Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the claim language “the first pad is located on an opposite side of the second unit with respect to the third unit in the first direction”. It is unclear how the first pad is positioned with respect to the second unit. Applicant’s figure 2 shows the first pad (55) being located on the left side of the second unit (60), however the left side of the second unit cannot accurately be described as “the opposite side of the second unit with respect to the third unit”, where the third unit (70) is also on the left side of the second unit. Examiner cannot adequately interpret the limitations of claim 10, and therefore it cannot be examined on the merits at this time.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 will not be addressed with respect to the prior art because its parent claim 10 contains indefinite language, and therefore "As stated in In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859, 134 USPQ 292 (CCPA 1962), a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should not be based on considerable speculation about the meaning of terms employed in a claim or assumptions that must be made as to the scope of the claims". See MPEP 2173.06(II).
Regarding claim 12, the claim language “the second pad is located on an opposite side of the first unit with respect to the third unit in the first direction”. It is unclear how the second pad is positioned with respect to the first unit. Applicant’s figure 2 shows the second pad (65) being located on the right side of the first unit (50), however the right side of the first unit cannot accurately be described as “the opposite side of the first unit with respect to the third unit”, where the third unit (70) is also on the right side of the first unit. Examiner cannot adequately interpret the limitations of claim 12, and therefore it cannot be examined on the merits at this time.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 will not be addressed with respect to the prior art because its parent claim 12 contains indefinite language, and therefore "As stated in In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859, 134 USPQ 292 (CCPA 1962), a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should not be based on considerable speculation about the meaning of terms employed in a claim or assumptions that must be made as to the scope of the claims". See MPEP 2173.06(II).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 14-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen (US 20230095134 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses an insulation chip (Fig. 14), comprising: a first unit (205) and a second unit (305) arranged to be spaced apart from each other in a first direction (X direction); and a third unit (105a) placed on the first unit and on the second unit (Shown) so as to extend over a space between the first unit and the second unit in the first direction (Shown when Chen is arbitrarily rotated 180°, see attached figure), wherein the first unit includes: a first semiconductor substrate (semiconductor substrate 220); a first element insulating layer (Fig. 6, 232) including a first element surface (upper surface of 232 in Fig. 6 or attached figure) facing the third unit and a first element back surface opposite to the first element surface (lower surface of 232 in Fig. 6 or attached figure), the first element back surface being in contact with the first semiconductor substrate (Shown); and a first insulation element embedded in the first element insulating layer (centermost instance of 232 for example) at a position spaced apart from the first element surface in a thickness direction of the first element insulating layer (Shown in Fig. 6), the second unit includes: a second semiconductor substrate (320; Para. 52 "silicon bridge dies 305a and 305b", where "silicon… die" is known to indicate a silicon substrate); a second element insulating layer (Fig. 8, comprises 332 and 338) including a second element surface (upper surface of 338) facing the third unit (Shown in attached figure) and a second element back surface opposite to the second element surface (lower surface of 332), the second element back surface being in contact with the second semiconductor substrate (Shown in Fig. 8); and a second insulation element embedded in the second element insulating layer (332) at a position spaced apart from the second element surface in a thickness direction of the second element insulating layer (Shown), the third unit includes: a third semiconductor substrate (Fig. 4, semiconductor substrate 120); a third element insulating layer (comprises 132 and 138) including a third element surface (upper surface of 138) and a third element back surface (lower surface of 132) opposite to the third element surface, the third element back surface being in contact with the third semiconductor substrate (Shown); and a third insulation element (left portion of 132A, see attached
figure) and a fourth insulation element (right portion of 132A) that are embedded in the third element insulating layer at positions spaced apart from the third element surface in a thickness direction of the third element insulating layer (Shown), the third insulation element and the fourth insulation element being spaced apart from each other in the first direction (Shown, spaced apart by central 136) and electrically connected to each other (Shown), and in a unit arrangement state in which the third element insulating layer of the third unit is arranged on both the first element insulating layer of the first unit and the second element insulating layer of the second unit, the first insulation element and the third insulation element are placed to face each other (Shown in attached figure) i n the thickness direction of the first element insulating layer, and the second insulation element and the fourth insulation element are placed to face each other in the thickness direction of the second element insulating layer (Shown).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses wherein the third unit includes a connection wiring line (Fig. 4, centermost 136 and 134) connecting the third insulation element and the fourth insulation element, and the third insulation element, the fourth insulation element, and the connection wiring line are placed at a same position in the thickness direction of the third element insulating layer (Shown).
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses wherein the first unit includes a first circuit (Fig. 6 shows 205 comprising a first circuit), and the second unit includes a second circuit (Fig. 8 shows 305 comprising a second circuit).
Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses wherein the first circuit includes a transmitting circuit or a receiving circuit (The first circuit would inherently be either a transmitting circuit or a receiving circuit, as it is necessarily either transmitting a signal to another portion of the device or receiving a signal from another portion of the device) electrically connected to the first insulation element (Shown), and the second circuit includes a transmitting circuit or a receiving circuit (The second circuit would inherently be either a transmitting circuit or a receiving circuit, as it is necessarily either transmitting a signal to another portion of the device or receiving a signal from another portion of the device) electrically connected to the second insulation element (Shown).
Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses wherein the transmitting circuit or the receiving circuit of the first circuit is placed at a position overlapping the first insulation element as viewed from the thickness direction of the first element insulating layer (Fig. 6 shows 238 portion of the first circuit overlapping first insulation layer 232 in the thickness direction), and the transmitting circuit or the receiving circuit of the second circuit is placed at a position overlapping the second insulation element as viewed from the thickness direction of the second element insulating layer (Fig. 8 shows portions 356 and 334 of the second circuit overlapping at least the 332 portion of the second insulation layer in the thickness direction).
Regarding claim 19, Chen discloses a semiconductor device, comprising the insulation chip according to claim 1 (Fig. 20), the semiconductor device including: a first die pad (Fig. 6, 252) supporting the first unit; a second die pad (Fig. 8, 352) supporting the second unit and spaced apart from the first die pad in the first direction (Shown in Fig. 20); and sealing plastic (Fig. 20, comprises 14 and 22) that seals the first die pad, the second die pad, the first unit, the second unit, and the third unit (Shown).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20230095134 A1) in view of Fang (US 20210327819 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses the insulation chip according to claim 1. However, Chen does not disclose wherein at least one of the first unit, the second unit, or the third unit includes a positioning portion that positions the third unit relative to the first unit and the second unit.
On the other hand, Fang discloses alignment bumps (Fig. 13, 141) fitting into corresponding recess (160). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Fang according to the teachings of Chen such that at least one of the first unit, second unit, or the third unit would include a positioning portion that positions the third unit relative to the first unit and the second unit, in order to ensure accurate alignment between the units which is well-known to be crucial in stacked chip and bridge chip arrangements.
Regarding claim 3, Fang further discloses a positioning portion including a bump (Fig. 13, 141) and a recess (160 in which 141 fits). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Chen according to the teachings of Fang such that the bump and recess would be provided in at least one of the first unit or the second unit, and the other of the bump and recess would be provided in the third unit, in order to ensure accurate alignment between the units which is well-known to be crucial in stacked chip and bridge chip arrangements.
Regarding claim 4, Fang further discloses wherein the positioning portion includes a positioning mark (Fig. 13, 141). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Chen according to the teachings of Fang such that the positioning mark would specifically be formed on at least one of the first element surface of the first unit or the second element surface of the second unit, in order to ensure accurate alignment between the units which is well-known to be crucial in stacked chip and bridge chip arrangements.
Regarding claim 5, Chen further discloses wherein the first element insulating layer includes a first passivation film that forms the first element surface (uppermost layer of 232; para. 30 "some or all of dielectric layers 132 are formed of non-low-k dielectric materials such as silicon oxide", Para. 50 "The processes and materials used to form the various features of device die 205 may be similar to the process and materials used to form their like features in device die 105, and hence the details are not repeated herein. Like features between device die 105 and device die 205 share the same last two numbers in their labels", therefore the descriptions of 132 also apply to 232, and 132/232 are described as being of the same material used to form Applicant's passivation films in Applicant's para. 45, 61 and 78), the second element insulating layer includes a second passivation film (338) that forms the second element surface. However, the claim language “the positioning portion is formed by cutting out both the first passivation film and second passivation film in accordance with the third unit” recites an intermediate process step that does not affect the structure of the final device. Therefore, the process limitations recited in a “product by process” claim would not carry patentable weight in a claim drawn to structure because distinct structure is not necessarily produced. See MPEP 2113. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Circ. 1985).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9, 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the third insulation element includes a coil that has an open annular shape, the coil including a first coil end portion and a second coil end portion that are spaced apart from each other, the fourth insulation element includes a coil that has an open annular shape, the coil including a third coil end portion and a fourth coil end portion that are spaced apart from each other, and the connection wiring line includes: a first connection wiring line connecting the first coil end portion and the third coil end portion; and a second connection wiring line connecting the second coil end portion and the fourth coil end portion.
For this reason, claims 8-9 are also objected to as dependents of claim 7.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein each of the first insulation element, the second insulation element, the third insulation element, and the fourth insulation element is a coil.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein each of the first insulation element, the second insulation element, the third insulation element, and the fourth insulation element is an electrode plate.
Conclusion
/S.J.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/ALI NARAGHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817