DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figures 1-3B should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Frasl (US Publication No. 2003/0112995 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Frasl teaches a speaker (1) apparatus comprising: an edge (21, external area) provided around a diaphragm (15, membrane); a frame (2, housing) configured to support the diaphragm via the edge; and a reinforcement part (22, pleats area) provided on the edge, the reinforcement part including a linear portion and two end portions (38-40, V-shaped pleats), wherein the linear portion of the reinforcement part extends in a circumferential direction of the edge, and the two end portions of the reinforcement part are connected to the frame (fig. 4, wherein the V-shaped pleats extends to the frame).
Regarding claim 2, Frasl teaches the speaker apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the edge includes a long axis portion and a short axis portion, and the two end portions are connected to the frame at the long axis portion (fig 4, wherein the edge portions have length and width).
Regarding claim 3, Frasl teaches the speaker apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a material of the reinforcement part has higher rigidity than a material of the edge.
Regarding claim 4, Frasl teaches the speaker apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the linear portion is a rib (32-40, pleats).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frasl in view of Watanabe (US Publication No. 20110194724 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Frasl fails to teach the speaker apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the linear portion is a step.
Watanabe teaches a step (fig. 3a, apex) as an alternate embodiment for the linear portion of a reinforced edge.
It would have been obvious matter of design choice to allow the linear portion to form aa step since Applicant's has not disclosed that having the parts solve any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the teachings of Watanabe in the invention of Frasl [In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)].
Conclusion
April 18, 2026
/PHYLESHA DABNEY/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2694