DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (Figs 11-18) in the reply filed on 3/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-11, 15-18, 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/27/2026.
Claim 2 recites “a snap feature defined by a slit formed in the hub” which was not disclosed in the elected Species A (Figs 11-18). A slit formed in the hub is found in non-elected Species C (Figs 21-23, where there is a snap feature #2155 defined by a slit). As such claims 2-5 are also withdrawn. Examiner notes that Claim 2 recites similar features as in withdrawn claim 20.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 and its dependent claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 4 should recite “to the hub body” to stay consistent with claim terminology.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mark US 2012/0029354.
Regarding Claim 1, Mark discloses an illumination attachment device (Fig 41-44, see paragraph 145 where this embodiment is similar to that of the embodiment of Figs 33, 39 but uses an illumination device instead of an aspiration device) for a surgical device (#40) comprising:a hub body (see Fig below) including at least one attachment feature (clip member #523) configured to engage a portion of a housing of the surgical device (paragraph 147, Fig 33);
a sleeve (#502) connected to the hub, the sleeve configured to be selectively positioned in parallel with an operational cannula (#44) of the surgical device (#40, paragraph 145); and
wherein the hub further defines an internal track (channel #511 defines a track through which a light fiber can extend through, paragraph 151, Fig 42) for the delivery of a light channel carrying light fiber that is configured to extend along at least a portion of the surgical device, wherein the sleeve is for delivery of the light fiber (paragraph 145, 151 where the sleeve has another channel #511 for the delivery of light fiber).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mark US 2012/0029354.
Regarding Claim 12, Mark discloses an illumination attachment device (Fig 41-44, see paragraph 145 where this embodiment is similar to that of the embodiment of Figs 33, 39 but uses an illumination device instead of an aspiration device) for a surgical device (#40), comprising:
a hub defined by a hub body (see Fig below), wherein the hub defines at least one attachment feature (#523) configured to engage a portion of a housing of the surgical device (paragraph 147, Fig 33);
a first sleeve (#514, see Fig below) connected to the hub, the sleeve configured to be selectively positioned on an operational cannula (#44) of the surgical device (#40, paragraph 145), and
a second sleeve (#512, see Fig below) connected to the first sleeve to define a light channel carrying light fiber that is configured to extend along a portion of the surgical device (paragraph 150).
Regarding Claim 13, Mark discloses the hub defines a track (channel #511 defines a track through which a light fiber can extend through, paragraph 151, Fig 42 above in claim 12) for delivery of the light channel carrying light fiber (paragraph 151).
Regarding Claim 14, Mark discloses the second sleeve is configured to provide for a fiber optic channel configured to deliver light to the surgical site (paragraph 145, 150).
Claim 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mark US 2012/0029354.
Regarding Claim 19, Mark discloses an illumination attachment device (Fig 41-44, see paragraph 145 where this embodiment is similar to that of the embodiment of Figs 33, 39 but uses an illumination device instead of an aspiration device) for a surgical device (#40), comprising:
a hub body (see Fig below) including at least one attachment feature (#523) configured to engage a portion of a housing of the surgical device (paragraph 147, Fig 33);
a sleeve (#502) connected to the hub, the sleeve configured to be selectively positioned in parallel with an operational cannula (#44) of the surgical device (#40, paragraph 145); and
wherein the hub further defines an internal track for the delivery of light (channel #511 defines a track through which a light fiber can extend through, paragraph 151, Fig 42 below), the internal track configured to extend along at least a portion of the surgical device (Fig below, Fig 33, when coupled the track can extend along a portion of the surgical device).
Conclusion
See PTO-892 for art of cited interest, in particular other hub bodies that attach to other instruments. Examiner also notes cited reference Cosmescu US 20120283718 which discloses an illumination attachment device for attaching to a surgical device.
/JAN CHRISTOPHER L MERENE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773