DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The specification and drawings do not disclose the second dummy pattern part overlaps in the thickness direction with at least one of a second conductive pattern part disposed closest to the third edge and a second conductive pattern part disposed closest to the fourth edge among the plurality of second conductive pattern parts, as recited in claim 7.
The specification and drawings do not disclose the second dummy pattern part overlaps in the thickness direction with each of a second conductive pattern part disposed closest to the third edge and a second conductive pattern part disposed closest to the fourth edge among the plurality of second conductive pattern parts, as recited in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the second conductive pattern part”" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first conductive pattern part" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In claim 2, line 3, the recitation of “the first dummy pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to at least one first dummy pattern part?
In claim 2, lines 4-5, the recitation of “at least one of a first conductive pattern part … and a first conductive pattern part …” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to “at least one of the plurality of first conductive pattern parts … and at least another one of the plurality of first conductive pattern parts …”?
In claim 3, lines 2-3, the recitation of “the second dummy pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to at least one second dummy pattern part?
In claim 3, lines 2-3, the recitation of “at least one of a second conductive pattern part … and a second conductive pattern part …” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to “at least one of the plurality of second conductive pattern parts … and at least another one of the plurality of second conductive pattern parts …”?
In claim 4, line 3, the recitation of “the first dummy pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to at least one first dummy pattern part?
In claim 4, lines 4-5, the recitation of “each of a first conductive pattern part … and a first conductive pattern part …” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to “at least one of the plurality of first conductive pattern parts … and at least another one of the plurality of first conducive pattern parts …”?
In claim 4, lines 1-2, the recitation of “the second dummy pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to at least one second dummy pattern part?
In claim 5, lines 2-3, the recitation of “each of a second conductive pattern part … and a second conductive pattern part …” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to “at least one of the plurality of second conductive pattern parts … and at least another one of the plurality of second conducive pattern parts …”?
In claim 6, line 3, the recitation of “the first dummy pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to at least one first dummy pattern part?
In claim 6, lines 5-6, the recitation of “at least one of a first conductive pattern part … and a first conductive pattern part …” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to “at least one of the plurality of first conductive pattern parts … and at least another one of the plurality of first conducive pattern parts …”?
In claim 7, line 4, the recitation of “the second dummy pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to at least one second dummy pattern part?
In claim 7, lines 5-6, the recitation of “at least of a second conductive pattern part … and a second conductive pattern part …” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to “at least one of the plurality of second conductive pattern parts … and at least another one of the plurality of second conducive pattern parts …”?
In claim 8, line 4, the recitation of “the first dummy pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to at least one first dummy pattern part?
In claim 8, lines 5-6, the recitation of “each of a first conductive pattern part … and a first conductive pattern part …” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to “one of the plurality of first conductive pattern parts … and another one of the plurality of first conducive pattern parts …”?
In claim 9, line 4, the recitation of “the second dummy pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to at least one second dummy pattern part?
In claim 9, lines 5-6, the recitation of “each of a second conductive pattern part … and a second conductive pattern part …” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to “at least one of the plurality of second conductive pattern parts … and at least another one of the plurality of second conducive pattern parts …”?
In claim 10, line 3, the recitation of “the first dummy pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to at least one first dummy pattern part?
In claim 11, line 3, the recitation of “the second dummy pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to at least one second dummy pattern part?
In claim 12, lines 3-4, the recitation of “a first conductive pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to one of the plurality of first conductive pattern parts or a different first conductive pattern part?
In claim 12, line 5, the recitation of “a first dummy pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to at least one first dummy pattern part or a different first dummy pattern part?
In claim 13, lines 3-4, the recitation of “a second conductive pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to one of the plurality of second conductive pattern parts or a different second conductive pattern part?
In claim 13, line 5, the recitation of “a first dummy pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to at least one first dummy pattern part or a different first dummy pattern part?
In claim 14, lines 3-4, the recitation of “a first conductive pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to one of the plurality of first conductive pattern parts or a different first conductive pattern part?
In claim 14, line 5, the recitation of “a first dummy pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to at least one first dummy pattern part or a different first dummy pattern part?
In claim 15, line 2, the recitation of “a second conductive pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to one of the plurality of second conductive pattern parts or a different second conductive pattern part?
In claim 15, lines 3-4, the recitation of “a second dummy pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to at least one second dummy pattern part or a different second dummy pattern part?
In claim 16, line 12, the recitation of “the second conductive pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to the plurality of second conductive pattern parts?
In claim 16, line 13, the recitation of “the first conductive pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to the plurality of first conductive pattern parts?
In claim 16, lines 17-18, the recitation of “the first conductive pattern part and the second dummy pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to “one of the plurality of first conductive parts and at least one second dummy pattern part”?
In claim 16, lines 19-20, the recitation of “the second conductive pattern part and the first dummy pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to “one of the plurality of second conductive parts and at least one first dummy pattern part”?
In claim 16, line 22, the recitation of “the first dummy pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to “at least one first dummy pattern part”?
In claim 16, lines 23-24, the recitation of “at least one of a first conductive pattern part … and a first conductive pattern part …” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to “at least one of the plurality of first conductive pattern parts … and at least other one of the plurality of first conductive pattern parts …”?
In claim 16, line 26, the recitation of “the second dummy pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to “at least one second dummy pattern part”?
In claim 16, lines 27-28, the recitation of “at least one of a second conductive pattern part … and a second conductive pattern part …” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to “at least one of the plurality of second conductive pattern parts … and at least other one of the plurality of second conductive pattern parts …”?
In claim 17, line 1, the recitation of “the first dummy pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to “at least one first dummy pattern part”?
In claim 17, lines 2-3, the recitation of “each of the first conductive pattern part … and the first conductive pattern part …” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to “at least one of the plurality of first conductive pattern parts … and at least other one of the plurality of first conductive pattern parts …”?
In claim 17, line 5, the recitation of “the second dummy pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to “at least one second dummy pattern part”?
In claim 17, lines 6-7, the recitation of “each of a second conductive pattern part … and a second conductive pattern part …” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to “at least one of the plurality of second conductive pattern parts … and at least other one of the plurality of second conductive pattern parts …”?
In claim 18, line 2, the recitation of “the first conductive pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to “at least one of the plurality of first conductive parts”.
In claim 18, lines 3-4, the recitation of “the first dummy pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to “at least one first dummy pattern part”?
In claim 19, line 2, the recitation of “the second conductive pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to “at least one of the plurality of second conductive parts”.
In claim 19, line 4, the recitation of “the second dummy pattern part” is unclear as to whether it is being referred to “at least one second dummy pattern part”?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi (US 2009/0016030).
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi discloses, as shown in Figures 1B-2, a flexible circuit board comprising:
a substrate (2);
a plurality of first conductive pattern parts (5a) disposed on a first surface of the substrate;
a plurality of second conductive pattern parts (5b) disposed under a second surface of the substrate opposite to the first surface of the substrate;
at least one first dummy pattern part (bottom 6) disposed under the second surface of the substrate in a region where the second conductive pattern part is not disposed and overlapping the first conductive pattern part in a thickness direction of the substrate, and,
at least one second dummy pattern part (top 6) disposed on the first surface of the substrate in a region where the first conductive pattern part is not disposed and overlapping the second conductive pattern parts in the thickness direction.
Regarding claim 2, Takahashi discloses the substrate (2) includes a first side (left side of 2) and a second side (right side of 2) opposite to each other in a width direction of the substrate, and
wherein the at least first dummy pattern part (bottom 6) overlaps in the thickness direction with at least one of the plurality of first conductive pattern parts (5a) disposed closest to the first side and at least another one of the plurality of first conductive pattern parts disposed closest to the second side among the plurality of first conductive pattern parts.
Regarding claim 3, Takahashi discloses the at least one second dummy pattern part (top 6) overlaps in the thickness direction with at least one of the plurality of second conductive pattern parts (5b) disposed closest to the first side and at least another one of the plurality of second conductive pattern parts disposed closest to the second side among the plurality of second conductive pattern parts.
Regarding claim 4, Takahashi discloses the substrate (2) includes a first side and a second side opposite to each other in a width direction of the substrate,
wherein the at least one first dummy pattern part (bottom 6) overlaps in the thickness direction with at least one of the plurality of first conductive pattern parts (5a) disposed closest to the first side and at least another one of the plurality of first conductive pattern parts disposed closest to the second side among the plurality of first conductive pattern parts.
Regarding claim 5, Takahashi discloses the second dummy pattern part (top 6) overlaps in the thickness direction with at least one of the plurality of second conductive pattern part (5b) disposed closest to the first side and at least another one of the plurality of second conductive pattern part disposed closest to the second side among the plurality of second conductive pattern parts.
Regarding claim 6, Takahashi discloses the first surface of the substrate includes first and second edges opposite to each other in a width direction of the first conductive pattern part, and
wherein the at least one first dummy pattern part (bottom 6) overlaps in the thickness direction with at least one of the plurality of first conductive pattern parts disposed closest to the first edge and another one of the plurality of first conductive pattern part disposed closest to the second edge among the plurality of first conductive pattern parts.
Regarding claim 7, Takahashi discloses the second surface of the substrate includes a third edge and a fourth edge opposite to each other in a width direction of the second conductive pattern part, and wherein the second dummy pattern part overlaps in the thickness direction with at least one of a second conductive pattern part disposed closest to the third edge and a second conductive pattern part disposed closest to the fourth edge among the plurality of second conductive pattern parts.
Regarding claim 8, Takahashi discloses the first surface of the substrate (10) includes first and second edges (which corresponding to the first side and the second side of 10) opposite to each other in a width direction of the first conductive pattern part, and
wherein the at least one first dummy pattern part (bottom 6) overlaps in the thickness direction with one of the plurality of first conductive pattern parts (5a) disposed closest to the first edge and another one of the plurality of first conductive pattern parts disposed closest to the second edge among the plurality of first conductive pattern parts.
Regarding claim 9, Takahashi discloses the second surface of the substrate (10) includes a third edge and a fourth edge (which also corresponding to the first side and the second side of 10) opposite to each other in a width direction of the second conductive pattern part, and wherein the second dummy pattern part (top 6) overlaps in the thickness direction with each of a second conductive pattern part (5b) disposed closest to the third edge and a second conductive pattern part disposed closest to the fourth edge among the plurality of second conductive pattern parts.
Regarding claim 10, Takahashi discloses the substrate (10) includes a first side (the left of 10) and a second side (the right side of 10) opposite to each other in a width direction of the substrate, and wherein the at least one first dummy pattern part (bottom 6) is positioned closer to at least one of the first side and the second side of the substrate than the second conductive pattern part.
Regarding claim 11, Takahashi discloses the substrate (10) includes a first side (the right side of 10) and a second side (the left side of 10) opposite to each other in a width direction of the substrate, and wherein the second dummy pattern part (the first right top 6) is positioned closer to at least one of the first side and the second side than the first conductive pattern part.
Regarding claim 12, Takahashi discloses the substrate (10) includes a first side (the right side of 10) and a second side (the left side of 10) opposite to each other in a width direction of the substrate, and wherein a distance from the first side to an initial start position of a first conductive pattern part (the middle 5a) disposed closest to the first side is greater than a distance from the first side to an initial start position of a first dummy pattern part disposed closest to the first side.
Regarding claim 13, Takahashi discloses the substrate (10) includes a first side (the right side of 10) and a second side (the left side of 10) opposite to each other in a width direction of the substrate, and wherein a distance from the second side to an initial start position of the plurality of second conductive pattern part (5b) from the disposed closest to the second side is greater than a distance from the second side to an initial start position of the at least first dummy pattern part (bottom 6) from disposed closest to the first side.
Regarding claim 14, Takahashi discloses the substrate (10) includes a first side (the left side of 10) and a second side (the right side of 10) opposite to each other in a width direction of the substrate, and wherein a distance from the first side to an initial start position of the plurality of first conductive pattern parts (top 5a) disposed closest to the first side is the same as a distance from the first side to an initial start position of the at least first dummy pattern part (top 6) disposed closest to the first side.
Regarding claim 15, Takahashi discloses a distance from the first side to an initial start position of the second conductive pattern parts (top 5a) disposed closest to the first side is the same as a distance from the first side to an initial start position of the plurality of second dummy pattern part (top 6) disposed closest to the first side.
Double Patenting
Claims 16-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-12, 15-16, and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,964 in view of Takahashi (US 2009/0016030).
Instant Application 18/790342
U.S. Patent No. 11,694,964
Claim 16. A chip package comprising:
a flexible circuit board, and
wherein the flexible circuit board comprises:
a substrate including first and second surfaces opposite to each other in a thickness direction, and first and second sides opposite to each other in a width direction;
a plurality of first conductive pattern parts disposed on the first surface of the substrate;
a plurality of second conductive pattern parts disposed under the second surface of the substrate;
at least one first dummy pattern part disposed under the second surface of the substrate in a region where the second conductive pattern part is not disposed and overlapping the first conductive pattern part in the thickness direction;
at least one second dummy pattern part disposed on the first surface of the substrate in a region where the first conductive pattern part is not disposed and overlapping the second conductive pattern part in the thickness direction;
a first protective layer disposed on the first conductive pattern part and the second dummy pattern part; and
a second protective layer disposed under the second conductive pattern part and the first dummy pattern part, and
wherein a chip is disposed on the first conductive pattern part,
wherein the first dummy pattern part overlaps in the thickness direction with at least one of a first conductive pattern part disposed closest to the first side of the substrate and a first conductive pattern part disposed closest to the second side of the substrate among the plurality of first conductive pattern parts, and
wherein the second dummy pattern part overlaps in the thickness direction with at least one of a second conductive pattern part disposed closest to the first side of the substrate and a second conductive pattern part disposed closest to the second side of the substrate among the plurality of second conductive pattern parts.
Claim 11. A chip package which comprises a flexible circuit board, the flexible circuit board comprising:
a substrate;
a first conductive pattern part disposed on a first surface of the substrate;
a second conductive pattern part disposed on a second surface opposite to the first surface of the substrate;
a first dummy pattern part disposed in a region of the second surface of the substrate in which the second conductive pattern part is not disposed;
a first protection layer disposed on the first conductive pattern part;
a second protection layer disposed on the second conductive pattern part and the first dummy pattern part,
a chip disposed on the first conductive pattern part or the second conductive pattern part,
wherein the first conductive pattern part at an outermost periphery of the substrate is covered by the first protection layer, and
wherein the first dummy pattern part includes: a first wiring pattern layer, and
a first plating layer including tin (Sn) disposed on the first wiring pattern layer.
Claim 12. The flexible circuit board further comprises: a second dummy pattern part which is disposed in a region of the first surface of the substrate in which the first conductive pattern part is not disposed and at least a part of which is vertically overlapped with the second conductive pattern part, wherein the second dummy pattern part includes a second wiring pattern layer, and a second plating layer including tin (Sn) disposed on the second wiring pattern layer, wherein the first conductive pattern part has the same layer structure as the second dummy pattern part, and wherein the second conductive pattern part has the same layer structure as the first dummy pattern part.
Claim 11-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,964 do not disclose the first conductive pattern part and the second conductive pattern part are a plurality of first conductive pattern parts and a plurality of second conductive pattern parts. However, Takahashi discloses a flexible circuit board (10) comprising a plurality of first conductive pattern parts (5a) and a plurality of second conductive pattern parts (5b). Note Figures 1B-2 of Takahashi. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to form the first conductive pattern part and the second conductive pattern part of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,964 being a plurality of first conductive pattern parts and a plurality of second conductive pattern parts, such as taught by Takahashi in order to have the desired configuration.
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first conductive pattern part and the second conductive pattern part being a plurality of first conductive pattern parts and a plurality of second conductive pattern parts, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 17, as similarly describe above, Claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,964 and Takahashi disclose the first dummy pattern part overlaps in the thickness direction with each of the first conductive pattern part disposed closest to the first side of the substrate and the first conductive pattern part disposed closest to the second side of the substrate, and wherein the second dummy pattern part overlaps in the thickness direction with each of a second conductive pattern part disposed closest to the first side of the substrate and a second conductive pattern part disposed closest to the second side of the substrate in the thickness direction
Regarding claim 18, as similarly describe above, Claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,964 and Takahashi disclose a distance from the first side to an initial start position of the first conductive pattern part disposed closest to the first side is the same as a distance from the first side to an initial start position of the first dummy pattern part disposed closest to the first side.
Regarding claim 19, as similarly describe above, Claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,694,964 and Takahashi disclose a distance from the second side to an initial start position of the second conductive pattern part disposed closest to the second side is the same as a distance from the second side to an initial start position of the second dummy pattern part disposed closest to the second side.
Conclusion
/HUNG K VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897