaches the apparatus wherein the request for the establishment of the multicast session comprises a multicast service class (Kim-The SMF may determine to allow the PDU Session establishment (or establishment) request. Accordingly, the SMF may transmit a PDU Session Establishment Accept message to the UE. The PDU Session Establishment Accept message may include service area information (e.g., Cell ID list and/or TAI list) of the multicast session for which the Join request is rejected. For the multicast session requested by the UE to join, the SMF may include an indication/list indicating that the SMF rejects the Join request and/or information related to the reason (e.g., the UE is outside the service area) in the PDU Session Establishment Accept message. ¶ [0251]).
Regarding claim 17; Kim teaches the apparatus wherein the determination is based on at least one of: an identity of the network entity (Kim- the MBS service area information provided by the UE from the AF may not be 3GPP location type location information(e.g., Cell ID list, list of gNB, and/or TAI list). ¶ [0159]).
Regarding claim 18; Kim teaches the apparatus wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to: send a request for establishment of the multicast session, wherein the request comprises an indication whether inbound roamers are allowed to access the multicast service (Kim-The SMF may determine to allow the PDU Session establishment (or establishment) request. Accordingly, the SMF may transmit a PDU Session Establishment Accept message to the UE. The PDU Session Establishment Accept message may include service area information (e.g., Cell ID list and/or TAI list) of the multicast session for which the Join request is rejected. For the multicast session requested by the UE to join, the SMF may include an indication/list indicating that the SMF rejects the Join request and/or information related to the reason (e.g., the UE is outside the service area) in the PDU Session Establishment Accept message. ¶ [0251]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 13, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon the rejected base claims but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Foti et al. (US 2025/0113216 A1 to discuss the method for dynamic retrieval of NSAC information).
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Noel Beharry can be reached on 571-270-5630. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAI AUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416