DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/03/2024 has been considered by examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 12, 16, and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the trigger event" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes claim 6 will dependent on claim 3 as the claim recite “a trigger event”.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the trigger event" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes claim 12 will dependent on claim 9 as the claim recites “a trigger event”.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the trigger event" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes claim 16 will dependent on claim 15 as the claim recites “a trigger event”.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the trigger event" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes claim 20 will dependent on claim 19 as the claim recites “a trigger event”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, 13-14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan (US 20260095875 A1) in view of SEDIN (US 20240196310 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Fan discloses An apparatus comprising: at least one memory configured to store computer-readable program code; and at least one processing circuitry configured to access the at least one memory, and execute the computer-readable program code to cause the apparatus to at least (Fig.4, Fig.5):
schedule transmission of system information block[[s]] (SIB[[s]]) including information elements with assistance information for a first aerospace platform (paragraph [0059], Fig.3, "301: A terminal device receives first information from a first cell, where the first information includes NTN assistance information of a first satellite" and paragraph [0061], "Optionally, the first information may be carried in SIB19"(i.e., SIB carrying first information that includes NTN assistance information for first satellite. The plurality of SIBs will be addressed by another reference.)),
and a separate at least one information element with assistance information for a second aerospace platform (paragraph [0059], Fig., "301: A terminal device receives first information from a first cell, where the first information includes NTN assistance information of a first satellite and NTN assistance information of a second satellite," and paragraph [0061], "Optionally, the first information may be carried in SIB19. For example, the NTN assistance information of the first satellite and the NTN assistance information of the second satellite that are included in the first information may be carried in a same information element or different information elements of SIB19. This is not limited herein." (i.e., A different IE comprises assistance information of the second satellite.)),
the first aerospace platform and the second aerospace platform configured to provide respectively a first non-terrestrial network (NTN) cell and a second NTN cell that are quasi-Earth-fixed cells serving a geographic area for limited periods of time (paragraph [0033], Fig.1:1-1, "The cell herein may be referred to as a first cell. The terminal device 30 is located in the first cell. It may be understood that the first satellite 10 may serve the first cell. When the first satellite 10 cannot continue to provide a service for the first cell due to movement of the first satellite 10, the second satellite 20 arrives at the first cell, so that the second satellite 20 can continue to provide a service for the first cell. This process may be referred to as satellite switch without cell identity change." and paragraph [0059], "the first satellite corresponds to the first cell, and a cell identity corresponding to the second satellite is the same as a cell identity of the first cell." (i.e., Fig.1 shows 1-1 wherein the satellite serves NTN cell that are serving a geographic area.));
and cause a user equipment in the first NTN cell to acquire the separate at least one information element with the assistance information for the second aerospace platform, during a period of time the geographic area is served by the first NTN cell, before the geographic area is served by the second NTN cell (paragraph [0059], Fig.3, " 301: A terminal device receives first information from a first cell, where the first information includes NTN assistance information of a first satellite and NTN assistance information of a second satellite," and paragraph [0061], "Optionally, the first information may be carried in SIB19. For example, the NTN assistance information of the first satellite and the NTN assistance information of the second satellite that are included in the first information may be carried in a same information element or different information elements of SIB19. This is not limited herein." and paragraph [0062], "After the first satellite stops serving the first cell, the second satellite may take over from the first satellite to continue to serve the first cell. For example, when the first information is received, the first satellite serves the first cell. In other words, the first satellite corresponds to the first cell. Certainly, before the first information is received, the first satellite may also serve the first cell…"(i.e., the first information is sent by the first satellite before the second satellite takes over the first cell.)).
However, Sedin does not explicitly disclose transmission of system information blocks (SIBs).
Sedin discloses schedule transmission of system information blocks (SIBs) (paragraph [0173], "In certain examples, the network may provide the content (or parts) of neighbour cell information using more than one SIBs, for example in existing and/or newly defined SIBs. For example, the content of neighbour cell ephemeris may be split into different SIBs (existing and/or newly defined). The network may indicate to the UE(s) where to find the different content of neighbour cell ephemeris, i.e., in which SIBs." (i.e., discloses the information can be carried in plurality of SIB.)).
Fan and Sedin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fan to implement the feature of Sedin of transmitting a plurality of SIBs because of large information elements there was a need for multiple SIBs and having multiple SIB provides greater management of bandwidth and battery life efficiently (Sedin, paragraph [0082], “As NTN has a number of NTN-specific information elements that are only required when accessing an NTN cell, and also due to the relatively large information elements, it was agreed that new system information blocks (SIBs) are needed.” ).
Regarding Claim 2, Fan in view of Sedin discloses all the limitation of claim 1.
Sedin further discloses wherein the SIBs include a SIB of one type that includes the information elements with the assistance information for the first aerospace platform (paragraph [0015], "transmit, to a UE, a first SIB associated with satellite assistance information, the first SIB including first information on serving cell ephemeris and second information on a validity duration of the serving cell ephemeris," (i.e., first SIB for the serving cell.)),
and a separate SIB of another type that includes the separate at least one information element with the assistance information for the second aerospace platform (paragraph [0015], "and transmit, to the UE, a second SIB associated with neighbor satellite information based on a first timer with a duration of the validity duration of the serving cell ephemeris and a second timer for an acquisition of the first SIB before an RLF, the second SIB including third information on neighbor cell ephemeris." (i.e., second SIB associated with neighbor satellite.)),
and wherein causing the user equipment to acquire the separate at least one information element includes causing the user equipment to acquire the separate SIB that includes the separate at least one information element (paragraph [0197], "the UE may provide, in the request for the neighbour cell ephemeris, an indication of required/desired information, for example an indication of which part of the neighbour cell ephemeris is required, or the expected/required granularity, or the like." (i.e., UE can request the second SIB that has ephemeris data of neighboring satellite.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 7, Fan discloses An apparatus comprising: at least one memory configured to store computer-readable program code; and at least one processing circuitry configured to access the at least one memory, and execute the computer-readable program code to cause the apparatus to at least (Fig.5, Fig.6):
receive scheduling information for system information block[[s]] (SIB[[s]]) at a user equipment, the SIBs including information elements with assistance information for a first aerospace platform (paragraph [0059], Fig.3, "301: A terminal device receives first information from a first cell, where the first information includes NTN assistance information of a first satellite" and paragraph [0061], "Optionally, the first information may be carried in SIB19"(i.e., SIB carrying first information that includes NTN assistance information for first satellite. The plurality of SIBs will be relied on a different reference.)),
and a separate at least one information element with assistance information for a second aerospace platform (paragraph [0059], Fig., "301: A terminal device receives first information from a first cell, where the first information includes NTN assistance information of a first satellite and NTN assistance information of a second satellite," and paragraph [0061], "Optionally, the first information may be carried in SIB19. For example, the NTN assistance information of the first satellite and the NTN assistance information of the second satellite that are included in the first information may be carried in a same information element or different information elements of SIB19. This is not limited herein." (i.e., A different IE comprises assistance information of the second satellite.)),
the first aerospace platform and the second aerospace platform configured to provide respectively a first non-terrestrial network (NTN) cell and a second NTN cell that are quasi-Earth-fixed cells serving a geographic area for limited periods of time (paragraph [0033], Fig.1:1-1, "The cell herein may be referred to as a first cell. The terminal device 30 is located in the first cell. It may be understood that the first satellite 10 may serve the first cell. When the first satellite 10 cannot continue to provide a service for the first cell due to movement of the first satellite 10, the second satellite 20 arrives at the first cell, so that the second satellite 20 can continue to provide a service for the first cell. This process may be referred to as satellite switch without cell identity change." and paragraph [0059], "the first satellite corresponds to the first cell, and a cell identity corresponding to the second satellite is the same as a cell identity of the first cell." (i.e., Fig.1 shows 1-1 wherein the satellite serves NTN cell that are serving a geographic area.));
and acquire the separate at least one information element with the assistance information for the second aerospace platform, at the user equipment in the first NTN cell, during a period of time the geographic area is served by the first NTN cell, before the geographic area is served by the second NTN cell (paragraph [0059], Fig.3, " 301: A terminal device receives first information from a first cell, where the first information includes NTN assistance information of a first satellite and NTN assistance information of a second satellite," and paragraph [0061], "Optionally, the first information may be carried in SIB19. For example, the NTN assistance information of the first satellite and the NTN assistance information of the second satellite that are included in the first information may be carried in a same information element or different information elements of SIB19. This is not limited herein." and paragraph [0062], "After the first satellite stops serving the first cell, the second satellite may take over from the first satellite to continue to serve the first cell. For example, when the first information is received, the first satellite serves the first cell. In other words, the first satellite corresponds to the first cell. Certainly, before the first information is received, the first satellite may also serve the first cell…"(i.e., the first information is send by the first satellite before the second satellite takes over the first cell.)).
However, Sedin does not explicitly disclose transmission of system information blocks (SIBs).
Sedin discloses schedule transmission of system information blocks (SIBs) (paragraph [0173], "In certain examples, the network may provide the content (or parts) of neighbour cell information using more than one SIBs, for example in existing and/or newly defined SIBs. For example, the content of neighbour cell ephemeris may be split into different SIBs (existing and/or newly defined). The network may indicate to the UE(s) where to find the different content of neighbour cell ephemeris, i.e., in which SIBs." (i.e., discloses the information can be carried in plurality of SIB.)).
Fan and Sedin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fan to implement the feature of Sedin of transmitting a plurality of SIBs because of large information elements there was a need for multiple SIBs and having multiple SIB provides greater management of bandwidth and battery life efficiently (Sedin, paragraph [0082], “As NTN has a number of NTN-specific information elements that are only required when accessing an NTN cell, and also due to the relatively large information elements, it was agreed that new system information blocks (SIBs) are needed.”).
Regarding Claim 8, Fan in view of Sedin discloses all the limitation of claim 7.
Sedin further discloses wherein the SIBs include a SIB of one type that includes the information elements with the assistance information for the first aerospace platform (paragraph [0015], "transmit, to a UE, a first SIB associated with satellite assistance information, the first SIB including first information on serving cell ephemeris and second information on a validity duration of the serving cell ephemeris," (i.e., first SIB for the serving cell.)),
and a separate SIB of another type that includes the separate at least one information element with the assistance information for the second aerospace platform (paragraph [0015], "and transmit, to the UE, a second SIB associated with neighbor satellite information based on a first timer with a duration of the validity duration of the serving cell ephemeris and a second timer for an acquisition of the first SIB before an RLF, the second SIB including third information on neighbor cell ephemeris." (i.e., second SIB associated with neighbor satellite.)),
and wherein acquiring the separate at least one information element includes the apparatus caused to acquire the separate SIB that includes the apparatus caused to the separate at least one information element (paragraph [0197], "the UE may provide, in the request for the neighbour cell ephemeris, an indication of required/desired information, for example an indication of which part of the neighbour cell ephemeris is required, or the expected/required granularity, or the like." (i.e., UE can request the second SIB that has ephemeris data of neighboring satellite.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 13, which is similar in scope to claim 1, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 17, which is similar in scope to claim 7, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 14, which is similar in scope to claim 2, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 18, which is similar in scope to claim 8, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 3-5, 9-11, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan (US 20260095875 A1) in view of SEDIN (US 20240196310 A1) in further view of MA (US 20220110030 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Fan in view of Sedin discloses all the limitation of claim 1.
However, Fan in view of Sedin do not disclose wherein causing the user equipment to acquire the separate at least one information element includes broadcasting the separate at least one information element for the user equipment to acquire on or after a trigger event during the period of time the geographic area is served by the first NTN cell.
MA discloses wherein causing the user equipment to acquire the separate at least one information element includes broadcasting the separate at least one information element for the user equipment to acquire on (paragraph [0030], "Such a base station 110 may also referred to as a non-terrestrial base station 110 or a non-terrestrial access point." and paragraph [0056], Fig.3, "the terrestrial base station may transmit (e.g., broadcast) the system information associated with the set of neighboring cells of the current cell. In some aspects, the terrestrial base station may transmit the information associated with the set of neighboring cells on a periodic basis, in response to detecting a trigger, based at least in part on a configuration of the terrestrial base station, and/or the like." and paragraph [0057], "As further indicated by reference 310, the UE may receive the information associated with the set of neighboring cells. In some aspects, the UE may attempt to receive the information associated with the set of neighboring cells on a periodic basis, in response to detecting a trigger," (i.e., a there is a broadcast of the system information associated with neighboring cell and the UE acquires the information when detecting a trigger. Since the UE is receiving information of the neighboring cells from the current serving cell or first NTN cell.)).
Fan in view of Sedin and MA are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fan to implement the feature of MA of trigger event in order to reduce overhead and this can also conserve battery as to only acquire the assistance information of the second aerospace platform when required (MA, paragraph [0067], “to conserve resources and reduce overhead, it is desirable to broadcast platform specific system information, associated with a given platform, only once for all neighboring cells provided by the given platform…”).
Regarding Claim 4, Fan in view of Sedin in further view of MA discloses all the limitation of claim 3.
MA further discloses wherein the at least one processing circuitry is configured to execute the computer-readable program code to cause the apparatus to further detect the trigger event (paragraph [0057], Fig.3, "As further indicated by reference 310, the UE may receive the information associated with the set of neighboring cells. In some aspects, the UE may attempt to receive the information associated with the set of neighboring cells on a periodic basis, in response to detecting a trigger," (i.e., UE can detect a trigger event)),
and the separate at least one information element is broadcast only on (paragraph [0030], "a cell may be provided by a base station 110 of a non-terrestrial network (NTN). Such a base station 110 may also referred to as a non-terrestrial base station 110" and paragraph [0056], Fig.3, "the terrestrial base station may transmit (e.g., broadcast) the system information associated with the set of neighboring cells of the current cell. In some aspects, the terrestrial base station may transmit the information associated with the set of neighboring cells on a periodic basis, in response to detecting a trigger, based at least in part on a configuration of the terrestrial base station, and/or the like." (i.e., non-terrestrial base station can send information can send information. Fan discloses the separate at least one information element in paragraph 61, and Sedin discloses a second SIB in paragraph 15.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 5, Fan in view of Sedin in further view of MA discloses all the limitation of claim 3.
MA further discloses wherein the separate at least one information element is broadcast before and after the trigger event is detected (paragraph [0056], Fig.3, "the terrestrial base station may transmit (e.g., broadcast) the system information associated with the set of neighboring cells of the current cell. In some aspects, the terrestrial base station may transmit the information associated with the set of neighboring cells on a periodic basis, in response to detecting a trigger, based at least in part on a configuration of the terrestrial base station, and/or the like." (i.e., the separate at least one information element is sent out periodic bases as is before and after the trigger event is detected.)),
and the user equipment is exempt from acquiring the separate at least one information element at least until the trigger event is detected at the user equipment (paragraph [0057], Fig.3, "As further indicated by reference 310, the UE may receive the information associated with the set of neighboring cells. In some aspects, the UE may attempt to receive the information associated with the set of neighboring cells on a periodic basis, in response to detecting a trigger," (i.e., UE is not obtaining the separate at least one information element until a trigger is detected.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 9, Fan in view of Sedin discloses all the limitation of claim 7.
However, Fan in view of Sedin do not disclose wherein the at least one information element is broadcast for the user equipment to acquire on or after a trigger event during the period of time the geographic area is served by the first NTN cell.
MA discloses wherein the at least one information element is broadcast for the user equipment to acquire on (paragraph [0030], "Such a base station 110 may also referred to as a non-terrestrial base station 110 or a non-terrestrial access point." and paragraph [0056], Fig.3, "the terrestrial base station may transmit (e.g., broadcast) the system information associated with the set of neighboring cells of the current cell. In some aspects, the terrestrial base station may transmit the information associated with the set of neighboring cells on a periodic basis, in response to detecting a trigger, based at least in part on a configuration of the terrestrial base station, and/or the like." and paragraph [0057], "As further indicated by reference 310, the UE may receive the information associated with the set of neighboring cells. In some aspects, the UE may attempt to receive the information associated with the set of neighboring cells on a periodic basis, in response to detecting a trigger," (i.e., a there is a broadcast of the system information associated with neighboring cell and the UE acquires the information when detecting a trigger. Since the UE is receiving information of the neighboring cells from the current serving cell or first NTN cell.)).
Fan in view of Sedin and MA are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fan to implement the feature of MA of trigger event in order to reduce overhead and this can also conserve battery as to only acquire the assistance information of the second aerospace platform when required (MA, paragraph [0067], “to conserve resources and reduce overhead, it is desirable to broadcast platform specific system information, associated with a given platform, only once for all neighboring cells provided by the given platform…”).
Regarding Claim 10, Fan in view of Sedin in further view of MA discloses all the limitation of claim 9.
MA further discloses wherein the separate at least one information element is broadcast only on (paragraph [0030], "a cell may be provided by a base station 110 of a non-terrestrial network (NTN). Such a base station 110 may also referred to as a non-terrestrial base station 110" and paragraph [0056], Fig.3, "the terrestrial base station may transmit (e.g., broadcast) the system information associated with the set of neighboring cells of the current cell. In some aspects, the terrestrial base station may transmit the information associated with the set of neighboring cells on a periodic basis, in response to detecting a trigger, based at least in part on a configuration of the terrestrial base station, and/or the like." (i.e., non-terrestrial base station can send information can send information. Fan discloses the separate at least one information element in paragraph 61, and Sedin discloses a second SIB in paragraph 15.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 11, Fan in view of Sedin in further view of MA discloses all the limitation of claim 9.
MA further discloses wherein the separate at least one information element is broadcast before and after the trigger event is detected (paragraph [0056], Fig.3, "the terrestrial base station may transmit (e.g., broadcast) the system information associated with the set of neighboring cells of the current cell. In some aspects, the terrestrial base station may transmit the information associated with the set of neighboring cells on a periodic basis, in response to detecting a trigger, based at least in part on a configuration of the terrestrial base station, and/or the like." (i.e., the separate at least one information element is sent out periodic bases as is before and after the trigger event is detected.)),
and the at least one processing circuitry is configured to execute the computer-readable program code to cause the apparatus to further detect the trigger event at the user equipment that is exempt from acquiring the separate at least one information element at least until the trigger event is detected at the user equipment (paragraph [0057], Fig.3, "As further indicated by reference 310, the UE may receive the information associated with the set of neighboring cells. In some aspects, the UE may attempt to receive the information associated with the set of neighboring cells on a periodic basis, in response to detecting a trigger," (i.e., UE is not obtaining the separate at least one information element until a trigger is detected.)).
The proposed combination as well as the motivations for combining the references presented in the rejection of the parent claim apply to this claim and are incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 15, which is similar in scope to claim 3, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 19, which is similar in scope to claim 9, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 6, 12, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan (US 20260095875 A1) in view of SEDIN (US 20240196310 A1) in view of MA (US 20220110030 A1) in further view of LEE (US 20240040608 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Fan in view of Sedin in further view of MA discloses all the limitation of claim 1. (For examination purposes claim 6 dependents on claim 3 as claim 3 has a trigger event.)
MA further discloses the trigger event (paragraph [0056], Fig.3, "the terrestrial base station may transmit (e.g., broadcast) the system information associated with the set of neighboring cells of the current cell. In some aspects, the terrestrial base station may transmit the information associated with the set of neighboring cells on a periodic basis, in response to detecting a trigger, based at least in part on a configuration of the terrestrial base station, and/or the like." and paragraph [0057], "As further indicated by reference 310, the UE may receive the information associated with the set of neighboring cells. In some aspects, the UE may attempt to receive the information associated with the set of neighboring cells on a periodic basis, in response to detecting a trigger,").
However, Fan in view of Sedin in further view of MA do not disclose wherein the trigger event is marked by a last number of modification periods before a time at which the first NTN cell stops serving the geographic area.
LEE discloses wherein the trigger event is marked by a last number of modification periods before a time at which the first NTN cell stops serving the geographic area (paragraph [0032], "As a UE approaches the edge of satellite coverage, it can be anticipated that satellite coverage will not cover the UE in the near future. The UE in out of coverage may not guarantee prompt reconnection to the network due to discontinuous coverage. For instance, a LEO satellite may be in view of a stationary UE from horizon to horizon for about 20 minutes. Since each LEO satellite may have many beams, the time such a UE stays within a beam may be for only a few minutes." and paragraph [0048], Fig.1, "As shown in FIG. 1, at 105, the gNB may provide to the UE estimated timing for the UE to leave satellite coverage and/or information on UE location and elevation to assist the UE's own decision making. At 110, the UE can make a decision on last-minute transmission based on RSRP, localization, primary cell (PCell) identifier (ID), and elevation angle." (i.e., UE receiving information that coverage is about to end and that triggers the UE to perform last action, such action is described in reference MA.)).
Fan in view of Sedin in further view of MA and LEE are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fan to implement the feature of LEE to enable the UE to perform an action at the last minute before losing coverage in order to maximize the usage of the satellite (LEE, paragraph [0034], “Thus, support of UEs that are about to lose their connection with the satellite type of gNB may pose challenges. Certain embodiments provide a method enabling a UE to perform the last-minute uplink transmission for data transmission before leaving satellite coverage.”).
Regarding Claim 12, Fan in view of Sedin in further view of MA discloses all the limitation of claim 7. (For examination purposes claim 12 dependents on claim 9 as claim 9 has a trigger event.)
MA further discloses the trigger event (paragraph [0056], Fig.3, "the terrestrial base station may transmit (e.g., broadcast) the system information associated with the set of neighboring cells of the current cell. In some aspects, the terrestrial base station may transmit the information associated with the set of neighboring cells on a periodic basis, in response to detecting a trigger, based at least in part on a configuration of the terrestrial base station, and/or the like." and paragraph [0057], "As further indicated by reference 310, the UE may receive the information associated with the set of neighboring cells. In some aspects, the UE may attempt to receive the information associated with the set of neighboring cells on a periodic basis, in response to detecting a trigger,").
However, Fan in view of Sedin in further view of MA do not disclose wherein the trigger event is marked by a last number of modification periods before a time at which the first NTN cell stops serving the geographic area.
LEE further discloses wherein the trigger event is marked by a last number of modification periods before a time at which the first NTN cell stops serving the geographic area (paragraph [0032], "As a UE approaches the edge of satellite coverage, it can be anticipated that satellite coverage will not cover the UE in the near future. The UE in out of coverage may not guarantee prompt reconnection to the network due to discontinuous coverage. For instance, a LEO satellite may be in view of a stationary UE from horizon to horizon for about 20 minutes. Since each LEO satellite may have many beams, the time such a UE stays within a beam may be for only a few minutes." and paragraph [0048], Fig.1, "As shown in FIG. 1, at 105, the gNB may provide to the UE estimated timing for the UE to leave satellite coverage and/or information on UE location and elevation to assist the UE's own decision making. At 110, the UE can make a decision on last-minute transmission based on RSRP, localization, primary cell (PCell) identifier (ID), and elevation angle." (i.e., UE receiving information that coverage is about to end and that triggers the UE to perform last action, such action is described in reference MA.)).
Fan in view of Sedin in further view of MA and LEE are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fan to implement the feature of LEE to enable the UE to perform an action at the last minute before losing coverage in order to maximize the usage of the satellite (LEE, paragraph [0034], “Thus, support of UEs that are about to lose their connection with the satellite type of gNB may pose challenges. Certain embodiments provide a method enabling a UE to perform the last-minute uplink transmission for data transmission before leaving satellite coverage.”).
Regarding Claim 16, which is similar in scope to claim 6, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 20, which is similar in scope to claim 12, thus rejected under the same rationale.
Other Pertinent References
The Following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
SHIN, Seokmin et al. "METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR PERFORMING COMMUNICATION IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM." US 20220330191 A1, Filed 2022-04-05.
SHIM, Jaeyeon et al. "METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR MEASURING AND REPORTING INTERFERENCE SIGNAL IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEMS." US 20230055304 A1, Filed 2022-08-01.
FREDERIKSEN, Frank et al. "USE OF CELL SWITCH ASSISTANCE INFORMATION FOR SSB SEARCHING DURING SATELLITE SWITCHING." US 20250048249 A1, Filed 2024-10-10 and Priority 2023-08-04.
Conclusion
ERKIN S. ABDULLAEV
Examiner
Art Unit 2648
/ERKIN ABDULLAEV/Examiner, Art Unit 2648
/WESLEY L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2648